Reading Reviews for A Tale of Two Beaters
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Moonyxluna The Beater's Tale

4th April 2012:
I had to read this one first when I got to your page. I knew it was going to make me all 'bittersweet sad/happy', and you didn't dissapoint :)

The way George talked about Fred was beautiful. The way he 'remembered the happy memories' instead of being upset over the sad ones, I think, was perfect for the age he was at. His daughter is on her way to Hogwarts, it's been (guessing) about fifteen years? Sure he'll be sad, but I'm sure he's learned to cope with it. I did like how you mentioned he moped around and wouldn't celebrate his birthday- it goes along with what JKR said about George never really getting over the loss of Fred.
The way you linked how Fred and George became beaters was fantastic, and it fit so well into their characters. Everything in his little talk about Fred was just so heartwarming, I really loved it.

I liked how you wrote Roxanne at this age. Not wanting to go to bed, and excited to start Hogwarts. Even giving her that little moment about shrinking her mothers clothes, giving her that bit of mischeif that George's children would just have to have.

Very beautiful oneshot! I really loved it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really enjoyed writing this piece, especially since it was something kind of different for me at the time, so hearing that people enjoy reading it means a lot.

You seem to have gotten out of this exactly what I had strived for all my readers to get. I am so glad that you did!

Thanks for such a lovely review! (and an amazing challenge!)
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #2, by LionsRule The Beater's Tale

21st January 2012:
Hi there, here for the review tag!

I chose this story to read + review because there aren't very many stories written about Roxanne, and I wanted to read something original. I'm really glad I picked this! You did a good job writing Roxanne in first person perspective and you captured the innocence of an eleven-year-old going to Hogwarts for the first time. :)

This was really a cute story- you had no grammar or spelling issues as far as I could tell. I like how you portray George still being a joking person, but also show how he makes a great father figure. I'm glad I found this story, and great job! ^_^

10/10

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much! It's been awhile since I've gotten a review for this piece, so I'm glad you picked it!

:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #3, by carina The Beater's Tale

26th April 2011:
that was really good. I hope you write more. Right now I can't think of anything to change!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, very few people take the time to review after they had read something, so every single word means a lot to me! And I am so glad you seem to have enjoyed this piece!! I don't have anything too similar to this, but I do have a Short Story that takes places with George at Weasleys' Wizard Wheezes.
THANKS!!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #4, by laney lou The Beater's Tale

24th April 2011:
It's al little cheesey for me. I imagened something slightly different.

Author's Response: I always love receiving reviews! And it's been awhile since this piece got one, so thank you for taking the time. I hope that my review for Marionettes was helpful to you, because I did not mean it to be rude or overly critical in the least.

I will take this review to heart, especially if I do any revisions in the future I will definitely it in mind to look out for possible cheesy areas, it would be really helpful if you were to point out a specific moment.

Again thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I'm sorry if this didn't live up to your expectations...
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #5, by shapeshifter98 The Beater's Tale

19th March 2011:
awww this is so sad! omg why did Freddypoo have to die? JKR mustve lost alot of friends doing that to the Lupins, Snape, and Hedwig too. WHY FRED WHY?

Author's Response: I know, it is so sad that so many people died, but would you have believed it if the entire Weasley family survived? They are just too large of a group to have come out unscathed. At least the trio made it through. I'm glad you seem to have liked my piece!
:) BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #6, by Sara_Sj The Beater's Tale

10th March 2011:
This story can...have so much more than what was written.

I don't know. Maybe it's the fact that I absolutely /adore/ Fred & George and I felt that this didn't do them enough justice.

Not that anything really could (believe me, I've tried), but it would have been nice to see more.

But really, this was a wonderful idea, amazing really, and beautifully written all the same.

And the title...epic.

I just can't help but feel it's...missing something.

Please don't take my review the wrong way because I mean it in the best of intentions, really.

Loved it, though.

And I can just imagine how AMAZING a dad George would be :*

Author's Response: I promise I LOVE constructive criticism, so thank you for letting me know that this didn't quite do it for you. Anything specific that you would have liked to see? (I'm baletgir on the HPFF Forums too) I would really like to know how I can improve this piece. I'm glad you liked the idea of it and the basic line of where I was heading. And I would have loved George to have been my dad! THanks a ton for Reading AND Reviewing!!!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #7, by orderofthephoenix The Beater's Tale

24th January 2011:
Hey, it's orderofthephoenix from the Blue vs. Bronze Review Battle #1!!

This was a really lovely piece and showed how much George not only loved his brother, but how much he'd healed since Fred's death. I could understand why George didn't cry when talking about Fred as it's been so many years since his departure. It was perfect for Father's Day with this moment between father and daughter :)

Your writing technique was really good and easy to read and I didn't find any spelling or grammar mistakes :)

Sophia x

Author's Response: Awww thanks so much for such a kind review! It made me smile! I'm glad you understand why Fred didn't cry, I had some reviews who really questioned that, but I really didn't think it would be right. Like you said, he has healed. Thanks!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #8, by rotter The Beater's Tale

24th September 2010:
lovely story very sweet I really wish Fred had never died but you know whatever JK wants :)

Author's Response: Haha yes, I too wish all the Weasleys had survived, but I guess I can't have everything! Thank you for the review! I am glad you found it sweet, that was exactly what I was going for!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #9, by Dark Marked The Beater's Tale

23rd August 2010:
Wow, I really loved this one-shot!
It was completely refreshing not reading some silly romance peice. I enjoyed this story a lot, escpecially because George and Fred were my favorite characters. I actually liked Fred better and was so heartbroken when he died. I thought you did an amazing job outlining the twins' life. You named their best points and didn't drone on-- the perfect bedtime story. I really did love it and im not just SAYING that. Seriously, good stuff here! Love it!
--dark marked

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I am thrilled that you loved this, and especially that you weren't just saying that! haha. And the fact that Fred and George were your favorites and it seems as if you think I did them justice means a lot too.
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #10, by Salogel The Beater's Tale

20th August 2010:
This was so cute! I love how George is so happy talking about Fred! I love it! Keep writing. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #11, by Harrypotterbookworm The Beater's Tale

20th August 2010:
Awww! This is so cute! I love it! I imagine it would be very hard for George to talk about Fred because they had been so close to each other and you portrayed this wonderfully. The innocence of Roxanne was very well written and the excitement of a kid who has grown up hearing about Hogwarts was very realistic. Sometimes Roxanne's narration is a little . loud? I think is the word I'm looking for? But overall, a very cute fic.
Hugs, HPB

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! I am glad you seemed to have liked this! I am a little confused as to what you mean by loud, but I will take a look and see what I can do!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #12, by Jen The Beater's Tale

20th August 2010:
Sweet and cute. I imagine George being quite happy to talk about his brother... a bit wistful perhaps, but they had so much joy in life, that I can't imagine him not still feeling it when the subject of his twin was brought up.
Nicely written. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad that you seem to imagined it as I wrote it!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #13, by ekroman The Beater's Tale

1st August 2010:
How is it I end up crying all the time? :D this was really good. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Aw, this made you cry? Would it be weird for me to say that is wonderful? Haha, anyways I am glad you enjoyed this! Thanks so much for reviewing!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #14, by californialove The Beater's Tale

8th July 2010:
hey girl!

i really enjoyed this story! thanks for hitting that spot for me cause i always love a good story about the twins, regardless if it's post-hogwarts, or even next gen!

Author's Response: Hi! Awww, thanks so much! I am glad you enjoyed this piece. Thanks for reading and reviewing!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #15, by moonbaby11 The Beater's Tale

2nd July 2010:
Aw, this was really sweet. :) It made me feel happy, to hear George reminising about Fred. I think you characterized George very well. He's not depressed about Fred being dead, but he's also not completly over it, and still pulling pranks. Most people seem to do one or the other, so I liked what oyu did there.

I just wanted to point out that in the last two paragraphs, you changed you tense. You went from it being past tense, to present tense. Just wanted to point that out so oyu could fix it up! Other than that, great story. :)

Author's Response: Ahhh oh no did I really? Shoot, I hate tenses, I am awful with them to be perfectly honest, so thanks for pointing it out! I am planning on going back through all my one-shots and fixing them up this summer, so that will be something I look into.

I guess I am going in reverse order of you, but, I am so glad you found this sweet and that you liked George! Yay! I am not one for sappy Fred, really I didn't know to write that with out full out crying, which I knew I had to avoid. Thanks so much!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #16, by FannyPrice The Beater's Tale

26th June 2010:
Hello! And thank you for competing in my challenge.

I thought this was a really cute oneshot, and that you paid good attention to emotional detail. i like the way you mentioned how painful it must be for george to talk about fred and all that, and the story of how they became beaters was super adorable! Good Job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, both for this wonderful review and for creating the challenge in the first place. It was very fun to write and something different for me. I am glad you enjoyed the beater's story, that just kind of happened, I never meant it to be such a large part of the story, but it was. haha
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #17, by marauderqueen The Beater's Tale

14th June 2010:
I thought was amazingly amazing with greatness sprinkles on top!
I loved the way you made George and how he was happy when he remembered his twin and the things they used to do. I thought Roxanne was great and just how I imagined her. I like the way you wove in the bits about Fred ll and James ll, it was a nice touch!
Well Done!

~marauderqueen
10

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing, I know I say this to everyone, but it really means so much to me! I am very glad that you loved this, that too means tons!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #18, by Moments Reprieve The Beater's Tale

10th June 2010:
Heylo!
You're story was really good - a sweet reminder about our departed Fred. I enjoyed it, as much as you can enjoy a one-shot. Well done.
Cheers.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! It really means so much to me. I am extremely glad that you enjoyed it, especially that it was about Fred. Though when I started it, it focused on George and his daughter, but i just evolved so much into more Fred. Thanks!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #19, by Miss Lily Potter The Beater's Tale

6th June 2010:
This was cute. (: I did this challenge as well, and I find all of the entries really interesting, the takes on the challenge.

I liked this a lot. I loved the way Roxanne was just like her father, pranking and whatnot.

The only suggestion I have would be that George didn't seem that sad when he started talking about Fred. I don't think he should have cried or anything, but he seemed to be all right with it right away, and (to me) it seems like it would be more difficult. If that was the way you meant it, though, don't listen to me. ;D

I really enjoyed reading this. :D You did a great job.
-Jasmine

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I usually try to read as many of the other challenge participants as well, but haven't had the time yet for this one!

I am so excited because you are my first review for this! And I will listen to you, at least explain myself since I see exactly where you are coming from. Not only did I have difficulty portraying a sad George (without crying that is), but I also felt that Roxanne saw no flaws in her father and would see him as extremely strong in dealing with this topic and maybe dismiss any sadness. And since it is through her eyes, that is what the reader sees, a very strong person in George.

I am so glad you enjoyed this!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login