Reading Reviews for Dreaming
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by maskedmuggle The Crumple-Horned Snorkack

22nd August 2010:
So, I thought this was a really interesting read!
Obviously the subject was quite different and interesting - the crumple horned snorkack!

Lovely story!

Author's Response: Different is my specialty; interesting is what I always long for.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Maybe The Crumple-Horned Snorkack

21st August 2010:
Wow, very, VERY good! I'm not surprised you won the challenge because it's really well written and gets the point across perfectly. I like how you've made it Ravenclaw who saw it, that little connection to Luna is great. The wording and flow are just like I'd imagine the Founders Era.

Really original ;D

Author's Response: Wow. That's very flattering. I really never expected to win; I just wanted to see if I could come up with anything worthwhile.

I'm glad you liked the Ravenclaw connection there. That was why this occurred to me in the first place.

Thank you very much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by The Fourth Black Sister The Crumple-Horned Snorkack

19th August 2010:
Wow I loved this. I could definitely picture these two in my mind having this conversation. You showed their chemistry well and I really enjoyed it. Great job! :D

Author's Response: I always thought that Rowena and Salazar were a really good match. They have similar traits, if you think about it. Cleverness and cunning are linked very closely.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Oh_Sugar_Quills The Crumple-Horned Snorkack

18th August 2010:
I really enjoyed this! The idea of Rowena being the person who first saw a Crumple-Horned Snorkack was great. Having Salazar there trying to tell her that it was just a dream was a nice touch. It really reminded me of how people reacted to the creatures Luna talked about.

The way you wrote the romance was great. It wasn't too heavy and it didn't distract me from the rest of the story. Great job!

Author's Response: I do always try so hard not to be distracting with romance. I was having a discussion with a friend of mine about it the other day. I think romance can be a viable main genre, but you've got to be careful with it because it can overwhelm a plot. Also, rambles over.

I'm glad you liked the idea. It just came to me and I thought, I can't pass that up.

Thank you for the review.


 Report Review

Review #5, by witch_in_training The Crumple-Horned Snorkack

18th August 2010:
I've actually read this before, which means I've read, enjoyed, and not reviewed -- sorry. D: I'm here to make amends!

You know, I can't say I've ever heard of Founders fluff before, but you succeeded in making this fluffy and realistic at the same time. Rowena's and Salazar's wit is wonderful. And the ambiguity of it all! I was actually kind of smirking partway through; that may just be nerdiness on my part, though.

Brilliant idea, and well-executed!

Sami

Author's Response: That's okay! I'll forgive you for not reviewing the first time around, if you'll forgive me for not responding right away.

I'm glad it was Fluffy Realism. Maybe I should start an art movement here. I think that'd be fun. In all seriousness, I'm very glad that you thought it worked out. I was concerned that people would be unwilling to take this flight of fancy with me.

Thank you very much.


 Report Review

Review #6, by momotwins The Crumple-Horned Snorkack

18th August 2010:
Ahahahaha I love the idea of this story! Seriously, what a great idea - Rowena Ravenclaw, found of Luna's house, discovered Crumple-Horned Snorcacks. I love it. So she saw one in Sweden but no one else had ever seen one? Awesome. I love that Slytherin is so skeptical of it, too. And you did the Rowena/Salazar ship well also, very subtle and understated. What a delightful story!

Author's Response: I would quote Dumbledore and say it is one of my better ideas, but from me, that just sounds silly. I did enjoy writing the interplay between her believing and him being skeptical - I always thought that they would make a good couple that way.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by lunarocks14 The Crumple-Horned Snorkack

7th August 2010:
Aawwh very cute, and very honest somehow. I liked it a lot, :) 10/10

Author's Response: A 10/10? Thank you very much. I'm incredibly happy that you thought it honest and cute!

 Report Review

Review #8, by propertyoftheHBP The Crumple-Horned Snorkack

15th July 2010:
Hi! I'm so sorry that it took me such a long time to get to this, but thank you for completing my challenge!

You've captured the characters of Rowena and Salazar perfectly. Rowena really reminds me of Luna, which I'm sure you were going for (what with the creature and all), and I'd never thought of her being like that before, but it really, really works. Salazar is the perfect Slytherin, both in name and character. The interaction between them was probably my favorite part of the story, it was so well-written and what I'd expect from them.

And I love what you did with the prompt! I'd never thought of it being set in the Founders' time, but the way you've set it up and concluded it again makes perfect sense. Salazar's influence over Rowena is so creepy--in a good way--, and it just makes you wonder what would have happened had she published her findings.

The "I'll die of a broken heart" line was put in perfectly, and I shuddered at the irony.

In case you can't tell, I loved the story! I have no CC for it, it's an absolute 10/10. Again, thanks for completing my challenge!

Author's Response: And I'm sorry that it took me so long to respond to this. So, we're just a sorry pair.

Thank you! I had this idea and I just thought maybe that it was crazy enough to work. I tried to imbue them with the characteristics of people we know from their respective houses.

I try not to think about what would've happened if she'd published. I don't think it would've been pretty.

I'm glad that you caught that! I tried to sneak it in a subtle manner.

Thank you! I'm so happy you like it. *does a ten dance*


 Report Review

Review #9, by moonbaby11 The Crumple-Horned Snorkack

27th June 2010:
This was cute, the origins of the Crumple-Horner Snorkak. I liked the idea, and I went to know if Rowena really did see i, or not. I love how she bet Helga ten sickles thta she coudl get Salazar to say 'please'. That was funny. Overall, short, sweet and cute. 9/10

Author's Response: Yeah, I can't tell you whether she actually saw it or not. I think I'm taking that one to the grave. Glad you liked it overall. My versions of the Founders sure do like to bet. Oh well.

Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #10, by GinnyCullen The Crumple-Horned Snorkack

19th June 2010:
That was sweet and very interesting. Good Job and good luck winning the challenge

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm very glad that you enjoyed it and very glad you told me so.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Jazzeh Turnip The Crumple-Horned Snorkack

19th June 2010:
REVIEW CHALLENGE #9.

For this being something completely out of your comfort zone, it's bloody good.

I've never read much from the founders Era, mainly because it's always a bit too heavy for my liking, but I loved this. It's so well written, and the way the two conversed was really easy to follow, and the descriptive in between just added to the flow even more.

I love the underlying romance as well.

One thing I have to comment on is the ending. He says he'll catch up with her wit, and she say's it'll break her heart if he does, and then he says "not if I can help it", so does that mean that he doesn't intend to catch up with her wit after all? Haha, it's just something I noticed and I really don't mean to pick. It's absoloutely fine as it is ^.^

9/10

Author's Response: I'm so pumped about this review. One, because you read something out of your comfort zone and liked it and two, because the something happened to be mine.

I believe she says she'll die of a broken heart. His thought is that he would do anything to prevent that. Sorry if that idea's unclear. I'll take a second look at it.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Electra The Crumple-Horned Snorkack

15th June 2010:
Awww! That's so cute! I loved it, I love them! You should continue this story, or something like that, you know? ^.~

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad to hear that you liked it. I appreciate the review.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login