Reading Reviews for Blaising Colours
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Erised Beauty

17th July 2013:
Wow, what a hard hitting story to read. I honestly didn't like Blaise's mother at all and felt for him so much the whole time I was reading this. A child's innocence is so nice to read although you can also see the beginning of the corruption here too, especially at the end when Blaise resolves to focus on beauty.

What kind of parent could be that disinterested in what her child is doing? Ugh. What a terrible mother, and what a great character! It perfectly explains why Blaise is like he is in the novels, and fits her minor backstory too. You painted her as very unlikeable which I'm sure was the end goal - it definitely worked!

Really good!

Author's Response: I've only done it a couple of times, but I've found that I really enjoy writing characters when they're really young. There is just this sense of innocence that is really refreshing, I think.

Yeah, Blaise's mom is not the nicest person, and will definitely not be winning any mother of the year awards. Disinterested is the perfect word for her. Well, I could think of some others, but that's a good one, too. ;) She's just very wrapped up in her own life. I definitely get the impression that she probably wouldn't be the type that is very interested in children.

I originally wrote this story for a challenge that involved showing why a character is they way they are using a story from their childhood. Since we don't really know much about Blaise, besides that he places high importance on beauty, I decided to focus on that.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Snoopyy Beauty

7th May 2012:
Aww this was really cute and well written. I would hate to be in Blaise's position where your mothe was constanty going out for nice meals an leaving you behind with a nanny. It would be horrible. I know a few of my friends who could connect with this story, but even though my childhood wasn't like that I can really connect. The way you've written Blaise as a cute innocent young child who just wants to impress his mum is really lovely and heartwarming. You've written his mother not as a mean person, bu just someone who isn'r very interessted in her son which Is an intressting way to look at things I suppose.

This is wonderfully written and the use of words dragged me in from the very beginning and I couldn't stop reading. This is a little gem of a story and I would love to read some more of your writing so that is what I am gioing to do :)

Snoopy x

Author's Response: I'm really sorry that it's taken me so long to respond to your reviews. Real life sank it's teeth into me for a bit and pulled me away from the site, but I'm back now and so happy to have all of your lovely reviews to respond to!

You really hit the nail on the head. Blaise's mom isn't cruel, just disinterested. I don't see her as the type to have really wanted children. I pulled a lot from the stereotypes of upper class children being raised by nannies rather than their parents, assuming that wizarding families would be much the same.

Thanks for reading. I'm glad you enjoyed this story.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Jenna822 Beauty

9th November 2010:
(Reward Review #5)

Aw! I picked this story because it looked cute and sweet and happy. That was so sad! Poor little Blaise. He just wanted his mommy. :(

She sounded very Ravenclaw. Just saying, not really important. Lol. I think you captured a five year old mind set very well. I could actually see this being like a flashback from a full length Blaise fic where he's this great artist and has this really dumb, but hot wife. I'm rambling, but anyways. This was very well written! --Jenna

Author's Response: Yeah...um, sorry about that. The banner (though super adorable) is kind of misleading...

She sounded like a Ravenclaw? Really? Hmm, interesting. Naw, she's definitely an ambitious Slytherin, but I can see where she's got some Ravenclaw traits as well. I've always thought that Ravenclaws and Slytherins are probably pretty closely linked with many similar traits.

I'm glad you thought five year old Blaise was written alright. It's kind of tricky to write a little kid and I'm not sure I really got there, but I'm glad you think I did ok!

I think Blaise is definitely the kind to end up with a trophy wife...very beautiful but nothing else going for her. Poor kid...the damage parents can do...

Thanks for reading and for leaving all the reviews! I really appreciate them all! *hugs*

-Singularity


 Report Review

Review #4, by Renegade Niffler Beauty

2nd September 2010:
Wow, this story is heartbreaking and demented, and yet so good. I've always pictured those rich pure blood kids as being raised more by nannies than their mothers so I was really glad you worked that in. Then there's poor little Blaise struggling to earn his mother's love (which no child should have to do ever), and constantly failing until he latches on to this one shallow value that gets him a little of what he wants. So scarring, such a deranged way to grow up, and yet so spot on for Blaise's character. It was just brilliant.

If I may be a tiny bit nit-picky, the sentence "Each night, he would see her for a brief period before she would head out for the night." sounds a tiny bit awkward to me. I think it's the repetition of the word night. Maybe that's just me though :p

I so appreciate that you write a broad range of characters and choose subject matter that has some substance. It really makes for a satisfying read every time.

Author's Response: Yes, please be nit-picky. Anything that will help improve my writing is greatly appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed this story. It's quite different, but the challenge was to write a story about a defining moment in a very young Blaise's life (and it had to involve crayons).

I'm glad you found the characterization to be well done and the storyline to be relatively believable. Thanks for you lovely review and all of the extremely sweet compliments.


 Report Review

Review #5, by DracoFerret11 Beauty

4th July 2010:
Hey there, DarkRose again!

Great story! Honestly though, it really made me sad. I liked though that you portrayed sort of a... life-changing moment for Blaise. And I never do see stories with the characters younger than Hogwarts-age. You wrote very well for a younger child. :D I loved the characterization and the descriptions you put in. You showed Blaise's awe with his present perfectly. It definitely came across very well. :] Great job all around, I can't think of anything to criticize. :D

--DracoFerret11/DarkRose

Author's Response: Hello again, and thank you for another lovely review. The challenge was to write a story about a character pre-Hogwarts, and using the object assigned (crayons in my case) explain why that character is the way he is. So that was the goal, and I'm glad you think that I managed to accomplish it :) I was a touch worried. I'm also glad it seems relatively realistic that he could be a younger child. That was pretty difficult to wrap my head around. Thanks again for reading and for the lovely review. It's much appreciated!

 Report Review

Review #6, by HorseBabexo Beauty

19th June 2010:
oh my gosh, that was so sweet!
and sad at the same time

there were points where i wanted to cry. poor Blaise :(

but that is a good thing :)
there were a few spelling mistakes here and there, but i can look over that. It was so lovely and the way you incorporated the crayons was amazing.

thank you so much, again, for taking part in my challenge :)

10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm so glad that you enjoyed this story and the incorporation of the crayons. I ran the story through the spellchecker and went through and proofread it again, but I'm not finding the spelling mistakes. Hmm...

I really loved participating in your challenge. Thanks :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by lunarmage Beauty

13th June 2010:
This would explain a lot about Blaise's personality. It's very well written, an interesting concept, pulled off very well.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) That was the challenge, so I'm glad you thought I pulled off the concept well :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Anna(: Beauty

11th June 2010:
wow, this is really good! the reader gets a feel for why Blaise ends up so focused on looks, and what makes him unique. great job(:

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login