Reading Reviews for Cold Cups of Coffee
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Pretense Of Perfection One

8th July 2014:
Hello!!

I totally want to start by saying that I'm firmly in the James/Lily camp, and nothing will ever sway that. But this story was beautifully done, and I really enjoyed it.

I think one of my favorite parts was how Lily managed to somehow transfer her feelings about Sirius and what had happened between them to a cup of coffee. As humans, I think we tend to do this without realizing it, and associate certain things with certain people. It's really what made the story for me, and I just loved her fixation on it.

I think you did a wonderful job of accurately capturing the torment and remorse she must feel after what happened, without going overboard on it. I was really able to relate to this, and you made it so believable that I instantly took a liking to it.

You managed to stay true to both Sirius and Lily's character, which is a feat in and of itself, especially considering the circumstances between them.

I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors, and the plot and pace were executed superbly. Amazing job.

---House Cup 2014 Review---
Pretense Of Perfection, Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #2, by confusedlover One

29th April 2012:
very lovely.

beautiful. absolutely beautiful! this was an amazingly written story and i enjoyed it very much, even with it being so short. keep up the amazing writing!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by hannah One

26th June 2011:
heya this is getting to a good start, can;t wait for more! btw you are a really good author! i am looking forwrd to reading more!!! an pweassse could you update peanut gallery it is one of my fave stories an i wanna see where it was going! i am giving up!
wll done an muchus luvos!!! x

 Report Review

Review #4, by Indigo Seas One

15th January 2011:
I love the image of "winching at the sound of my chair scraping on the tiles." I don't know why, but I do. And I also know that it's an abrupt way to start a review, but it just stuck with me so much that I had to point it out before I forgot!

Anyway, this was lovely. I've been saying that a lot lately, "lovely," but it's true. Something about your word choice is just intoxicating, and it completely draws the reader in until they've finished.

You're little lines between paragraphs do an excellent job of jarring the reader. And I know that sounds like a bad thing, but it's not! It really interrupts the flow in a gorgeous way, and helps keep the story paced evenly. It's really nice, is what I'm trying to say. Really nice. :)

Anyway, again, this was lovely.

xx Rin

 Report Review

Review #5, by Cleopatraa One

19th August 2010:
I read this story because your banner is just absolutely fabulous and boy am I glad that I read this. You wrote this great. The only complain I have is that you canís see in the story who it is about you wrote in your summary who it is about but you just canít see that in your story. I also loved the way you began. The began I think is my favourite in the whole story!

Author's Response: Isn't that banner fabulous? The artists over at TDA are absolute geniuses. So all credit for that goes to the incredible cherryberry. And thank you! I actually did it that way on purpose - I like a little anonymity in a story. But thank you very much! :D So happy to hear you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #6, by NobodyKnowsHowToTalkToChildren One

10th July 2010:
This is really good. I want to read more. I'm actually excited by this XD

Author's Response: Thank you very much! Unfortunately, I don't think there will be more. But thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Stella Nightingale One

9th July 2010:
awesome one shot! I think you did a great job!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by Sirius Blacks lover One

6th June 2010:
This is very real in descriptions, but vague in the plot. Nice style:)

Author's Response: Yeah, it was rather supposed to be vague in plot, since I did it for a challenge that was only supposed to have 500 words. Thank you though! :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by Myriad One

2nd June 2010:
You don't need to be worried about your areas of concern. This is entirely believable and the length was perfect for it. In fact if you'd made it any longer I'd have been concerned.

This is really good. The type of story that feels like it could be happening anywhere.

I love your opening lines. Very powerful. The whole thing is captivating really.

You have tremendous presence in this story. Very strong voice, great pacing. It flowed really well. There wasn't anything that, while reading, I thought stood out in a bad way.

The only small suggestion I can make is that you identify the narrator and who she slept with. You say in the pairing information that it's Lily and Sirius, but no where in the story do we see that. Although honestly this is brilliant just the way it is.

 Report Review

Review #10, by ramitaarora One

29th May 2010:
Wow. Metaphorical. I like it. It's like a snippet of a person's thoughts.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! That's exactly what I was going for, so I'm glad to hear that I pulled it off okay. :) Thanks again!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login