Reading Reviews for Lying Josephine
  
192 Reviews Found

Review #1, by cris turner Brave Face, Kid

2nd August 2015:
Ok. So... English is not my first language (I'm Brazilian), but I'm going to try and say how incredible your story is. It really touches my heart how you can put in words the way Josephine and George are hurt.
I have to admit that I don't usually read stories about Fred - I mean, when he's dead - 'cause I cry a lot. However, yours is so good that I didn't stand a chance.

I'm so freaking happy that you're back. I just can't wait to see how they're going to act when at The Burrow.

Lots of love from Brazil *-*

- Cristina

 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan Brave Face, Kid

1st August 2015:
Tanya! Words can't even begin to describe how excited I was when I saw this had been updated!! Congrats on finishing a new chapter :) And once again you've done such an incredible job. I'm afraid my review won't really do it justice - there's so much I want to say and compliment but I'm typing this on my phone in one of those rare, brief occasions when I have internet. So while I can't go into the amount of detail you deserve, let me just say this was an incredible chapter. I love Josephine as a character and it was just so painful to read that last section when she's suffering silently and tells George that silence can be a cry for help. Wahh :-( and how their methods of trying to cope are so opposite but both really understandable. I think it would help Josephine a lot to learn how to release her feelings instead of keeping everything inside, and George could learn to not release his pain as anger at the nearest person - and in that respect I think their friendship (or whatever it is) will be immensely helpful in helping them change and grow as they deal with such an intense loss. One particulat line in this section stood out to me - a poorly choreographed duet of solos - I just love this as it's a beautiful description and so vivid. What perfect imagery. just aah. I loved it.

The first section was really intense! Things are really changing as the story works itself towards the battle of Hogwarts and I'm really interested to se how they managed things during that year and Josephine's part in it all.

I just love this story and I wish I could leave a better review but my thumbs are tired from this tiny keyboard so I will just conclude by stating: You are an incredible writer and I love the way you write characters and make them so real. the way you convey their emotions is amazing. And your writing of the twins, both in humorous situations and somber ones, make me wonder if you are actually JKR herself. I will continue to hound your AP and maybe send you annoying yet persuasive PM's until you finish chapter 7 because I'm so eager to read on and because you know how much I dislike even numbers.

Love this story (and you)!



 Report Review

Review #3, by Frankie05 Brave Face, Kid

1st August 2015:
Tanya,

I finally got around to reading this story and it was so good I didn't stop to leave a review on each chapter like this story so rightly deserves! Everyone on the forums talk about how great this story is and let me tell you- it did not disappoint. I would be more tha. Happy to go back and review each chapter if you'd like- it would definitely give me a reason to reread the story :) but I guess I will review what I know up to this point and focus on the new chapter.

Josephine has grown on me. I love the setup of this story. The first half- a memory with Fred- the second half an interaction of Josephines after the funeral of Fred.

You have done a great job writing about her unrequited love for George- I wish she would speak to him about it but she can't or won't. I'm so interested to see why she is such a quiet person. I feel like the way you have described her, I'd be great buddies with her. I would definitely hug her a whole lot more. (Anyway back to the story).

I like as the story progresses it is getting closer and closer to the Battle of Hogwarts (in the first section). I can FEEL the fear and concern rolling off of Josephine in the beginning during the meeting when George shows up with only one ear. Fred being the greatest friend ever consoles her and I think that is a true testament to how deep their friendship is. And the heartbreaking news about closing the shop- I loved all of the dialouge there was bouncing between Fred and George. It was magnificent to read.

Now onto the sad but goodies-George and Jospehine interactions. I am seriously shipping them hardcore right now so I am in agony at the amount of tension and silence there is between them. After last chapter I understand the awkwardness but I am relishing in the fact that Jospehine is desiring more and more conversations and interactions with George! Come on, girl, out of your shell. You can do it! We all love you and I bet George will too! I love the way you write about how their ways of sidestepping each other has become like a poorly choreographed dance routine. That is poetic genius right there.

And in comes George guns blazing and words not thought out and ripping apart this character we all love. Ouch man. But Jospehine freaking Hufflepuffs it out! She talks about not being brave but to remain loyal to Fred and especially to George after a few verbal beatings (I understand he is hurting but ouch man) is heroic. It is brave. She is brave!

You make us love George again when he comes back to her like a puppy with a tail between its legs and the fact he stumbles over words with her. I hope there are more than one sided feelings in this ship.

"Sometimes silence is a cry for help" - MY HEART. I don't have much to say about this but MY HEART.

and Josephine- you little Fred understudy, best friend, helper, loyal, brave Hufflepuff. Coming up with a plan like that to help both George AND Molly. I didn't think I could love you more and I do. And you said so many words I can't even contain my excitment because now you are also keeping your promises to Fred. Be still my heart! Tthe pure genuine innocent childish excitement George displays makes me have hope for him again.

I'm excited to read more of this. The only thing I noticed is that there not another chapter to read- which I NEED. :)
Well done.

Frankie

 Report Review

Review #4, by Penelope Inkwell Brave Face, Kid

31st July 2015:
Aaccchk! New chapter!

Tanya, the feels. Seeing George break down like that is so painful, and then how I couldn't help but be a little angry with him even though I didn't blame him. But Josephine is just so...well, she really does keep her composure, doesn't she? I feel like that second half of the chapter drives home what a big deal it was when she lost that composure when George was injured. It gives me a better idea of just how much she really does care.

I'm glad to see that the scheme is finally set in place. I'm also relieved that George is in on it. At first I was worried that he would be tricked too and that would just add this extra layer of heartbreak. Which could work, but there is so much heartbreak here already, I'm glad to be spared a little. You are really tuggin' on my heartstrings, chicadee.

I'm really looking forward to seeing Josephine be around the Weasleys.!

But now I'm wondering if I'm just gonna be shattered at the end, because I already have a place in my heart for Josephine and if George ends up with Angelina...:'(

I guess I'll just have to wait and see.

I just love it. Oh my gosh, this part:
-
"Josephine..."

Oh.
-
I, like, felt that in my bones. How do you do that?! You create such powerful emotion with two words. It was incredible. Absolutely fantastic.

"George," I whisper, uncertainty curling the ends of the word.
--that was such a great image! "uncertainty curling the ends of the word."

-"It would be... I mean... It's a lot of me to ask of you," he says, but I am surprisingly quick to counter.

-"You're not asking," I say.

--And THIS. I like that it says something about Josephine. She has a sort of quiet practicality to her that makes it seem like, under all her meekness, she does have some power. But George is more right than he knows--she must have been really broken at some point. This chapter really makes me wonder what happened to her without pulling me too much away from the emotions of the moment.

I am loving this story. I've got no CC for this chapter (which won't surprise you, I expect, since it sounds as though you edited it within an inch of its life). Wonderful job. Excellent work. Oh my gosh, the vulnerability here is just excellent.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #5, by Cannons Brave Face, Kid

29th July 2015:
Tanya.

When I read this chapter I had a wry smile plastered on my face that I couldn't quite shake because you've done it again. I don't know how you've managed to do it but you have. It's just as amazing as the previous chapter. I have absolutely no patience when it comes to anything really. If I have to wait for a story to be uploaded I generally lose interest but this hasn't happened with LJ because quite simply...it's worth waiting for.

Josephine is probably my favourite character from this site. All her 'flaws' are what make her so real. It was intriguing watching them work each other out. How George has to work out that pain doesn't always turn to anger, at least outward anger. The best bit was how he came back and helped tidy up the mess he made, that was just how I imagine he would deal with the situation.

The biggest compliment I can give you I suppose is the scenes just flow in my mind so well, I'm able to get lost in the chapter really easily.

I'm pretty excited as to how you've set the next few chapters up with the plot. I imagine you've got quite a few things up your sleeve and I suspect that Josephine may struggle with the task of making the whole Weasley clan believe it.

Brilliant chapter Tanya, I really do like averages though so shall we say four more chapters this year, so you have a nice even two per year? Yes!? Great! ;)

 Report Review

Review #6, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Brave Face, Kid

29th July 2015:
Tanya

God, I don't even know where to start with this. I'm useless at reviews at the best of times but when I read something like this, well I have to try. I couldn't not tell you how wonderful this was. After seeing everyone encourage you to post C6, and how determined you were to get it done, I had to stop by and oh my goodness I'm glad I did. How have I not read this before?

I really ought to review each chapter, I'll try and go back and fill those in because they deserve extra love too. I've just literally sat glued to this though so please forgive me but reviewing in between wasn't really an option haha! I had to keep going. So this hopefully will kinda cover a bit of everything.

This story... your writing... is incredible. You write in a way that just makes everything so easy to read. It's just so easy to loose myself completely in the story, to watch the scenes play out in my head as if I'm actually watching instead of reading. And the plot, well you completely have me hooked! I need more! Nothing feels rushed at all and even though you jump around between the different times, I really like that. I feel like your keeping me on edge and I'm finding out things as and when I need too. I must admit to, the fact we keep getting the moments with Fred just makes my day. Every chapter I was frightened you wouldn't need to go back anymore but I'm so glad you did each time. A few of the twists and turns have had me stunned too - usually I like to try and guess where things are headed but I didn't have time with this. I just read. Her first conversation with George in the last chapter, when she admits she protected and healed and Fred made her follow George left me open mouthed. Of course Fred would do that but it was so heart breaking to watch them both think it should by themselves taking his place when really it shouldn't have been any of them. And George doesn't understand why and she hasn't told him everything... Also, Fred's funeral. I had actual tears. The oxymoron sentence - full of life Fred in a box had me right back to where I was eight years ago when he died and I was so gutted and heart broken and you brought it all back and I was such a mess and how did you write it so beautifully? I can't even deal.

The twins. Okay, this is hands down the best version of the twins I have ever read. Ever. Fred is my favourite character in the series and to have the chance to read more of him when he is written so well is just the most amazing gift ever. The moment he was in the story I was blown away by your ability to make him so perfectly Fred Weasley. But both of them, the humour, the cockiness, the caring. The way they simply act and speak. I couldn't fault anything. And not only that but the way you handled George's grief is also fantastic. The anger, the pain, the trying to do things when he can. It all just makes them so perfect in my eyes. My biggest bugbear is when people write OOC and you didn't do that once.

Josephine is an unusual character but I've really fallen in love with her. Her awkwardness and silence is different to read but it works so well. Especially in the scenes with her and Fred. Their friendship seems so natural once he has her figured out and he speaks plenty for the both of them anyway. And her love for George. It's so freaking adorable. I feel for her so much not being able to deal with it well. But when they're together i find myself willing her to speak, to have the courage to tell him. I have no idea where this is going for the two of them but I can't wait to find out. George is obviously so broken at the minute but jo lets him deal with it however he needs to and it seems good for him. Even with his stupid comments which you know he doesn't mean the second he says them she just takes it and yeah, they're so adorable. I hope she finds the courage to tell him one day.

So yeah, this is probably one of the most incoherent reviews you've ever received but never mind. I hope my feelings for this came across. This story has quickly become one of the best and one of my favourites I've ever read. I loved every second and I can't wait for more. Yes, I will be joining in the encouragement with everyone else because you have such a gift here and you need to share it with us!! C7...? ;)

Amazing read!
Lauren

 Report Review

Review #7, by alicia and anne Brave Face, Kid

29th July 2015:
YES! I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT THIS CHAPTER I CAN'T HIDE IT!!

Oh Josephine! I want you to admit to your love for George! I want you to admit to it right now and live happily ever after!

Fred is so amazing being there for her and helping her, he's such a brilliant friend. He's trying to make her feel better. GAH SO MANY FEELINGS AND EMOTIONS! GEORGE NEEDS TO LOOK AT HER AND SEE THE LOVE THAT SHINES SO BRIGHTLY FOR ALL TO SEE!

Oh no! That's broken my heart! I'm so devastatingly sad right now about how that was Fred's job. :(

No don't yell at her George, it's not her fault :(

And he's apologised and I want to cry and I'm heartbroken and I want to cry some more and become a devastated mess on the floor. I am in a glasscase of emotion!

Josephine you should be George's girlfriend! Don't make me cry again (I say that as if I stopped at some point. I haven't the tears are forever because you've broken me!)

But seriously, this was an amazing chapter, and was well worth the wait for it! :D Keep up the amazingly brilliant work!

 Report Review

Review #8, by HeyMrsPotter Brave Face, Kid

29th July 2015:
TANYA!! YOU POSTED THIS WHILE I WAS SLEEPING...AGAIN! Kindly take my time zone into consideration when you post chapter 7 :p

I'm desperately typing (and making myself late for work) because I want to be the first to review and tell you THIS WAS AMAZING. (As if I expected anything less) And you had absolutely NOTHING to worry about with posting this. One day you will realise that even what you consider your worst writing, your many adoring readers would still love and squee over? Your talent knows no bounds, seriously ♥ Whenever there is a new chapter for this genius story I always feel a little bad for the days/weeks/months of pestering I do for an update because I know how much of a perfectionist you are and I know my nagging doesn't really help with that, but please know it's all out of love for your writing, this story, and of course, you! I'd like to say I'll try to hold back on it for chapter 7 but you know me too well to believe that :p

Anyways, on to chapter 6! I'm putting on my brace face too because otherwise I would be a sobbing puddle of emotions on the floor right now. I'm one of these people that cries fairly easily but never too much at fanfiction, but this story never fails to make me cry. I think a big part of that is how well you write grief. And not just in a general way, but a way that is individual to your characters (yes, I'm considering George yours but more on that later!) Josephine's grief hits me so hard because it's a first person POV and we know everything she is feeling and in such great detail, but even then you still manage to add another layer to her because she has different types of grief. She's grieving for Fred, obviously, because he was her best friend, but also her reason for being around George. She's grieving for the past, in both sections of this chapter, because of the shop closing, but then in the later half because she's missing that time where the avoidance was purely from her, not George. And then she even has a moment of grief for poor George's ear! I hadn't even considered how that moment would have affected her, you seriously think of everything!

Then there's my darling George's grief. I would never even begin to know how to write how Fred's death would have affected him immediately afterwards and here you go and write it so perfectly. His grief hits me just as hard, if not more than, Josephine's and I think that's because I'm reading about it through Jo, this girl that loves him so much, so it's like I'm feeling his pain twice. MY FEELS, TANYA!! Like I said earlier, George totally is your character to me now. In the books he was this fun, witty, imaginative, ambitious boy, and in your story, he still is that (pre-Fred) but he's also so much more. He feels so human to me, the way he is so angry at everything, and just so broken, but then we see hints of the old George in there too, like his little dig at Percy and how he reacts to Jospephine's plan (do I detect a tiny hint of flirting?! Yes please.)

Aside from your absolutely incredible characters, I'm so excited about all of the things plot-wise that go on in this chapter! I love that Fred and George, ever determined, operate the shop by mail order (I think this is a canon thing but the canon/fanfic lines are such a blur with this story because it is definitely my new head canon!) It was great that all of the employees except Jo jumped at the chance to help without giving the war a second thought (because who would say no to the twins amirite?) The fact that Jo didn't was so fitting with her character, she could have easily said yes because of her feelings about George but the fact that she didn't is so much more fitting with her character, in my opinion, because as she openly admits, she isn't a selfless person. She's so flawed and I love her for that.

I'm super excited to find out what comes of her pretending to be Fred's girlfriend! I can't wait to hear what the other Weasley's think of her, and her of them. Can I also just say how much it KILLED me when George asked Jo if she really did love Fred. Her response♥ Like, no George, SHE LOVES YOU! I'm glad she said Fred was her best friend, rather than just agreeing. I am like a proud parent here, the fact that Jo actually had a conversation with George is just...gah♥ And she spoke about her feelings!! Now she just needs to declare her undying love :p Slightly less excited about Jo asking about Angelina though, JOSEPHORGE4LYF.

Okay, REALLY have to go to work now but seriously, this was perfection. It would be so easy to look at your writing and call it effortless, but I know that it is so much more than that. The work and love and care that you put into your stores is something I envy to no end, each chapter is like a far less creepy version of a Horcrux because it's so clear how much of your soul goes into it. Naturally, I'm dying already to read on, and will undoubtedly send numerous pestering tweets between now and it's posting, but please know I do it out of sheer adoration for this story and not to pressure you at all, because as always, this was worth waiting for.

LOVE YOU! ♥

 Report Review

Review #9, by Penelope Inkwell Eye of the Storm

20th July 2015:
For the House Cup 2015, Slytherin

Okay, so this chapter made me begin to really like Josephine. I was intrigued by her, but kind of frustrated by her silence, previously, but it hit me that, scared as she is to talk, let alone to talk to George after everything, she has been quite brave here. And at times she really shows some backbone--telling Fred that she could improve their business model, telling George that he absolutely should not say he ought to have died in Fred's place, fighting in a battle even though she can't duel! She's really quite remarkable. And I love that you gave her a special affinity for shield charms, that she saved George's life, and that it's exactly what Fred would have wanted. I like that, as we see in her interactions with Verity, Josephine may not be social, but she really is kind and considerate.

I'm favoriting this, and I absolutely do not wish to make you feel rushed or anything--this isn't one of those please hurry up and update sorts of things, because we all have lives. But I'll be looking forward to whenever your next update comes. I'm especially looking forward to Josephine meeting the rest of the Weasleys.

CC: (for the record, I try always to give CC. This is an excellently written story!)

The closing of the store each night means resigning to this space
--I'm not certain "resign" is the proper word here. Maybe retreating, adjourning, or withdrawing?

It would probably continue to remain deplete from my arsenal if the twins weren't both so fond of it.
--I don't think "deplete" can be used that way. I think it would have to be "depleted", but even then that implies that the gesture was in her arsenal and she's used it all up. Maybe "absent" or something along those lines might be better.


I've really enjoyed reading this. I've been meaning to get to it for ages. Thanks so much for writing it! (Oh, and last chapter I had meant to tell you that I loved your idea for a Weasley's Wizard Wheezes fireworks globe where Fred tells jokes. That was brilliant!)

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #10, by Penelope Inkwell Breakable Girls and Boys

20th July 2015:
For the House Cup 2015, Slytherin

I think this is my favorite chapter so far. I think it so perfectly captures the "trying to move on" stage of grieving--those baby steps where you're bound to fall. I think I've read some one-shots of George immediately after Fred's death, but I've never come across anything from the period right after, where he's got to try to pick up the pieces and figure out what to do now. I like how you had them open Wheezes--I could totally see that scenario happening. George would be operating at half his ability, so I don't think they'd be adequately prepared. I could see him just trying to go through the motions, assuming that the "Grand Reopening" couldn't possibly be that big or grand because without Fred how could it be? But of course Weasleys' Wizard Wheezes was once one of the most popular destinations in Diagon Alley, and lots of people who have just survived a war are looking for a bright spot in there day, so they'd want to go have a laugh. It was the perfect storm, and it was very realistic.

I'm glad that Fred's death is at least forcing Josephine to step out of her comfort zone to honor what she knows his wishes would be. Hopefully it will be good for her.

CC: I didn't see anything this time! It was a wonderful chapter. They all are.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #11, by Penelope Inkwell Nice to Meet You

20th July 2015:
For the House Cup 2015, Slytherin

Another lovely chapter! At first, I was chomping at the bit to see what would happen next, chronologically, after Fred's funeral last chapter. However, I think that going back to the beginning of Josephine and Fred's introduction and how she got involved with the joke shop was perfect. Fred is just so...Fred. It can be so hard to capture the voices of the canon characters, and you've done it quite well. It put such a smile on my face to read his zany little monologues. Also, "Well, drape me in purple velvet and call me Dumbledore," definitely belongs on the highlight reel. Bahaha!

CC: I only really noticed one thing, which is remarkable, particularly in such a long chapter.

Of course I know the answer, however weary the attempt to attain it may be.
--That sentence doesn't quite make sense to me. Maybe, "however wearying the attempt to obtain it may be," or something along those lines? The attempt itself can't be weary, though.

Your writing really is so well done, just the quality of it is exceptional. And you really hold those questions out there. I'm like a pony going after a carrot. I so very badly want to discover what, exactly, is going on!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #12, by Penelope Inkwell Promises, Promises

20th July 2015:
For the House Cup 2015, Slytherin

Oh. My gosh. First off, your writing is incredible. It's really quite lovely, and flows so nicely. I'm dying to read more. I'm really fascinated by Josephine--what happened to her family? Why doesn't she speak? You've set up the questions-to-be-solved very well. And Fred was so Fred, it broke my heart and made me smile. Blackmail, slipping around the rules--Gryffindors really are just the opposite side of the same coin as Slytherins.

That funeral scene was painful and beautiful, and you did it really well. I'm glad to see that Josephine is going to try to keep her promise to Fred. But she's going to pose as his girlfriend? What about Angelina? How is that going to happen. So many questions! I look forward to reading on.

CC: caught a couple little snags, so I thought I'd let you know.

Fred approaches me again, his eyes wide and innocent
--"eye's" ought to be "eyes"

"his blue irises looking about as alive as his brothers."
--"brothers" should be "brother's"

at my best friends funeral
--"friends" should be "friend's"

Really lovely job!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #13, by Penelope Inkwell Introduction: Boxes

20th July 2015:
So, with this intro I am definitely intrigued. So, Our Heroine has done something to lose herself all her friends (or her family? Or both?) and is now mourning Fred on top of all that? Had she lost him with everyone else, or did he stick it out with her? And what sort of relationship did they have, really? Obviously she is in no good state, at present. I'm definitely going to have to read on and find out more.

For the House Cup 2015, Slytherin

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #14, by TidalDragon Introduction: Boxes

19th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

AHA! I have finally made it here. Shameful really that it took the Cup, but nevertheless, here I am.

I love the powerful penetrating emotion of this introduction. You use a lot of effective devices here to help tie it to your MC, particularly the tears and the echoed language (with slight tweaks), but what absorbed me into it most of all was the rawness of the description and the simultaneously simplicity of the language you used throughout. So often when authors are seeking to address matters of real gravity we get caught up in our own perceived linguistic superiority and pull us off down a more disconnected pathway than we otherwise would have achieved, but you avoided the trap with aplomb.

Of course, like any excellent intro, you didn't just draw me into that emotion, you drew me into the character by FORCING me to connect with her, but ultimately leaving more questions than answers: (1) who is she, (2) where was she "Today", (3) how did she come to know Fred, (4) what did she mean to him, and (5) why does she keep her distance - why MUST she remain alone?

Of course, some of this is addressed in your summary, but I find it to be the mark of a great story (and particularly a great start) to still make me ask myself those questions despite that fact.

I'LL BE BACK!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Julia again Eye of the Storm

21st June 2015:
Also, just so you know that other people are just as obsessed, there's a board on pinterest dedicated to this story.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Julia Eye of the Storm

21st June 2015:
THIS IS SO GOOD
Honestly, it's amazing and makes me alternate between laughing and crying at least 3 times a chapter. I haven' left a review or anything, bc I'm forgetful and lazy, but I love this so so so so so so so so much. Really, words cannot describe. I have been checking up on this for months, way too often, and I'm following you here, FF, and ao3.
Srsly, I'm in love with both you and the story.
Sorry(notsorry) for being a creep. But you're amazing.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Veritaserum27 Introduction: Boxes

20th June 2015:
Hi there Tanya!

Happy Ravenclaw House Cup 2015 Review for Staffers Day!!!

I'm so excited that the Amazing Race Game has given me the chance to review all the awesome writers on this site that I never seem to get a chance to review - like you! So, on one hand I'm sorry, but on the other I'm kinda giddy with glee. I've heard so much about this story and this first chapter did not disappoint. It seems like you've bookended the narrator's tale with two emotionally charged scenes. (I'm gonna hazard a guess the narrator is Josephine :) ) I like that you've given us a little background - she was Fred's best friend and feels his loss greatly. For her own personal well being, she feels the need to grieve near him when the others aren't around and so she waits behind the tree. And the first scene is really riveting - making me want to know exactly what she's done to get herself into such a mess. (I might just hazard another guess and say she 'lied'...) Your writing is flawless and flows so nicely. It pulls me into the story! Nice job!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #18, by SunshineDaisies Promises, Promises

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Things I was not prepared for: this chapter. I thought the worst was over with the funeral last chapter, but NOPE. That scene was almost unbearably emotional. It took a lot of effort for me not to cry throughout the whole thing. You conveyed how Jo was feeling so perfectly, I felt just about as miserable as she did. There's something haunting about being alone with someone you've lost, it's like a chance to remember the moments that existed only between the two of you. When you're with a group, it's the group memories that are shared, and I don't think Josephine or George would find that nearly as comforting.

And it was such a contrast to the first half of the chapter! I think that made the second scene far more powerful, actually. I was happily relating to Jo never wanting her crush to find out she has a crush on him and then BAM. sads.

I really did love the dynamic between Fred and Jo, it was such a comfortable, balanced friendship. Jo seems to have been good for Fred in a way that George isn't, necessarily. Fred and George feed off of each other, but Jo seems to mellow them out. And I totally understood how Jo felt about telling George, that is probably one of the most terrifying things in the world. Props to her for continuing to keep her promise.

I'm going to find something happier to read because I need a break from heartache.

 Report Review

Review #19, by SunshineDaisies Introduction: Boxes

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Hello! I'm taking this opportunity to review all of our badger mothers. :)

I've heard a lot about this story, what with all the awards it's won, but I haven't made it over hear to read through it yet. I'm so glad I finally did! The descriptions in this are absolutely gorgeous. I loved Josephine's descriptions of how she thought the weather should be and how it actually was. As far as writing funerals go, I'm a big fan of having the weather be bright and sunny. It seems much more true to life than having rain or thunderstorms. Perhaps it's just my experience, but it seems like funerals tend to take place on otherwise beautiful days. And Josephine's right, it feels like a mockery.

I think this is a brilliant start to an obviously brilliant story, and I am very excited to read more! :)

Puffs for the Cup!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Roisin Introduction: Boxes

20th June 2015:
Hello!

So I actually began reading this a while back, but I suppose I never stopped to review because I am the worst. NO MATTER, HOUSE CUP 2015 GRYFFINDOR

This first chapter is so curious, because, I mean, the whole title is actually very curious. It seems so incongruous for her to be reflecting on having lied about things in the midst of a funeral, and it's pretty much impossible to sort out how those things are connected. I mean, I have to assume at this juncture that they aren't, as Fred's death was sudden and unexpected. But yeah, introducing the theme of lying is a very interesting idea!

I also like how Josephine doesn't strike like a typical female OC. She isn't fiesty or sarcastic, and even her name seems pretty far from the cliche (though I rather love the name Josephine - March, Baker, there are so many good ones!)

Anyway, this is a fantastic opening to a story, and I'm glad I've returned to it :)

xoxo
Roisin

 Report Review

Review #21, by crestwood Introduction: Boxes

20th June 2015:
Hi Tanya! Finally getting around to checking out this story. I've heard just about every good thing you can hear about a story - about this one, so I'm excited.

What a great first line. The narrative voice of this first chapter is beautiful. I do love stories that begin with commentary that takes place after the events of the story. The narrator is so remorseful that I have to keep reading because I must know what it is that they've done and who they've lied to.

There's an extremely powerful image in not celebrating in the middle of the Great Hall directly after the fall of Voldemort. "My best friend is lying in a box." - I love this quote so much. That one line is better than entire books I've read. The abruptness of this opening chapter definitely worked in its favor. Amazing work. Can't wait to read on.

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #22, by Joey Tribbiani Promises, Promises

29th May 2015:
First and foremost, I have to say you have such a brilliant contrast between the first half and the second half of this chapter. The first half is light and funny, while the second half is bleak and depressing. In the first half we see Fred in his prime, doing what he loves, happy, and looking out for people he loves. In the second, all of that is ripped away from him and it is terrible. Such stark contrast could run the risk of things seeming like they would be better in two chapters but these two balance each other out so well, thanks to your writing style.

Josephine is remarkably silent most of the time, so stuck in her own head. (She has the girl version of my name but I am the opposite, no doubt about it.) I could give her some tips on getting George to date her. I look a woman up and down and as "How you doin?" and it works like a charm. It would probably work on guys, if she wants to try it. Even if not, she should just talk to George. If she gets along with his twin so well and the boys are so similar, George must like her as well.

I am very close to my friends and the second half of this was very, very sad and touching. When I thought that all my friends were leaving to buy houses or get married or get new jobs I had a really hard time transitioning, but at least they were still there. Josephine is so shy and closed off that she doesn't have anyone else to lean on in times like this, with so much stress.

I hope she and George work out in the end so she can join his big family. (It's the opposite of mine, basically. I have seven younger sisters... seven!) I think they'd be great together. And, if they want to get married, let them know I have been ordained by the power of the internet. Tell them to keep that in mind.

Joey Tribbiani

 Report Review

Review #23, by Joey Tribbiani Introduction: Boxes

21st May 2015:
Hi Tanya.

This chapter was suitable for somebody of my reading skills, but I will continue on. My friend Chandler says I only like books that star Jack Nicholson so I must prove him wrong.

You did a great job at showing Josephine's emotions in this prologue. Even though it was short, the vivid descriptions of how broken hearted she was and about the way wars can shatter people was very good. I was able to almost feel her pain through all of this. I think you did a great job at striking the balance between her conflicting sides - she was happy the war was over, but devastated at her best friend's death.

I'm interested to know how she goes from May to December and what changes over that period of time and what else could make her feel so upset.

One thing though... did the war end on May 1st or May 2nd? (I'm not very good at history myself! I am a great actor though, so I can give Josephine tips in the future.)

I'm interested to see how this comes along!

Joey Tribbiani

 Report Review

Review #24, by JJtheNerdfightingStarkid Eye of the Storm

21st May 2015:
As always, so so /so/ good. Absolutely incredible, how good your writing is. And I absolutely love this story as well. Please update soon!

 Report Review

Review #25, by 1917farmgirl Breakable Girls and Boys

27th April 2015:
How on earth did I never review this chapter? That's just not right. Not right at all.

Tanya, I'm seriously at a loss as to how to review this. I wanted to give you one of those massive detailed reviews that you seem to excel at so well when you review my stuff, but as I read, I found myself unable to stop and make mental notes about all the parts I wanted to mention to you. I was way, way too caught up in what was playing out on the page before me to do that.

I've read this before, many times, actually, as you worked it over (and over, and over, LOL.) But that doesn't matter. I don't know how you do it, but when you take those thoughts and ideas and emotions you have and let them pour out onto paper, something magical happens.

This story is literally one of the best I have ever written. Your Fred, your George...they are all I could ever hope and dream my beloved twins to be. And Josephine is SO AMAZINGLING REAL! How can you not love her?

The genius of this set up, making me laugh and love Fred in the first part - because he is just so FRED! So perfect. And then ripping my heart out in the next part.

Just so you know, I don't care how long it takes you to finish this story, I will be right here, waiting and begging for more, because this is THE ultimate Fred and George fic and nothing else I read can ever compare.

Now excuse me while I go have a good cry.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>