Reading Reviews for Ronald's Box
  
274 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Secret Santa! ♥ The game of life and death

1st January 2015:
Haha, Ron sleep-talking about Quidditch.

But anyway, this was an incredible chapter and I really loved your retelling of all the crazy things that happened in this section of the book! You show things that aren't as obvious from reading the book, and I think it makes Harry's story sound so much more impressive. After all he did to save the Philosophers Stone, it's easy to forget he was only eleven at the time, and that little scene where Harry kind of fell apart after seeing the unicorn and Ron and Hermione promise to stick with him - that was so powerful and a really great scene.

I liked seeing what happened after Harry left the others to go on his own, as that was (obviously) not really covered in the book so it was nice to see that scene, how they got out and all the worry they had while Harry was doing something probably dangerous and they didn't know what.

As well, that scene with Molly and Arthur in the hospital wing seemed quite realistic - they want to let Ron know they're proud of him for all he did, while at the same time getting him to understand that it was reckless and dangerous and they should have gotten a teacher rather than trying to solve the world's problems themselves. Ron's point was spot on though, about how just because they're young doesn't mean they don't understand. It was just a really well written scene and I loved it.

I am really enjoying this fic and you're doing an amazing job bringing the story to life through Ron's letters and his POV. I'm so glad I was your Secret Santa this year and that I got to discover this story! I can't wait to read more. ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by The Ghost of Christmas Present(s). AKA Secret Santa Boys (and girl) versus Dragon

1st January 2015:
I love the little details you provide about Harry, Ron, and Hermione as adults, as seen through the eyes of their children watching the past. Like the bit about how Hermione used the blue flame charm when Rose and Hugo were afraid of the dark, aww!

The scene where they were all building a fort out of books in the library and then eating chocolate in it was wonderful, and I especially liked the part where Ron slid some chocolate over to Hermione who ate it in the library anyway :p

You handled the Norbert scenes really well too, once again the difference between the letters is well thought out. I love that Ron asks Ginny to hide this letter and points out all the hiding places that won't work :p And that Ron slipped a little hint into the letter to his parents so that Ginny might pick up on it!

I could so see Hagrid worrying about Norbert being frightened rather than worrying about Ron getting bitten, considering Hagrid put up with a lot from Norbert and never seemed to mind it so he probably thought Ron was over-dramatising - when really a dragon bite is a big deal :p

I had forgotten that Ron wasn't there for the dragon's escape to Charlie and hadn't realized that he wouldn't have seen the points hourglasses until the next day! Definitely a rough night. I'm excited for the next chapter as that's when all the exciting things went down in PS and I bet there are a lot of details that will emerge which the kids weren't informed of in the tales from their parents!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Secret Santa The hard lessons of self-control

1st January 2015:
Aw, Ron being there for Harry during all those nightmares :( That's a great point though, about how Harry didn't know what his parents looked like until finding the mirror, so his nightmares would only be that much sadder. That was a really touching scene.

The bit about Malfoy attacking Ron, and Ron's resent at being poor - that was really powerful, and although it's not something Ron often says aloud in the books, it's obvious he feels that way and I liked that he wrote to Ginny for advice. The closeness between Ron and Ginny in this story is so great.

Interesting too about Scorpius, who it seems has not turned out as badly as his father, but I'm glad the kids are now more understanding of why Ron doesn't like Scorpius on principle.

As for me, well I guess I hide behind rules and give myself as much authority as possible, so people don’t even dare make fun of me. -- Sure, if that's what he thinks :p Aside from the fact that it's funny he thinks no one makes fun of him, this is really sweet of Percy and I appreciate this caring-brother side of him that isn't really shown in the books. I like that you portrayed him as looking out for his brothers while still keeping him in character, it's great.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Santa The Rejected-Boys' Christmas

1st January 2015:
I loved the way you wrote Christmas at Hogwarts from Ron's POV, it was so sweet! You really captured the feel of that Christmas as Harry finally feels what it's like to belong somewhere, and to be part of a family. And of course the way this affects Ron as well, his letter home was really sweet :)

The fact that most of the pictures in the recent History of Magic textbook were taken by Colin Creevey just makes me so happy :)

I enjoyed the scene when Ron and Harry are commenting on how delicious the feast is, and Hugo is watching while he's hungry and can't have any of it. And the different sorts of questions Ron gets from Percy versus from Fred - haha so great!

Hmm, I wonder what mischief the twins have got in store for Ron and Harry...

 Report Review

Review #5, by Secret Santa Bravery comes in tiny packages apparently

1st January 2015:
I liked the two different versions of the troll incident here. And aww! All the kids seeing their Uncle Fred for the first time :( I love the idea that Lee Jordan later became a major radio presenter!

Aaah, I just love the way you've written this scene where the twins bewitch stuff to follow Quirrell. You write the twins so well, with their classic humour and finishing each other's sentences, and I loved that Angelina helped out :p Ron and Hermione's reactions were spot on too, so in-character. I loved Ron's line about the twins being in the same room as you is cause for concern. :p I'm really impressed with your handling of canon characters' personalities.

:P I love the idea that Ginny and Luna were friends from before Hogwarts - it does make sense as they grew up in the same area, but I hadn't thought about it before. New headcanon! :D

Haha, only Ron would brag to Ginny about solving a mystery when it's actually just poking their noses in top secret things and breaking rules :p But that all does sound very exciting when you write home about it, I guess!

Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Secret Santa Little lies corrected

31st December 2014:
I like that these past two chapters have been longer, it's nice to get really immersed in what's happening. And this was such a great chapter as well! I really enjoyed the kids' reaction to how Harry actually got the Seeker position.

And the bit about Fluffy! Ron's account of it was so great, because while he was scared at the time, of course afterwards he remembers it mostly as a wicked adventure that's so cool - the way he described it to Ginny made me laugh.

Oh no, Albus doesn't know the whole story of his second namesake. He's going to have a lot of unpleasant things to find out. :S

“You never know when you might need to take notes, Rose. What would I do if I met the love of my life, but had nothing to write our info on? I will not let that happen.” -- Ahahaha, I'm not sure why but I found this line so funny!

I am really enjoying seeing the differences between the stories Ron tells to his mum and to Ginny - like the 'flying class' story - it makes perfect sense that Ron would bend the truth a bit to tell his mum, and then that story probably stuck as Harry couldn't contradict it later :p

Also, the comments Ron has about Hermione being so obnoxious and bossy hahaha, and the way Hugo and Rose find this so hilarious (and confusing) is just fantastic. I loved Rose's comment about Ron lamenting that he'll have to spend seven years at school with Hermione, when Rose says "no, more like a lifetime" XD

This is such a great story and I'm really enjoying the read!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Secret Santa First Look at Hogwarts' Fall 1991

31st December 2014:
hahaha omg Lily. Lucky the spell did work, then! I feel like there are safer ways of finding out whether or not people can see you. But probably none of those ways are as funny as what she did. :p

I really like how close you write this set of four siblings/cousins, they definitely behave like family as half the time they're mocking one another but it's obvious the way they all love each other.

the many stories your five older brothers must have certainly told you about him should have given you a hint that you must never, under absolutely no circumstances, ask Peeves for help or advice -- hehehe. True, I'm sure, in the cases of Bill, Charlie, and Percy, but I bet anything that Fred and George would have ADVISED Ron to ask Peeves for directions. :D

I love that you're kind of filling in the little gaps in the story of PS, all these little behind-the-scenes snapshots, it just enriches the story so much and it's fantastic. And the fact that it's a little bit coloured by Ron's perception of things - that's brilliant and of course makes total sense as this is the visual version of Ron's letter so it's understandable that the world they're visiting is impacted by Ron's imagination.

The way you incorporated the letter is so great as well, how it provides narration for what's going on. This is just such a cool plot idea and I love how you're bringing it to life!

It seemed very realistic as well that the kids don't know all the details of Harry's past, as I'm sure he left out a bunch of things about the war, so it wasn't surprising to read that his children were unaware of the details of his home life before Hogwarts. What a shock for them to find out!

I really liked your comments on how everyone looks to an outsider - particularly about how Harry looks like if he has too much fun he might be taken away. Although I don't think the book ever stated it in that way, that's such an accurate description of Harry's first few weeks at Hogwarts!

Wonderful chapter!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Secret Santa Sortings and brilliant plans

31st December 2014:
I love how close Ron and Ginny were, and their letters were so cute! I especially liked that Ron wanted to write to Ginny about anything their Mum would disapprove of haha.

How annoying of Al to disappear and not tell them what brilliant plan he's come up with! I'd be so annoyed at him keeping me guessing! :p

I'm glad Teddy had at least a little chance to get to know his parents, even if he couldn't interact with them - at least he got to know what they were like and know them from more than just stories told by Harry or Andromeda.

That's such a cool sounding spell. I wonder if it's a similar spell to what makes the Pensieve work, or how Tom Riddle's diary worked with the image becoming real. I'm so excited to see how the letter spell will work! Reading on!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Santa Finding the box

31st December 2014:
Hi Akussa! I'm back, and as you mentioned this being one of your favourites that you've written, I decided I'd check this one out. I love the idea of this as alternate POVs of Hogwarts-era events are one of my favourite types of stories, and it looks like there will be a lot of that in here.

Love the story about George inspiring the nickname for Molly as G-Mum, and how she doesn't complain about it because she secretly thinks it's great to have such a hip name. Ahaha so great.

This is a wonderful start! I can't wait to see what they find! :D

 Report Review

Review #10, by wenlock Finding the box

7th October 2014:
Well, you hooked me. Unique enough concept, potential for some laughs - in fact I have already laughed ( at hip g-mum Molly)

Other than a few grammatical errors, it looks good so far.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this review! I'm glad you enjoyed the first chapter of this little story. I hope you'll come back for the rest!

 Report Review

Review #11, by TidalDragon Seing things the wrong way

4th May 2014:
Hello again! Here for another of your Golden Paw nominated stories!

While I am just not able to review every chapter of the longer ones, I did read all the way through and I have to say, I really like the idea behind this story. It's mostly a light-hearted look at the Next-Gen kids and their parents as they all look back at the book years, but it also has the capacity to address darker more difficult moments.

I think you do a good job with the characterizations throughout for the most part, making the characters differentiable through their differing reactions to the memories or situations they encounter.

The thing I would comment on though (both going forward and if you go back and edit) is the dialogue. I think you do a good job balancing the difficulty of jumping back and forth, getting everyone's perspectives/commentary and all the characterizations, but the dialogue holds the last one back a bit. For me, the words spoken by each character are just a little too interchangeable. Though it's not as noticeable (and I guess maybe nitpicking a bit since they HAVE all grown up now), Ginny, Ron, or Harry will occasionally use complex vocabulary or phrasing that I would call "Hermione-language".

Overall though, I think you're doing a good job with a really interesting story and a plot that has LOADS of potential to develop into something truly great.

Good luck with the voting!

 Report Review

Review #12, by HEG Finding the box

10th April 2014:
I'm looking forwards to the rest of the story :)

Author's Response: Thanks I hope you'll enjoy!!

 Report Review

Review #13, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Finding the box

25th November 2012:
Hi,

This is a really great start to your story! You have me hooked and I can't wait to read more. I love the attention to small details, the necklace and the bezoar being in Ron's box - it really made me smile!

I love G-Mum though! That really made me giggle! Trust George eh?

Lauren

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm glad you enjoyed! It was a lot of fun creating the box and trying to think of objects that would represent Ron as much as possible.
Why yes, of course George would suggest such a great nickname for him mum!!!


 Report Review

Review #14, by True Author Sortings and brilliant plans

1st November 2012:
Loved this!!! =] I can't wait to see what happens... I always wanted to read what Hogwarts was for Ron; as I sometimes felt sorry for him I don't know why!
Anyways, this was cute. ♥

Author's Response: I'm really glad you like this idea! We don't see much of Ron's perspective from his school days so it was different to write it like that. I don't know why but I agree with you; he's the underloved character but he has so much to offer!! Plus, it allowed me to explore other aspects of their school days and adventures.

 Report Review

Review #15, by True Author Finding the box

1st November 2012:
This was beautiful! I loved to read about some old objects... the necklace, SPEW badge for example.
On the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked the box; it was a lot of fun figuring out objects that would represent Ron from his school days. I hope you'll enjoy the rest as well :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Ms Michelle Radcliffe Revelations

5th October 2012:
so, whens the third year going to begin? really cool though.

Author's Response: When my writer's block leaves me :(

I'm really sorry; it's outlined and ready to write but right now, I can't seem to find Ron's voice anymore.
I'm working hard on it though and I'm positive I'll get there eventually, please don't lose hope!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Keira7794 Seing things the wrong way

3rd July 2012:
Hello!

My plan was to drop in and read your great entry for the 'Ronald Weasley Challenge'. Then I saw there were 17 chapters (:O). So I figured I'd read a couple... but then I got hooked... and 17 chapters later... here I am. :P

I love the plot; it's something that I've thought a lot about - how much would they tell their children of their Hogwarts Days? I really like how you did this - especially the letters from Ron's POV. It's amusing that it smells like sweets and the scene is warped slightly. I love the distinction between his and Hermione's letters!

This story is actually one of the first fanfics I ever read - there must be an ancient review around her somewhere :P Though there was nowhere near as many chapters! :)

I really like how the kids comment on everything they see, and then the contrasting personalities of the parents. There's so much that keeps you involved and I can't wait to see their reaction to Sirius!

Are you planning on carrying this on through the next school years? Your characterisation is perfect, as always! And I love your plot. :)

It's a brilliant story, Akussa and I can't wait to read more! :) Keira

P.S. I feel horrible - but I was completely swamped with exams that I don't think I fully congratulated you! Congratulations on mini-Akussa! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by CambAngst Seing things the wrong way

24th May 2012:
Hi, there! One good turn deserves another.

I really liked Harry's explanation of Dumbledore and Snape. I think you did a terrific job of capturing the good and the bad parts. It was kind of weird to hear Harry refer to Snape by his first name. I'm not sure that was something he would ever do, but it's not a big deal.

Another thing that sounded, I don't know, just off was the way that Harry puts James in his place over the "real Potter man" comment. I could definitely see where Harry would want to deflate his head just a bit, but after spending so much of his life suffering from bullying and abuse, I see him being more of the parent who was hugging Al upstairs, not the one taking a relatively cheap shot at his older son to intervene is a simple, little sibling rivalry. Now Ginny on the other hand... ;)

I just got to the part where they're about to enter the letters from the Third Year. Goosebumps...

I really love the kids' reactions to finding out more about Harry's treatment at the hands of the Dursleys. Very touching and genuine.

And I absolutely adore the way that you change the tenor and the details of the memories when the kids switch from Ron's PoV to Hermione's. It's a small thing, but it makes the story so much more realistic and interesting.

The scene where the dementor visits their compartment on the train was a revelation for me, because I've seen the movie so many times on TV since the last time I read the book that I'd totally forgotten that the two versions are very different. Told from Hermione's PoV, the scene loses none of its poignancy. And finally the scene with Ron and Ginny in the Great Hall was very touching. He really does love his sister and he wants to look out for her, especially after what happened the prior year.

I noticed one little typo right near the end: "No I'm serious,” he presses, “people have always be drawn to you so it'll be the same with these guys." - have always been drawn.

Still really loving this story. Can't wait to see what's next!

 Report Review

Review #19, by HartOfARebel Seing things the wrong way

7th May 2012:
Excellent chapter as always =D I loved the bit at the start, where Al and Harry were talking. Obviously Al would be a little, eh, confused as to why he was called after someone who so clearly hated his dad.

I really liked that extra scene between Ron and Ginny, it was so sweet =] Update soon =]

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the comments and for taking the time to review :) I'm glad you liked the part at the beginning; I wanted to tackle that subject in the last chapter but it was getting long so I split it and I think it works better. Al is able to express a bit more when he is alone with his dad, rather then being with the rest of the group.

The update will take a couple weeks I'm afraid, I'm too much immersed in another story I'm working on and it's taking all of the little time I have to write these days. But it's gonna come, I promise! Thanks for always being there when there is an update though, I appreciate that a lot !


 Report Review

Review #20, by potterhead42 Seing things the wrong way

4th May 2012:
i have just read your story from start to finesh; i thought i would be easier if i review the whole thing at once. i love the whole concept and idea i absolutely love what i have read so far i hope u do all seven books like this! i hope you update soon.

~potterhead42

Author's Response: Wow, you are a beast, going through it all! I'm very touched by this and I thank you a million times for your kind words. I'm glad you like it so far and you find the concept interesting.
I don't know if I'll go through the seven books yet but I know I'll finish the third and most definitly will do the fourth. After that, I'm not certain.
Thanks again and I will update in a little while; real life's got me pretty busy right now but it's coming, don't worry!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Kookiekrisp94 Finding the box

2nd May 2012:
Very interesting! i like the involvment between the characters!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing, I'm glad you like the opening chapter of my story! I hope to see you again :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by EvannaBlackthorn Finding the box

2nd May 2012:
Nice opening, short and sweet. I really liked it, can't find anything to critic. Looking forward to reading more and seeing what's in those letters. ;)

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm glad you liked the opening chapter! It is short when you compare it to the lasts ones that have been validated... Good times...
I hope you'll enjoy the letters and what is coming; I hope to see you again, telling me what you thought of it :)
Thanks again for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Tiffile Seing things the wrong way

1st May 2012:
You have a WONDERFUL imagination!! So glad you decided to do this. While you skipped Ron's version of the Dementor train ride I'm sure there will be much overlap POV which we all are looking forward to. But I really want to say don't give up on book 5, besides Percy's letter to Ron I'm sure they all (Fred, and George included) would have written home to reassure Mr & Mrs Weasly everything is ok with the High Inquisitor, and no they are not forming and illegal group. As for book 7, maybe Hermione and or Ginny kept a diary or wrote the letters but never sent them. Actually after re-reading 7 I'm surprised 1) Hermione didn't write an angry one for Ron for leaving and 2) Harry didn't leave a letter knowing he was going to die but couldn't them before he walked into the forest. (Just think about it, and please...) Keep up the Great work!

 Report Review

Review #24, by RosieQueen Seing things the wrong way

25th April 2012:
Oh, I really enjoyed this! I though the story had ended in the last chapter, but boy was I wrong! I've still got a whole new year to read! :D I've got a question: Are they going to witness all seven of Ron's years?

Author's Response: Hi! Nope it definitly isn't over yet! As for whether or not I'll do the seven years, I highly doubt that because, according to canon, the mail was read in the trio's fifth year so the letters to home would probably be short and far from the real thing. Also, the seventh year was spent on the run so they most definitly didn't send letters home.
I will do the third year and probably the fourth as well but after that, unless I get a sudden idea, I don't think it will be done.
I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter though, it was fun to write and I really want to thank you for taking the time to review, you have no idea how happy this makes me!!


 Report Review

Review #25, by CassidyAnn Finding the box

25th April 2012:
I really like this story, lol

Author's Response: Thank you very much for this comment, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>