Reading Reviews for Lying Josephine
  
139 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AdinaPuff Introduction: Boxes

15th December 2014:
Hi, here for the review hot seat!

SUPER sorry right off the bat I can't get to the other chapters--I'm behind on my reviewing for the hot seat, and my mind is fried. But I'm hooked on this so I'll be back and give you a review on the latest chapter ;)

What a depressing chapter. I can feel Josephine's sadness rolling off of her. You did a marvelous job showing her vulnerability in the beginning. Her exposure. So alone. I could feel it. And then the next scene, Fred's funeral, is just as upsetting. The sun's mockery is a wonderful addition to completing the scene. I actually loved that mention. It was perfect.

Sorry this is so short. I loved it. Hope you received some wonderful reviews!

-Leigh

 Report Review

Review #2, by Moonyxluna Breakable Girls and Boys

15th December 2014:
Hey Tanya! Happy hot seat day!

I have to start out by saying how sad I am that I haven't read this sooner! I really have enjoyed reading up to here so far. Fred and Josephine's developing friendship in the previous chapters has been so fun to read. I love how their conversations are seemingly so one-sided, but at the same time they retain this balance in their friendship where Fred can basically argue himself in circles with Josephine's facial expressions. It gives her such a neat characterization, because where she's really quiet, she has such a prominent voice through the chapters I've read so far, that even when she's not speaking she's still being brilliantly characterized.

Another thing I have particularly loved have been a lot of your one-liners in this story so far. There have been a few times where the truth in some of your sentences has been very awe-inspiring, and they stay with you as you keep reading.

The formatting of each of the chapters has been really neat, how you start each one of them off with a little happy part from the past, where we see the two happy and bonding, and then the second half is the 'present day' of the story where we see Josephine out on her own and trying to cope with things. I am so curious on how things are going to play out in the upcoming chapters!

Anyway! On to this chapter!

Their friendship is absolutley fantastic. I love how Fred can read her expressions so well, and all of the snark she manages to give him through her eyebrows is fabulous. That gift was so adorable! I feel like you captured a side of Fred that authors rarely do, just through the gift; the large part of his personality is the laughter, but that's not the only part of him, and it was sweet to see some of those emotions poking through in that part.

That, and the 'poke poke poke' was hilarious.

I am SO looking forward to some interactions - in the 'past' part of the story, or the 'present' - between Josephine and George. That one little moment during her interview was NOT enough!

The one sentence George says over the microphone, I think the word 'weary' just perfectly describes how he has to be feeling. That day itself has got to be so overwhelming, emotions wise, to George, and to have it be that busy probably doesn't help.

Yay, she's a Hufflepuff!

Well, just rip my heart out with the Christmas gift against the wall.

That whole scene was so emotional, and I feel like it set the dynamic between the two of them into motion. It was so well written and definitely left me needing more! I've become very attached to this in a short amount of time, and I can't wait to read more of it!

Julie

 Report Review

Review #3, by teh tarik Promises, Promises

15th December 2014:
HEY TANYA! ♥

Hufflepuff Hot Seat yay! I've been pretty busy the last day or so, but I must sneak in a quick review before your day on the grand throne of the hot seat ends. So here I am at last! I've heard SO MUCH about this story and about your excellent portrayal of the Weasley twins, and I've actually read the first chapter before (er...apologies for not reviewing that, but it seemed rather short, so I thought it would be better to come straight here!).

Oh my gosh, Tanya. Fred Funeral Fics? T_T Do not do this to me. I have not got over Fred's death, okay? You're awfully cruel. :( First, you had to include that lovely, lovely flashback showing Jo and Fred's adorable friendship, and how much Fred means to someone so introverted and reserved as Jo. THEN YOU HAD TO WRITE HIM DEAD. That's not fair. Poor Jo. I feel for her so much; I understand introversion really really well being a terrible introvert myself, and I can tell that her one friendship with Fred is something that means the world to her. And to lose that one connection to the world, that is honestly awful and I want to cry STOP THIS ALREADY.

BUT of course there's still George! ♥ Poor George. I find it so funny and interesting that Fred would keep a secret from his own twin just to preserve Jo's feelings; it speaks volumes about how well he understands her. And gah, how untimely his death is. Still, at least it seems to propel Jo toward a decision. I do hope she'll reach out to George a bit more. I love that part where she says she's content to love George from afar. That feeling!! ♥ But of course, now I want her to love George from nearby. Like really really nearby. :P

The last part of the chapter...:( :( :( Jo being alone with poor dead Fred again (after running away and hiding from George and waiting for him to walk off). I can't get over this SORRY NO. T_T T_T

I loved these two chapters, Tanya! This is a fab story and I must catch up with the rest of this. I love the Weasley twins, and I really love your OC Jo. She's so flawed but so realistic and all of the feels for her. ♥

-teh

 Report Review

Review #4, by likeness_of_a_seabird Promises, Promises

15th December 2014:
Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review!

Well, this was certainly an interesting beginning! I liked how you altered between past and present (or future and present, as was the case with the prologue). It gives a nice dynamic for the story and makes all the more curious about what lead to Josephine thinking she deserved whatever it is that has happened (well, based on the summary, I can make a guess, but still. I want to know every little detail!). I loved the interaction between Fred and Josephine at the beginning of chapter two. It seemed so natural and believable, particularly since Jo doesn't talk much.

Speaking of Josephine, I really like her. She seems so nice and a little vulnerable and yet I think there is inner strength to her - though it doesn't seem like she's fully aware of it! Like I already said, I love how she interacts with Fred and how at ease they are around each other. The way she was willing to try and speak for Fred was so beautifully written I got a little teary. I also liked that moment where she resolves to keep the promise she made; it shows that strength I was talking about.

Also, I'm really curious about why Jo doesn't talk much. It's such an interesting trait to give to a character and it works really well in the story, particularly since this is from her POV.

This was a great start and I'm looking forward to reading more!

- Emmi

 Report Review

Review #5, by Freda_and_Georgina Nice to Meet You

15th December 2014:
That was really interesting. Fred is so determined and kind to her, I know I might not have gone that far to hire her. I also like how you have George both similar to and different from Fred. The fun fact was also fun to read.

I'll be returning soon!
--Georgina

 Report Review

Review #6, by maraudertimes Nice to Meet You

15th December 2014:
Well, I'm here for the first proper review. The other two were slightly erratic in nature and definitely not what I meant by reviews!

Okay, so, first things first, OMG why have I not read this before? Second things second, OMG I totally understand why people have been hounding you to keep writing because, third things third, OMG this is amazing. I'm in love with Jo, I'm in love with Fred, I'm in love with George, I'm in love with everything!

Jo is so cute and although the first two chapters captured her in a rather melancholic light, this one highlighted her awkwardness, her absolute head-over-heels "obsession" with George, and completely endeared her to me. I noticed before that Jo is quite a quiet girl, but this chapter really emphasized that. I loved how she does most of her talking in her head, only really spitting out words when absolutely necessary.

That was coupled with Fred's extreme gift for reading faces, unless Jo is just horrid at keeping her heart off her sleeve. Fred was absolutely stunning and exactly the type of prankster/people-person that was written in the books. I adored him and his childish antics! The farting chair was genius and of course the fact that Jo's love for George made him hysterical (okay, that might have been because Jo had hid behind a desk, but still) was spot on.

(This might be a slightly longer review than I'm used to because it's a slightly longer chapter.)

George was amazing. Of course, I saw him through Josephine's biased eyes, but I thought you captured him magnificently, just like with Fred. The little quip about knowing that he was going to hire the two In-Store Demonstrators but still pitting them against each other? 1. I want to see this battle go down. 2. Giving them products that don't work and smell awful if used incorrectly - genius and totally Fred/George thinking and also I want to see (although not smell) that go down. 3. I honestly want to cry over how perfect you've made the twins. He was absolutely spot on and I loved how you also incorporated the little add and how they really should have put a few more requirements. It was a really seamless was to tie the start and middle of the chapter together with someone other than the main character (although let's be real, if you can't do simple addition, maybe don't do checkout?).

The ending part where Fred, a) realizes Jo loves George, b) gets her to work for them because he wants to be entertained by this train wreck (let's be real, I totally would too), c) let's not forget thinking that the farting chair was the absolute best thing in the world, and finally d) being that absolutely sweet guy and promising not to tell George but also not to lie to him about it - absolutely genius! I loved every minute of it!

The absolute ending, when Jo kind of detailed how they continued the operation through the war, was heartbreaking. The twins livelihood, their hopes and dreams, everything was in that store, but I'm glad you wrote it like that because they *did* have to go on the run! And then the whole not starting up again because Fred died and George stopped? OMG I'm crying again *violent and grotesque sobs*. Why must you break my heart so?

I think that's the end to this exceptionally long-winded review. I thought that wouldn't take as long, but because it did I'm going to have to finish the other two reviews tomorrow. I hope the length of this one can make up for it!

Oh, and last note - thank goodness you wrote this for NaNo! Here's to hoping there's more chapters because it is amazing and you write so beautifully! If you can get this finished, or at least a few more chapters or maybe consistent updates, it wouldn't surprise me if this skyrocketed to one of the Top 10 spots!

Absolutely stellar job! Can't wait for tomorrow so I can keep reading and reviewing!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by maraudertimes Promises, Promises

14th December 2014:
I know, I know - NO REVIEWS, but again, I needed to say something!

Oh be still my breaking heart, because you write so eloquently and amazing and brb, gotta go cry for a second. Be back soon to continue reading, I just need to take a moment because you make me feel all the feels.

Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by maraudertimes Introduction: Boxes

14th December 2014:
OMG I know this is supposed to be a read-only first two chapters and then review next three, but I just had to say - holy moly, this was an intro? Way to rip my heart out and leave me craving more! I'm so flipping excited to read the rest!

Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Cal585 Eye of the Storm

2nd December 2014:
So here it ends currently. Before I review, I want to point out that I think I've crossed a line. I'm afraid we can no longer be friends. At least until this story is finished. How can I be friends with someone who is killing me so slowly with the suspense? Though I'm hoping NaNo will have helped with that :P

This chapter was a lot heavier and the onions were sneaking up on me before I realised what was happening. Was so frustrated with Fred's treatment of Angelina. Wanted to sit him down and talk sense into him and frustrated Jo isn't the kind of person to smack it into him :P. Loved him opening up to her and the start of their friendship, though I was sad seeing it happen but knowing that she's now alone again. But that was nothing compared to the feels when I got to the end:
"Of course, maybe it meant nothing at all.
In any case, he no longer knocks."
And I was so sad that she didn't have the self-confidence to know what it really meant for them.

And the second half, hang on, let me compose myself. It was quite moving. Great that she is actually able to have a social interaction with him (another!) but devastating with his grief and confusion and her lack of ability to explain things in words. At least those twins seem to be great at reading her expressions.

Anyway, just wanted to say that this story is amazing. I absolutely love your writing and I'm sorry I haven't reviewed earlier. I have favourited it, and not because of any compulsion from friendship but because I sincerely believe this to be one of the great stories on the archives. I really hope you manage to get some regular updates because that's the only possible thing I can see threatening to dampen this story's potential (though it's not like I can really talk :P).

 Report Review

Review #10, by Cal585 Breakable Girls and Boys

2nd December 2014:
It's ridiculous how proud I feel of her for actually speaking to George and being there for him. Loved the first part of the chapter with Fred's present. Such a lovely idea, and his nerves covered up with humour. I thought you described that really well, and I definitely feel fond of him. I was so pleased he asked Jo for her opinion. It makes me really happy that he values her. And the end! I was sort of heart in mouth the entire time, but it all worked out fine. More than fine! Though I'm really hoping the snow globe is alright...

I have to say that you're doing a wonderful job of conveying all the feelings. I often see loss written in a meh fashion. It's either too brief, then ignored in favour of the storyline, or too overdone. It does help that you're writing an emotive story, but I just wanted to say I think you've done a really good job at balancing out the emotions and having some lightness and brevity in there. Your chapters seem long I think, at least when I open them up. But I can honestly say that's the only time I notice. It just flows so well and your build up is really smooth. So despite initial misgivings, I think the size is absolutely perfect and allows me to really immerse myself in the chapter.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Cal585 Nice to Meet You

2nd December 2014:
So apparently I'd already reviewed last chapter which was rather disappointing. Just wanted to say that since then my view has changed a bit. I actually really enjoyed it, and while initially a bit sceptical about her lack of speech (those things tend to annoy me), I actually got used to it and by the end of her conversation with Fred found it relatively normal. I think you've done a fantastic job being able to convey a one-sided conversation so well and I really enjoy the special understanding she has with Fred. And I loved your ending with the resolution at his funeral!

As for this chapter specifically, I really enjoyed the job application. Spent the entire time stuck between grinning at Fred and feeling horrible for Jo under emotional stress. But the way it all resolved nicely in the end! It really shows her inner courage despite her struggle to even attempt it. And of course, the positioning, coming after last chapter, I could feel bad and laugh but understand exactly where Fred was coming from because you already described their friendship so well last chapter :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Cal585 Introduction: Boxes

2nd December 2014:
Tanya! So I decided I needed to get round to properly reading and reviewing all your chapters!

Great introductory chapter, it sets the scene well. Doesn't give too much away but you managed to convey the magnitude of the loss, even if I don't understand the significance yet. Very worried about the opening snippet! This better have a happy ending :P

 Report Review

Review #13, by Rumbleroar goes roar Eye of the Storm

8th November 2014:
Yey yey yey! So excited to see an update! :D
Hahaha oh it seems exactly the type of thing Fred would do pranking Angelina. And I can see him not realising were the line was and crossing it all the time...

Oh I loved the rest of the chapter so much, the interaction between Josephine and George was so heartbreaking but so wonderful. I just love your writing, your characters. Can't wait to read more :)

Author's Response: Eep! Thank you so much for another beautiful I'm review! I'm so thrilled you enjoyed the update! :-D

LOL Fred's such a brat, isn't he? His poor girlfriend... I'd like to say he'll learn, but... he's Fred, so... ;)

Yay! Thank you! I'm so glad to hear that! I had a few struggles while writing section two, but I'm thrilled it all worked out in the end! And gah, you're so sweet! I'm just so happy you're enjoying the story so much! Thank you for continuing to come back and for leaving these wonderful reviews! I sincerely appreciate it! *hugs*

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #14, by marauderfan Eye of the Storm

21st October 2014:
Tanya! Words cannot express how stoked I was to see a new chapter of this! Also, now I know your secret - if your writing is motivated by PM's full of love and pestering, I will get on that ASAP. :p

I love love love the growing friendship between Jo and Fred - their conversations are so funny as it's mostly just Fred prattling on, punctuated by very to-the-point comments (or hand gestures) from Jo. Aw, he told her his secrets! That is the mark of friendship. Besides, it's not like she's the type to tell secrets, or anything really :p

I know the second section with George is much more somber, but I still couldn't help giggling at the sheer amount of poo-related products available for purchase at the twins' shop. Poo d'Etat... haha brilliant. Faecal Treacle? Ew. And brilliant. These shouldn't be as funny as they are. XD

But moving on - I really loved the whole conversation between Jo and George. It was all kinds of awkward, but just the fact that they went through all these emotions together - the guilt, the accusations, the grief - that's bringing them closer together, because intense conversations like that aren't something you just forget about the next day. I only wish Jo had said the things she was thinking about saying! I know she uses a lot of facial expressions and few words which maybe Fred would have understood a deeper meaning, but George doesn't know her as well yet. I mean, I'm sure he knew she was trying, but I think if she'd actually articulated what she wanted to say, it would have helped George a lot. Well, they will have more time for that..

I noticed one small typo in this chapter. It's in the A/N: you wrote "I am the worst", but I think you meant "best". ;) BECAUSE YOU'RE THE BEST! I'll pester you with love and support in a few days to see how chapter six is coming along ;) Awesome work!

Author's Response: Kristin! Gah, you're so lovely!!! And LOL! Yes, guilt-trips are my kryptonite. Please be gentle with this information! :-p

Yay! I love how much people love Fred and Jo's relationship. When I first started writing this story, I really thought the focus would be on George and Jo's relationship, but there's something so special about Fred and Jo together! They're just such a weird pair! It makes no sense, except it does! hahaha Anyway, I'm glad you continue to enjoy them! And yay for secret-sharing! I really wanted to showcase the moment when the two became actual friends! I'm glad you like it! And... yeah, I think most secrets are safe with Jo. ;)

HAHAHA Oh, poo-related humor. Nothing better. I had WAY too much fun creating those. Glad you thought it was funny! :-D

Daww, thank you! I'm glad you liked that section! So much awkward, though, yeah. hehehe But I definitely agree - it will eventually be the sort of thing that (once the horror of the situation wears off) will bring them closer together. AND I KNOW! Gah! She's so frustrating sometimes! She has these beautiful, kind thoughts, but just keeps them inside!!! SPEAK, JO! SPEAK! hahaha (Also, yes, I do know it's my fault she's like this. :-p) And omg, you just hit on something SO spot on. I'll dive into all of that in later chapters, but yes. Exactly that line of thinking.

HA! You're so clever and SO RIDICULOUSLY SWEET! *melts* Seriously, Kristin, my face hurts from smiling over this review! :-D :-D :-D YOU'RE THE ONE WHO'S THE BEST! And hopefully with NaNo and the endless amounts of pestering I'm sure to get, chapter six - and all the other chapters! - will be out soon! *crosses fingers*

Thank you again for this glorious review! You're the greatest! *hugs*

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #15, by Cannons Eye of the Storm

13th October 2014:
It has been a long wait. A very long wait indeed. BUT, it is okay because this chapter made up for it. :D

There was so much angst in this chapter, the tension was practically smashing my computer screen from the inside.

I think this is quite possibly the best chapter so far.

I challenge you to have another chapter up before January...

;)

Author's Response: LOL Cannons. This review. Hahaha I know, I know, I'm the slowest!!! But omg, thank you so, SO much; I am just beyond thrilled and relieved that you feel that way! Ah!!! *hugs* :-D

SO. MUCH. ANGST! LOL Yeah, Jo and George have some bumps to get through, that's for sure, and they just might be going after your computer screen again pretty soon... hehehe ;)

I am dead. Thank you. Like... blown away. Just... thank you.

HAHAHA! You're too funny. Okay! I swear! Really! I mean, with NaNo approaching, I literally have no excuse! It will absolutely happen, and I'm even gonna go ahead and say that it will happen SOONER than January! *crosses fingers*

You're wonderful. Thank you for the phenomenal review. I'm so sincerely and ridiculously grateful for the support! *hugs*

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #16, by HeyMrsPotter Eye of the Storm

13th October 2014:
TANYA!!

I'm sorry...I didn't like it...


I JOKE OBVIOUSLY! (You actually believed me though, didn't you? Will you ever believe people when they tell you that you are amazing?)

For every painful day you made me wait for this (and let's face it, there was about a million of them) my expectations for this chapter got higher and higher. You didn't disappoint. At all.

I'm not even sure where to start with all of the amazing things in this chapter. I love that you always have a lovely (albeit heartbreaking) balance between Jo's developing friendship with Fred before the war and her ever-growing love for George after the war. I'm not sure which one makes me more sad; the fact that she and Fred are so well-suited in friendship and that one day that will be taken away from her, or that Jo and George's loss of Fred is so evident and painful for both of them in the second part of this chapter. My poor heart.

Your attention to detail is, as always, absolutely on point. You never forget the magic. From the enchanted receipt paper, to the Quick Quotes Quill's scathing comments, and the poo related products (which just reminds me how hilarious you are and how immature I am that it made me laugh so much).

I have so many mixed emotions about Jo's inner monologue. Everything she thinks when she's with George makes me want to burst with love for how she feels about him, but I find myself shouting at the screen because she won't say them out loud! Though, that may be a good thing because if she suddenly started telling George that she loves him after months of barely saying a word to him he'd probably find her really intense and scary-which definitely isn't the ending I want for this story. (Side note, I don't want any end to this story.) When she does finally speak to him in the "You miss him" moment, I knew exactly what she really meant by that before you went on to explain it. The wonderful thing about Jo for me is how well I feel like I know her, I know what she really means when she does speak and I understand how torn and tormented she feels even before Fred's death. It's incredible that this is a character you've created, not one that I've gotten to know throughout seven books. In just five chapters, Josephine has become as familiar to me as any one of JKR's characters.

I really need to learn to prepare myself for heartbreak before reading the updates for this story. I forgot how much your writing kills me in my excitement at reading the update and was totally not ready for the end of this chapter. Can we not just have it where Fred didn't die and no-one died in his place and George and Josephine fall in love and they all live happily ever after? No? Okay. Even though I understood George's anger at Josephine following Fred's orders, part of me was so mad at him for being mean to her. DOES HE NOT REALISE SHE LOVES HIM?! And the fact that she saved his life in the battle and he only just found out...seriously, woman. It's just so fitting with Josephine's character that she didn't use that as a way to get close to him, or get him to talk to her. The most amazing thing she could ever do for him and she's kept that to herself. Crazy, wonderful girl.

There were times in my constant pestering for this update that I felt guilty and that maybe I should stop but I am so glad I didn't because this chapter was just beyond perfect. You're in for a tough month during NaNo!

Wonderful, amazing, brilliant chapter. Love love love!

Author's Response: DEE!!! :-D

...OMG SO MEAN!!!

Oh... I see what you did there... :-p (Also... maybe... but only for a second! hehehe Also, gah! Stahp it. *hugs*)

MANY PAINFUL DAYS OF WRITING AND WAITING, I KNOW, BUT THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU FOR SAYING THAT! *breathes epically huge sigh of relief*

Ugh, you are too much. Thank you. And I am right there with you. Even in the humorous moments, there's a bittersweet edge to it all because we know it's the past, and that the future is so not the same anymore. :( FRED. WHY DID YOU HAVE TO DIE? Of course... if he'd lived, I'd probably never have come up with this story idea, so... you win some, you lose some?

HAHAHA The poo jokes. I couldn't not. If you think you're immature for laughing, you should have seen the process of putting all of that together! LOL I enjoyed it way too much. Anyway, THANK YOU! I'm actually insanely relieved that you enjoyed the enchanted receipt paper and the Quick Quotes Quill details, cause I struggled for a long time with how to get those things to make sense without spending too long trying to explain what they actually do! Phew! :-D

ISN'T SHE SO FRUSTRATING!? I am right there with you. It's difficult because she's not just hurting herself by holding it all in, but George! If she said those things, she could help him! But she's in a place right now where she's honestly more self-preserving than selfless. Hopefully she works through that eventually. ;) Eep! I'll be sad to see this story end one day, too (thank you! *hugs*), but I'm so excited for the finale I have planned, that I'll get over it, and I hope it'll be worth it for you too! And ugh! How do I even respond to that? I'm just so blown away by how much you get Jo and how attached you've become to her. Like... I can't even. There are no words. *hugshugshugs*

GAH! Again, how do I respond to your ridiculously kind words?! I'm so grateful you feel that way about my writing and that it moves you and breaks your heart a bit, cause... yeah, that's what I'm going for at the moment! Muahaha! Also... no. If I were nicer, I definitely would have let Fred live and made Jo less skittish and made George love Jo back, BUT... clearly I'm evil. :-p "DOES HE NOT REALISE SHE LOVES HIM?!" hahaha There are so many things I want to say in response to this, BUT I CAN'T! YOU'LL JUST HAVE TO READ ON!!! hehehe But yeah, George's anger I felt was at least somewhat justified, it's just upsetting that Jo is taking the brunt of it. And as far as her having saved George... it's kind of a double-edged sword, isn't it? I think Jo must see it the same way as George - that if she'd been with Fred instead, he might still be alive. Anyway, war flashback scenes are coming, so we'll get a closer look at that! :-D

And don't feel guilty. Not even for a second. This chapter happened only because of you, and I could not be more grateful for that. *hugs* Is it wrong that I'm actually excited for NaNo pestering because I'm so stoked to get this story continually updating? Eep! We're gonna have fun, methinks. ;)

Gah, you're so beyond wonderful. 'Thank you' doesn't even begin to express my gratitude towards you. And this review is to die for. You're just the greatest. Thank you, Dee! I LOVE YOU! MWAH!

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #17, by Unicorn_Charm Eye of the Storm

13th October 2014:
Hi there!!

Oh my goodness, I'm so excited that the new chapter is up, I can't even tell you! I've been checking almost every day since you've posted that you put in into the queue, like a crazed stalker!

Ok, now that I've got that out of my system. ;)

This chapter was absolutely worth the wait. It was fantastic! One of the things I love about this story, is the unique connection between Fred and Jo. I love how he just knows exactly what she's thinking with just a furrowed brow, a frown, a twitch of her lips, a raised eyebrow. It's incredible how well he can read her. Jo's internal monologue was so funny, as always, while she listens to Fred prattle on. I wish she would just shout out what she's thinking. I think Fred would get a kick out of it. ;) Oh my gosh, I can't believe Fred thought it would be funny to do that to Angelina! Having a severe fear of clowns myself, I would have left Fred, too. It's crazy how much growing up he still had to do, but sad that he never will have the chance to do it.

This was a nice way to show their friendship reaching the next level, with Fred confiding in Jo about his relationship. I love the way you write their friendship so much. It is so different from any other relationship I've read. It's just amazing! I loved that line at the end, when Fred was leaving, "I know you're, like, a crazy gossip, but could you try to keep this to yourself?" That had me giggling. :D

And now we come to Jo and George. Wow. I mean, their interactions are becoming more and more intense, aren't they? Last time, there was the smashing of the snow globe, and now this heavy conversation. Well, it started kind of lightly. I laughed out loud when he mentioned they may sell too may poo based items. The whole list of them was brilliant. Are they really all their products? I know You-No-Poo was haha. If you made the rest of those up, you're absolutely brilliant. They were hilarious.

I couldn't believe how much he had just opened up to Jo, talking about how hard it is to be around his family, but how hard it is to be alone. That was all so utterly heartbreaking. It definitely had me tearing up a bit. Then he turned on her so quickly! It actually forced out 5 full sentences, in a row, from Jo. That's a new record! Not only that, she actually spoke forcefully and above a whisper to him. That's a milestone, as well. It definitely took George by surprise.

Poor Jo. She either could have saved her dear friend, or the man she loved. Not both. I can't even imagine her heartache. No wonder she completely broke down after George left.

I wonder how George is going to think of/treat her, now that he knows that she saved his life? Will he be cold towards her, because it could have been Fred who lived (in his mind, at least). Or will he be more friendly towards her, try to get to know her better? And what was he going to say before he left the room? I have so many questions!! I can't wait to see what happens next!

I can't even begin to tell you how much I love this story! It's my number one favorite, honestly. Thank you so, so much for updating and I cannot wait to read the following chapter. This was flawless, as always! Keep up the fantastic work!

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Hi Meg!!! :-D

Omg, this review. *dies* THANK YOU SO MUCH! And like a crazed stalker, you say? Been taking lessons from Jo, eh? :-p

*hugshugshugs*

Gah! Thank you so, so much! Seriously, that is the biggest relief to hear that this chapter wasn't all hype and no delivery! I was pretty legitimately terrified for awhile. :-p I'm so thrilled you enjoyed it! hahaha Fred and Jo... I still don't know how they work, but they just do somehow!! I'm glad you agree! They're such an odd pair, but too fun to work with! hehehe And omg, I can't even imagine if Fred could hear all of Jo's thoughts! hahaha! Though he does a pretty good job reading her mind as is! :-p THE CLOWN THING! HAHAHA Omg. I don't have a fear of clowns, but a LOT of people do, and it's a really severe fear for them, so I thought it would work great for this particular prank. And you definitely can't blame Angelina, though what you said about Fred growing up... wah. So true. :( *sniff*

Yay! I'm so happy you liked the way I did that! I wanted to show the moment where Fred and Jo sort of cross over into actual friends, and I struggled for awhile to figure out exactly how to do it, so it's a sincere relief that you liked the idea behind it! *wipes brow* And that last line! hahaha So glad you enjoyed it! He's such a snarky little brat. :-p

George, George, George... definitely stepping up the intensity. I think George has been holding things in for awhile now, and Jo was unfortunately there for the fall. But OMG THE POO PRODUCTS. HAHAHA So glad people have been enjoying those! hehehe I admittedly had way to much fun with that section... and U-No-Poo is the only actual WWW product in canon! The rest were made up! LOL So... thank you! :-D

Ugh, I know. I just want to hug George - or make Jo do it - cause I think he's just at that point where he's been holding things in for so long now that it just burst forth, all the things he couldn't say to other people (his family especially). Honestly, if Jo weren't such a stranger to him, he'd probably never have said anything! Poor guy. :( But yep, it pushed Jo to be proactive about him for once! Progress! Small, but there!

Wah! Right? I feel so terrible doing these awful things to characters I love, but... it needs to happen this way, unfortunately! But yeah, I feel terribly for them both, now that some of the details of the final battle have been revealed.

Muahaha! Those are excellent questions, my friend. All to be revealed in chapter six! ;)

*melts* Gah, you are so, so kind. I don't even know how to respond to that, I'm so blown away. Thank you so, so, so much, Meg. This review is just beyond phenomenal, and your support and enthusiasm for this fic is just so fantastic I can hardly think straight! You're wonderful. Thank you endlessly! *hugs*

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #18, by 1917farmgirl Eye of the Storm

12th October 2014:
WYHO,

Sometimes I hate writing you reviews. For many reasons.

The first is that when I read your stuff, I remember that you are absolutely the best Fred and George writer out there, and then I get filled with jealousy and nasty feelings, and I don't like those.

Secondly, I cannot ever, not matter how much I try, put into words the talent that I see here in your stuff. Your ability to capture emotions and people and put them onto a page. How you can go from humor to anguish in literally 2 words and have it be so true and perfect. You always seem to have the right words and the right phrase and I don't know how you do it! You truly have a gift.

But the third reason is this - I know not matter how much I tell you this, you won't believe me, because we are such good friends and you for some reason think I'm just saying nice things. But I'm not. You ARE amazing and this story is incredible, and sometime I will get you to accept that.

Bravo. This is pure genius.

P.S. The "T" key is not working well on my computer tonight, so bear that in mind as you read this review.

P.P.S. I still think Fred would be smashing bald.

Author's Response: *blushes* You are too much, farmgirl.

You're also absolutely insane. :-p

First: Am not! I do believe you hold that title. Ask anyone. But it's huge that the Queen of the Twins approves of my versions! Really, thank you, it means so much! *hugs*

Second: *dies* What do I even say to that?!? haha Thank you so much. Really, I don't know how to respond to this except maybe to say that you of all people should know how tedious I am when it comes to editing, and it's only after the 8,000th read-through that I'm satisfied, so my 'ability' or whatever only happens after a ridiculous number of edits.

Third: hahaha Well... All I can say to that is you sure are the pot calling the kettle black! :-p But I sincerely appreciate the kind words and support. This chapter would not be up yet without your help and guidance.

Ugh. You're too nice. Thank you.

P.S. No worries. haha

P.P.S. LOL Personally, I'm a fan of his hair, so it's staying! But feel free to make your own bald twin. ;)


 Report Review

Review #19, by casual_chaos Promises, Promises

2nd October 2014:
Hello again!

This is wonderful, honestly. I mean it's heartbreaking, especially the part when Mrs. Weasley approaches the tomb, which made me cry a little, but it's also wonderful. I admire your ability to make Josephine such a live charachter and have her relationships with others portrayed so vividly, when she doesn't even speak to them! The conversation with Fred at the beginning was so perfect that at first I didn't even notice how Josephine barely said a word. Her facial expressions and inner thoughts were enough to keep the conversation (and character development) going, so, well done! :D

About Josephine, I love how her character is slowly coming to life throughout this chapter. It's very gradual and only through details so we (the readers) don't even notice it but she's becoming more real with every sentence and that's just beautiful! And you've got to love her, really. She's like a doe (no pun intended!), so frail and perpetually startled and cautious. Even the part where she skips back to her tree reminded me of a doe. :)

I loved the glimpse of her relationship with George. Again, you are so perfect with details and god, I love this so much. I think this will be my most useful review on this story because the others will be just me saying how much I love this. Sorry! :D

I do hope we'll see more of these flashbacks of Fred because the dynamic of his relationship with Josephine is another perfect thing about this story. This is actually my first fic about Fred and/or George, I avoided them in fear their characters might be badly written. But you did such a good job with Fred and it's such a joy to read any scene with him. :)

Oh, and I LOVE this quote: ''How surreal that in this moment, at my best friends funeral and the darkest week of my life, I suddenly feel light as air.''

The best thing about it is that you opposed darkness to light but you used light with the meaning of weight, not the optical phenomenon. I don't know if that was the intention (probably wasn't) but I thought it was marvelous. :)

Ramble, ramble. I'll go now, you just keep on writing this, please! :)

Author's Response: Hello again!!! :-D

Gah! You're so sweet, I hardly know how to respond! Thank you, thank you, thank you! I'm thrilled you enjoyed it so much! I know it's terrible of me, but I love that it brought you to tears (seeing Mrs. Weasley in pain over Fred always breaks me too)! And I'm so glad you like Jo and the way she's written! She's sort of weird character to play a leading role, as she's so quiet, but I love that you can still feel like she's conversational through her thoughts and Fred's dialogue! Yay! That's just fantastic!

hahaha You get her so well! Your doe analogy is SPOT ON. That's EXACTLY how I think of her. Like... approach with caution - frightens easily! hehehe And I'm just beyond pleased that you like her so much! I really love Jo, I'm so attached to her, and when readers love her as well, it's the greatest feeling. I sincerely appreciate all your kind words about her! *squee*

Ugh, you're seriously far too kind. *hugshugshugs* I'm glad you enjoyed the small bits of George! They get a lot more air-time together in the next few chapters, but I do love seeing them back in here, in their first glimpses!

LOTS of Fred and Jo scenes ahead, I promise! I'm honestly having a blast telling their story. When I first started this fic, I thought I'd be most addicted to the Jo/George aspect of things, cause I'm super excited about where they're headed as well, but every chapter I have such a blast exploring Fred and Jo's friendship! They're such and oddball pair, but I love them together! And AH! I'm beyond thrilled that you think I write Fred well! I'm so glad my writing didn't make you run the other direction! hehehe Yay!

Daww, thank you! I'm glad that quote stood out to you! *blushes* You're seriously way too sweet. *hugs*

Nonsense, with your 'ramble, ramble'! This review is just beautiful. Really, it was so kind of you to take the time to write out such a thoughtful comment; I sincerely appreciate it! :-D

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #20, by casual_chaos Introduction: Boxes

1st October 2014:
Hey, Tanya! (I hope it's okay to switch to first names already, but WriteYourHeartOut is a mouthful of a name :D)

I actually started reading this because of HeyMrsPotter and her comment about the Featured Story nomination guilt tripping you into updating. This must be a truly great story, I thought while clicking on the link. And I was right! :)

Everything about this short yet powerful chapter was kind of different from the norm and I was drawn to it right from the start. Your writing is beautiful and it flows incredibly well. I love Josephine's voice; it's very rich but it's not all over the place, if that makes sense. :) Her pain over Fred's death was palpable and you added some stunning descriptions and thoughts to emphasize this.

All in all, this was a great introductory chapter and I'm hooked for more. I do hope HeyMrsPotter's techniques are efficient because I really love this so far and would love to see how the story will unfold. :)

- Andy

Author's Response: Hello Andy! (Absolutely! ^.^)

hahaha Oh, Dee... that crazy, wonderful girl. She is well-practiced in the art of guilt-tripping! But I suppose I can't hold it against her, as she does it with beautifully kind intentions - not to mention it brought you to my little fic! And I just have to thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review, and I'm absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed the introduction!

Ah, I'm so blown away by you saying that, as it's exactly what I was going for: short, sweet, and to the point, while still packing a powerful punch! And I'm so glad it flows and that you're enjoying the writing style! I know first person present tense isn't seen too often, so I wanted mix it up by testing the waters, and it definitely has a distinct voice to it, though I always worry if I'm handling it alright, so I really appreciate that comment! I'm also so excited that you like Jo and the funeral scene; it was definitely hard to write, but I'm glad it worked for you!

You're so sweet. Really, this is such a kind review and I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to leave it! And trust me, Dee's tactics have been working like a charm! Chapter five is going into the queue today! I hope I to see you there once it's posted! Thanks again, Andy! *hugs*

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #21, by randomwriter Introduction: Boxes

11th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hello again Tanya :) Since you liked my previous review so much, I thought I'll leave you another one. I must apologise about the quality though, short, speedy reviews really aren't my thing, but I'm trying!

Your story summary really caught my eye, and I've heard so much about this already. I had to come here. This was such an interesting first chapter. Both parts of this chapter were really sad, but heart-breaking-ly beautiful. Your writing is so lovely. It flows so well. This was a short chapter and it was over in a flash. At no point did I have to stop because anything. It was such a lovely read!

This chapter has raised a ton of questions, no doubt. Who is she? How does she know Fred? What was her involvement in the war? Did she lose her family to Voldemort and the Death Eaters? Ah, see! So many things to think about. It just a few words, you managed to make me think so much. I really loved it. Stories that make me think are the best!

Crying, to me, has never been a sign of weakness, but one of strength. We are taught that tears are for the weak, for those of us not strong enough to keep emotions at bay, but I believe it is that reason alone that makes crying such an act of courage. Knowing how people will judge you, but choosing to do so all the same; that is strength. I cannot tell you how much I love you for writing this. I am a firm believer that crying is not a sign of weakness or vulnerability, even though it has the ability to make one feel vulnerable. It's a beautiful kind of vulnerable, nevertheless. Anyway, there is nothing wrong with crying. I sometimes even find it majorly therapeutic and cathartic. I'm the last person to hide my tears, so honestly, I could really relate to these lines.

I'm beginning to get a good idea of why this story is so popular! I'm sorry about this review though. I really must get a move on. I see that some of your chapters are quite long, so if I don't come back soon, I'll make sure I do after HC :)

Another awesome story! :D Great job, Tanyaa!

Love
Adi!

Author's Response: Hi Adi!!! *glomps*

Ahaha I can't believe you're apologizing for this review when it's so incredibly lovely! And while we're on the topic of apologies, let me just say that I am so ridiculously sorry for how long it's taken me to respond to this review! I am the worst. *hides*

Oh, I love hearing that the story summary caught your eye! That's really great; means it's doing it's job! Phew! And AH, YOU HEAR THINGS ABOUT THIS FIC? That's amazing! Eep! I'm so thrilled you liked this intro, too! I was definitely going for that sort of poignant sadness that just tugs at your heart, so I'm incredibly relieved to hear that it felt that way to you! And as an intro, it was definitely meant to be short and to the point, just a brief glimpse into what's to follow! Yay!

Questions! Ah, I love that it got you curious about the future of the story and its characters! And I promise, all of those things WILL be answered as the story unfolds! ^.^

QUOTE! I'm honestly thrilled that that line stuck out to you. I feel very strongly about its sentiment and I'm so happy to hear you agree! And trust me, I so agree with you that there is nothing more refreshing than having a good, solid cry. :)

Ah, you're honestly so lovely! And again with the apologies! Take them back! hahaha Seriously, this review was beyond kind and wonderful AND detailed, too! I don't know why you think it's lacking, love! I sincerely appreciate your taking the time to leave this for me; you're just the best. *hugs*

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #22, by SkyEcho Breakable Girls and Boys

10th July 2014:
Hi!!

I was so happy to see that another chapter had been posted :) This is easily one of my favourite stories! I absolutely love the interactions between Jo and Fred. It's so clear how they simply just 'get' one another.
Your description of the gift Fred made for George is wonderful. It's revealed slowly, almost like how I'd imagine Jo to be taking it all in. I love the idea of a snow globe coming to life when you shake it - and the jokes add that much anticipated Fred-ness haha.

The description of George in the crowded shop really tugged at my heart! And Jo's constant uncertainty about going after him and checking on him is so endearing. You've done a great job of showing the reasons why she's acting so out of her comfort zone, yet still having her remain true to her character.

Aww it is heartbreaking to read just how lost they are with their grief. This chapter was so good! I can't wait to find out what happens next!!

*House Cup 2014 Review*

Author's Response: Hi SkyEcho!!! I'm SO sorry for how long it's taken me to reply to this incredible review, but I hope you know that my tardiness is in no way a reflection upon how grateful I am for your comment! *hugs*

Yay! I love hearing that! :-D Ugh, you're too sweet, I could die happy right now. :-p I am just beyond thrilled that you love the story so much, and especially that the relationship between Fred and Jo is seen by you exactly as I meant for it to be! Phew! haha

The snow globe! That was so much fun coming up with, I'm so stoked that you enjoyed it, and even more excited that it felt very Fred-esque! hehehe That's just great!

Ah, part two was so sad to write, but I'm glad that it translated to the readers! I love that you called Jo endearing, as I think that's such an accurate description of her actions here. Ah, your compliments are just so phenomenal to hear, I can't thank you enough for your kind words! I feel like you really understand the story as it was intended to be perceived, which is so exciting for me to see! You're the lovliest. ^.^

I cannot thank you enough for this truly fantastic review. If you could see the smile this has put on my face... hahaha Seriously, I truly appreciate this review and am endlessly grateful for the time and care you put into leaving it for me! Yay! :-D

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #23, by JJtheNerdfightingStarkid Breakable Girls and Boys

7th July 2014:
It's been so long since I've logged into HPFF and when I do, I find that one of my all time favourite stories is back! I am so, so, SO excited and I absolutely cannot wait for more!

Author's Response: Omg, that is such an incredibly wonderful thing to hear! Thank you so much, I'm so glad you enjoy this story so much! Chapter five is about complete, so hopefully the edits won't take much longer! I hope I'll see you again in the next chapter! Thank you for the lovely review, you're far too kind! *squee*

 Report Review

Review #24, by Lumos Flareum Breakable Girls and Boys

10th June 2014:
Awesome stuff! Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you're enjoying it and I sincerely appreciate your taking the time to review! Hopefully chapter five will be up within the next week or two! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #25, by MileyMalfoy Breakable Girls and Boys

30th April 2014:
Oh my goodness. I love this story already! I wasn't too sure how it would work with a main character that clearly doesn't talk too much but it's a really really interesting perspective which I'm thoroughly enjoying. I love that Fred's personality is still allowed to develop through her memories of the earlier times, and then comes through in her actions after his death, and I was really moved by her interactions with George in this chapter. I can't wait to see where this goes next just because it's so different and... well addicting really :p

Seriously I think you're doing a great job with it! The only hint of something other than gushing compliments in this review is this: there was one tiny little error where you had "with no end in site" and it should be "sight"... but other than that I'm just going to echo how amazingly talented you are Tanya! This story is breathtaking and I cannot wait to read more!

Meg

Author's Response: Meg! Again! AGAIN THIS: YOU ARE FAR TOO KIND! hahaha No, really though. REALLY THOUGH. Too kind. I can't. I can't even. I can't.

Daww, little Jo. Yeah, she's quite fun to write, silent as she tends to be! I'm so glad you're enjoying her! When I thought her up (ages and ages ago now), I knew I wanted someone different than the rather overdone loud, attention-seeking, sarcastic, witty, vivacious OC's you see a lot in fanfics, and because those types of girls are so popular, I've been so relieved to see people enjoy Jo at all! So YAY!

And omg, Fred. I have so much fun writing him, and I'm just thrilled people think I'm handling him well! I'm particularly ecstatic that you're enjoying his and Jo's (albeit very odd) friendship, and the give and take they've developed! Also, I'm so beyond relieved that the second half of this chapter moved you - I was definitely very nervous posting it, and really hoped I done alright with her and George's first real scene together that didn't involve her hiding... hahaha

SITE! LOL *feels stupid* Thank you for pointing that out! Honestly, I can't believe that's the only silly typo that was found in there! hehehe But Meg, Meg, Meg, you are too kind! TOO KIND. (But secretly I really love it.) Thank you, honestly, for being so supportive, and I sincerely hope to have chapter five to you asap! *hugs*

Tanya :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>