Reading Reviews for A Place for My Head
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by theblacksisters A Place for My Head

22nd December 2013:
It doesn't say here, but I'm 99% sure this is Rodolphus talking. Am I right?
Liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Mintleaf A Place for My Head

9th April 2011:
"Bella and I were shipped off to Azkaban" He seems very non-chalant, using the word shipped! Other than that tiny little thing, I loved this! He's such an unwritten character! The way their minds seem to work is immeasurably twisted, but you've captured it so well! Awesome work! :)

Author's Response: That line is actually supposed to be sarcastic, which is why he sounds so detached about it. I'm glad you liked it! I really loved writing about Rodolphus. I find him so interesting. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #3, by lilypotterfan123 A Place for My Head

6th February 2011:
The description of this was amazing, it makes you feel a small ounce of sympathy for him. I think the characterisation of Rodolphus was captured so well! I love short sentences and the fact that you ended with one just made me smile! I'm strange like that! Thank you for the wonderful read,

LpF123 xx

Author's Response: Well, thank YOU for the wonderful review(: I really appreciate it! I'm glad that you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #4, by LidaRose A Place for My Head

25th December 2010:
Ooh, Sectum Sempra? I wonder who did that one? I must say, I rarely enjoy the angsty, baddie versions of the wizarding world, but yours are all very well written and intrigueing.

Merry Gryffie Christmas!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! I think people are surprised that I even venture into the angsty side of writing since I'm normally so bubbly, haha, but I really enjoy writing in this style. Thanks for all the reviews! They were fantastic!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Cooper Belle A Place for My Head

2nd September 2010:
Oh! What a brilliant story! An aspect I never thought of before. Very creative -- good job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it(:

 Report Review

Review #6, by Reyes91 A Place for My Head

20th August 2010:
Wow. I...really freakin' loved this story. You made me like Rodolphus. Not that I hated him before, but he was just someone who was there. He was just Bellatrix's wife, and I never thought that this was how he was thinking. But, it all fits. I loved that he truly cared for Bellatrix, and didn't just marry her just to marry. He loved her, and she loved (well, was obsessed with, really) Voldemort. What husband wouldn't be upset and angry to know full-well that his wife cared more about another man who would never love her back than she did about himself?

Geeze, this was awesome. This one line fully took me, though: 'She was loyal, yes, but a servant nonetheless.' I loved that. It described the relationship of Voldemort and Bellatrix so easily and simple. Just perfect.

Wonderful story. Probably one of my favorites... No, definitely one of my favorites. And you totally get plus points for that awesome Linkin Park song.

-Reyes91

Author's Response: Thanks for the gorgeous review! I'm pleased to have entertained. Truthfully, I never thought a whole lot about Rodolphus either, at least until I began to write this. Then he became one of my favorites.

I really happy to get this song to work with for the challenge it was written for - it really inspired me.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Northumbrian A Place for My Head

17th August 2010:
Hi
Later than intended (but only by a few hours) here's my review.
Should I admit that I read very little fanfiction? I just did.
This is the first Bellatrix/Voldemort story I've read and what an interesting ride it was.
Writing from the side of the villain (in this case Rodolphus) isn't an easy thing to do. But I'm impressed by both your descriptive passages (torrential sort of rain which seemed angry and intimidating in its fury) and your description of the way Rodolphus thinks (the little spark of rage that I had left in me was worthless because I knew I would never let it reveal itself. Not in front of Bellatrix.) this is great stuff (:
I couldn't find any major errors or typos and the whole thing reads really well.
For some reason, however, your use of the "f" word pulled me out of this great story every time. I'm not prudish but the word seemed gratuitous and, at least on a few occasions unnecessary.
Sometimes, less is more in my opinion.
N

Author's Response: Eh, a few hours is no big deal(:
I'm glad you like the descriptions. They were something I really worked on in this story, so to hear compliments for them makes me very happy!
Ugh. I completely agree with you on that. I had been particularly angry while writing this (which may have something to do with the bitter, anrgy turn it took somewhere near the middle) and just never went back and tweaked it to something a bit more, well, I can't think of the word.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by pennyardelle A Place for My Head

17th August 2010:
The summary of this really drew me in. It was so simple but so poignant that I knew this must be a good story (and who can resist the occasional look at the demented relationship between Voldemort and Bellatrix, right?). I was not disappointed, especially because you chose to write the story from Rodolphus' perspective! I have not seen many people do that. :)

I can really see Rodolphus loving Bella. I think some people are tempted to see their relationship as very cold, but Bellatrix is such a powerful woman that I don't think it's unlikely that Rodolphus would have admired her very much, and been very hurt by her lack of interest in him.

The scene with him attacking the Muggles was very intense and ruthless. I think you did well with writing Rodolphus and getting into the head of someone who really enjoyed doing the torturing and killing that Voldemort wanted. The only thing that threw me off a little was that Rodolphus seemed to get sarcastic and emotionless at points, which didn't quite fit with his broody state-of-mind that was introduced at the beginning. The last line, for example, seemed almost to imply that Rodolphus thought the whole thing was sort of a joke, or unimportant...but earlier on, he really seemed to want to prove himself, and he seemed like the type who took himself pretty seriously.

Other than that, though, I thought you did a great job! It made very intense reading, which I think is exactly how it should have been, given the subject matter.

Author's Response: I'm glad it was the summary that drew you in. I was very happy with the selection I chose for it(:

That's how I see it, as well. I've always thought of Rodolphus that way. And not always necessarily love, but definitely admiration.

I'm glad you pointed that out. I never really thought of it in that context before, but it does kind of seem that way. Sarcasm doesn't really fit his personality in this.

Thank you for the fantastic review. It's wonderful(:


 Report Review

Review #9, by blueirony A Place for My Head

17th August 2010:
I'm one of those people who is endless fascinated by Bellatrix. She is just so manic, so twisted and so dark that I can't help but love her. Every time someone writes about her, I get excited.

But I don't think I have ever really had her described from the point of view of someone else. And I absolutely loved this. Rudolphus is just so... he's so bitter. And can I say that I really kind of adored him in this? Strange, I know, but how can you not love his bitterness and cynicism?

You had his character mapped out perfectly. Every little detail of him you brought into this and it was really, really well done. I liked how you had little dialogue, too. That added something extra to this and it really brought me as the reader closer to Ruldophus and what he was thinking and feeling.

Again, I'm astounded at your versatility as a writer. To be able to write fluffy and sweet romantic one-shots and then turn around and write something like this. Wow.

Joop :]

Author's Response: I am with you on Bellatrix. She's quite the character. And I seriously love to write Rodolphus. His bitterness is the best part! Haha. Writing this was so much fun for me. I loved it, so I'm really happy to hear you say that you also liked it(:

Thank you a million times over, Joop. All your reviews have been so encouraging and lovely.


 Report Review

Review #10, by lia_2390 A Place for My Head

16th August 2010:
Hey, Happy Gryffindor Monday!

I had this story in my favourites for a while simply because it's well written and it's Bellatrix/Rodolphus, a ship which I adore!

First of all, I am impressed that this hardly has any dialogue whatsoever, save the mention of two cruel unforgiveable curses. You have Rodolphus' feelings written so strongly and so passionately and he is so, so bitter! He was always a character I felt so sorry for and I'm glad you managed to fit all of his feelings into words. You've expressed perhaps over twenty years of rejection and anger all in this little one-shot of yours.

I also like how he doesn't care anymore about the cause, as I suspected most of the Death Eaters were around the time of the end of the war, a big example being his sister-in-law and her family.

One thing I noticed here is that you have a typo...you repeated yourself:
The hot flames licked inside me in attempt in an attempt to break free and explode in fervor.


The end was rather tragic. Just as he wanted to take control of his life, after all this time, he dies. That just sucks...plain and simple but I suppose he had nothing else to live for.

Great Job,
Lia.

Author's Response: Thank you so incredibly much! And happy Gryffindor Monday to you, too! (:

I'm so pleased that you like it. Writing Rodolphus was something I really enjoyed. I loved his perspective as a Death Eater.

Huh. In all the times I've read this, I've never noticed that typo. Thanks for the heads up!

That's exactly the feel I wanted to convey with the ending. That death can happen just as quick as anything, no matter how tragic.

Thank you for reviewing(:


 Report Review

Review #11, by Lady Kyra A Place for My Head

16th August 2010:
I was glancing at the Gryffindor Monday thread and saw your author page and the one-shots and thought, "Hey, I like a good one-shot. Let's give it a go!"

I am very glad that I did. My interest was immediately piqued by the use of Linkin Park's "Place for My Head," as it is one of my favorite songs. I love how you can obviously see the influences from the song woven throughout the story, yet you did not need to make it blatantly obvious by making it a song-fic and printing the lyrics.

Your descriptions are wonderful: just long enough to be make the point and paint the scene, and just short enough that the real meaning does not get lost. I particularly enjoyed the inner monologue in conjunction with the live action. Sometimes when people attempt to weave them together it gets messy, but this was a perfect example of how to do it correctly.

Your characterization was wonderful. I have always had a fascination for Bellatrix, and writing from her husband's (whose name I shall not spell for fear of butchering it) point of view is always interesting. It is rather obvious in the books that Bellatrix is in love with Voldemort and would do anything for him, and I have always wondered how her husband felt about that. The way he goes from angst to rage in a moment was good, something that I have always imagined about someone who would be married to Bellatrix. I also like that it is not just a story of self pity. He does do something about it, though it is an evil something and eventually ends up killing him.

His death is the part I enjoyed the most, not because of the death, but because of how it was written. I love the last lines because they so accurately sum up the character and the story itself.

As to the grammar, it was absolutely wonderful. You and your beta are excellent.

I hope this review helps you in some way!

Author's Response: Wow, what a fantastic review! Thank you so much.

I'm glad you thought that the song influenced the story. I was really happy to be assigned that song in the challenge and it really spoke to me in this story.

And the fact that you like my descriptions is enough to get me giggling happily like a little kid. It's something that is really important to me. As well as characterization, which you also mentioned. I'm really happy that you liked the fast transition between angst and rage because not everyone does and some people think it should have been a longer transition, but I wanted it to be sudden.

I cannot thank you enough for the wonderful review! It's amazing.


 Report Review

Review #12, by maskedmuggle A Place for My Head

16th August 2010:
Hey! Wow. Yet another intense, but so well written story from you!

I love the way you write. It's so hard to explain, but everything flows, and this story idea was even more interesting than your Rose/Scorpius and your Teddy/Victoire. Simply because it isn't written very often, and therefore its more unique. I really like the way you portrayed Rodolphus Lestrange. It was so interesting to see this side of a Death Eater.

Your writing style is so amazing. The first um, swear word was actually quite a shock. I mean, one second it was normal, and then, bam. But it was a good effect. It got your point across really well. I actually kinda liked it haha. And then all the repetition of it was great because it emphasized your point and sort of signalled the change in mood of Rodolphus. I especially liked the last line. It was a good line for finishing off this story.

It's always hard (for me anyway) to write from a bad guy's perspective, but I think you did a brilliant job. The end part was especially well done. I really enjoyed reading this! I usually hate these kind of stories, but you really grabbed my attention. So good job to you! :)

Author's Response: Goodness, I wake up and have all sorts of reviews to respond to! Thank you so much!

I haven't gotten much feedback on this story lately so it's nice to get a fresh perspective. I'm so glad you liked it. The flow of a story is really important to me so the fact that you liked it is a big boost for me.

Thank you for the fantastic review.


 Report Review

Review #13, by bandnerd218 A Place for My Head

1st June 2010:
This was really neat!
The Bellatrix/Voldemort pairng, I have only seen a few times, and putting the story from Rodolphus's perspective.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to review(:

 Report Review

Review #14, by Adrielne A Place for My Head

20th May 2010:
Hi, it's Ada! (you should so recognize that name. Review thread? Common Room? ... If you really don't know who I am, I'm ashamed of you, Erica! xD Anywhos, Adrielne here.)

Wow. I never thought of Rodolphus as one to be so... Deep. You wrote him very well - I think your protagonist here was in character, even if it was a different character than I would expect him to have.

The one confusing thing is the way you talked about Azkaban made me think he was in there still (despite the beginning of the story). When you described his wand emitting sparks in his pocket I thought, "Whoa, wait a second, they aren't allowed wands in prison!" and had to go back and re-read a bit to get it straightened out.

What I mean to say is that you've got such a good hang of having events flow smoothly that - for me at least - you made it too smooth and I got a bit confused. If you'd stick a few more "I remembered the way..."-s and "I thought back to the time when..."-s, it would be much clearer.

First person narration was the way to go in this case. The use of Sectumsempra against a Death Eater is something I've always hoped to read :) I know, I'm very pro-Gryffindor and pro-Order.

One tingling doubt: you described graphic torture. Are you sure that's allowed on the archives? I got the impression that we can't write the actual SCENE of the torturing, but we can write the way it was in Harry Potter - the narrator was in the cellar, listening to the screams. For all a dimwit, who only read that fragment, Hermione could be standing on a chair, a mouse running around on the floor. -.- (I never liked that scene in the books. I thought it was too shallow - it should have been graphic to get the whole effect of the Cruciatus through, so no little kids would be running around in Death Eater masks... Like some do).

Anyway, this is a great story and I'm very glad that I had a chance to read it! 9/10 (you know I only give tens to stories that compare with "Match" and that most of them have GOOD guys *cough* Marauders or Teddy *cough* in them...)

Adrielne.

Author's Response: No shame for me. Of course I recognize you!

I did want to sort of take a different approach to Rodolphus than what I normally thought of him as. I didn't want him to be so typical.

Hmm. I never thought about that Azkaban thing. I'll take a look at it and thanks for pointing it out. It's very helpful to have people help sort those things out(:

Yeah, I instantly decided against the use of Avada Kedavra on him because it just wouldn't have been as interesting and it wouldn't have left much room for last thoughts, haha.

You know, I'm not sure about that rule. I didn't even really think about it while I was writing. I think I've read much worse on the archives, but who knows? Though I think I ought to be in the clear since it was validated, I mean I'm not a trusted author or anything and it never got rejected for going against the ToS. Hopefully it's alright! And you're very right, I wanted to show the intense pain of the Cruciatis because it's really just an awful, terrible thing and because it relates to Rodolphus' feelings. Obviously, that's not the way we see it reading his thoughts, but it is the way he sees it.

Haha. Well if I ever write a Teddy or Marauder story I'll have to remember to sneak yet another request into your review thread!

Thank you so much Ada! You're a great help and you leave excellent reviews!


 Report Review

Review #15, by moonbaby11 A Place for My Head

17th May 2010:
Hey! Here to review your story! I thought this was really good, and I liked the emotion you put into Rodulphus. I could feel how he felt about Bellatrix.

I never really thought of the fact that Rodulphus might have loved Bella so much. It was really interesting to see that, but I geuss it does make sense! ;)

Your spelling and grammer were really good in here. I really loved this. Good job! The ending was good, since it's stated in canon that he either died or was imprisoned again.

Great one-shot! Keep up the good writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so happy that you liked it, that means so much to me. I tried to stay as canon as possible with it, there were a few things I had to go back and fix, but I think I got it right! Thanks again for the review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by alyosha A Place for My Head

15th May 2010:
Hello. I saw your comment on the forums, and consdering all the reviews you've given me, I decided to pay the favour forward. It's true, your Rodolphus is rather different to mine, isn't he?

Anyway, first of all, I'd like to say that a lot of your lines really stand out to me. Your first sentence is particularly striking. And others too, like this one: "As if he could ever love her back."

There were more that caught me eye, but I feel rather ridiculous quoting them all back at you. In any case, it is interesting to see that Rodolphus had such a waning interest in Voldemort's ideals, but still went along with them for his own selfish purposes. It speaks to the question of why anyone would join the Death Eaters at all. For Bellatrix it was love, for Rodolphus it was love which descended into hate, and for many others there were probably equally selfish reasons, all rationalised by an anti-Muggle philosophy that gave them the release they wanted.

The second half of your story is really quite engaging. You write action very well, something I, as you probably know, am really quite terrible at. Usually action packed scenes have a barrage of short sentences to relay the action. It is weird that you have an equal balance of short and sharp sentences, and also some longer ones, but still somehow end up with a fast paced experience.

It is a deserving end that Rodolphus died the way he did, with no applause or fanfare; he just died. But for some reason, there is still pity and sympathy to be had for him. He did kind of die sadly. It really was a fitting end, to have his life cut short in such a neglected way, because he had been neglected by his love for all his life too. There was symmetry there.

Anyway, overall, it is a good story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! You seemed to have caught the essence of the story perfectly and words cannot describe how much that means to me.

I adored writing about Rodolphus because the point I was trying to make was that he is NOT a good person. At all. He is selfish and cruel but yet, I wanted the reader to pity him because he was in love with someone who didn't love him back. I'm so glad that you caught that conflict of traits.

Also I love that you think the mix of short, choppy sentences and longer, flowing sentences works out. I did try rather hard to get some sort of an effect there, haha.

And I never thought of myself as good at writing action scenes, but I'm extremely happy that you liked it. I labored over that part of the story.

Thank you a million times over for such a fantastic review. It means the world to me.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login