Reading Reviews for A Dozen Red Roses
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by hpobsessed21 Valentine's Day

14th December 2010:
My first thought after reading this fic was, "Where is the rest?". My first action was to go onto your author page and look for a sequel. *Runs to read*.

Author's Response: Yeah, there's a sequel! ;) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Maybe Valentine's Day

11th August 2010:
Overall it was a really cute fic and left me with a warm and fuzzy feeling! There were a few typos but it was written well, overall - flowed nicely.

One thing I didn't really understand though, was the 'A single rose for each year before I'd loved him, and a single rose for how many more years my love would last' part - it was a bit confusing.

You said an area of concern was characterisation but I think you pretty much nailed the personality of a teenage girl with a crush. In my mind, Rose is different to how you've represented her but you made her believable to me in this. Scorpius was clueless as any teenage boy so that was cute too. What on earth did he say to Zabini to make him laugh so much?! He was off-hand and distant with Rose which seems to fit.

It did end rather abruptly but I like how you've left it up for speculation what happens between them and that snappy comment in the end was a great point to end on.

Author's Response: Thanks for the great review. I'm sorry that that bit confused you. I'll go bck and take another look at it.

I'm glad you liked my characterization! I honestly have no idea what Scorpius said, but it must have been rather funny. :)

Glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Scarlette Sunshine Valentine's Day

24th July 2010:
Hey, this is Scarlette from the forums!!

I have been horribly busy (babysitting a very busy child is time AND LIFE-consuming). I'm so sorry for taking so long. I'm excited to review this!

This is so cute! I loved it! It's so well written--and I'm angry at your girl, Rose, for lying to Scorpius! Still, I would've done it, too, I suppose. Really, all I have to say is: watch out for the occasional typo. Other than that, thank you for the request! I loved it! It's totally being favorite'd!

10/10, Scarlette

PS,
Because you requested it in your own way, I'm going on to review the next one! I'll count it as a second chapter! ^_~

Author's Response: Hey, I'm glad that you enjoyed this! Agreed, I would have done the same thing as Rose, so I thought it was a good ending to things. I can't wait to see your next review! Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #4, by lilypotterfan123 Valentine's Day

23rd July 2010:
Once again another brilliant one shot-it was brilliant the decription was a little less but the dialogue balanced it out very well. I liked the different take on it because usually Scorpius is chasing after Rose but I like how this is different. I'll be honest with you- Icouldn't find anything wrong with it to be honest with you, just keep it up!

LpF123 xx

Author's Response: Once again, thank you for the lovely review! It's really gret to knwo that you can't find anything wrong with it. I'm sure that there's probably a few things, but I'm glad that they're not that noticable!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Abhorsen Valentine's Day

7th July 2010:
I liked the premise of this story from the get-go. You've got a good plot going, and the divisions between sections were well chosen too. You did a very good job of that.

I would say you could add in a little more description. But I'm not sure there's much else to do. I was a little saddened by the ending, though. I really just wanted her to say yes.

9/10

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I know, my description needs some work. :/ If you want a happier ending, check out the sequel, 'A Dozen Red Roses'

 Report Review

Review #6, by Urvi Valentine's Day

3rd July 2010:
Oh, this should not be a one shot! Please continue it into a story, I want to know what happens after she says no!

Great one shot, though. It is funny how he couldn't figure it out and I can somehow guess that Rose is not a good liar so he should have figured it out.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I do have a sequel to this, called 'A Single Red Rose'! Check it out! ;)

 Report Review

Review #7, by baletgir Valentine's Day

30th June 2010:
Interesting idea! All I have to say your Rose is brave, and that I really enjoyed. In my opinion, there are very few girls who would do as she did with the roses, but great idea. And such an interesting choice on how to end it.

I think through out you could have used a few more details and descriptions just to add to the general flow of the story. Overall great job!
:)BaletGir

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! A sequel to this should be validated soon, if you're interested! ;)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Jolly Valentine's Day

19th June 2010:
OK, I read the previous reviews on this story and I seem to be the only that interpretted the ending as if she did in fact tell Scorpious it was her?
The sentence "...Oh, who was I kidding." made me think that she infact hadn't lied to Scorpious and was not over him.
This was a cute little story. I read it because of your topic on the forums about it.
I don't know how you would go about a sequel on this. I don't think you should make this story into a short story since I think the story is written like a one-shot and is great standing alone. Maybe you could do a series of one-shots, e.g. a short story collection?
Maybe you could do another one-shot and write in the summary 'Sequel to A Dozen Red Roses'. It would be cute if you named that one something like 'A Single White Rose' or something like 'Three White Lilies' maybe from the point of view of Lily Potter (II)? Just an idea.
Good story, though not really my taste, but that's my problem. ;)

/Jolly

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked this!

Hm, that would be a cool idea. Three White Lilies. Pretty catchy! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by maskedmuggle Valentine's Day

19th June 2010:
I LOVE THIS!
It's brilliant!
Very well written!

I saw this since I saw your "sequel help" topic in the forums!
This definitely should have a sequel!
make it a happy ending - i'm a sucker for happy endings :D
but this is really really awesome :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Glad you enjoyed it, and thnaks for the help!

 Report Review

Review #10, by harrypotterplease Valentine's Day

13th June 2010:
she should have told him it was her.
i get where youre coming from with the whole 'she doesnt need him/shes over him thing' but i still feel like she should have told him it was her

Author's Response: I've heard that comment a lot, and I agree it would have been nice for Scorp to find out. But, something similiar to that happened to me, so I felt it was a good ending, since it was true to myself. Anyway, possible sequel on the horizon will probably have Scorpius finding out. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #11, by louise_loves_hp Valentine's Day

2nd June 2010:
Hey
well I know this is a one-shot but I think you should chang it only because I want more, this is great story and rose,ava are great they are funny and I also want to see were you take this, like you oc are great liam & Peter are instring people as well.
The plot was great and like how you put in Ginnys poemo to harry, Hugo telling Ron and how rose handed it all.
The flow was the same the whole way along.
but I love the way you ended it, that statment you think of so much

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm probably going to do a sequel to this, though I'm not sure what it will be about/where it will go. As always, your review has helped me a lot! Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #12, by brightside14 Valentine's Day

30th May 2010:
So, I really enjoyed reading this! I thought you wrote Rose and Ava really well and I loved all their little jokes and conversations throughout the day-it just flowed smoothly. That little bit with "You have a you-know-what on Lord Voldemort?" definitely made me laugh. And then Scorpius is such a cutie as always, but seriously, though. Come on, Scorpius. Why were you so slow??

I liked how you built up the story to the end when he finally askes Rose, but I was like "NO" when she lied! It was a bit anticlimactic, honestly. I was so ready for the cute, romantic, fluffy ending lol. But other than that, I did really like this, it was well written and definitely kept my attention. I very much hope you decide to do a sequel!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm glad you liked rose and Ava. I kind of made them like me and my friend so that I could keep them in character. :)

I've heard a lot about the ending and am contemplating writing a sequel or turning this into a short story. Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Slytherin_Ravenclaw_chick Valentine's Day

30th May 2010:
Well quick thing,

first sentence: favourite should be favorite.

Ok, now for grammar: Perfect!

The Flow: Excellent! It was very good. That and the plot was great. The ending, though, was a bit of a disappointment. You really pull the reader into the story, then you let them down. Honestly, I suggest you make a short story around this, you could do a good job with it. Just a thought.

Other note: When Rose is thinking to herself, you might want it make it italic to show that she is thinking. It will help the readers a bit.

Well, that's all. I give you a rare 10/10 from me.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I might make a short story or, as someone else suggested, a sequel.

Favourite is the british/Canadian way of spelling the word, just in case you didn't know. Anyways, thanks for the awesome review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by FoundriaPenguin Valentine's Day

29th May 2010:
Hey it's Foundriapenguin from the forums here with your review!

This was a nice one-shot! It's so sweet and it made me smile (:

Okay, down to the grammar stuff. There were some typos in this story that hadn't been fixed, but it's nice to know you spent so much time on this one-shot! It shows. (: But here are some major ones that I noticed:

"It's a just another reminder..." Pick "a" or "just" but not both!

"Why would I want a boy so daft that it took him over 24 hours to put two and two together." It should be a question mark at the end of the sentence, not a period.

I think that you could've changed up the word choice a bit to make it more interesting, especially when you describe how things look, you know what I mean?

Good job, though!

~foundriapenguin

Author's Response: Thank you for this review! I'm glad that you liked this.

Thanks for pointing out those typos. I'll have to fix them. Also, I know my word chocie could do some work. I'll probably end up editing this some day and fix up my description. Thanks for the input!


 Report Review

Review #15, by propertyoftheHBP Valentine's Day

27th May 2010:
Haha, I loved the ending! Scorpius is quite daft, isn't he? But Rose is just going to have to come up with another crazy scheme, now that she's back to square one, right? It would make a pretty funny sequel, if I do say so myself.

Rose and Ava were hilarious, gossiping and going around the school all day. Scorpius was funny, too. I liked the way you had the story broken up--it kept the flow quick and nothing felt too dragged on. The plot was cute--I have to admit, though, that I had a stupid moment in the beginning--I wondered "Why would he connect red roses and Rose Weasley together?" xD

Overall, this was a cute little oneshot! Good job.

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for my first review on this fic!

I'm glad that you liked it. I might do a sequel to it, but I'm not sure. Thanks for thinking the characters were funny! Just, thanks for everything!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login