Reading Reviews for Lying Josephine
  
233 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Julia Brave Face, Kid

22nd May 2016:
Ngl, that response made me super excited, and I've been checking in basically every day in hopes you've updated. I just don't review every time bc that's pretty creepy. But I can't wait! (:

 Report Review

Review #2, by Julia Brave Face, Kid

28th April 2016:
Just checking in (:
Still in love with the story!

Author's Response: You truly are the loveliest. And I'm working hard on chapter seven. Soon, I promise! Thank you for everything. ♥

 Report Review

Review #3, by Kendra Brave Face, Kid

24th April 2016:
I'm really loving this story. The characterization is really good. Had to hold myself back from crying a few times. Not really good with words, but I can't wait from more from you.

 Report Review

Review #4, by StarFeather Promises, Promises

6th March 2016:
Dear Tanya

I've been waiting for the chance to be back to your Dobby's story, then TreacleTart set Review-a-Thon.
So I thought of reading this chapter.

As CI showed us, I could imagine how Fred acted in front of Jo like seeing the movie.

You described how Fred cared Jo and held his helping hand to her. You portrayed how shy she was to be pointed out that she should tell her feeling towards George.

The description about Fred in a casket is so sad. I could even feel music which should be played in minor tune, of course. You have knack of writing about inner sad feeling and mental suffering of the character.

The more we read the cheerful description about Fred, the deeper the memory of the story remains in our heart.

Did I say that I felt music and the clear vision in your story before? It's a beautiful piece of work.

Kenny

 Report Review

Review #5, by HufflePuff_Blitz Introduction: Boxes

5th March 2016:
For The HPFF Review-A-Thon!
Tanya! My love! It is finally time for this wonderful moment. And a fine moment it is.

Your introduction was incredibly marvelous! It gave pretty much a basic synopsis of the story and revealed a marvelous insight to our main character. You have done a wonderful job at letting the readers know what the character has done and how she feels but you left it open for multiple interpretations later down the road so I, as a reader am intrigued at what will happen in this story.

I do enjoy the date stamps on these also, as it gives a good sense of time. Because sometimes an author will use the "it has been several months" but it appears as if years had transpired. So giving the date really helps to understand when everything is happening.

The second half of this chapter is really well done also Tanya! It re-established how the character feels, and starts to reveal more information. But you still left just enough details for me to crave a lot more!

I keep asking questions, like: "Fred had a best friend other than George!? How did that happen?" and it's the questions like that (trust me I have many many more) that are prompting me to continue onto the next chapter.

On thing I did have a question about, and it might just be my abysmol grammar skills at work, but we had this sentence: "I stand at his funeral, encased by a sea of mourning friends and family, all dressed in black. Yet, despite the crowds of mourners, I am still alone." and to me it seemed like a change in the tense for the story. because before it was like "I never did celebrate" which sounds like past tense but the sentence I pointed out was in present tense, and it stayed that way. I'm thinking It is just me because looking back now the rest of it is in present tense and it is probably some rule I don't understand. lol.

But overall A+++ Tanta Great first chapter! I really enjoyed it! Cannot wait to continue!

Hugs and Hufflepuffs!
-Kyle

 Report Review

Review #6, by alicethedownworlder Brave Face, Kid

1st March 2016:
this story breaks my emotions in the best way possible. To many feels! Please update!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Julia Brave Face, Kid

27th February 2016:
!
I am so happy. So, I check in every two weeks or so on this story (sometimes more frequently tbh (I'm kinda in love with this story)) but I usually only leave reviews on a new chapter, except once in November during a rountine check in. Idk why, but I felt like it was a good thing to do. And for some reason, during this regular check-in, I decided to go through the reviews. And you answered me with the coolest and most heart warming reply! I'm so happy that my comment made you happy!! I think I may leave reviews a lot more frequently now. You totally deserve to be told not only how great this story is, but how great you are. Really, we're only 6 chapters in, and this has honest to god made me actually cry in the middle of class and then laugh and then try to not to cry again, and the affection I feel for you and this story is insane. Please know how much I value all of this, including you.
Also, if you ever need anyone to talk to, just let me know. I'm sure we could easily get in contact some way.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Thea Brave Face, Kid

16th February 2016:
I love Fred and George but this is the first F&G story I've really enjoyed you write them terrifically and unbeatable, Jo is also amazing and manages to convey an awful lot whilst saying very little not easy to do, absolutely cracking can't wait for a update!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Onediedforlove Brave Face, Kid

8th February 2016:
Oh, my gosh. I love this story already. Please update!! Your writing style is fantastic. Good work so far.

 Report Review

Review #10, by MeIsMoonie Promises, Promises

6th February 2016:
Gahh, this story is so so beautiful!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Diogenissa Promises, Promises

22nd January 2016:
Hello-o-o-o-o LOVELY TANYA! HAPPY BELATED HOT SEAT DAY!

Firstly I must apologize for the absolutely unacceptable lateness of this--still have no 'net at home and the new years just been insane but settling down a bit. I must also admit the touch of irony given the title of this chapter and the fact that I said that I'd be reviewing it shortly after I did chapter one. Ugh I'm very sorry about that :-( .

The first thing I noticed is how seamlessly you write Fred and his overall character. It's not very hard to tell to see that that Dobby is more than well earned! You nailed his cheeky and funny manner yet seriousness when it comes to the depth of his relationship with George, especially with the twin dynamic: the closeness, loyalty, and love shines through. Something else I found refreshing was Fred's honesty--he cares so much for everyone in his life that means so much to him (including Jo), absolutely lovely!

“So I’ve been thinking…”

I waste no time in deciding that Fred Weasley thinking is never a good sign…
-- THIS--THIS had me laughing SO HARD! The truth of that is so real you have to love it--Jo's a smart girl! *lol*

Another point I enjoyed was Fred's 'blackmail'--going back to his honesty and love for those who matter most. As I was reading it, the prevalent thought in my head was 'It's for your own good.and George's' as I could almost see him perhaps thinking something along those lines.


Your descriptions and word choices were both very strong and colorful, easy to engage and picture throughout! :-)


Jo's introspection is also very strong and I could see quite a bit of personal growth already in her. Her struggles are so very real it's tangible and relatable!


Finally that very last line was a great way to close the chapter, as well as draw back to mind the chapter title.

Overall this was absolutely beautiful piece of work darlin' and you should be proud of yourself. It was both amusing yet serious and I like that I saw character growth. Congratulations and thank you for a great story (and again sorry that it took me so terribly long :-( ).


Karen xoxo

 Report Review

Review #12, by cherry_pop94 Nice to Meet You

25th December 2015:
Hi again! Back for more of this wonderful story!

Fred IS hilarious. Oh my god. That job interview. I was howling. It was just too funny! His long speeches to Josephine, his pranks, the deal. I can't believe it. What I wouldn't give to be in that job interview. I'm obviously a cherry, if I were a fruit.

I really like the time jumps in this. It really gives the sense of who Josephine is and who Fred is and how their relationship was. He really was her best friend, her only friend. It's sweet.

Her love for George is a little weird. I have to agree with Fred. It's mighty strange how much she loves him and they've never spoken. He is barely aware of his existence!

Anyway, can't wait to read more, but it'll probably have to wait until later :(

Stefanie

PS. This chapter felt so short for 7000 words! I don't know how you do it!

 Report Review

Review #13, by cherry_pop94 Promises, Promises

25th December 2015:
Hi again!

This is another great chapter. It's so emotional. Fred was a great friend to Josephine. She's unlike anyone else I've ever read about. I wonder why she doesn't speak? What happened to her family? She's in intriguing character.

It seems that George has noticed her. She did love him, but I wonder how as they've never spoken. But I understand that kind of admiring from afar love. It's definitely a very curious thing to read about.

Thanks for sharing your talent!

Stefanie

 Report Review

Review #14, by cherry_pop94 Introduction: Boxes

25th December 2015:
Hello Tanya!

I just wanted to stop by with a little Christmas gift as a thank you for being such an awesome staffer. I've always known that you're incredible, but I've just read Rose's thread on the forums about all the incredible work you've done for us! So this is just a little token of my appreciation!

This story is amazing. I love Fred Weasley. I mean, who didn't sob uncontrollably when he was killed? I'm still sobbing and it's been eight years since the book came out.

Your summary seemed so interesting, I just could not turn away from this. And this prologue is great. There's so much emotion in Josephine's voice. She'd devastated at the funeral. I feel her pain.

I can't wait to read more! Thanks again for everything you do for us Tanya

 Report Review

Review #15, by ohmymerlin Brave Face, Kid

14th December 2015:
Hello again!

OOH THE PLOT IS THICKENING! I was wondering how she'd become 'Lying Josephine', because I couldn't imagine George ever asking her but I love the way it's all panned out!

Again, George's emotions were just ugh... ♥ My heart literally broke when the letters weren't sent and George just broke down over it. I do feel so sorry for Josephine though as well because she'll just take it. She just accepts the abuse that's hurled at her, and George always apologises but she shouldn't have to go through that. It;s like she's just going through with it and won't stand up for herself because she likes him so much but COME ON JO, STAND UP FOR YOURSELF.

I don't blame George for lashing out, but he needs to release his anger in a healthy way that IS NOT ON JO.

(I kinda want to snuggle Jo in a cocoon of protectiveness and warmth WHERE NO ONE HURTS HER EVER)

The way you write emotions is so phenomenal. You're such a talented writer, and I always knew it, but actually reading your work makes it so much more obvious and it's like 'HOW DID I NEVER READ THIS BEFORE!?'

Also, I know this was a few chapters ago, but the snow globe incident was also so emotional and moving and GOSH DARN IT TANYA YOU'RE SO FANTASTIC AT MAKING ME WAN TTO SNUGGLE GEORGE AND JOSEPHINE AND THE WAY YOU WRITE THEIR HEART BREAK IS NOTHING I'VE TRULY EXPERIENCED AND YOU MAKE ME FEEL SO MANY THINGS.

So many.

And I don't know why I get this vibe, but a lot of your story feels like a song. It flows so nicely and they bounce off each other so well and everything matches so perfectly, but it truly feels like something musical.

Probably because you write music but there's nothing I've ever read that flows so well. It's hard to explain but hopefully you get the gist of what I'm trying to say?

This was such an amazing chapter, again. I'm so excited to see how George and Josephine's relationship develops, and how she interacts with the rest of the Weasleys (will they make her come out of her shell a bit?)

I'm also really looking forward to seeing how the story progresses! I don't want to pressure you and annoy you but I really can't wait to read the next chapter, hehe!

10/10 again ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by ohmymerlin Eye of the Storm

14th December 2015:
TANYAAA

I meant to review for the Hot Seat but real life has been a bit of a pain lately! I know I haven't reviewed every single chapter but these last two chapters seemed to have less reviews and I thought that was an ABSOLUTE TRAVESTY so I decided to review them ♥

Okay, first of all, I LOVE THE WAY YOU HAVE WRITTEN THIS WHOLE NOVEL. JUST PHENOMENAL. I LOVE THE DYNAMIC BETWEEN FRED AND JOSEPHINE, AND THIS CHAPTER WAS SUCH A HUGE STEP WITH 'COMMUNICATION' BETWEEN GEORGE AND JOSEPHINE.

I put the communication in quotes because Josephine doesn't seem to talk much does she? Also, can I just say that I love how you've made her so quiet, yet so powerful? You've written her phenomenally and I feel like I can really relate to her. The way you write her quietness is so moving, I just adore it. I truly adore it. Just like I adore you ♥

And ugh, George's emotions about how he could have been the one who died were just so painful and raw. I feel so sorry for him, but you've written his frustration at being pitied so well. I can totally see him being frustrated that his family are being like that, and it's not like he hates his family, but I can see him being torn between not wanting any sympathy and wanting to keep talking about him.

But omg... the way you write Fred ♥ It's perfect. I also just love how you've written him not fussed about Josephine's quietness and he accepts it, not bothering too force her to talk. He makes her comfortable and I think that's just so sweet.

And the poo items hAHAHAHAHAHAHA THAT WAS THE BEST. I CAN SEE FRED AND GEORGE SITTING IN THIER OFFICES/ROOMS AND GIGGLING ABOUT SELLING LITERAL POO.

I loved this chapter so much and I love this story so much! I'm so excited to see a chapter seven soon (hopefully? ;))

10/10 ofc any other score would not be true to the story

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Felpata Lupin Promises, Promises

9th December 2015:
Oh, Tanya... *sobbing*
So many feels, so heartbreaking, so touching...
I don't even know what to say...

The first part was interesting. It surely showed a lot about Josephine's character, and I liked Fred's monologues opposed to her talking-with-her-eyes (At first I wondered if she was mute...) Fred was a great friend, if a bit perfidius... She needed a push...

The second part really broke my heart... The pain of losing your best friend... And the guilt, the feeling that you haven't lived up to their expectations, that you've disappointed them... And that point of envy you can't avoid to prove when you see the love of a family and you're prived of it. You wrote all this wonderfully. You really touched me so deeply with your beautiful writing.

This is such a great story, Tanya! I can see why everyone love it so much!

I'll try to be back again soon!

All my love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #18, by SunshineDaisies Nice to Meet You

7th December 2015:
I'M SO BEHIND ON LIFE. (Reading this story AND the hot seat.)

Every time I read one of your stories I am left in total awe. Your writing is so effortlessly lovely and lyrical, and it's just so pretty! That is one of my favorite qualities in writing and it's so nice to find it in a fic with such an interesting plot as well! (I'm also insanely jealous because you make this writing seem so easy and I'm just like, banging my head on the keyboard)

I love the way you write Josephine. I am very much the same way she is, so I totally understand falling in love with someone who doesn't know you exist, and then simultaneously wanting to be near them and be as far away from them as possible. It brought back a lot of embarrassing memories, actually. I feel you, Jo. I also love that you've made her so unsure of herself, and maybe not great at magic, but with total business savvy. It's such an interesting idea to explore, because it's not like they teach business at Hogwarts. (HOW DO WIZARDS FUNCTION WITHOUT THESE CLASSES I DON'T UNDERSTAND)

This is such a lovely story and I'm so excited to see what happens! Whether or not Jo starts procreating. ;)

 Report Review

Review #19, by CassiePotter Nice to Meet You

5th December 2015:
Hi Tanya! I'm back with another hot seat review for you!
This was another wonderful chapter! I think every new chapter I read becomes my favorite. I'm getting so invested in Josephine's character and there are so many things about her that I want to know! I'm definitely hooked on this story!
I loved reading Josephine's interview with Fred. Their personalities are so, so different that it makes for a really interesting dynamic between the two characters.
I felt so bad for Josephine when she sat in the chair and it farted! I wouldn't expect anything less from the Weasley twins, but I know that if I were in her position, I would be just as embarrassed! I'm also pretty shy (though not as shy as Josephine is), so if something like that happening to me I would blush like crazy and not know what to say!
I thought the fact that Josephine rehearsed what she was going to say in her interview was so relatable. I've definitely done that before!
I was not expecting George to come in! And poor Josephine's feelings were so obvious to Fred. I'm glad that he agreed not to tell George in the end, though. He can really see that Josephine does love him, and I think it says a lot about him that he's not going to interfere, but also that he won't lie to his brother if George asks about Josephine's feelings.
I know I said this before, but I have to say once again how incredible the dialogue in this story is. You do so much in the interactions between Fred and Josephine, even though she hardly speaks. It's really amazing that he can read her so clearly, and I love the way they communicate with each other, with him speaking so much and her so little.
I never really thought about the shop opening back up for the first time after the war, but I'm really not surprised that it was so crowded. It got so popular so quickly that I bet people were waiting for it to open again. But I bet Josephine had a hard day with so many people around.
I can't wait to continue on with this fantastic story! I also added it to my favorites!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Felpata Lupin Introduction: Boxes

5th December 2015:
Hello, Tanya!
I'm here for your Hot Seat, and because I've heard so much enthusiasm around this story that I was feeling horribly not stopping by sooner... Anyway, I'm here now! :)

Wow, this was such a brilliant incipit! Your writing is so smooth, so beautiful, and the emotions flow so easily and authentically. It's like poetry.

"We are taught and told that tears are for the weak, for those of us not strong enough to keep emotions at bay, but I believe it is that reason alone that makes crying such an act of courage." This sentence particularly touched me, simply because it is so true. I know that there are those moments I really wish to cry and I just don't find in myself the strength to do so... Does it make sense?

Anyway, I loved this. I loved the descriptions, and how well they work with the mood, with the grief. I loved the irony of the shining sun opposed to the darkness of the narrating voice's (Josephine, I guess?) thoughts and feelings. It's just brilliant.

Really, Tanya! Once again you leave me speechless with your incredible talent. I have no words to describe the perfection of this.

I'll be back! :)
Much love and hugs,
Chiara.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Freda_and_Georgina Brave Face, Kid

4th December 2015:
All of your chapters have been so mind-boggling, but this one especially was insane. It is kind of sad Jo couldn't have told George she cared for him before Fred died, not necessarily in a romantic light but in a friendly light. I absolutely loved George's conversation with Jo about how she seems able to fake being strong so well. That was such a relatable conversation and it was probably my favorite part in this entire chapter, though it was all really good.

I'm really glad you continued this story; it's kind of hard not to now that it's won a Dobby.

Hope you got a lot of reviews on your hot seat day!
--Georgina

 Report Review

Review #22, by CassiePotter Promises, Promises

4th December 2015:
Hi Tanya! I'm back to leave you another hot seat review!
Oh my gosh, this chapter was even better than the last one! We got to know Josephine a little more, which was lovely. She's a brilliant OC. She's really different from all the other characters I've read on this site, and I love her already. I think she's fascinating and I want to know more about her! You've hinted at something happening to her family, so I'm definitely curious about that. Am I right in saying that that's part of the reason she doesn't talk much? I thought making her so quiet was a really nice choice on your part, because while it may cause some people to overlook her, I think it makes other people pay even more attention to her, to try and figure out what she's thinking.
The way she and Fred interacted was so fantastic. He does all the talking, but in no way is it a one-sided conversation. Just because Josephine doesn't say much out loud doesn't mean that she's not responding to Fred and letting him know what's on her mind. They're really sweet together and I think it's great that he wants her to tell George how she feels. He knows that if she takes that chance it could lead to her being really happy, and will give her a little push towards that happiness if need be.
Fred's funeral was so sad. I was not ready for the pictures by his casket! I think it's so wonderful that there were pictures of him with his family there, so they can look at them and remember the good times they had with him.
My heart broke a little when Mrs. Weasley and George were crying together. I can't even imagine what they must be going through, and if I were in Josephine's position I think I'd feel the same way she does. Like I was intruding on a private moment.
Josephine's goodbye to Fred at the end of the chapter was so sad. But I think it's wonderful that she said she'd keep her promise to him. It shows the strength of their friendship, and how important he was to her. She's willing to step out of her comfort zone because it's what Fred wanted.
This was a fantastic second chapter! I can't wait to keep reading!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by CassiePotter Introduction: Boxes

4th December 2015:
Hi Tanya! Happy hot seat!
This was such a sad opening chapter! But I'm also really intrigued! I want to know more about the main character and her relationship with Fred. And, of course, I want to know what she lied about and why she started lying in the first place. I'm assuming that it just started out as a little white lie, and then spiraled into bigger lies, but I'll just have to keep reading and see!
I haven't read tons of stories that take place right after the war ends- usually it's been a few years- so I'll be really interested to see how that impacts your characters. The whole Wizarding World is trying to cope with losing people they loved and also rebuild since Voldemort has been defeated.
This was a great introduction to your story, and I'll definitely be back to read more!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Julia Brave Face, Kid

30th November 2015:
Just a friendly reminder that I think this story is great! I check in every so often to see if you've updated, but I only review when a chapter comes up.
Idk why, but I feel like making sure you know that we all love and appreciate every chapter, and you're awesome.

Author's Response: You are just... so beyond lovely. Like... this makes me want to cry. My heart just swelled so much reading this. I was having a not so great day, and was really, really put-out and feeling unappreciated and looked over and invisible, and then this happened and... Wow.

Thank you. Honestly, just endless thank you's your way. It's like the universe knew I needed a pick me up, and you appeared with the most beautiful and perfect message imaginable. ♥

I'm going to do my very best to get the next chapter out this week, too. ^.^ Thank you for the love and appreciation. I could not mean that more. You're so wonderful. Just... thank you. *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #25, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Brave Face, Kid

16th October 2015:
WELL IT'S ABOUT TIME I GOT HERE TO REVIEW THIS, ISN'T IT?! I hope you didn't think all the love you gave me a while back was going to go un-answered!!! :P *Squishes* I really hope you're feeling better, and I hope I can lift your spirits a little with my review! ♥

This was another perfectly-written, sweet and sad and lovely and heartbreaking chapter. I had almost forgotten that the Weasleys had gone into hiding, until you mentioned them switching to 'mail order only' in the first part of the chapter. And Poor Josephine, she was so upset when she saw what happened to George!

And Fred... just, Fred. He's so protective and caring with Josephine, always looking out for her and keeping her secret. It's so sweet.

It really broke my heart to see George snapping at Josephine like that, but I was so happy that he apologized, and that they were able to laugh and come up with this interesting plan together.

I'm so, so intrigued to see what's going to happen next - will this bring everyone some closure, or will it lead to more problems? Will it bring George and Josephine closer together? (I REALLY HOPE SO!)

As usual, you did an excellent job conveying ALL of the emotions here, and, I read your Author's Note - you have absolutely NOTHING to feel insecure about!

I really can't wait to see where you go next with this, lovely! And Congratulations on your Dobby win!! *Throws confetti*

WELL DONE! ♥

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>