Reading Reviews for Alone Wolf
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by evans_4eva Alone Wolf

13th March 2013:
Poor Remus :( this is so sad!

 Report Review

Review #2, by missclaire17 Alone Wolf

8th March 2013:
this really broke my heart.
reading this just reminded me of two painful thoughts. 1) how painful must this first transformation have been?! to have to transform and suffer through a full moon alone after having his friends by his side for those many years... 2) how sad the new year must have been because only months ago, all of them were alive and somewhat happy, despite the dark and difficult times.
reading this also made me truly realize how happy Remus must have been when he realized the truth of what had happened that night, that Sirius didn't betray them, but how heartbroken that he must have been to know that another dear friend that he had held in his heart for so many years to be a martyr was the true traitor and put another one of their dear friends to suffer in Azkaban for all those years.

As much as I love Sirius (whom, btw, along with James are my favorite characters in HP), I don't think people really realize what Remus had gone through during the two wars, and I'm really glad that you chose this scene to write about. to me, there are so many things that we don't realize. how much Remus suffered in those two years, the heartbreak and happiness he felt that one night in Harry's third year, and the pain he felt when Sirius died. it must have been horrible, and I don't think people realize that. I'm glad that you wrote this, and I think this is a very well-written one-shot. it's short and concise, and I think it's very well written (:

 Report Review

Review #3, by justonemorefic Alone Wolf

27th September 2010:
Ahhh Marauder stories always make me sad for moments like these. All those people who didn't deserve their fates so young. I think you showed this moment quite well descriptively, and I only want to nitpick some flow. Some of your paragraphs I think can be split apart because they go from idea to action oddly. Like the paragraph that beings with "He hated this time of the month" can be like this:

He hated this time of the month. Not that turning into a werewolf was fun in any way, but having the other three Marauders made it bearable for Remus.

He popped open his firewhiskey and took a swig. He wouldn’t get drunk; that could have consequences of monstrous proportions.

Also, consider where you're writing "he" and "Remus". Sometimes you over use one in a paragraph.

Good read, not overly angsty, like how I like it!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I enjoyed our trade :D and if I ever get around to fixing this up I will definitely take what you said into consideration. Thanks again :)

~alex


 Report Review

Review #4, by Reyes91 Alone Wolf

22nd August 2010:
Hello, dude. I'm just dropping by to show some support for Slytherin Thursday...Yeah, I'm very late for it, so sue me. Lol.

I really enjoyed this because Remus' true pain can often be overlooked in fanfiction. He truly did lose everything that made him happy, and setting this story on the night of the full moon added to the wonderful emotion you showed. I know the grief must had hit Remus nearly every day after James and Lily died and Sirius got locked up for "killing" Peter, but he must have felt the pain even more on the full moon. No friends to keep him company like they did so many times during school.

This was really good, dude. I liked it.

-Reyes91

Author's Response: Hi! It's ok lol.

I agree that it is sometimes overlooked, I think it would have been very hard to lose everything that Remus did. And actually (according to the internet) New Years in 1982 was on a full moon, so I thought it would be the perfect setting for this story (and apparently I was right lol). I can imagine that even when he was teaching at Hogwarts transforming without his friends would make him sad.

Thanks for the review! I'm happy you liked it, dude. :P

~alex


 Report Review

Review #5, by pennyardelle Alone Wolf

21st August 2010:
Hi Alex! In honour of Slytherin Thursday (which is about three days past now, haha) and also the fact that you left me an awesome review on one of my stories, I wanted to come by and review for you!

Remus' situation after James and Lily's deaths (and Peter's disappearance, and Sirius' imprisonment) is just so tragic. I think you did a great job at getting that across. I liked that he still missed Sirius, despite thinking that he had been the spy, and I also liked the comparison with previous full moons, particularly him noticing that the tunnel looked smaller than it had before. I really liked the line where he remarked that 1982 had been "one of his least favourite years by far..." That struck me as very simple, but very poignant.

There was one spot where I thought you could do with a bit of a reword: "After making sure his apartment door was locked, Not that there's anything worth stealing, Remus looked at the clock once more and disapparated." I like the effect you were trying to create by sticking that interjection in the middle of the sentence; I just thought it could have been integrated a little more neatly. Maybe instead, you could have written, "After making sure his apartment door was locked--not that there's anything worth stealing, Remus thought bitterly--he looked at the clock once more and disapparated."

All in all, I thought this was a really moving and realistic glimpse at Remus' life after losing his friends. I enjoyed reading it!

Author's Response: Heheh I've been reviewing other houses days after the fact too. :P

Thanks for the review! I'm happy you think I did a good job. I figured that even if Remus hated Sirius for what he thought he did, he would still miss him. They were best friends for over seven years, you can't not miss that. I also like the line about 1982, I put it in to emphasize that it had been over a year that he'd been without them and this wasn't his first full moon alone. It was a simple line that could carry lots of emotion.

Also, thanks for that. I like how you reworded that sentence a bit. I'll definitely get around to fixing it at some point.

Thanks again! I'm glad you liked it!
~alex


 Report Review

Review #6, by LovlyRita Alone Wolf

19th August 2010:
Hello there!

Well I really liked this one! once again, I have failed to really understand what it must have been like for Remus, especially in the years following James and Lily's death. I thought this was spectacular!

I LOVED some of your descriptions. things like "The sun slowly setting over 1982" and "lit a happy fire in the fireplace." The first description was just lovely because I guess that happens every year, doesn't it? But it was nice, I liked it. the second, because it was such contrast to the mood of the story. He lit a happy fire. Perfect

I wonder what would happen if Remus phased while he was drunk. That seems like it would be bad. But...poor thing. This story is so sad! But it's written beautifully and I really like it. I think I'll stick it in my story seekers thread, or at least lock it away for future stories, because I'm feeling particularly lazy right now :)

wonderful job!

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks! A lot! About like everything in this review! lol.

Every New Years I always think about the fact the one day is one year and then all of a sudden it's the next year, so that first description helped me portray how long it had been since James and Lily's death. And I honestly tried to think of ways to describe a fire, and none fit the description better than happy, being all crackly and bright, and I think the mood of the story vs the fire is what actually made me say it was happy and I'm glad you thought it worked.

I assume if Remus went through his change while drunk there would be very destructive consequences. And wow! Thanks so much! I am really excited about that (once you are unlazy lol)

Thanks again!
~alex


 Report Review

Review #7, by propertyoftheHBP Alone Wolf

19th August 2010:
I loved the play on the title--"Alone Wolf"/"A Lone Wolf", both fit well and it's original.

This is so sad. Remus really would be so depressed and feeling useless after he lost everything--I've always thought that apart from Harry, he was the one who suffered the most when Lily and James were killed. His character was perfect here, his sorrow and everything was captured as I think he'd feel it. The howl at the end especially got to me, and then the last line, "Happy New Year, indeed." :( Poor, poor Remus.

This was great--the character, description, scenario, everything. Fantastic work! :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I thought the title would be a nice touch when I came up with it, I'm happy you caught/liked it. :P

When I first got the quote for this challenge I thought "Sirius in Azkaban?" then was like "no! Remus would make this much better." And so I'm glad you think I did a good job with him. The last two lines were definitely my favorite.

Thanks for the review! I'm happy you liked it :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Friday_Star Alone Wolf

1st July 2010:
)': awww this is so sad!!

really lovely, but very sad ): it really does make you think about how Lupin must have felt - the war was over but he's left all alone )': WAH!

good work (:

xx

Author's Response: I'm happy you like it :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login