Reading Reviews for Lying Josephine
  
168 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 1917farmgirl Breakable Girls and Boys

27th April 2015:
How on earth did I never review this chapter? That's just not right. Not right at all.

Tanya, I'm seriously at a loss as to how to review this. I wanted to give you one of those massive detailed reviews that you seem to excel at so well when you review my stuff, but as I read, I found myself unable to stop and make mental notes about all the parts I wanted to mention to you. I was way, way too caught up in what was playing out on the page before me to do that.

I've read this before, many times, actually, as you worked it over (and over, and over, LOL.) But that doesn't matter. I don't know how you do it, but when you take those thoughts and ideas and emotions you have and let them pour out onto paper, something magical happens.

This story is literally one of the best I have ever written. Your Fred, your George...they are all I could ever hope and dream my beloved twins to be. And Josephine is SO AMAZINGLING REAL! How can you not love her?

The genius of this set up, making me laugh and love Fred in the first part - because he is just so FRED! So perfect. And then ripping my heart out in the next part.

Just so you know, I don't care how long it takes you to finish this story, I will be right here, waiting and begging for more, because this is THE ultimate Fred and George fic and nothing else I read can ever compare.

Now excuse me while I go have a good cry.

 Report Review

Review #2, by LadyL8 Breakable Girls and Boys

28th March 2015:
Hi again, Tanya. I’m back with the 4th and final review for now, but I like the story so I’ll probably keep an eye on it and come back later on when things have quieted down a little :)

OMG. This was so tragically beautiful. It’s very beautifully written, but tragic because it always tragic when you lose someone important in your life. And since I’m coming straight from the last chapter, I can’t help but notice the contrast to it. There everyone was joking around and simply having fun. In some way that made this chapter even more tragic, because I had just seen them all happy and lively. And you write sad chapters so well that I’m actually wondering if I should be worried for you, Tanya (I should not, should I?)

Anyway, I’m feeling so sorry for George now. In this chapter you can really see him struggling, as is to be expected of someone who’s just lost their twin. He’s putting on a brave face, but he’s definitely having hard time. And it can’t be easy going back to the shop after having gone through something like that. He built the shop with Fred, so everything there must remind him of his twin. And it probably doesn’t help that it’s a place of laughter, and he’s feeling the very opposite of what the place is suppose to represent.

I really liked (or not liked, depending on how you see it) the similarities between the broken globe and how they – especially George – feel after having lost Fred. It was really clever to have a flashback showing why the globe was so important to them, and then have George destroy it in present day. It definitely added to the sad feeling that’s all over this chapter, and I just wanted to give George a long and warm hug. Poor guy :(

And I loved that Fred’s voice was guiding Josephine in a way - that she was trying to act like she thought he’d want her to act if he was there. And I think Josephine made great progress in this chapter. She’s gone from not being able to be around George without hiding, to now comforting him (a little awkwardly one may say, but it’s not exactly easy to find words in this kind of situation) and even talking to him. So yeah, Josephine is on the right track :)

So I’ve already said this many times, but I’ve fallen in love with the story. I think you have your unique way of telling it, and I love the jumping in time. It really adds contrast to the story as well, because the flashbacks often are from a joyful time and the present days’ are from a sad and grieving time. I also really like Josephine’s voice, and I find here to be a very likable and relatable character. And I can’t wait to see where this is going, so I’ve favorited the story and I’ll be keeping an eye on it and coming back when I have the time.

You’re very talented, Tanya. 10/10 and never stop writing! :)

- Lotte
(And while I may not have liked the last riddle very much at the time, I promise I'm not trying to kill you with kindness)

 Report Review

Review #3, by LadyL8 Nice to Meet You

28th March 2015:
Hello Tanya. Here I am again with review number 3.

OMG. That was certainly an awkward job interview. I can’t even begin to imagine how mortified I would be if my potential boss had done something like that. Poor Jo. Fred was so mean, but I suppose that’s how he would act daily if she did get the job. So you could say he was preparing her for what was to come if she was hired. But still, I felt very sorry for Josephine, but I couldn’t help but laugh at her expense.

Anyway, I loved your characterization of the twins. They were exactly like I imagine they’d be. I forgot to say that about them in the last chapter, so I figured I’d do it here.

I especially love Fred. While he was loud, very humorous and often at other’s expense, that’s exactly the way he is – the way they both are really. But I feel like you – and probably more than J.K Rowling – highlights the differences between the twins. While they both look relatively alike, and they both share a love for making people laugh and simply having fun, they are the not the same person. They have their differences too, and I think you’ve already showcased that. And that’s a result of Josephine only being romantically interested in one of them, and being friends with the other. And yeah, I really like that.

And it’s so believable that the twins would do pranks like that when interviewing people for jobs at their shop. They’re definitely not the type to be all serious, even when they probably should be. And I liked the farting chairs (what an odd thing to say). That would definitely have freaked me out. I’d be so mortified that I’d probably leave the interview before it even started.

I also liked Josephine’s obsession with George. I actually forgot to say that in the last review, so I’m mentioning it now. But I can’t believe it’s been going on for so long? And she loves him? I thought it was just a crush. Wow, I can see this heading an interesting direction now, especially since she had to hide simply because he looked at her. How in the world is going to survive working with him now in present day, especially since he seems very interested in getting to know her after seeing her grieving over his twins’ death. Hm… I’m really looking forward to seeing how this plays out now.

Once again, a very wonderful chapter, Tanya. I don’t know if I said this in the last review, but I’m so envious of your dialogues. I myself have so much trouble with writing dialogues, because it always seems so forced, and it’s a lot harder than it appears to be when you read it. And I think your dialogues are actually what I love the most in the story.

I also love this part: “Would you stop trying to escape, already? Cause, look, since first walking in here, you really have quite grown on me! It's like my favourite chest hair - which also happens to be my only chest hair: At first it was sort of laughably embarrassing, but now I'm quite fond of it! I like you! I mean, you're a bit off your rocker, but I genuinely am enjoying this all way too much to just let you wander off, never to be seen again! So come on, you nutter; let me hire you!" - It made me laugh. Such a Fred-thing to say! :P

- Lotte

 Report Review

Review #4, by LadyL8 Promises, Promises

28th March 2015:
Hi again, Tanya. Now that Quidditch is over (I admire you for coming up with that riddle, by the way), I’m finally back with the rest of your reviews.

Wow. I loved this. I always knew you were a good writer, but I didn’t know you were this good. This was perfection!

I liked that you started in the past (well, further in the past). It was nice to see a glimpse of what kind of friendship Fred and Josephine had, and it is rare to see a very platonic relationship between a male and a female in stories. And I liked that they were joking around, but honestly it would’ve been kind of strange if they didn’t. It is Fred Weasley after all!

And I think they compliment each other well. Fred is – as Josephine says – funny, lively and large-than-life, while she is quieter and perhaps a little bit forgettable – at least in comparison to him. And Fred helps her come a little bit out of her shell, while she “tones him down” a little – If that made sense at all, because it did in my head. So yeah, they really compliment each other.

I love that we learn a little bit more about Josephine and her past in every chapter. Normally I don’t like a slow pace, but here I think it’s great and very needed. The part where she’s kind of arguing with herself - because part of her is envious of Fred having had a mother and a loving family, but the other part hate herself for thinking like that when he is dead – is actually my favourite. It really says a lot about her as a character. She’s obviously had a very tough childhood, and that does affect her life in many ways. But she feels guilty for wanting something she’s never had, because she knows she should not think like that when he’s just died.

One of my best friends in real life is actually a foster child, and she’s explained to me that this is often the case when you’ve never had a family of your one. You just wish you had a family or someone that would have your back no matter what, and this feeling is there even at the most inappropriate of times. So I find it very realistic for her to think like this.

And then there’s George. First I just have to say that I admire you for daring to write him in this moment in his life. I can’t even begin to imagine how much it must hurt to lose a close family member, and even less how it would be to lose a twin. So you’re very brave for doing that.

Secondly I just have to say that I really liked the scene where he sees Josephine. It was beautiful to see him light up from realizing he wasn’t alone in grieving for Fred, from realizing that he wasn’t the only one broken after having lost a best friend. And it was very beautifully written, Tanya.

And I absolutely loved this part: “It doesn’t even seem quite possible that such a huge personality could fit into such a small rectangular block of wood, only to be buried beneath the earth and never seen again. There is no sense in that”. I could really feel her pain here.

So Tanya, I just have to ask: how in the world can you be so good at writing? You’re amazing, and I absolutely loved this chapter! (You can probably tell by the length of this review, and the fact that I’m rambling a lot)

- Lotte

 Report Review

Review #5, by LadyL8 Introduction: Boxes

26th March 2015:
Hi Tanya. I wasn’t around when you guys had the review hot seat thing, so I’ve decided to leave 4 reviews for each participant. It’s also partly because I’m closing in on my 4-year anniversary on HPFF, and I feel like expressing my gratitude to all the wonderful people that have made my time on the site amazing - and you puffs are definitely one of the main reasons for me loving HPFF.

So I know you asked for reviews on chapter 3 and so on, but I really like to do it chronologically. And considering I’m leaving 4 reviews, I will eventually review chapter 3 and 4 as well.

Anyway, over to the story. I have to start by expressing my love for your opening line - “I suppose I deserved this”. It really caught my attention right away. I found myself wondering what had she done? Why would she think she deserved this? What is the “this” she is talking about? And I’m a little envious; because opening lines is something I struggle with myself. But you’re apparently really good at it! :)

And I also loved that you flash-forward (or backwards, depending on how you view it). This way of telling a story has really grown on me after watching How To Get Away With Murder, and I think it’s a different but interesting move. You’d think it would be boring knowing where it’s heading, but it’s actually not because you keep asking yourself why they will end up like that. Or in this case, what will to happen to make her think she deserves “this” – whatever “this” is (if that makes any sense whatsoever) :P

And Josephine has such a great voice and she already seems like a great character. I rarely feel sorry for someone before I know what horrible act they’ve committed (I blame law school for that), but I already feel sorry for her. And I think that’s because you start the story by showing this vulnerable side to her – she’s completely alone even when she’s surrounded. And the way she keeps repeating that she deserves it… I can almost feel her regret for doing whatever she did that was wrong.

I also liked the last line – “Fred Weasley is lying in a box”. It’s haunting and powerful – it pretty much brings back all the feelings I had when I first read about this death in the books. And it’s a really good way of ending the prologue.

I’m really excited to see where this story will be heading. Obviously Josephine has done something wrong, and I can’t wait to see what it is and how it will all turn out. And I’m wondering who Josephine is and what her relationship with Fred was (like in more detail). So yeah, I really love the story!

- Lotte
(Oh, and I forgot to say that I really like the flow of the story – It’s part of what makes the story so enjoyable to read)

 Report Review

Review #6, by PolyJuice_ Nice to Meet You

18th March 2015:
It's me. Again.

AAAH, I love this bit where she applies! God, I just want to cringe and hide during this whole scene! Poor Jo. Fred is so mean to you. :P BUT AT LEAST HE'S ALIVE. *sobs* See, I'm sitting here already waiting for the next chapter because the next one is my favourite of the five out so far.

But anyway, back to this chapter. :P I can't believe Fred doesn't even remember her! Hogwarts isn't that big. But honestly. I can't believe she actually hid. Silly creature.

I love that Fred hired her because she stood out, even if it was for something as strange as literally hiding at the sight of his brother. It's so very Fred. :P

Although I am worried that as time goes on she'll meet George and actually get to know him and realise that she doesn't /actually/ like him. That would be too upsetting. Because, I mean, she's never really talked to him. But I guess that's not going t happen - your summary gives it away. :P

Lovely chapter, as usual~

Liz

 Report Review

Review #7, by PolyJuice_ Promises, Promises

18th March 2015:
I'M BACK. IT'S ME. ANOTHER REVIEW. AND I'M DEFINITELY NOT LISTENING TO YOUR ALBUM WHILE I READ. NOPE.


I seriously can't describe the feeling of happiness I get from Fred and Jo's relationship. There's nothing better than a close platonic relationship and I'm just wanting to sit here and curl up and read them forever BECAUSE THEY'RE SO CUTE AND AMAZING. It's interesting because we know George is similar to Fred, but in this story he seems a lot more aloof. He's put on a sort of pedestal and I like reading it that way, because I'm sure that later on as he comes off that pedestal we'll (the readers and Jo) will start seeing more Fred in him AND IT WILL KILL US. VERY MUCH.

BUT I'm also very curious on Jo's backstory. Why is she so upset about her mum? Why is her mum not crying over Jo? I need to know everything. All of it. Every bit of backstory on these losers. And every tiny interaction. Jo excuses herself to go to the bathroom? I WANT TO READ IT. Fred passing Jo just outside the store and nods to her before continuing on his way? I NEED IT.

Also I was wrong. Family dinner isn't till later tonight. :P Safe for awhile. Enough time that I can come here and write you a review detailing how much I love these characters and you, because they're amazing, beautiful, wonderful, incredible, fantastic, great, tremendous, perfect, magnifique, special, awesome, lovely, superior, marvelous, delightful, sublime, splendid, fabulous, exquisite, and rrravishing. ;)

Liz

 Report Review

Review #8, by PolyJuice_ Introduction: Boxes

18th March 2015:
Tanya! It's me!

I've already expressed my love for this story but I'll do it again. :P I absolutely love the way you've developed these characters in a real and completely believable way. The love I have for Jo is incredible. I just want to pick her up and squish and squeeze her until Fred comes back. And maybe even longer than that. Although I'm not sure she'd like me if I did that. :P

The contrast betweem the before and after is a neat set up. I love seeing both in one chapter like that. Especially at the very start where Jo is just meeting Fred in one half, but we later see just how close she's gotten to him, referring to him as he best (and only) friend, despite her earlier apprehension.

Even in such a short chapter you've absolutely captivated me and I already feel like crying, sobbing, whining, whinging, moaning, weeping, screaming, shouting, bawling, whimpering, bleating, snvielling, shrieking, blubbering, howling, exclaiming, lamenting, bemoaning. bewailing, grieving, sniffing, whimpering, caterwauling, screeching, fretting, yelling, deploring, baying, and generally pining.

Liz

 Report Review

Review #9, by alicia and anne Eye of the Storm

5th March 2015:
I love that Fred instantlyy goes to Josephine when he wants to know where George is :D

Oh no! Fred was dumped? That's not good.

Oh! Oh he deserves it after that behaviour! I would have hit him! Haha

Fred and Josephine are brilliant! I love that it's basically just him talking at her and answering his own questions. :D

I really like that you keep her embarassed to talk around him and still so shy, it's great that she isn't immediately cured. It makes it all the more adorable and I love that he's helping her with the receipts.

and now he's talking to her like Fred did, not really needing a response, just needing an outlet to speak to.

And now he's yelling and I don't want him to yell, I want him to know that she likes him.

NO!!! It can't end there! I need her to admit her feelings! I need to know if George feels the same way! I need so much more!

I hope that these reviews helped make your day better, I'm sad to hear that you've had a bad few weeks so here's some squishy hugs for you *hugs so tightly*

 Report Review

Review #10, by alicia and anne Breakable Girls and Boys

5th March 2015:
Fred is going to be so hilarious with this crush Josephine has on George! Especially mentioning George asleep and drooling! Haha do Fred and George expect anyone to work? :D

Fred is such a child at times! He's brilliant!

Awww it's so adorable that Fred and George get each other home made gifts. I love that fact and I am now going to make it into my headcanon. :D

OH MY GOD THAT GIFT IS SO ADORABLE!!! And those jokes are terribly awesome that they're so funny!

Oh George! He's changed so much, I want Josephine to be there for him, to help heal him. Even say a few of Fred's terrible jokes. :(

Oh no! he broke it! :( And she's there and she's hearing Fred's voice in her head egging her on!


Gah!!! She held his hand and he's staring at her and he's noticed her more and they had a moment and she helped him! And I want more!!! :D

I want so much more!!! I absolutely love this so much! I know I say it in every review, but I seriously do! It's so amazing! Just oh my god!!! I feel so many emotions and it's because you're such a fantastic author!

 Report Review

Review #11, by alicia and anne Nice to Meet You

5th March 2015:
I love that the chapters all flip to different times. That way I can see how she came into the twins lifes and how they've been around each other and I just love it so much!

I have so much love for you and your stories! :D

Hahaha the twins would be amazing bosses! That letter was just an act of pure brilliance! They're so hilarious! I wonder how many people brought sweets and jokes? I wonder if Josephine did? :D

Oh! This obsession with George has gone on for quite some time! I wonder when it started?

I love how loud Fred is! He's so awesome! Oh god! He's hilarious! I can't stop laughing! This makes up for the crying and devastation in the last chapter! :D

His questions are pure brilliance! :D And they're such Twin questions! I can't help but wonder what questions George is asking people? Why is Fred a mango of all things? Hahaha oh god! He asked hoq attractive he is! Hahaha oh god I can't stop laughing! :D

I loved when George came into the room and she hid! And they noticed!! haha of course they noticed! :D I think that Fred knows the real reason why she applied now! :D

Oh my god! Fred has a favourite chest hair! Oh god this story is so hilariously brilliant! I love it so much and it is becoming by far one of my favourite ever stories! :D

 Report Review

Review #12, by alicia and anne Promises, Promises

5th March 2015:
Yay! We get to see Josephine and Fred together and how they used to be.

:O She's obsessed with George? Oo this is interesting! So very very interesting! My excitement is building!

I absolutely love how you've written Fred and I'm loving the friendship between him and Josephine. They're so funny and compliment each other so well. The way that they bounce off of each other is brilliant!

Haha I love that Fred has a way around his promise. I can't wait to see if she tells George, or if Fred writes him a letter about it :D

*cries* I want her to tell George and I'm so sad that Fred won't be around to witness this all! :(

"It doesn’t make any sense. It doesn’t even seem quite possible that such a huge personality could fit into such a small rectangular block of wood, only to be buried beneath the earth and never seen again. There is no sense in that." --- I absolutely love this! So much! There is no other way to describe Fred and it makes you wonder how it's even possible that he does fit in something so small.

Why must you make me cry? I just want to curl up into a ball and cry. :( I am this blubbering, sobbing mess

Why must you be so talented and make me feel such emotions! :D Gah! So much sadness! You wrote it all so amazingly!

 Report Review

Review #13, by alicia and anne Introduction: Boxes

5th March 2015:
Oh no! I already feel sorry for her!

*cries* Why did Fred die? I don't think that anyone will ever get over that death.

I am so intrigued already on how she is going to get away with this lying and what's going to happen between May and December! I'm so excited right now! So very very excited! :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by Diogenissa Introduction: Boxes

25th January 2015:
Oh Tannnyyya! Happy Hufflepuff Hotseat (take-two-but-better-later-than-never)!

I knew I wanted to do this story (and it is currently on my reading list) and I'm glad I did--this was just awesome and I love your portrayal of the twins!


NOW *turns out fingers and wiggles them free*


Powerful opening line--it sets a very nice stage for what is coming and immedately I am made curious as to what she is feeling she is deserving of and then the 'why'. As I continued, I could almost literally FEEL the pain, sorrow, the heaviness of the guilt and the initial numbing shock of Fred's death. It runs an icy shiver up the back.

Jo's testimony and reasoning behind tears is what has truly captured me because not only is she right but tears and mourning are very HUMAN traits and part of the human condition and hence perfectly normal and natural. I love how she lets go.

Tis more than understandable that she feels that way about the sun but the more I read it, the more I had this feeling of 'maybe that's Fred's way of comforting his loved ones'--I could just feel that sort of warmth, not only from the sunlight itself, but also the thought of Fred watching over everyone. :-)

This: 'My best friend is lying in a box' then 'Fred Weasley is lying in a box' at the end--wow just WOW! I don't think this could have ended on any more of a stronger note! Gah just floor me next time! :O


Overall this was just amazing Tanya--I absolutely LOVE your descriptions and how you've set the stage. I also like your versatility with words--you have a great vocabulary and I learned quite a few new ones!

Thank you SO MUCH for a beautiful opening chapter and now I'm on to Chapter 2.

Karen xoxo

 Report Review

Review #15, by Freda_and_Georgina Eye of the Storm

22nd January 2015:
As it is the end of a long Thursday, non-weekend day I am unable to think of much to tell you other than how funny, sad, lovable, and heartbreaking this chapter is. Of all the chapters, this one really gives the overall feel of the story. It's the Lying Josephine-est chapter of all of them. The epitome of this story, if you will. I'm numbly rambling so let's say it together: I am the worst. (reviewer, not writer).

Anyway, love those chapters. And I'm reviewing all I can of this story as a thank-you for never missing our Review Hot Seat.
--Georgina

 Report Review

Review #16, by Freda_and_Georgina Promises, Promises

22nd January 2015:
No! Oh no matter how many times you write the family's reactions to Fred's death I still am let secretly sobbing. Let them recover. Let Josephine have courage. It is all so sad. And brilliant. I will give you that, the sadness is brilliant.

--Georgina

 Report Review

Review #17, by likeness_of_a_seabird Breakable Girls and Boys

22nd January 2015:
Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review, round three!

Poor George! Can’t catch a break, can he? First he is swarmed by overeager customers, then he breaks the globe Fred gave him. Honestly, the moment when he stands there, frozen, and realises what he just did broke my heart.

I get that people are happy that Weasleys’ Wizard Wheezes is open again but don’t they realise George just lost his brother? The least they could do was to respect that and leave when the shop closes without too much of a fuss. How very rude of them to complain over a closing time and leave a mess behind.

I loved how Jo was relying on Fred’s voice to guide her and seeking the courage she needed from the memory of him. I think that by doing this, she’s not only honouring the promise she made to Fred but also keeping his memory alive.

Speaking of Fred, I had to smile when he resulted to tormenting Jo because she didn’t come to see what he had to show for her immediately. The whole poking and tickling and generally acting like a five-year-old was so typically Fred. I also liked how he was worried that George might like the Christmas present. It shows how much they care about each other (not that there was ever any doubt about it but it is good to show it once in a while). And that globe was simply phenomenal! If this doesn’t prove that Fred and George are gifted with magic, nothing will!

Another great chapter! I’m looking forward to seeing what we’ll see next in the “past-section”. I love the whole story, but if I had to name a part of a chapter that I liked the most, it would be those parts.

- Emmi

 Report Review

Review #18, by Freda_and_Georgina Introduction: Boxes

22nd January 2015:
Realized I never reviewed the first two chapters and hopped from them to the thrid and thought "this looks like a good place to review". But I'm here now, and that's what matters. Anyway, this chapter was short but short is good, especially when it ends abruptly. it fills the reader with curiosity and a need to move on. By the way, I was curious and needed to move on after reading this chapter the first time.

You'll see more of me soon!
--Georgina

 Report Review

Review #19, by Willow Eye of the Storm

15th January 2015:
This is so fantastic. I can't wait to read more! You just have captured Fred and George so perfectly, invented fabulously believable new characters, and I will admit you made me cry once. Amazing job 10/10

Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you so much! This is such a lovely review! I'm so thrilled you enjoyed my version of Fred and George, as well as my OC! And the fact that I made you cry is honestly such a huge compliment to me (although I feel like I should maybe also apologize? :-p)! OH! And guess what? You're my 150th reviewer for this story! *squee* Thank you again for leaving such a kind review; it completely made my day! :-D

 Report Review

Review #20, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Eye of the Storm

14th January 2015:
No, no, NO. That can NOT be all that's posted right now. I'm going to have to join the list of people pestering you for another chapter! :P

It was so sweet to see both Fred and George confiding in Jo, but also so sad to see George and Jo both blaming themselves. :( I liked how, although she couldn't fight, Jo was still involved in the battle, and saved George's life. And I really love how, in the flashbacks, Jo doesn't even have to actually SAY anything, but Fred already knows what she means.

Another wonderful chapter, and I know you're busy with RL and staffer things, but I'm going to need an update SOON!

Author's Response: ...if I promise that chapter six will be posted very soon, will that help? hahaha Although, feel free to join the pestering wagon anyway! Lord knows I need as much guilt-inducing persuasion as possible to keep my Muse happy! :-p

Gah, I know - that George and Jo scene was so difficult to write cause I DON'T WANT THEM TO FIGHT. Even if Jo's version of fighting is... not really fighting at all, BUT STILL! And each of their self-blame... gah, so upsetting. I swear I love my characters, even though I put them through a lot... hahaha And the battle information! Wah! I know. It's all so upsetting, but I'm glad you liked it anyway! And her and Fred's bond is my favorite thing ever. He plays such a huge role in her life just by caring and trying to chip away at her silence.

This is such a wonderful review. Thank you so much again, Jayde! And I swear it will be updated soon! I promise, I promise! ♥


 Report Review

Review #21, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Breakable Girls and Boys

14th January 2015:
Aw, so sweet, but sad at the same time. It was really heartbreaking to see how excited Fred was about giving the snow globe to George, and then turn around and see how much pain it's causing George to hear Fred's voice now that he's gone. It was really genius the way you featured the snow globe in both parts of the chapter dear, really!

Fred's annoying Jo in the first part was really hilarious, and I loved how, even though he's gone now, Jo can practically hear his voice, telling her to go help George... and his voice is ultimately what finally gives her the strength to talk to George, and even touch him for the first time.

And I would leave a longer review... but I need to go read chapter 5 now. :P Well done!

Author's Response: "Aw, so sweet, but sad at the same time."

LOL Yeah... that's sort of this whole story wrapped up in one sentence, isn't it? IT'S BECAUSE I'M EVIL AND ENJOY TOYING WITH PEOPLE'S EMOTIONS! MUAHAHA! :-P

No, but seriously, I'm so happy you enjoyed this chapter as well - especially the snow globe and the way it played a big part in both sections, but in such drastically different ways. (And I know, I know! Poor, poor George... :()

I'm thrilled you're liking Fred's influence on Josephine, even in death, because he plays a big part in that way pretty often throughout this entire story.

And pffft. Jayde, these reviews are amazing - don't even worry for a second about length! You're the best. ♥


 Report Review

Review #22, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Nice to Meet You

14th January 2015:
This is such a great, chapter, dear! I thoroughly enjoyed seeing how Jo came to work at WWW, how Fred came to know about her secret, and how their deal was made. The flashback part of the chapter perfectly conveyed Jo's embarrassment and the hilarity of the situation, as well as the nearly instant bond that formed between her and Fred. And the "1998" part of the chapter in just a couple of paragraphs really did an excellent job of explaining all that happened during and after the war.

A really excellent, exciting and intriguing chapter, dear, and I'm off to the next!

Author's Response: Jayde! *hugs*

Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed this little glimpse into how Fred and Jo began! I won't lie, I had a lot of fun putting her into those really awkward and embarrassing situations that she ended up in during this interview. hehehe (Or should I instead laugh MUAHAHAHA! :-p) I'm glad you enjoyed the small present day section, too, and that it managed to convey everything that's happened since the funeral without confusing you or feeling too explainy or anything!

You're far too kind, I swear it. Thank you for this great review! I sincerely appreciate it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by TheDoctor Introduction: Boxes

9th January 2015:
Oh, hello. Yes, sorry--you're probably wondering why I man is now trapped inside of your story. You see, the universe is vast and ridiculous and... Well, I suppose I've crossed into the dimension of fictional universes. Very wibbly wobbly, this spacetime travel business. I was trying to get to Space Alaska to visit an igloo. Never seen an igloo! 900 years in time and space and I never spent the night in an igloo, imagine that.

Anyway, what? Oh yes. Sometimes the least important things lead to the greatest discoveries. Like this story. Here I was, hellbent on an evening in an icy hut, and I end up somewhere so much more brilliant.

I've been called a lot of things--madman, raggedy man, John Smith (imagine)--the worst have been Warrior and Liar. I identify with this narrator. Wars are absurd, terrible things. They never do end just because the fighting stopped. They just keep on going for the people who survive them.

And I have to thank you for writing such a good story. It'd be a shame to get trapped somewhere that didn't have lovely descriptions and language. You're making my stay quite comfortable, even if the subject breaks my hearts.

 Report Review

Review #24, by likeness_of_a_seabird Nice to Meet You

3rd January 2015:
Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review, round two!

Why have the job interviews I’ve been in never been as funny as the one Fred held? I’ve only ever been asked the usual, boring questions. I’d love to be asked what fruit I consider myself to be (I think I’d be a kiwifruit). Seriously speaking, I can very well imagine Fred and George holding a job interview like that. Doing things the “usual way” doesn’t sit well with them, does it? They’re job advert was hilarious! I wish the ones I see in real life would be even half as funny as that one… I could also sympathise with Jo’s position; it can’t have been easy to be in that position, being asked all these questions out of the blue.

I already said in the previous review I liked the way Jo and Fred interact and I still do. It’s so cute the way he decides he’s going to call her Jo without even waiting for her to give her consent, and his ability to gauge what she’s thinking by simply looking at her expression is so believable. Fred and George have always struck to me as very observant people and it’s easy to believe Fred would be able to read her expressions so accurately; after all, he was able to deduce the reason George frightened her so badly.

I also really like how non-linear this is (I believe I said that as well). It makes the story very interesting to read since you don’t know what is going to happen to next. The ending was very attention-grabbing; I can’t wait to see what is going to happen and what piece of Josephine’s past we’re going to see next!

- Emmi

 Report Review

Review #25, by Freda_and_Georgina Breakable Girls and Boys

3rd January 2015:
Hello, Georgina is back.

I am at a loss for words right now. (yes, that is an exaggeration because what's a review without words?) I love Fred, I love George, I love Josephine and their relationships with each other. I love the globe, I love Fred's voice in Josephine's head, and I love the store closure. I don't know what I think of Josephine just allowing George to be broken like that, my heart wants to run over and snap him out of it! But, at the same time I understand why she just runs. Ew, did you have to put in a description of the glass in George's gyaaa. (not a Healer, can you tell?)

I love your story and the way you're weaving it together.
--Georgina

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>