68 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Mice September 1978

1st January 2014:
I honestly like this ending much more and contrary to what you think, think it fits canon fine.

I would find it more believable if this were the ending as well. I enjoyed reading Sirius' and Laura's story in HTTAM but I don't believe they were soul mates. Lily and James were and having James' best friend also meet the girl of his dreams at school during the same time and then having her die due to the war just seem a bit far fetched to me.

Sirius and Laura loved each other during school but then due to the war broke up just seems far more realistic. With what you described in this story, with both of the characters personalities the relationship just wouldn't have worked.

When Sirius was arrested Laura believed he was guilty like everyone else. She didn't know better because she hadn't seen him in so long. She was devastated of course but carried on. Years later when Sirius escapes he discovers that Laura has married, maybe even has young children. He doesn't seek her out because what would be the point? She wouldn't love him like she used to anymore and it would just cause him pain.

 Report Review

Review #2, by maskedmuggle September 1978

12th September 2013:
Hey again!

Similar to how I mentioned in my other review, I simply couldn't resist reading an alternative ending, just because I was curious to see what it would be like. The original epilogue was incredibly sad, but I feel like this one is almost just as sad as well. I felt like my heart was almost being broken right alongside Laura's.. I can't even imagine having to cope with the distance and uncertainty of a relationship every single day.. let alone a relationship between two people that are so in love with, and perfect for each other. I really felt like this was not only thought-provoking, but very emotion-provoking, if that makes sense.. This was another really well written alternative ending. I'm not sure whether I prefer this one or the original one more.. both are so incredibly sad.

- Charlotte

 Report Review

Review #3, by Johanna Jackson September 1978

30th August 2012:
10/10 for just mentioning Barry Island.

GAVIN AND STACEY FTW!

It would be a 9/10 otherwise, I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Lol. You liked that then? I've had a few comments on that and it seems to have gone down rather well so I'm glad I included it. Thank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by CatyGoldenWitch September 1978

8th June 2012:
Oh no! before i read it, i thought that in this story Laura survived and married Sirius...but this ending is soo different and sad too..but even she survived there is still sirius who will be betrayed from peter/wormtail and kicked to Azkaban...poor Sirius and Laura.

Author's Response: You know, you're not the first person to think that, so I might have to change the wording of the summary (if I can do that without giving away any spoilers to the main plot). But I just don't think in AU, I'm afraid, so anything I wrote had to be canon. Sorry about that.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by zeegraciejones. September 1978

9th May 2012:
Agghhh..
So here's my thing, when I read the summary it led me to believe that this would be a happy ending. Giving us a "could've been" and a "doesn't fit canon" totally led me to believe that this ending would be a happy thing. I expected a "what could have been" if the whole Sirius getting framed nonsense hadn't gone down. I'm a stickler for canon stories myself, but the idea that there was an alternative universe in which things could have worked out for our heroes was a mighty pretty idea.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not knocking you for attempting to stay in canon as much as possible. And this was definitely a seeable possibility (although you're right, way to many loose ends and the other ending was in the end probably the right choice) and frankly the idea that all these "high school" (yes, I know its not really high school, but they are high school aged) romances work out is a little far fetched (I know, I know, hate the critic) so both of your endings had the touch of realism that I enjoyed (although, realism aside, I really would have loved to see Sirius and Laura together forever.)

This may surprise you as this came out as more critical of this story than I meant it, but I gave this 10/10. I loved HTM and PBT, but I just wanted to get it out there that it broke my heart that Sirius and Laura couldn't have happened, even in the world of "could've been."

Author's Response: Yeah, okay, I understand that totally. I am loathe to put something in there about "no, this isn't a happy ending" though, mainly because that will be a spoiler for those who haven't read the main story. The thing is, I'm such a canon person that I can't write a happy ending for this story, other than what we see in PBT. JKR gave us a single Sirius, so I had to end with a single Sirius; AU and I just don't get along. Don't get me wrong, I would have loved to have given these two their happily ever after after all I put them through, but to stay true to the books I just couldn't do it.

Having said all that, I've got a little scene in my head of a marriage proposal in a little town on the Cornish coast. Totally AU, and will never see the light of day, but kinda cute none the less.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by Lillylover22 September 1978

15th March 2012:
I prefer your other ending. As sad as it was it seems to fit the story more 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Absolutely. And that's the exact reason this one is the alternative, and the other is the real on. It works so much better.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by NightCrimson September 1978

16th February 2012:
I read your earlier story and i absolutely love it. I love the way you portrayed Sirius because he's my favourite chracter from the entire series. I can completely relate to Laura...:D
About this chapter, I think it was right of you to choose the other one because Laura seems so depressed and I don't really like the idea of her moving on. Eventhough it was extremely sad that she died in other one, I liked that better..

Thank you for such an amazing story! Keep writing amazing stuff!:D:D Looking forward to reading more stories from you!:)

Author's Response: Thank you! I absolutely agree with you, which is why this one is the alternate ending - the original intent was always that she would die. To be honest, if she wasn't going to die I would probably never have written the story in the first place. :) Thanks for the feedback, though, it's always good to hear what other people think.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by katkaaax3 September 1978

11th December 2011:
sory but i hate you!!
i love the HTM but i hate the ending and i hate this ending...what can i say i am a sucker for happy endings, at least just a bit like the ending of JKR she at least put two happy coupples at the end but you you dont giva us any hope nothing :(
otherwise i love the HTM (sory i didnt review the acctuall story 'cause i was reading it on my phone) :D
i hope to see another long story with a happier ending pleassse ;)

Author's Response: Yes, sorry about that. I'm a sucker for a happy ending too, but the canon didn't allow it in this instance. However, if you check out chapter 30 in The Process of Becoming Tamed (also on my author page) that has the happy ending that I wasn't able to give them in this story. Not ideal, I realise, but better than nothing.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by Death September 1978

7th November 2011:
I prefer version one

Author's Response: As do I! Which was why this was the alternative ending. However, people had expressed an interest in seeing this one, which is why I posted it. I'm still not very happy with it, but it does the job it's supposed to do well enough. Thanks for checking it out!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by imaMalfoy September 1978

3rd November 2011:
This is just as bad as Laura dying! BUT I love it either way.

Author's Response: Yes, unfortunately I had to either kill her off or break them up, so neither of these were going to be the happy ending. That's why I directed people to ch30 of PBT at the end of the main narrative, if they wanted a happy ending, because they weren't going to find one here. Sigh. It is sad, though, isn't it? I'm glad you think so, because it means I didn't make a total hash of writing it. Sad, but in order to stay within canon, necessary. Sigh. Blame JKR.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by thefifthMarauder September 1978

4th October 2011:
I hate to say it, but i like the other one better. I know she dies, but it kinda pulls the whole story together. This one is just plain sad. I still like it. I love both! But i like it when the main characters fall in love.
Im a sucker for love stories! :P

Author's Response: Oh, don't worry, I like the other ending better too, which is why that one was in the main story and this one was just offered up as an alternative. This one has far too many holes, as far as I'm concerned, and doesn't fit canon nearly so well. But thanks for reading them both and letting me know your thoughts, I really appreciate that. And yeah, I'm a sucker for love stories too. Must be why I write them, hahaha. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by LittleMissPrincess September 1978

21st August 2011:
YAY!
SHES NOT DEAD!
you have no idea (okay, fine, you probably do) how much of a relief that is to me!
oh, and yeah, as much as i hate that they're not together anymore, its still better than the death scene in the other story.
speaking of which, i am about to go read the process of getting tamed, because, who doesnt love a happy ending? :)

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, she's not dead. This ending does however leave far too many loose ends for my liking - however, if you prefer her being alive, despite that, then you're most welcome to prefer this version. This one was really an exercise to see if I could actually write it, and opinions are mixed as to my success, but I'm very flattered that you think it's believable enough to be a decent ending. Thank you :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by rachel September 1978

3rd August 2011:
the other ending made me feel sad that she died...this ending just makes me sort of angry at sirius. i mean, he choose the war over her, after everything!!

Author's Response: I know what you mean, but I think it's in character - he wanted to get the war over with so there would be nothing in their way. And she knew he would do that when she made the ultimatum, which is why she didn't want to do it. But yeah, I can get that it's frustrating. This is why this one's the alternative ending rather than the real one :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by LivingLife42 September 1978

29th July 2011:
I thought this was very well written but I preferred the other one. Yes the other one was sad because she died but at least we knew she loved Sirius and Sirius loved her. This is so full of what-ifs where as the other one was final. This one also reminds me of my boyfriend cause he will be leaving soon for military training and I'm not sure when I'll see him. It's so sad being apart (I definitely don't want him to die though.) It's so sad that Sirius and Laura love each other but can't be together.

I'm not even sure if I'm making any sense any more but I hope you at least somewhat understand. I am glad you went with the other ending.

Well done :)

Author's Response: All in all, I preferred the other ending too. This one waswritten to see if I could pull it off,and I'm not sure that I succeeded. However, rest assured I definitely understand what you were trying to say, and if it hit a chord because of your personal situation then that's all the better, because it means I got some of the emotions right. Thanks again. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by Jas September 1978

20th June 2011:
Hey you did a good Job with the other epilogue I liked that it flowed very well with the whole story overall, this one was good too but the other one made me cry ahah keep up the good work I look forward to reading more of your stuff. :D

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

Yes, I thought the other ending was better - hence, that's the real ending and this one is the alternative. This was more of a can-I-write-it-convincingly type of exercise than anything else. However, I'm glad you liked this one as well because it means I didn't do too badly at said exercise. Thank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by girly1393 September 1978

7th June 2011:
Nope, I don't like it. I thought I might try it, just to see. But I like the tidier version where she dies. I myself have this terrible habit of killing my favorite characters in my own original stories, so I suppose I'm not as emotional as I could be.

It was necessary for Laura to die thoroughly, not this haphazard emotional nonsense. Besides, she'd go visit Harry, right? They might mention her, she might pop up in the series. If it was an AU story, I'd say go for it because what can't you do in AU? But for canon, I think you made the right decision.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Yes, I agree, it's much tidier when she dies. This one leaves too many questions unanswered - why did Sirius give himself up to the Hit Wizards after James and Lily died if there was the potential for a reconciliation? Why didn't Laura come out in PoA with info about Sirius and his animagus form? Why was Harry left everything in Sirius' will if Laura was still alive? So even leaving the visiting Harry out of it (Dumbledore may have requested that there be no contact with him, for example), I agree taht it's much tidier with her dead. I wrote this to see if I could do it but it was never going to be the real ending. Thanks for agreeing. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by nitenel September 1978

18th May 2011:
I have no idea which ending is more depressing.

Author's Response: Yes, I know. I 've had a few people asking for a happy ending but in order to stay canon it wasn't really an option. But yeah, they're both pretty depressing, so I'm sorry about that. I would have loved them to have a happy ending but JKR didn't allow for that so I was a little hamstrung.

Thanks for the feedback though :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by Charlotte Flame September 1978

16th May 2011:
Just so you know, next time you do an alternative ending, you should make it happier. As far as I'm concerned, it was better with her brain dead because I could still imagine the way things should have been. Sorry, don't mean to flame or anything. Loved the actual story!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

You're not the first person who's asked for a happy ending, but in order for this story to fit canon (which gave us a single Sirius) I had to either break them up or kill her off. Hence, the two endings which show these scenarios. If I wrote anything else it would have to have an AU warning and I don't write AU so that wasn't going to happen. So, while I appreciate your comments, I very deliberately didn't do that because I wanted it to fit canon.

thanks, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by Crescent Moon  September 1978

22nd April 2011:
Another great ending but I still think I prefer the first one XD

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, I prefer the original ending as well, which is why it's the one in the main narrative and this is just the alternative. As well as seeming to cheapen their relationship a little, it just doesn't fit the canon so well and leaves too many unanswered questions. But thanks for giving it a go and letting me know what you thought, I really appreciate that. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by Mintleaf September 1978

9th April 2011:
Awh this was too sad! I'm so glad you stuck with the other ending, even thought she died, it was less sad than this! This is so open ended and full of 'what-ifs' that you just hope it would continue to see if they ever really did get back together! It was well written, like the rest of your stories, but so sad!

Author's Response: Hi again!

You know, it's interesting that you think the other ending was less sad than this one, considering it involved the death of my MC. However, I do know what you mean. This one holds so many what-ifs, as you said, and while it left the door open for them to reunite, unfortunately as far as canon goes they didn't. I also think this has too many holes and doesn't fit canon nearly so well, which was one reason I went with the other ending. Thanks for checking this one out though!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by christine September 1978

28th March 2011:
Hey , I have read both of the ends. I can not descide which is best.. But as much as I hated that she died, I think that was the best. You have made Laura the way, that she would not have broken up with Sirius. They belong together, and both knew it. I liked that she did not die then..

Author's Response: Hi again!

First of all, thanks for giving this alternative a try. I've had mixed reviews from it and, like I said in the author note, I don't think this one works as well, but I wrote it principally to see if I could do it and it was the best I could come up with. But yeah, I too think that her dying was really the only way to go. Harsh, but true.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by Emily September 1978

16th February 2011:
Okay. Again. I like this one better. No one's really elaborated on what exactly the feeling would be like for the significant others of people fighting in the war. I can only imagine he much the fear would kill someone. Thanks, though. This alt. ending made me feel better about the original, now that I know exactly what you thought would lead to it.

Author's Response: Hi again!

You're not the first person to prefer this ending, but to me it just left too many questions unanswered and didn't work nearly as well. However, I thought it was important to show what the war could potentially do to relationships, so I'm glad you appreciated that. And I'm also pleased that you feel better about the original ending now because, as I said in that review response, I really felt it was the right way to end it. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by RED_X September 1978

13th February 2011:
I thought this was written brilliantly although i much prefered the original. While i was in the middle of "How To Tame A Marauder", i realized that the only way for this fantastic story to end with a little closer was to have Laura die. I didn't like that she had to die but it followed cannon so well i know it would happen eventually. I thought this ending was a little serreal i envisioned Laura to never leave Sirius without force. Her death brought closer to the great story
thank you for writing and sharing you creativity with all of us as always if i could give you more than a 10 i would!

~Red X

Author's Response: Hi again!

Well, you've hit the nail on the head as to why this is the *alternative* ending rather than the real one - it just doesn't work as well. As I said in the A/N I wrote it to see if I could do it, and this was the best I could do so maybe the answer to that question is "no". But thanks for checking it out regardless. Some people do prefer this version, but like you I think that the original ending is the right one. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by reading_is_my_life September 1978

30th January 2011:
I'm in the middle of HTM and I love it. This has officially become my favorite version of Sirius. I stopped to read the one shots because Laura's insecurities were frustrating me. I sneaked a peek at the ending and I prefer it to this one. She comes off as shrewish to me. But this is an awesome story. Being Afro-American, I have to say one of my favorite lines is Sirius saying once you go black you never go back. Lol

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

I must admit you're not the first person who's become frustrated with Laura and her insecurities - I'm not sure how much of HTM you've read but she does grow out of them (fortunately, otherwise I would have strangled her myself). But yes, the official ending was always supposed to be more convincing than this one - like I said, I wrote it to see if I could pull it off, but I was never convinced by it. Glad you agree.

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by Voldepoo September 1978

27th January 2011:
No. She had to die, Laura and Sirius were to great a couple to break up. He meant the world to her and the other way around. The were amazing together.
While your writting was very excelent in this one shot, I do think the real ending was much better fit for the story.

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, she had to die. I can see so many canon errors in this version but, like I said, I wrote it primarily to see if I could do it,adn then only posted it because I had a number of people asking to see it. In other words, I agree, and there is a very good reason why this is the alternative ending and the other is the real one. :)

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>