Reading Reviews for Wildflowers
  
271 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BellatrixLover3 How to Ruin Christmas

14th November 2014:
Yay! Sirius/Elsa! I hope Damon doesn't marry Elsa! Maybe Dominic's murder will go wrong and he will get killed!

 Report Review

Review #2, by BellatrixLover3 Dangerous Territory

14th November 2014:
I ❤️ this chapter! I am Sirius/Elsa!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pretense Of Perfection Absence of Light

26th November 2012:
I'm going through and re-reading all of my old favorites, and I must say, I thoroughly enjoy this story just as much as I did the first time. You are a wonderful writer, and I hope that you continue to entertain us with your skills.

You must have a few wonderful betas up your sleeve, but this time around I have noticed a few random typos and grammatical errors, as well as a switched tense of two. Nothing specific comes to mind, and it's obviously nothing that is super huge.

I remember when reading this the first time that I was slightly confused about the altercation between Elsa and Dumbledore with the Death Eaters. I can't specifically place my finger on what is confusing about it, and if I remember correctly it gets clarified in later chapters, but I just thought I'd point that out.

Still loving it!!

 Report Review

Review #4, by tangledconstellations Egyptian Heat

12th October 2012:
Hey again!

Compared to the last chapter, the tone of this was so hot and claustrophobic and damp and eugh, I could feel the heat and the tension and everything! But saying that, that's not necessarily a bad thing. I love that I was able to get that sense, even if it wasn't the most comfortable. I hate arguing when its too hot, because everything bothers you! The last line too made me giggle, because it was like an irritable after-thought :P

Asides from the heat and the sweat (which I do think you portrayed really well) I thought you captured the Egyptian kinda culture well too. Like, with the marketplace and the amazing architecture. I loved that Elsa was completely in awe of it all and just wanted to go exploring! The creepy woman though - eep! A little bit ominous. It's gonna be interesting to see how right she was. I hope she wasn't at all though, and I hope this break is flawless for them. But saying that, Gareth's short temper is something that could only cause future problems for them all...

Ahh, I said I wanted to see Sirius in this chapter, but not as a divide between them! But when Elsa said she missed him, I was a little bit secretly glad...is that bad?! Ahh, Elsa doesn't know what she wants and I don't know what I want for her either! I think they were both being overdramatic and overtired and generally overreacting earlier, and there isn't just the one of them to blame. Elsa shouldn't have mentioned Sirius so bluntly, and Damon shouldn't have got in such a strop. But yet, at least they can both see their true colours!

I really enjoyed this chapter!

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #5, by tangledconstellations Complications of the Heart

12th October 2012:
Hey Len!

I am so, so sorry about the ridiculous wait for these reviews. I think you requested in...July? I have been so unorganised! :( But finally finally finally I have found some time, and it is really nice to be able to read a familiar fic again to get me back into the swing of HPFF.

I found slipping back into this fic wasn't as difficult as I worried it might be, having not read it for so long. In fact, it was really quite nice to blindly read the first few paragraphs before going, 'oooh, yeah, I remember!' and having the previous chapters come flooding back.

Elsa is such a lovely character, I'm pretty sure I've said before. There's a charming modesty about her that so many writers try to give their characters but that they don't quite achieve. I'm glad she's not boisterous or over the top or awkward or anything. She is just who she is, just like the readers. I really like, too, that even when she is at her worst she is trying to keep her head and remain rational, but even so needs her friends to keep her tied to the ground. Being so emotionally confused is the worst, and I think you've made her reactions and general thought processes so believable. I mean, sometimes characters just fly off the handle, and you just can't imagine them doing that in real life. But with Elsa, her feelings kind of resonate in such a normal teenage girl kind of way.

I am always fascinated by the different ways people write Lily Evans too, and the way she is here is just super. I like that she's a little bit moody and knows how to stand her ground, and at the same time isn't afraid to let Elsa know how she feels. I loved this bit: 'They walked in silence to the library, neither wanting to mention that maybe the other was right.' - it captured that whole moment brilliantly! :D and how, at the same time, Lily wouldn't dare consider giving James the time of day right now, but it's funny because we all know she will end up making like Elsa/Damon with him! Girls are so stubborn :P

As for the relationship crisis...I really am warming to Damon. But then saying that there is like this innate part of me that adores Sirius no matter what, and wants him to be shipped with everyone haha! Damon was pretty romantic though, and he obviously does like Elsa. There is nothing evil or nasty about him in the way he acts towards her, apart from the whole being-friends-with-her-creepy-brother thing. But we can brush over that. And like Cordelia said, many families did have ties with You-Know-Who, so maybe it shouldn't be a big deal. Maybe Elsa is just looking for issues to scare her off because she can't quite make up her mind alone. I am looking forward to seeing Sirius again though soon :P I have missed him! And I want to see is Damon holds true to this romantic-lovestruck picture he has been painting...!

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #6, by fairestofthemall Hogsmeade

26th July 2012:
Hi!

I just started reading your story and I must say I really liked it so far.
Actually, I find your portrayal of Dominic very interesting, especially the parts about him being without emotions, empathy, and remorse - the perfect characterisation of a psychopath. The were also hints, like that he was killing animals and bullying little girls, that made him a believable psychopathic character who is in dear need of help - just like Elsa said. However, I'm not quite sure about him being psychotic - in the clinical definition of the term.

Enough to Dominic; I thoroughly enjoyed your story and the development of the relationships of the characters.
I'm looking forward to the rest.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Mutt N Feathers How to Ruin Christmas

16th May 2012:
I am absolutely loving this story. I like your take on pureblood relations, and how hard it must have been to watch your parents do something which haunted you so.

Can't wait to read more.

MNF

 Report Review

Review #8, by Mutt N Feathers Under the Stars

15th May 2012:
Interesting beginning. The idea of an arranged marriage could play out oddly for the daughter do a known Death Eater. I'm excited to read more. MNF

 Report Review

Review #9, by Shay_Gryff Epilogue

16th April 2012:
Hello! I loved this story! Suprisingly, I'm kinda sad that Damon died. I didn't like him. But oh well, there's a sequal!

KEEP WRITING :D

 Report Review

Review #10, by Shay_Gryff Rebuilt, Reopened, Returned

15th April 2012:
I'm mad at you. I love this stroy, but Elsa and Damen don't have a romantic spark. This needs to be fixed in the next bit. Yes, I know that it's already written, but still I hate Damen, he feels fake.

Anyhow, love the story! 10/10

KEEP WRITING :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by Elsa Under the Stars

30th December 2011:
Haha. My names Elsa ;) Anyway. Love this story, you're an amazing writer.
9/10 Because some of the dialogue was awkward. But great job.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Violet Gryfindor Dangerous Territory

28th December 2011:
Oooh, this is quite a chapter! Not only does it offer relief from Elsa's emotions, which are still in turmoil, but also from the action of the last few chapters with its focus on Sirius's internal struggle over his feelings for Elsa. To me, they seem to be those extremely close friends who can be themselves in each other's company and feel comfortable (and safe) together. It could become more, though, and even Elsa's frequent, adamant statements that she couldn't possibly love Sirius are sounding less true and more like she's trying to convince herself that it couldn't be. It adds another layer to the plot, making it more complex, and I wonder what kind of emotional toll it will have on both Sirius and Elsa.

You write a good Sirius, very sensitive and aware of his position in pureblood society - sadly aware of it, in this case, which is a refreshing change from the wildly rebellious Sirius who couldn't care less what purebloods think of him. Here, he has Elsa to connect him to his past, and it grounds him in an interesting way. You wrote his thoughts really well, having him continuously circle around the idea of loving Elsa until it leads him to his ultimatum - a chilling one, to be sure, one that doesn't bode well for their future.

There were a couple of typos - very minor, but worth a quick run through the chapter. I'm excited to continue reading this story and I'm really glad that it was recommended for the review exchange - hopefully I'll be able to do all the rest of the chapters. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #13, by Violet Gryfindor Unforgiving Fear

27th December 2011:
Another excellent chapter! Not that I'm at all surprised, but I was really impressed by the way that you've carefully portrayed Elsa's slow recovery, both physically and, more importantly, mentally. She's dealing naturally with her trauma, which is something that's extremely hard to come by in any fiction, much less in fanfiction. Her anger, her frustration, her terror at being found again, they all drive home just how horrific her experience was - it explains why you chose to show most of the previous chapter from Damon's point of view: to show Elsa's would have been overwhelming, probably impossible to capture without making a spectacle of it. Her emotions are perfect here, as are those of Damon and everyone else - they're trying to play their parts, but there are too many cracks showing now because of what happened to Elsa.

I have to join Elsa in asking why Damon was able to escape unharmed while she was the one who was tortured. That mysterious man must have seen her as a weak point against which he could apply pressure, but it seems so strange that he wouldn't go after Gareth himself. I'm really curious about that man and what role he's going to play, both in this story and in the events of the First War.

There was again a typo that I noticed - "tell" as "tlel" - but otherwise, I admire your writing skills for this chapter. This story has lots of depth to it and a wonderful cast of characters along with nice little details such as the undying flowers - it's those kind of things that really push a story into the next level of greatness. :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by Violet Gryfindor Egyptian Demon

27th December 2011:
This was a very action-packed chapter, and it was interesting to see how you structured it, placing a greater focus on Damon. It was a treat to hear more from him, as you have generally focused on Elsa's point of view. It's pretty rare to hear from a male OC, especially in Marauder-era stories, so it was a great way of making your story more unique. Gosh, this chapter really sets your story apart from other Marauder-era fics, allowing you to not only include more action, violence, and suspense, but also to explore the family relationships between these OCs (well, they're kind of canons, but you've gone above and beyond in developing these Death Eater families to make them real people, not just "villains" as many have).

I have to admit that, at first, I thought that the red-eyed man was playing a trick on Damon, making him try to get what his brother stole without actually hurting Elsa. It seemed too coincidental with the glowing letter then the use of the whip - neither Damon nor the reader was able to truly see what was going on there. But then the ending! Gosh, these villains really are ruthless in their violence. I'm not sure whether it was the best plotting move to lost and retrieve Elsa in the same chapter, but you do have a lot of material to cover in this story, so moving quickly is probably more necessary. You did, however, leave the mystery of this villain and the object that Gareth had stolen - I'm wondering what it could be.

There were also a few blips in this story you should take note of. First, the confusion of Dominic and Damon in the cast list, then in the line "Her eyes burned and watered as they attempted to adjust to the blaring bright lights the flickered into existence as they walked", it should be "lights that flickered". There was another, but I can't remember where it was now, somewhere nearer to the end - it's more of a typo than anything.

This story... wow! I don't know how to put into words my amazement at the way you're developing the plot and the kind of situations you're putting your characters into. It's making for a really exciting story - one of those "page turners" - that's nothing like any other OC-based Marauder-era story I've read before. Great work in putting this story together! :D

 Report Review

Review #15, by nikilovegood Epilogue

26th December 2011:
having just read all of wildflowers in one sitting, I think I can leave a solid review. I can honestly say that this novel was unlike any other fanfiction I have read before, and to say the least, I FRICKIN LOVED IT. The characters are well developed, the settings are unique, and the plot well thought out. I particularly appreciated the development of the Sirius/Elsa/Damon triangle; it wasn't just fluffy nonsense. I hate to say it, but I had a feeling from early on it the story that Damon was going to have to die for the story to continue. Keep up the good work! I'm off to read the sequel!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Pretense Of Perfection You're Not Alone

23rd December 2011:
This is an incredibly powerful and emotional chapter, and it is very well executed. I have to applaud you for this.

I honestly think Elsa's thoughts of turning to the Dark Arts do reflect her differences from her family, just as much as it reflects her differences from her friends. I think even with a non-pureblood/Death Eater family and a different upbringing, it's only logical for her to think of looking to dark magic for the answer to her father's death. In all honesy, who in this world that has lost someone hasn't thought about the "what if there was a way to bring them back..." Being in the world of magic I can imagine the desire would be that much stronger, because you see magical things happen everyday, so who's to say that at some point in history someone wasn't brought back from the dead? I'm sure in Sirius' darker moments he thought of ways to try and bring James and Lily back, just like any normal person would.

Anyways, I'm ranting. Again, I commend you for the powerful and stirring emotions this chapter evokes, I think you executed Evander's death brilliantly. Elsa's pain and emotions are so raw and real, that the reader themselves feels some of them. Your use of similies and hyperboles is amazing as well, and really makes your work stand out.

I do just have one things I want to comment on, which you probably already know, is that since the room of requirement wasn't on the Marauder's Map, the Marauders probably didn't know about it. Obviously some instances require poetic license, but I just thought I'd point that out in case you weren't aware!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Pretense Of Perfection How to Ruin Christmas

19th December 2011:
Ahhh, Sirius finally made his move. And we get to see the darker side of Damon that I was beginning to wonder if it was actually there or not. Pivotal chapter, and very well executed.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Pretense Of Perfection Egyptian Heat

19th December 2011:
I definately don't think I'm a fan of the older Avery brother. Damon has gone down a few points in my eyes for his jealous outburst, but I guess you can't actually blame him for feeling that way...Elsa and Sirius definately have something more than friendship between them, even if neither one of them cares to admit it.

I really am super excited to read all about their trip to Egypt! Egypt has always been a place I wanted to visit, and I love the rich culture and history. It seems that Elsa and I share that in common.

I noticed a few typos/spelling errors, but nothing that detracts from this amazing story. There are also a few instances where the tense is switched, or verbs where there should be adverbs, but as I said, nothing major. I really have become obsessed with this wonderful fic, and can't wait to read the rest!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Pretense Of Perfection Hogsmeade

19th December 2011:
I find it so hard to believe that someone who seems as genuine and caring as Damon can remain friends with a lunatic like Dominic. Sure, they are in the same year and house, but it's just mind boggling. Usual Slytherin antics would be anticipated, but murder? I just don't get it at all.

Poor Elsa. I really wish her father would just admit that Dominic is a lost cause and send that nutter off to St. Mungo's or better yet, Azkaban, where he belongs. Trying to attack a younger student at school? That obviously crosses more than one line, and it just simply mental.

I'm completely engrossed in your story now. It took a bit for me to warm up to Elsa, but she is a very complex and interesting character to say the least. She has a vast multitude of emotions and feelings, and I can't help but empathiza toward her plight.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Pretense Of Perfection Cooling Off

19th December 2011:
Awww, I've totally fallen in love with Damon. For being a Slytherin and Dom's best friend, he seems incredibly sweet...although I can't help but wonder if he has some type of ulterior motive.

Sirius is being an utter prat. It's completely unfair of him to treat Elsa that way, after begging her to tell him what was bothering her so much. Don't ask if you don't want to know. For her to open up to him like that and for him to walk away is something completely unforgivable.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Pretense Of Perfection Disastrous

16th December 2011:
Oooo, poor Elsa. And Sirius. I would not be well with someone vommiting on my pants. Although, she obviously didn't do it on purpose. Her brother definately sounds like a git, and considering he was the Baddest Bad guy, I can only imagine how much worse he gets.

Definately handing out points for creativity on the use of the refilling charm. Although I do feel particularly bad for Elsa I have to admit, her brother sure does have style.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Pretense Of Perfection Under the Stars

16th December 2011:
I stumbled across the companion to this story, and decided to give it a read. I'm always up for a good Marauder Era fic, and this one definately seems promising, although I'm sure you already know that.

I really like how Elsa and Sirius have that clearly defined friendship with one another, and have for quite some time. I can't wait to see how they change as characters, with and without one another.

I also give you kudos for using Marc Blucas as one of your characters. He's one of my favorite actors, and I've always wanted to use him in one of my stories, but I've never been able to find usable images. I may be asking you about that later down the road (:

 Report Review

Review #23, by onestop_hpfan18 Epilogue

21st November 2011:
This was a brief ending, but it provided definite closure of this one while leaving enough open to carry on into the sequel. I liked it. There's not much I can say that I haven't already so I'll just keep this review short and sweet.

I like how much you've developed Elsa throughout Wildflowers, she's really become more her own person and less of a follower. I'm looking forward to seeing more character growth out of her in Black Orchid. Also, I'm looking forward to see how the plot carries over as you did such a good job ending it for this book while still keeping it open ended to carry over. Over all, excellent novel. :) 10/10

 Report Review

Review #24, by onestop_hpfan18 Consequences

21st November 2011:
Noo! Damon! :'( He's truly dead and never to return. Elsa better get the Egyptian back for killing Damon; she better stop at nothing to kill that stupid Egyptian. Oh my gosh, I'm just flabbergasted still, completely in shock. I can't even formulate words to write a review. I'm on melt down mode as I try to hold back the tears that are threatening to fall still.

I am going to miss Damon terribly and Sirius better not pounce on his chance to be with her anytime soon, seriously, or I may just have to hate him even more. It's completely unfair. Why did it have to be Damon? Why couldn't have been someone else, someone that was not Damon. Why couldn't it have been Dominic, the psycho that he is? I really don't like this. :'(

But, I suppose I'll just cut this review off as it's all just ramblings of my aftershock. Great chapter, though, I still don't like that Damon had to die. 10/10

 Report Review

Review #25, by onestop_hpfan18 Game Day

21st November 2011:
I really didn't care much for Sirius's attitude in this chapter. It drove me crazy mad the way he kept saying he was going to plan to steal Elsa back from Damon. It's childish and if he really loves Elsa he won't let jealousy rage bring out the worse in him by attempting to steal Elsa from Damon. And I don't like his reasoning in the last paragraph for helping Damon either; that the only reason he would help Damon was to keep him alive so he can take Elsa away from him instead of winning her by default when Damon is killed. But that's just my thoughts on Sirius. I really didn't like him at all in this chapter. I like Damon much better, he may be cocky, sure, but he's at least a good character with good intentions.

Also, you really pulled at my heartstrings when Damon was on his soapbox asking Sirius for help so he could steal the scroll from Voldemort and then hide it from both Voldemort and the Egyptian. My heart was breaking for him and I feel the tears welling, ready to fall the moment he's killed.

Anyway, great chapter, even if I didn't like Sirius's mindset in it. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>