Reading Reviews for The Final Battle
  
1,979 Reviews Found

Review #1, by theblacksisters Evil Angel

7th October 2013:
One of the best editions of the Bellatrix-kills-Tonks scene.

 Report Review

Review #2, by theblacksisters Promise Unbroken

7th October 2013:
Bellatrix wasn't killed with the Killing Curse.

 Report Review

Review #3, by theblacksisters Mirror, Mirror

6th October 2013:
This is extremely clever. A very good idea and the title is fitting. Both dark and funny.
I love this piece of work.

 Report Review

Review #4, by theblacksisters Through the Eyes of the Gods

6th October 2013:
A very interesting take on things. I like it.
Also, Gaya is spelled 'Gaia' (which makes no sense to me as well), and I'd make sure you use either all the Roman names or all the Greek names.
For instance, Hera, Zeus, Persephone, Hades, and Athena are the Greek names for the gods. Juno, Demetra, and Vulcan are Roman names.
I'm not sure if Bellatrix likes panic, but she's certainly fond of pain.
But I likes this chapter.

 Report Review

Review #5, by FallenTruths The End

7th April 2013:
Hi Celtic!

I really enjoyed reading this piece from Harry's point of view since he is a very difficult character to try to capture properly. I thought you did a great job with Harry's characterization and drawing out all of the emotions he would be feeling after the final battle. As Harry was surveying all of the damage I felt like the reader was getting more and more aware of how deeply the war had affected both the castle and Harry's mind. It felt like as the damage to the castle mounted, so did the emotional damage that Harry experienced.

There were a few places where I felt like the flow of the story could have been better. You had quite a bit of choppy sentences that broke up a lot of the paragraphs. This drew attention to these sentences but in many cases it really didn't need to have extra attention drawn to them. Including short little fragments instead of sentences can certainly be effective in emphasizing a specific line, but since you used this technique frequently it didn't end up having the effect it should have had.

There were a few mistakes that I spotted - "Out of habit, he crept along the stairs leading down the common room" should have the word 'to' between 'down' and 'the.' Also, "repair their own homes and come to turns over what had happened" should say the word 'terms' instead of 'turns.'

The ending where Harry entered the closet with Voldemort's body really surprised me! I was getting really worried for a bit there that something bad was going to happen, but luckily it was all just a dream. I definitely wasn't expecting him to be dreaming it all so you caught me off guard with that twist. The story makes a lot of sense as a dream since he was attempting to fall asleep at the beginning and then ends up wandering around the castle instead. It also seems like Harry might not want to admit to himself that he was so affected by the final battle, but the truth is coming out in this dream. This story was a great addition to the collaboration!

Alli

 Report Review

Review #6, by NataliieW Dangling by a Thread

12th February 2013:
This is brilliant. My fave in this collab definitely. xx

 Report Review

Review #7, by F Ocean Eyes

23rd September 2012:
Fgdsdodgsggffgffgfddafghh

 Report Review

Review #8, by Jchrissy The Moment It Ended

2nd June 2012:
This is amazing. Narcissa fascinates me as a character. I think this does an amazing job making her emotions and reasoning come to life. Wonderful work, and very beautiful words!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Luna Dominique Potter Ocean Eyes

23rd February 2012:
That was literally heartbreaking. You're such a good writer! All these emotions are flowing through me now, and I can barely hold them in.
I absolutely loved it.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Victoria Sometimes We Sort Too Soon

30th January 2012:
I loved this, the idea of moving through the pictures was so unique. The exchanges between the students from the different houses were both believable and well thought out. I especially loved "Guess I've been hanging around with the Hufflepuffs too much eh?". That line almost got me crying, especially since I knew what was going to happen. :(
Anyways, I just wanted to say I loved this!!

 Report Review

Review #11, by xXxMagicHappensxXx Repentance

12th January 2012:
Omg I nearly cried :( This just shows the absolute lack of morality and humanity Voldemort has- killing a 14 year old girl :( AH * bursts out crying.

This is so well written! I love how you've put a story behind it all!!

 Report Review

Review #12, by JohannaMarie Mirror, Mirror

16th October 2011:
nice. evil Harry and Ron have goatees that they stroke...

 Report Review

Review #13, by Matiilda Dangling by a Thread

5th September 2011:
Extremely insightful and well-written! I love this and unfortunately I'm stunned to silence and I can't write anything right now.

 Report Review

Review #14, by alicia and anne The End of Darkness

14th August 2011:
Yes! a Fleur one shot!
I really loved this, I love reading peoples reactions to Harry 'coming back to life' and this did not disappoint at all.
You wrote Fleur so well and her accent seemed spot on.
And how everyone in the room just stopped what they were doing to watch the scene unfold around them.
And what she said at the end was extremely fitting!

alicia and anne
slytherin

 Report Review

Review #15, by alicia and anne Ride Again

14th August 2011:
This was really sweet.
I am so glad that you wrote this from James's side of view, most people focus on Lily's side and it's nice to see James's thoughts and feelings.
I love how he talks about the forest and all the times he spent in there with his brothers and the way he talks about Harry.
I really enjoyed this.

alicia and anne
slytherin

 Report Review

Review #16, by alicia and anne The Moment It Ended

14th August 2011:
I love that Narcissa gave him a fighting chance by saying that he was dead.
And how she has faith in Harry by knowing that Voldemort was soon to meet his downfall. Even if it is for her own gain, she still thinks that he's too young.
I really like how you wrote Narcissa and her thoughts and feelings

alicia and anne
slytherin

 Report Review

Review #17, by alicia and anne One Step

14th August 2011:
This was a really touching one and I felt sorry for Draco. It seems that being in Slytherin hasn't given him the best choices of friends
I was amazed that he felt quite sorry for Molly and that he was jealous of Harry, Ron and Hermione's friendship.
Although I bet he's right about the other SLytherin's just sitting around at their homes.

alicia and anne
slytherin

 Report Review

Review #18, by alicia and anne Pride of a Hufflepuff

14th August 2011:
Oh how I hate Zacharias! Although I am glad that he's going back to fight! even if it did take Colin to call him a coward to do it.
I'm so glad that you conveyed Zacahrias the way that you did, it really shows just how rude and cowardly of a person he is. You've portrayed him beautifully!:-D
I really hope he done some good though.

alicia and anne
slytherin

 Report Review

Review #19, by alicia and anne Rally the Troops

14th August 2011:
I love Kreacher in this! he's so brave!
I loved how he thought that the house elfs would just run into battle with him and was then confused that they wouldn't
The houseelfs all running around scared and restless without directions from their masters was extrememly believable, they probably would have stayed there if the kitchens did get attacked.
I do love Kreacher finding the right thing to say to get them to finally go with them.
I'm so glad that you came up with this idea. You wrote it so brilliantly, it flowed really well.

alicia and anne
slytherin

 Report Review

Review #20, by alicia and anne Uncontrollable

14th August 2011:
Yay! a one shot from the view of grawp!! It's nice to hear his thoughts and his feelings at being considered a runt.
I love that you can see how much he loves his brother.
It's good that even though he's a 'runt' he can still fight the giants, although I wish his body did listen to him sometimes, then he could have squashed the death eaters :-D
I loved the idea for this and you made it really work well by writing so brilliantly.

alicia and anne
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #21, by alicia and anne Lost

14th August 2011:
Oh George :-( You've written his pain and loss so well, it's just heartbreaking to read.
Youre descriptions are so vivid that it's almost like I can feel what George does.
And when he went into a rage and stopped thinking I really liked how you called him 'a machine' because he became so angry. And when he says that his sadness is blissfully gone and feels fantastic it makes me wonder just how much he's going to 'break' when it's gone.

alicia and anne
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #22, by alicia and anne Snapshot

14th August 2011:
I could hurt that death eater myself for taking that picture of Colin *shakes fist at death eater*
I like how you portrayed Colin, his fear of the battle and how he didn't feel strong or brave enough to do anything apart from run and take pictures, because people needed to remember these moments.
And when he got that rage that made him want to fight showed that he did have Gryffindor in him. It's such a pity he didn't notice the death eater until it was too late.

alicia and anne
slytherin

 Report Review

Review #23, by alicia and anne  A Breath of Freedom

14th August 2011:
Aww this is so nice that the owls were set free so they wouldn't get hurt and killed by the death eaters. I never once thought about the owls when I read about and thought about the battles, you're a genius for thinking it!
My favourite part was when the owls all crowded around the window to look out at the 'excitement' haha I just had a fabulous image of hundreds of owls trying to see out of a window and shoving each other hehe. Such a fantastic and original idea! And you wrote it so wonderfully!

alicia and anne
SLytherin

 Report Review

Review #24, by alicia and anne How You Fight a Battle

14th August 2011:
Neville and Pomona make a fabulous team! they should fight crimes!! Their use of the plants is just genius, they must have so many that can cause pain such as bubotubers andthe devils snare.
I loved that they could use curses to move the devils snare however they want, I can just imagine it reaching out and snatching at death eaters.
Brilliant! I love it!

alicia and anne
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #25, by alicia and anne Blood Purity's Not Worth Bloodshed

14th August 2011:
This is an interesting one. Draco seemed extremely confused about whether he wants to fight or not and you got his inner turmoil across considerably well. For a moment I was so sure he wasn't even going to help that young girl, but when he did, absentmindedly I was so thrilled. Although he seemed shocked at what he had done I hope he continues to fight for what's right. You wrote Draco so well.

alicia and anne
Slytherin

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>