Reading Reviews for Lying Josephine
  
119 Reviews Found

Review #1, by randomwriter Introduction: Boxes

11th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hello again Tanya :) Since you liked my previous review so much, I thought I'll leave you another one. I must apologise about the quality though, short, speedy reviews really aren't my thing, but I'm trying!

Your story summary really caught my eye, and I've heard so much about this already. I had to come here. This was such an interesting first chapter. Both parts of this chapter were really sad, but heart-breaking-ly beautiful. Your writing is so lovely. It flows so well. This was a short chapter and it was over in a flash. At no point did I have to stop because anything. It was such a lovely read!

This chapter has raised a ton of questions, no doubt. Who is she? How does she know Fred? What was her involvement in the war? Did she lose her family to Voldemort and the Death Eaters? Ah, see! So many things to think about. It just a few words, you managed to make me think so much. I really loved it. Stories that make me think are the best!

Crying, to me, has never been a sign of weakness, but one of strength. We are taught that tears are for the weak, for those of us not strong enough to keep emotions at bay, but I believe it is that reason alone that makes crying such an act of courage. Knowing how people will judge you, but choosing to do so all the same; that is strength. I cannot tell you how much I love you for writing this. I am a firm believer that crying is not a sign of weakness or vulnerability, even though it has the ability to make one feel vulnerable. It's a beautiful kind of vulnerable, nevertheless. Anyway, there is nothing wrong with crying. I sometimes even find it majorly therapeutic and cathartic. I'm the last person to hide my tears, so honestly, I could really relate to these lines.

I'm beginning to get a good idea of why this story is so popular! I'm sorry about this review though. I really must get a move on. I see that some of your chapters are quite long, so if I don't come back soon, I'll make sure I do after HC :)

Another awesome story! :D Great job, Tanyaa!

Love
Adi!

Author's Response: Hi Adi!!! *glomps*

Ahaha I can't believe you're apologizing for this review when it's so incredibly lovely! And while we're on the topic of apologies, let me just say that I am so ridiculously sorry for how long it's taken me to respond to this review! I am the worst. *hides*

Oh, I love hearing that the story summary caught your eye! That's really great; means it's doing it's job! Phew! And AH, YOU HEAR THINGS ABOUT THIS FIC? That's amazing! Eep! I'm so thrilled you liked this intro, too! I was definitely going for that sort of poignant sadness that just tugs at your heart, so I'm incredibly relieved to hear that it felt that way to you! And as an intro, it was definitely meant to be short and to the point, just a brief glimpse into what's to follow! Yay!

Questions! Ah, I love that it got you curious about the future of the story and its characters! And I promise, all of those things WILL be answered as the story unfolds! ^.^

QUOTE! I'm honestly thrilled that that line stuck out to you. I feel very strongly about its sentiment and I'm so happy to hear you agree! And trust me, I so agree with you that there is nothing more refreshing than having a good, solid cry. :)

Ah, you're honestly so lovely! And again with the apologies! Take them back! hahaha Seriously, this review was beyond kind and wonderful AND detailed, too! I don't know why you think it's lacking, love! I sincerely appreciate your taking the time to leave this for me; you're just the best. *hugs*

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #2, by SkyEcho Breakable Girls and Boys

10th July 2014:
Hi!!

I was so happy to see that another chapter had been posted :) This is easily one of my favourite stories! I absolutely love the interactions between Jo and Fred. It's so clear how they simply just 'get' one another.
Your description of the gift Fred made for George is wonderful. It's revealed slowly, almost like how I'd imagine Jo to be taking it all in. I love the idea of a snow globe coming to life when you shake it - and the jokes add that much anticipated Fred-ness haha.

The description of George in the crowded shop really tugged at my heart! And Jo's constant uncertainty about going after him and checking on him is so endearing. You've done a great job of showing the reasons why she's acting so out of her comfort zone, yet still having her remain true to her character.

Aww it is heartbreaking to read just how lost they are with their grief. This chapter was so good! I can't wait to find out what happens next!!

*House Cup 2014 Review*

Author's Response: Hi SkyEcho!!! I'm SO sorry for how long it's taken me to reply to this incredible review, but I hope you know that my tardiness is in no way a reflection upon how grateful I am for your comment! *hugs*

Yay! I love hearing that! :-D Ugh, you're too sweet, I could die happy right now. :-p I am just beyond thrilled that you love the story so much, and especially that the relationship between Fred and Jo is seen by you exactly as I meant for it to be! Phew! haha

The snow globe! That was so much fun coming up with, I'm so stoked that you enjoyed it, and even more excited that it felt very Fred-esque! hehehe That's just great!

Ah, part two was so sad to write, but I'm glad that it translated to the readers! I love that you called Jo endearing, as I think that's such an accurate description of her actions here. Ah, your compliments are just so phenomenal to hear, I can't thank you enough for your kind words! I feel like you really understand the story as it was intended to be perceived, which is so exciting for me to see! You're the lovliest. ^.^

I cannot thank you enough for this truly fantastic review. If you could see the smile this has put on my face... hahaha Seriously, I truly appreciate this review and am endlessly grateful for the time and care you put into leaving it for me! Yay! :-D

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #3, by JJtheNerdfightingStarkid Breakable Girls and Boys

7th July 2014:
It's been so long since I've logged into HPFF and when I do, I find that one of my all time favourite stories is back! I am so, so, SO excited and I absolutely cannot wait for more!

Author's Response: Omg, that is such an incredibly wonderful thing to hear! Thank you so much, I'm so glad you enjoy this story so much! Chapter five is about complete, so hopefully the edits won't take much longer! I hope I'll see you again in the next chapter! Thank you for the lovely review, you're far too kind! *squee*

 Report Review

Review #4, by Lumos Flareum Breakable Girls and Boys

10th June 2014:
Awesome stuff! Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you're enjoying it and I sincerely appreciate your taking the time to review! Hopefully chapter five will be up within the next week or two! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #5, by MileyMalfoy Breakable Girls and Boys

30th April 2014:
Oh my goodness. I love this story already! I wasn't too sure how it would work with a main character that clearly doesn't talk too much but it's a really really interesting perspective which I'm thoroughly enjoying. I love that Fred's personality is still allowed to develop through her memories of the earlier times, and then comes through in her actions after his death, and I was really moved by her interactions with George in this chapter. I can't wait to see where this goes next just because it's so different and... well addicting really :p

Seriously I think you're doing a great job with it! The only hint of something other than gushing compliments in this review is this: there was one tiny little error where you had "with no end in site" and it should be "sight"... but other than that I'm just going to echo how amazingly talented you are Tanya! This story is breathtaking and I cannot wait to read more!

Meg

Author's Response: Meg! Again! AGAIN THIS: YOU ARE FAR TOO KIND! hahaha No, really though. REALLY THOUGH. Too kind. I can't. I can't even. I can't.

Daww, little Jo. Yeah, she's quite fun to write, silent as she tends to be! I'm so glad you're enjoying her! When I thought her up (ages and ages ago now), I knew I wanted someone different than the rather overdone loud, attention-seeking, sarcastic, witty, vivacious OC's you see a lot in fanfics, and because those types of girls are so popular, I've been so relieved to see people enjoy Jo at all! So YAY!

And omg, Fred. I have so much fun writing him, and I'm just thrilled people think I'm handling him well! I'm particularly ecstatic that you're enjoying his and Jo's (albeit very odd) friendship, and the give and take they've developed! Also, I'm so beyond relieved that the second half of this chapter moved you - I was definitely very nervous posting it, and really hoped I done alright with her and George's first real scene together that didn't involve her hiding... hahaha

SITE! LOL *feels stupid* Thank you for pointing that out! Honestly, I can't believe that's the only silly typo that was found in there! hehehe But Meg, Meg, Meg, you are too kind! TOO KIND. (But secretly I really love it.) Thank you, honestly, for being so supportive, and I sincerely hope to have chapter five to you asap! *hugs*

Tanya :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by CambAngst Nice to Meet You

27th April 2014:
Hi, Tanya! I'm back again, taking in some more Josephine.

One thing that makes this story tough to review -- and please don't take this as a bad thing; it's anything but -- is the fact that there are so many things I want to comment on. You do such an awesome job with Josephine's inner voice, her observations, her expressions and her unspoken responses to things... it's overwhelming at times as a reviewer. I want to point it all out, say how much I enjoyed it. But if I did, the review would be nearly as long as the chapter itself. I guess what I'm trying to say is that it frustrates me in the best possible way.

Anyway, let's move on to the substance. I think you've created the best and worst job interview ever. There's just no in-between here. The experience careens back and forth between amazing and awful, spending plenty of time at both extremes. It all starts with the help wanted flyer, which was classic Fred and George.

Josephine's motivations for interviewing are sad and kind of sweet at the same time. You can't help but feel bad for the girl, even if you're also a bit frustrated with her. She's the perfect wallflower, living a life of unrequited devotion to a person who doesn't seem to realize she exists. I don't know whether to hug her or shake her, possibly both.

Fred gets the interview off to a roaring start, sneaking the whoopee cushion in on her. Their reactions are perfect, as well. She's mortified, desperate for him to know that it wasn't her, which sends him over the edge into a debilitating fit of laughter. She's so far outside of her comfort zone she can barely stand it and he's so deep in his own comfort zone that he doesn't feel an ounce of restraint.

"Five Galleons each: a steal!" -- A showman and a salesman! Fred is perfect.

I loved the interview questions. I really need to remember some of those for the next time I have to interview somebody at work. Especially the fruit one.

I feel a pang of envy at his level of comfort and can't help but wish that his continuously carefree attitude would have rubbed off on me after all this time of observation. -- This one line kind of summed up the entire interview experience for me. As a reader, I just keep hoping that somehow the twin's carefree attitude is going to start to infect her, but I'm fairly sure that isn't going to happen.

Wow. Josephine's one shining moment of the chapter came when she laid out her pitch to manage the shop's finances. She sounds so put together and polished in this one section. She probably rehearsed the words a thousand times in her mind, but for that one golden moment she was more than just wallflower Josephine. I wanted to cheer for her.

But it all ends so quickly. Fred is a pretty sharp judge of character, or at least his survival instincts have taught him how to sniff out a situation where things don't quite add up. There's one missing piece to Josephine's story, one gap. And then he walks through the door...

Josephine's response was about as far from elegant as you can get, but it was perfectly in character. Again, Fred is on to her. He puts the pieces together and hurries George out of the room. And then he's got her!

This time I do run. Without another word, I make a break for the door. -- Aww, poor Josephine! I feel terrible for her, but not terrible enough to want to see her get away. At least not yet.

"Wow, that's... You must really, really like him. It's actually kind of sweet. But mostly stalkerish." -- Well, Fred said it, I didn't. Not that I completely disagree.

Fred's proposition is, literally, too good for her to turn down. I'm amazed and somewhat in awe of the lengths he's willing to go to in order to be constantly entertained by her discomfort. Not that there's nothing else in it for him, obviously. Her business plan sounds quite brilliant and he might have found a girlfriend -- thinking long term here. Stalker, in the short run -- for his twin. What's not to like if you're Fred? But he puts so much effort into convincing her to take the job.

Ouch. Now back to reality. Back to the present day when Fred is laid to rest in a box. That phrase hits me every time, the sobering finality of it. I love your thought that Fred and George never gave up on their business, even when they were forced into hiding. They're so irrepressible, and they knew how much people needed laughter to keep going. I also think it was a testament to the spirit of the magical community in the aftermath of the war that they were so far from correct about how the grand reopening of the store was received.

I really, really enjoy reading this story, no matter now much Josephine frustrates me. And I suspect she'll frustrate me a lot more before it's all said and done. It seems that there are turbulent times ahead. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #7, by HeyMrsPotter Breakable Girls and Boys

24th April 2014:
Me again! I feel incredibly guilty for not reading this sooner after seeing your Author Note at the bottom :p You're very welcome by the way!

So, I am most definitely, positively, absolutely NOT furiously wiping tears away after reading this so that I can leave one of my usual incoherent reviews. Not even a little bit. This chapter (as with everything you write) was just beyond perfect. I think the talent fairy was far to generous when she sprinkled her dust on you. It's very rare that I get teary at fanfiction (okay, I admit it, this made me cry) but I just couldn't help it! Between George's grief and Josephine's grief and her continued unrequited love for him and him breaking the globe and basically every word in this whole chapter, how could I not cry like a baby?!

Their moment at the end was just...gah. Beyond words. The way you wrote it just created this amazing palpable tension between then, I was nervous and excited for her finally approaching him, my heart was racing as though it was me healing his hand and not Josephine.

As always, I cannot praise your writing enough, Tanya. Please stop reading this and go write the next chapter. NOW.

 Report Review

Review #8, by HeyMrsPotter Nice to Meet You

24th April 2014:
Tanya! Apologies for my lateness in getting around to reading this chapter, I'm not going to lie, laziness is my only excuse :p

I just ADORE how you write Fred in this chapter. It's so refreshing to see him as a stand alone character as opposed to how we always saw him in the books with George all the time. Not that I didn't love that but they are two people after all. It's great that even though he's not with George through most of this chapter, he's still true to his character; funny and witty. I particularly LOVED this line:

Well, drape me in purple velvet and call me Dumbledore

Please tell me how you are so funny?

I also really like that this chapter tells us a lot more about Josephine's character beyond her stalkerish love for George :p She's obviously got a lot of common sense and a good business head, and I liked that you added in that she didn't get brilliant grades at Hogwarts, and that it didn't make her stupid or stop her from getting a good job (albeit one she only wanted because of George :P)

The whole job application and interview process was nothing short of genius and everything I would have expected from Fred and George, from the fact that they paid per word in their advertisement and that didn't stop them from rambling (much like this review!) to the farting furniture-priceless! Oh and the fact that she fell for it twice just made it even funnier. I could perfectly picture Fred doubled over with laughter :D

I'm off to read the next chapter now, I'm really looking forward to the friendship between Josephine and Fred developing, I think this is the start of something beautiful :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by Rumbleroar goes roar Breakable Girls and Boys

10th April 2014:
*KIDNAPS!*
Ahem.
Ah! It makes sense that you took a break, as there was a definite improvement in your writing (not that it wasn't great before!) It just seemed a bit... Tighter? I think that's really good :)

I love the obvious contrast between past and present in this chapter. Easy-going Fred and poor breaking George :( I'm really impressed on how you've dealt with the sadness. It's not too over the top and it reads really well. I just want to look after George. Or get Josephine to do it for me :P

But I already love Josephine and I can't wait to read more about her previous relationship with Fred, her developing relationship with George and a bit more about her life.
Really loving this story! :)

Author's Response: Ah, it's taken so long to respond to this review, and for that I am so, so sorry! I got so backed up, but please know that it in no way diminishes my incredible love and appreciation for this fabulous review! *hugs*

(Side-note: Am I allowed to blame it on your kidnapping me? :-p) Ahem.

That is honestly so wonderful to hear! I've been feeling for awhile now that rewriting chapters one and two to just tighten them up a bit would be really beneficial for this story, but I've been so unmotivated to do the sort of nit-picky editing required for such an overhaul. I'm really excited that you noticed the improvement, though! :-D

Thank you! I'm really happy this format is working for you! It's a little bizarre writing each chapter when the sections are so opposing in content, but it's also really fun to go from one extreme to the other, and I'm happy readers have been perceptive to it, too! Also, I'm so happy you found the emotional bits well-done, as that's really important to me! Yay! And I so want to snuggle George too, but I will live vicariously through Jo for that. :-p

Eep! It's my favorite thing when people say they love Josephine. She's such an important little lamb of a character to me and it really warms my heart when other people feel strongly about her, as well! I'm so excited that you're so excited to read more! Chapter five is on the verge of getting posted! Keep your eyes peeled next weekend, as I'm shooting for then!

Thank you again for another wonderful review! You're just so lovely! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #10, by ruby_slippers Breakable Girls and Boys

7th April 2014:
Son of a gun! A kind of conversation! Words were exchanged, if only minimal and one way - it still counts! Woo! I love how quiet this story is and yet how enthralling and exciting at the same time (and heart breaking)! LOVE IT!
I miss George too ...

Author's Response: LOL! Yes! She did it!... Sort of. :-p Definitely still counts, though! hehehe So great to see you back for more, and I'm so happy you enjoyed this chapter! Dawww, thank you! It's so wonderful to hear that - quiet, but exciting! *squee* Thank you so much for your continued support with this story! Chapter five will be up quicker than chapter four was, I promise! I sincerely appreciate the reviews and your infectious enthusiasm! *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #11, by Rumbleroar goes roar Nice to Meet You

7th April 2014:
Oh, I just LOVE your Fred and George so much. You've got them spot on, but added a little bit of your own charm to their personalities. I really want to be friends with them, but I think I'd be a little overwhelmed like Josephine is. :P
They are such good contrasts. I think they'd both be really good for each other.
And the interview was perfect. Your writing was particularly lovely in this chapter. :)
Also, your review replies are so sweet! Can I kidnap you as a friend? :P

Author's Response: *squee* Ah, you are totally making my life right now! ^.^

Yay! I'm just ecstatic that you're enjoying my twins so much! They're two of my favorite characters and it's easy to do them wrong, so it's so incredible to hear when people think I've got a good grasp on them! And I totally agree: I'd love to be friends with them as well, but they might be a lot to take in all at once! hehehe And yay for opposites attract! Again, I'm really happy you're enjoying the Jo/Fred friendship! I gotta tell you, it's a blast to write them together. hehehe

LOL The interview is probably my favorite bit of writing I've done so far, in any of my stories; I'm glad you enjoyed it! And thank you for saying that! Chapters one and two were written over two years ago and I only started this fic again a few months ago and feel I've improved as a writer since then, so it's great to have someone point out the improvement! :-D

Dawww! Well, it's only because your reviews are so lovely! And YES! Kidnap away! I'm completely falling for you! *hugs* :-p


 Report Review

Review #12, by Rumbleroar goes roar Promises, Promises

7th April 2014:
I already love the relationship dynamic between Fred and Josephine that you've set up. I really like where this story is going. Can't wait to see more of George. :)

Author's Response: Hi again Rumbleroar goes roar! Woot! I love hearing that! When I first started writing this story, I was nervous of how people would perceive Jo and Fred's relationship because they're such an odd pair, so it's always wonderful to hear that readers like them and get them! :-D And there's some George coming up soon, though I'm finding post-war George a little challenging, so I hope I pull it off alright for you! Either way, I'm so happy that you're enjoying the story so far and want to thank you again for leaving another wonderful and kind review! I sincerely appreciate it! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #13, by Rumbleroar goes roar Introduction: Boxes

6th April 2014:
Very powerful first chapter. Excited to see where this goes. :)

Author's Response: Woohoo! I'm so happy you feel that way about the intro, as that's exactly what I was hoping to achieve! :-D Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this kind review and I hope the following chapters don't disappoint! *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #14, by marauderfan Breakable Girls and Boys

3rd April 2014:
New chapter! :D

Once again my feelings went on a bit of a roller coaster here. The beginning section was a combination of sweet and ridiculous - the idea of Fred's gift was just so sincere and the jokes involved kind of cancelled out the sincerity ahaha but I loved the delicate balance between Fred's nervousness and cheeky arrogance while Josephine looks at the snowglobe.

oh and I loved the bit where Fred is secretly just 5 years old, poking Jo repeatedly and saying hey until she gives up, and her determination to keep silent until he gives up!

The second part was so sad, but I'm glad Jo listened to her internal Fred-voice, because I think that did help George. Honestly, I love that Jo knew Fred well enough to hear his voice advising her, because he would know exactly what to do when it comes to George.

Lovely chapter, Tanya!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Unicorn_Charm Breakable Girls and Boys

2nd April 2014:
Yay! I was so excited when I checked my list and saw the story was updated! I immediately came to read it.

I don't know what else to say, again, but wow. This was a very powerful chapter. It's amazing how you can have me laughing one moment and almost in tears the next. Poor George... I feel this is an extremely accurate representation of how he would have reacted after losing Fred. (I still can't handle the loss of Fred. I threw my book the first time I read his death scene)

I love Jo so much. I truly do. She reminds me a lot of myself, to be honest.

You really are a phenomenal writer. I wish I had a quarter of your talent. I cannot wait to read more, you very much have me hooked!

Thank you again and again for the wonderful story!! 10/10 for all of it!

xoxo -Meg

Author's Response: Hello again, Meg! :-D

Yay! I'm so excited to see you back again! It's really so wonderful to have a regular reader always returning for more, and your continued comments and support just blow my mind! You are too good to me, I swear it! *hugs*

Thank you so much! "Powerful" - that's a great word to hear in response to this chapter - I was really hoping for this installment to have that sort of effect! Phew! And I know, I can't help it - this story is such an emotional roller-coaster, even within single chapters because of the set-up! And thank you, thank you, thank you for saying that you found George accurate! It's really tricky to take him on without Fred there and I definitely get progressively more worried about his portrayal as I dig deeper into his post-war character, but it's really reassuring to hear I'm doing well so far! ^.^ (And I know - I still barely process it and sort of ignore Fred's death anytime I'm not writing this fic... it's too sad! Wah! LOL You threw your book! That's a great reaction. I think I just stopped reading for a bit to yell, "NO, NO, NO!" a handful of times. :-p)

I love that you love Jo so much. She's a really important character to me and it really touches my heart when people love her as well - and especially when they see bits of themselves in her. Makes me want to hug you! *glomps*

Gah! Stahhp it, you're too kind! hehehe I sincerely appreciate the compliments and the support - it's honestly inspiring to me as a writer to have a fan so passionate about my story and my writing in general! I couldn't be more grateful to you - thank you so, so much for this and all of your other reviews! You're just wonderful!

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #16, by UnluckyStar57 Breakable Girls and Boys

2nd April 2014:
Hello!!

Thank you for FINALLY updating this story!! Maybe next time the wait won't be so long, hmmm? ;)

But seriously, I had been looking forward to this chapter ever since I read and reviewed the last three (which was forever ago, wasn't it?!). So I'm super excited that it's out, and congratulations to you!

Unfortunately, I don't have time to write an essay on how wonderful this chapter is, but here's the Cliff Notes version:

This chapter is impeccable. I love the dynamic between Josephine and Fred-her reluctance and his buoyancy. The gift that Fred made for George is super amazing! They should sell those at WWW! However, it was sad that, two years later, George smashed that gift. Josephine was there to witness the gift's beginning and end. I love the juxtaposition between the two scenes! And the action moves along so nicely... How do you do it?! You're amazing!

Okay, sorry that was jumbly, but I just wanted to drop by and gush about how cool you are. :)

Write like the wind! :D

~UnluckyStar57

 Report Review

Review #17, by CambAngst Promises, Promises

30th March 2014:
Hi, Tanya!

The first section sounds so much like Fred. He's always one to want to spread the joy, but do it in his own, distinctive way. I love the way that he uses his sense of humor to keep Josephine off her guard. She probably should have seen it coming, but it's hard when he's being so disarming. He lures her in with all of his faux flirting and endless kidding around. Then, he switches gears and gets serious on her for a moment. He lets some genuine concern show through, which pushes her even farther out of her carefully constructed comfort zone of denial. Then he goes for the kill...

We got to see a little more of Josephine in this chapter, and I found myself feeling optimistic for her and horribly sorry for her at different points in the chapter. What on earth happened to his poor girl? She's alluded a couple of times to having nobody aside from Fred. I'm guessing that means she's an orphan, or at least estranged from her family. With the war raging, it isn't hard to imagine how either situation would come to pass. Whatever happened, she seems to lack any sort of self-confidence. Fred is able to pry her out of her shell, but only by relentlessly being himself.

It's a shame, because she's obviously a clever person. I love her inner monologue. You did a fantastic job with that. I think she speaks a grand total of three words to Fred, but the section still felt really engaging because her thoughts were so amusing.

Fred Weasley is lying in a box. -- I can see why you kept coming back to this. It's such a powerful statement, with its devastating simplicity.

The pictures were just heart-breaking. Great choices.

Quicker than before I approach the casket, alone with Fred again. With one hand on the tomb I fix my eyes on the portrait of Fred.

I will keep my promise.
-- I really wish that she will. Although based on the story summary and all that I've read so far, I have the feeling that something is going to go terribly wrong in the trying.

Great chapter! I'll be back soon...

 Report Review

Review #18, by CambAngst Introduction: Boxes

30th March 2014:
Tanya! How have I never seen this before? You have a story set in my favorite era (post-war) to read. You certainly have a compelling plot idea and a lead character who seems to be living the horror of Fred's death from the periphery. Again, HOW have I never seen this?

You set a very stark tone from the outset. Six months after the end of the war -- six months after Fred's death -- she's completely alone. It seems pretty obvious that she's done something terrible. Or at least she thinks it was terrible. But what?

The section that flashes back to the funeral was also beautifully done. This is my favorite type of first chapter to read. You don't bother introducing anyone or anything. All of that name, rank and serial number crap can come later. Instead, you pulled me right into the gut-wrenching emotions of the story. It didn't matter so much whose funeral she was attending or who she was, because I could relate to exactly what she was feeling. I've read a dozen or more different authors' versions of Fred's funeral over the years. I didn't need you to tell me who was there or how anyone was dressed or how devastated George looked or what anyone had to say. All of those emotions are inside. You just set the scene from the perspective of someone who feels like an unworthy outsider and that was the context I needed right there. Brilliant!

I'm really looking forward to reading more! Great job!

Author's Response: Dan! Ah, I'm so sorry for the delay in responding to this wonderful review! It's great that I've got a story in one of your favorite era's, though, with some serious Fred and George action going on! hehehe I'm very happy you discovered it and are enjoying it so far! :-D

Great to hear that this chapter evokes that ominous feeling! It's definitely vague and I had to use a lot of restraint here so as to not give much away, and I'm glad that it managed to intrigue you! Always an excellent thing to hear! Thanks!

Aww, thank you, Dan; I'm really thrilled you feel that way! I know that when I read a story - a multi-chaptered one, especially - that begins with just an onslaught of background information, I tend to feel immediately put-off by it, and so I actively try to stay away from that myself, preferring to slowly hand out bits of information as they become relevant to the storyline. I'm glad you're on board with that style as well! ^.^ Gah, that's so, so wonderful to hear that jumping straight into the emotions, sans the background info, really helped to pull you in! This review really makes me smile and validates my decisions! Yay! ^.^

Thank you, thank you, thank you, Dan! This is such a lovely review and I'm so glad you stopped by my novel on your journey to reaching 1,000 reviews! Congrats again, by the way - so fantastic! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #19, by Unicorn_Charm Nice to Meet You

28th March 2014:
Hiya! So I came across this story a few months ago, wanted to read it, didn't get around to it, forgot the name and then couldn't find it again. The other day I read something else of yours, loved it (because you're an amazing writer), and checked to see if you had other stories written. I was so excited when I found this again and immediately started to read it!

Wow. I don't know what else to say but, wow. I am so in love with this so far you have no idea. It's brilliant! I love, love, love the style of writing. The present, the past, back to the present. Josephine and Fred's friendship is so unlikely and so perfect at the same time. It's so fun to read!

I absolutely adored the scene during the interview when George arrives. I totally relate to her because I am that girl haha. I've been that shy, awkward, clumsy mess around a guy I liked, so I felt for her.

I cannot wait for the next chapter! I really do hope you plan on continuing with this. It's just absolutely amazing! Thank you for being such a wonderful writer!! :) I will read all of your stories forever more! 10/10 for everything so far!!

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Ah, wow! You are just far too good to me, do you know that? haha This is really so sweet, I hardly know how to respond! *squee* First off, I'm so glad to hear that you found my fic again, and just ecstatic that it was another story of mine that brought you back to it! And thank you so much for enjoying so many of my stories! Your support just blows me away! :-D

Wow to you! I don't know what to say! hehehe Ah, I'm so happy to hear that, thank you! And I'm so glad you enjoy the style - that's really reassuring and I deeply appreciate it! And I love that you love Jo and Fred's friendship! You've hit the nail on the head with them two: They're such an unlikely duo, but somehow they manage to make sense! ^.^

hehehe The interview has been my favorite scene to write so far, so it's just thrilling that the reception of that scene has been so positive! Thank you! And when George shows up... hehehe Poor Jo. She's just so fun to torture. :-p And trust me, I've been the awkward girl, too - I'm glad you can relate! It's always fun to read about characters you feel a special connection to!

Next chapter is going into the queue tonight (or tomorrow at the latest), so it won't be a long wait! I'm definitely going to see this story to the end, I promise! I hope to see you back in chapter four! Either way, thank you for being such a kind reviewer! Your support is so touching and I endlessly appreciate it! :-D

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #20, by HeyMrsPotter Promises, Promises

24th March 2014:
Me again! (I'm hoping this is #100, if not, I like 101 too :P)

This was such a beautiful, beautiful chapter. I'm already hooked! Don't you know I'm already distracted enough from realy life without ANOTHER story to be obsessed with?! Ah well, too late now!

I feel so sad for everyone, for Josephine because she loves George and loved Fred and now she's lost both of them really, because wtithout Fred's threat will she ever tell George how she feels? I hope so! And poor George and all of the Weasleys. I'm in total denial that Fred ever died in the books and then I read fanfiction that reminds me and it just wants to make me cry (but that's a total testiment to your writing :P)

Fred forcing Josephine to tell George how she feels was just so perfectly Fred. There was just the right amount of humour and bigheadedness without it being overwhelming, and of wanting the best for the people he loved without him being sappy. I just love him so much in this!

Really excellent chapter, I'll be reading the next very soon :D

Dee :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by HeyMrsPotter Introduction: Boxes

24th March 2014:
Hi Tanya! Here to help you reach your triple digits! (Any excuse to read your writing is a good one :P)

I think you've got a really interesting introduction to your story here, I'm immediately intrigued.

I like that you started with the end of the story (that made more sense in my head) I'm assuming that the rest of the story is whatever happened between May and December, and I'm really intrigued to find out what the story is between the two.

I thought you descibed the grief that whoever this mystery person is is feeling at Fred's funeral really well. The description was really great, how you manage this in less than 1000 words is just beyond me!

As always, I am thoroughly impressed with your work and I demand you share your talent with the rest of us!

Dee :)

Author's Response: HI DEE! *glomps* I know I've said this to you elsewhere already, but YOU ARE JUST SO WONDERFUL FOR HAVING SO IMMEDIATELY COME TO REVIEW ME AND GET ME TO OVER 100! Honestly, it was such a sincerely kind gesture that I appreciate endlessly. You're absolutely wonderful!

Yay for intrigue! This intro is definitely simple and restrained, but I'm glad it's still able to capture your interest! ^.^

LOL Don't worry, I know what you mean! hehehe And thank you! And your assumption is correct (with the exception of a few of the final chapters that will take place after that moment)! I'm glad you're excited to see what happened to get her to that place! Woot!

Aww, thank you!! I'm so happy to hear that! Because this is such a character driven story, as opposed to plot-heavy, it's really important that I convey emotions decently, so it's great that you feel I've done that well! And gah, you're too kind. *blushes*

Dee! You're so nice! Stahp it! :-p Really, though, you're just the best and I can't thank you enough for all of your support and kind words! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #22, by marauderfan Nice to Meet You

24th March 2014:
Um, I pretty much love the job posting. Every entence ends with an exclamation :p All you need is an abiliy to read and your favourite joke? Can I work there?

The interview is hilarious, I was laughing out loud as I read it! And the way every other question started with "Sooo..." haha. Seriously, why aren't real interviews like this? You write Fred so well, btw. This is exactly how I'd imagine him as the co-leader of a company!

OOH JOSEPHINE SUCH A BOSS. She not only knows all about finances, but she spoke at least six lines of text! Atta girl. Except then George walks in and she has to hide under the desk... oy vey. But seriously the rest of that scene I was laughing so hard, especially at the MOST awkward time, in that silence of "now what" SHE SITS ON THE CHAIR AGAIN AHAHA... I mean, poor girl, it must have been absolutely mortifying, but it's so funny! I hope that, given some time and space away from it, she sees how funny it is too :p

The favourite chest hair... Omg I can't even handle this. I'm dying of laughter.

And then that sad little closing section... well, I guess objectively it wasn't that sad, but it was quite sobering after the comedy of errors that was the interview. Reopening the shop... I can't imagine that went well.

By the way, despite the rollercoaster that is my feelings right now, I like the way this is narrated in segments hopping back and forth in time, it's a neat way to do it, as Josephine kind of reflects on her memories of earlier, better times. Can't wait until the next chapter!

Now you only need 2 more reviews till 100!! :D *confetti*

 Report Review

Review #23, by marauderfan Promises, Promises

24th March 2014:
REVIEWING LIKE A NINJA

I love the first section, Josephine's "conversation" with Fred. If it can even be called that. It was more like Fred's conversation with Jo's inner voice and facial expressions. Btw, I love their friendship! It's great that she doesn't need to be super outgoing to be friends with him, because he understands her mode of speaking through facial expressions and few words - and he loves to talk anyway, this way he has more time to do so without being interrupted haha. It's a sweet friendship. I do wonder how they became friends in the first place! :p

I love that he resorted to blackmail to try to get Jo to tell George about her feelings for him. And when she said she'd get over him, and then her inner voice and Fred both said "that'll be the day"... hilarious. She's a great character - its cool to see someone who is actually very similar to the twins in terms of thought process and humour, but is the opposite in social aspects.

Ahhh the funeral again it's so sad :( And George and Mrs Weasley both crying :( I wish Jo had stayed there for George... it must be hard to be so shy! I'm curious what happened to her family as well. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Kristen! Hiya! Has it really been a month since you came to Ninja-review this story for me and push me over 100?!? Ah, time flies! Also... OMG THANK YOU AGAIN! Really, though, I can't say it enough. It's seriously one of the kindest things that a person could do for a fellow writer and you jumped to it without a moment's hesitation! It's such a lovely gesture and I sincerely appreciate it. You're just wonderful! *hugs*

Yay! hehehe Always wonderful to hear that (and whether or not it can be called a conversation is still up for debate ;))! I prefer your alternative. Bahaha! Oh, I'm so glad you're enjoying their friendship! They're such a bizarre pair, but strangely they work really well together even so! I used to worry a lot about their believability, but they've ended up being incredibly well-received, which is a huge relief, and even more so when I hear it from fellow author's whose opinions I hold in high esteem - so a double thank you to you! ^.^ (Also, though you already know this by now, the beginnings of their friendship is shown next chapter! hehehe I'm having a lot of fun sneaking in her/their background info slowly through flashbacks!)

Ah, yes, blackmail: a Fred Weasley favorite. hehehe Aw, I'm so happy you think Jo's a great character and that her inner monologue is really working for you! And yes! That's such a spot-on observation of her as a person! She really understands their mentality so fully because she's actually quite similar on a fundamental level; they just outwardly deal with everything in such opposing ways! *high fives*

Daww *hugs* I know, it's so weird writing these chapters that are on such different sides of the spectrum; jumping from funny, happy, care-free times to emotional funeral and post-death scenes! But it's great to see that the construction seems to be working for readers! And I always feel badly for Jo and her crippling shyness, as well, but... yeah, I don't know what would have happened if Molly hadn't distracted George! *ponders*

Eep! Thank you again for another wonderful review, Kristen! I sincerely appreciate it! :-D


 Report Review

Review #24, by marauderfan Introduction: Boxes

24th March 2014:
All right, here's another step closer to 100 ;)

The beginning is intriguing - just enough to raise questions, but certainly doesn't give anything away. Just enough to convey the feeling of guilt. And then back in time a little... Fred's funeral. Gah I get sad just thinking about it. I think you portrayed Josephine's feelings wonderfully though, and captures the post-war mindset of how, yeah it's nice that Voldemort is gone, but so are people's friends and family and that really hits close to home. Poor girl :(

This is really beautifully writtten, ,a great start to your story!

Author's Response: YOU GOT ME TO 100, YOU LOVELY, LOVELY, WONDERFUL PERSON, YOU! Honestly, your review-a-thon for me that was so immediate after I posted that status was one of the sweetest things I ever could have asked for. Thank you so much for helping me get to 100, and even more so for leaving a plethora of such wonderful reviews! :-D

Yay for intrigue! I'm glad I managed to balance the intro correctly! I always worry when trying to write even a small amount of mystery into a story, because that balance can be really hard to manage, so it's a great relief to hear this! And Fred... I know. :( His death is still just ridiculously upsetting, but I think it's a bit helpful when writing from Jo's perspective and trying to capture how she would feel! I'm glad you found her emotions well-done and realistic! Phew! ^.^

Ah, again, you're just so wonderful. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! And I'll see you soon in my next response! :-D *glomps*


 Report Review

Review #25, by 1917farmgirl Nice to Meet You

24th March 2014:
Worst friend ever finally showing up to give you a review on this beauty!

And, you know, if you didn't make your chapters almost 8,000 words long, it wouldn't take you so long to edit them. That's like three normal people's chapters...just sayin'. LOL.

BUT, I LOVE THIS CHAPTER! I love it all! I want to wrap it up and take it home with me so I can see it always. (Or maybe I just want to wrap Fred up and take him home with me so I can see him always...I sometimes get those two things confused.)

The advertisement was CLASSIC Fred and George, and makes me laugh every time I read it.

And then there is the interview. Seriously, how do you THINK of this stuff? I wish I had the talent for long and amazing reviews like you give, and the ability to put into words exactly how much I LOVE that scene, but every time I try I just end up laughing, and the tears start to stream down my face, and I can't breathe and...yeah. This is seriously one of the FUNNIEST things I've ever read, and I read a lot of humor.

Not that I don't feel sorry for Jo. Fred was AWFUL to her, from the chair to the comments to him and George standing there when she disappeared, but it's just so funny! And then the moment he GETS it, and realizes what is going on.

Sorry, I just can't get over that chair! Seriously, brilliant invention, T! And Fred's questions to her! Can I sign up to be interviewed by your Fred?

Okay, I will attempt to be serious here.

One of the many things I love about you and how you write the twins, besides the fact that you just GET them, is that they are always, always, always two distinct people. You even bring in their subtle differences in appearance. See, this is why I love you.

I also love the way you write them talking to each other. Their banter is SO spot on I feel like I'm reading a chapter out of the books. Wish I could write them that way, but at least I get to read your version of them, so you need to write MORE of this FASTER!

And I'm still stuck on the whole hiding behind the desk scene. It's seriously one of my top 5 fanfic scenes ever. I just love it.

CHEST HAIR! I'm rolling again! You are too good.
I love your twins! I love your Fred!

And then, GAH! You just crush me with the second half of the story. Tear my heart out and leave it lying on the ground.

The hilariousness of the first part clashes so perfectly with the stark emptiness of the second part - it's amazing and heart breaking. The way you change your sentence structure, making them shorter, more too the point. It's amazing.

And now I'm crying. Darn you. *goes for tissues*

You truly have a gift and I'm glad you share it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>