Reading Reviews for Shaping the Seer
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Splendiferously_Awesome OWLS

3rd April 2013:
This is brilliant, simply brilliant!! I loved all of the canon references in this story and your characterisation of Trelawney in particular. It was very entertaining and a highly enjoyable read :)

Author's Response: Not many people read this story, so thank you so much for leaving a review! Trelawney is such a great character, and she was really fun to write. I'm glad you liked the canon references and found the story enjoyable. Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Phoenix_feather123 OWLS

18th July 2012:
So thats where she got the ill will and misfortune thing from.
Never take her seriously!
But I a surprised she predicted lord voldemort! I guess she has a little talent!
10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I really enjoy writing one-shots that explore what makes characters tick, and this was my attempt at Trelawney.

I think Trelawney is very knowledgable about Divination, she just (mostly) lacks talent, and unfortunately for her, Divination is one area of magic that relies mostly upon talent.

Thanks again for reading!


 Report Review

Review #3, by parashar_harry OWLS

19th November 2011:
hehehehehehe
its first time i am studying a trelawney fiction .

so she is a fraud from the starting amazing.
always predicted the death of others.
i think she saw the dark lord in reality , am i correct!
or is that man was some one else
in which house she was .
i am guessing she will be a slytherin as she is cunning and and want to be famous what do u think abt it?

Author's Response: Sybill is a bit of a fraud, but she also has a shred of a gift. Obviously, we know two of her prophecies that came to pass, but some of the other things she predicted did as well, just not in the way you would initially think, and sometimes a few hundred pages later :P

Yeah, that was a reference to Voldemort. I wanted her to see something real and important, but dismiss it. It seems like something she would do :P

I could definitely see her as a Slytherin. She has the ambition for sure. I think that fits well :)

Thank you for reading and for leaving a review :) I love hearing from you!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Georgia Weasley OWLS

6th August 2011:
How refreshingly original! I don't think I've ever read anything from Trelawney's school days. I really appreciate the way you strive to keep characters and information in canon. This little insight into Sybil's character is fun. I'm really loving these one shots. ~GW

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing this story. I know it's a little bit different, but I've always been a bit of a fan of Trelawney. I love all sorts of weird characters that most people can't stand :P

I really appreciate all the sweet reviews you've been leaving. They mean a lot!

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #5, by Pacific Wizard OWLS

3rd January 2011:
Singularity: This review actually pertains to : "Truth" but since I'm still having trouble getting on the forums I'll post my response to your questions and ideas for "Truth" here.

First: You do have the talent and imagination to move forward on this story. Let the muse play. Take some time, don't rush yourself and let the thoughts come out. JKR got her ideas on a train ride that was delayed. That's when the idea of a school for wizards, their houses, house ghosts,etc...came to her. She didn't even have a pen. So keep a pad and pencil close.

Second: Think outside of the box. Besides Harry, Ron, Hermione and Ginny, why not think about interviewing Lucius, Draco and Rudolphus Lestrange to get Tom Riddle's "Dark Side" of the tale as well. Ginny (Neville and Luna too) could talk about their year with the Carrows and Snape. ( I have a story plot for you on that that one that I have for one of my stories but I'll gladly give it to you). There's also Molly, Arthur and Kingsley. Most interestingly, there's Dumbledore's portrait and Minerva too.

Third: I would tell the story from Harry's POV since if you are looking for the truth it would need to come from the source. For any interview, I would have Harry present. It would give you a great source of dialogue between the main character, Harry and the interviewee (i.e. Lucius or Draco). Could you imagine that?

Fourth: I would have a pensieve there to delve into their thoughts and corroborate their stories.

Finally: The setting would be important. Instead of Hogwarts, the Ministry or the Burrow...how about the Balmoral Hotel in Edinburgh, Scotland? That's where JKR wrote the last book. You could say that you were looking for a neutral place for all to be interviewed.

I know I threw a lot at you but you don't need to use all of those suggestions. In fact you could keep it very simple and just interview the golden trio. Whatever you decide, I'm sure it would be the right decision. If you want, I'd be happy to assist. Of course, you don't have any of my writings to go by, so I'd totally understand if you'd rather not. Don't worry, that wouldn't hurt my feelings. I just think you'd be great at this story.

Wishing you the best. PW

Author's Response: Will the forums not let you sign up for an account? Just in case you didn't know, you have to sign up for a separate account for the forums.

I appreciate this, it's really helpful. I would love any assistance you could throw my way. You seem to have some really brilliant ideas. I never even considered including anyone besides the trio in a continuation, that could work well. I could see Lily becoming kind of obsessed with the project and this self-imposed quest she is on...

The inspiration for continuing Truth isn't quite there yet. I think it's going to come down to a lot of experimenting...trying out different approaches and kind of seeing what works and what doesn't. I think you're right in thinking that it'll take time, but I hope to get there.

And since you mentioned Neville and Luna's year with the Carrows, I thought I'd let you know that I've been playing around with the idea of writing a Neville fic about his year at Hogwarts while the trio was off hunting horcruxes. I've started to sketch it out, so we'll see how that goes.

And thanks again for all of your help and your support. Having a reader/reviewer like you is pretty much a writer's dream.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Renegade Niffler OWLS

2nd September 2010:
Ha! :D So that's how it started. This is a really clever idea. I wasn't sure exactly where this was going, but then when she started having trouble with the crystal ball I started to catch on. Then by the end I just thought it was really well done.

My only notes would be that I wanted a little more description at the beginning. Maybe a bit more about her physical symptoms of nerves, though I did think putting her shaking hands under the table was a good image.

I can't remember if I've said this before or not, but your writing has a really nice flow, both in plot and sentence structure.

Overall an enjoyable read. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for another great review. I just reread this story and it is just begging to be revised, so I'll work on adding some more detail to the beginning when I get a chance.

I'm really glad you enjoyed it :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Jazzeh Turnip OWLS

26th July 2010:
I don't think I've read a Sybil-centric fic before, so this should be interesting...

I have to say; "missing moment" fics like these are my favourite. And this one is one of the stranger ones I've read, but that just makes it all the more fantastic.

I didn't spot any typo's, or grammar errors, so you're fine there, and I don't think there was any uneasiness with the flow at all.

Sybils characterisation is... perfect. I've never thought about her much, but she must've believed herself to be a seer to have continued onto becoming a divination teacher, so this is really plausible. And I love the little bit about her Cassandra Trelawney too, with the memory of what she'd told her in there, with her essentially just telling her to fake it haha!

Great little one-shot :) YAY! 9/10

Lorren.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, Lorren! You're such a great Ravenclaw :) I'm glad you chose to review this story. It's been rather neglected. It's a touch different from what I usually write, but was rather fun to try to crawl inside the mind of Trelawney.

 Report Review

Review #8, by DracoFerret11 OWLS

14th June 2010:
Hey there, it's DarkRose! :D

Okay, so... good job! I honestly don't read things about Trelawney, so this was new to me. You did well though!

I liked the descriptions you gave, although she would've been wearing her Hogwarts uniform to her examinations.

Your characterization was very good as well! I liked how you worked in Trelawney's later obsession with predicting death.

This was a very nice one-shot and you did very well! :D

--DracoFerret11/DarkRose

Author's Response: Thanks for the review :) Excellent point that she would've been wearing her uniform. I went through and fixed that. Thank you for pointing that out!

 Report Review

Review #9, by saffy OWLS

14th June 2010:
Hi there :)

Well i have to say this is the first Sybil fanfic that i have ever read but i really liked it :)

The advice that her great great grandmother gave her was both hilarious informative as it went some way towards explaining her character traits in the HP books.

The whole story seemed to flow seamlessly into the books explaining her urge to give a child in each of her classes a death prediction. Which I always thought was an odd quality ion a teacher:P

Favourite quotes:

"I see...I see that you will be joining us for dinner tonight in the great hall"

"She practiced giving her predictions in a variety of tones"

Both those quotes made me laugh out loud, totally worth the strange looks from my sister.

Thank you for a very entertaining read :)

Author's Response: Thanks for another lovely review, saffy!
I'm glad you enjoyed the story. I found it more difficult than I anticipated to get inside Trelawney's head. She is quite an odd character. Thank you for continuing the read my stories. It really means a lot to me.

~Jennifer


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login