Reading Reviews for Floating
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Siriuslover177 Submergence to Emergence

12th August 2011:
That was one the the saddest one-shots I think I have ever read.
You wrote it so beautifully, and had so much emotion in the words you wrote, it brought me to tears.
Having Alice struggling, wanting to help her son, Neville out, but knowing that she couldn't.
I could feel the pain that came out of your words, and it just broke my heart.
I love how you didn't have her have some amazing recovery, I mean, it would take the truth, and power out of the story.
It really shows how hard it must be, being in that kind of state.
And when she was falling back into the darkness, the darkness of insanity, it really showed how much she sad came to realize not to struggle, just take it in like an old friend.
It was so, so sad, really ):
Beautifully written though, really, really nice job.

~Siriuslover177
Hufflepuff

Author's Response: Wow. This review made me think about this story in a way I've never before.
"And when she was falling back into the darkness, the darkness of insanity, it really showed how much she had came to realize not to struggle, just take it in like an old friend. "
I never really considered that but I do like to think that that moment with Neville and knowing that he is aware of her love would have helped her to deal with it better as well.
Thank you very much for your lovely and thought-provoking words and for taking the time to review

- Galawen xx


 Report Review

Review #2, by Cleopatraa Submergence to Emergence

9th August 2011:
Happy Hufflepuff Tuesday!!
An interesting idea that she does have her moments of clarity but that she doesn’t able to show him that well except for those papers. It’s really touching and I’m kinda glad she does hear him and she does love him and knows who he is. The part where Frank was mentioned was so sad I felt really bad for her you know. And once again I have to say this was truly a touching piece
- Cleopatra ( Slytherin)

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! :)
I always feel that the Longbottom's story was one of the saddest in the entire series so I'm glad you found this touching :)

Thanks again!
-Galawen xx


 Report Review

Review #3, by Chuu Submergence to Emergence

16th March 2011:
I heard about your story on The Story Seekers show and it make me want to read it.
It's a beautiful story, so touching and sad. It was a very good idea to give us a bit of what could happen behind the mask of Frank and Alice Longbottom, it is very original.

Chuu X3

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much! Original is my favourite word and I'm so happy to see it there! Thanks for reviewing! :)
- Galawen xx


 Report Review

Review #4, by CheeringCharm Submergence to Emergence

20th January 2011:
OH MY! I FOUND IT!
sorry.

It's just that I read this story ages ago wheen i was just new to fanfiction and I forgot the title and was only left with a memory of alot of tears and an amazingly pretty story...

just to put it shortly I love your story and it is amazing because it stays in the mind for a very long time after you've read it.

This is deffinitely one of my favourite fanfiction stories and I really think you portrayed both Neville and Alice in a fantastic way, no one could have done it any better or the story any richer.

tears are streaming yet again because of the beautiful sadness in your masterpiece...

*huggles*

Author's Response: You have no idea how happy you've made me. Seriously the thought that you read my story and then went looking for it again is just so NICE!!
I've said it before, but even though crying isn't usually a good thing I'm just so glad that this managed to provoke such an intense reaction from you and thank you so so so much for saying this is one of your favourite stories.
THANK YOU again =)
- Galawen xx


 Report Review

Review #5, by LilyFire Submergence to Emergence

26th December 2010:
Merry Christmas!
I love how you did this. I can see Neville sitting there talking to his Mom, and that she could hear him sometimes just makes it…better. And I'm glad you don't have him grinning like an idiot because he killed the snake, because Voldemort is dead. I like it better that he's looked around and saw the price it came at and while others may be laughing it off, it really has shown him the true price of freedom. He found his bravery, he has proven himself, and now I'm sure he would take it all back.
I'm…well, glad isn't the right word, but it's the only one that comes to mind right now…that you show how he respected Remus even though he didn't really have much contact with him after his third year. It's shows how much Remus meant to him by helping his self-eestem.
Again, another beautiful story.
~LilyFire

Author's Response: HiHi!
Thankfully I have never been in a situation of suffering myself but I've always thought that when everything ends and peace returns that doesn't necessarily mean people are happy. They've lost too much and seen too much to ever go back to how they were and Neville strikes me as too empathetic and caring a person to be able to throw his pain and the others' pain aside.
Remus and Neville have certain similarities in their personalities I think - both find it hard to make friends albeit for different reasons, and both have secrets that cause them much pain so I always thought that Neville would have had a lot of respect for Lupin :) Also I have to admit that Remus' death upset me the most in the entire book so this may be a bit of my feelings slipping in as well!
Thanks yet again! :)
- Galawen xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by DeliciousDreamer Submergence to Emergence

22nd October 2010:
Wow.
This made me cry, and smile. I don't think we ever really get to explore what happened to Alice and Frank, and Neville, in the books and so I'm glad that someone has taken it upon themselves to delve into Alice's mind and share some of her thoughts.
A beautiful cherry blossom for the author, because it's beautiful, like the words of this story.

Author's Response: Oh that last sentence is so sweet, thank you so much!

Whilst I should never be happy to have made someone cry, I am happy that this made you feel both emotions because I was going for a mix of sorrow and hope and you seem to have gathered that perfectly :)

Thank you so so much for your lovely words and just for reviewing :)
- Galawen xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by propertyoftheHBP Submergence to Emergence

17th August 2010:
Oh. Oh, oh, oh. This is so sad. I think it makes the Alice/Frank/Neville situation even more tragic, just because of how she's there, but can't make it known. And yet on another thought, it's bittersweet, because at least she's there in one way and one time or another.

Alice's character was so perfect. Her thoughts were complex but...sadly simple for obvious reasons at the same time. Around the middle of the piece where Neville's telling his parents about the war being over Alice has frantic thoughts which are preceded and succeeded by a huge amount of ellipses much longer than the standard three periods. In most stories I'd offer advice saying that it's grammatically incorrect and takes away from the polished look of a story...but here it fits beyond belief. It shows her franticness and slipping in and out of conciousness so well and really illustrates that she is gone, to a degree. So I liked that. :)

And the parts where Frank is mentioned? It's so sad I could really, truly cry. Because he could very much be in the same exact state that Alice is. And he could very much...not be. Then Neville can't tell that his mother's there...it's so heartbreaking, and it's the perfect response to the everlasting question about what in the world the gum wrappers mean.

I love the point in time that you set this, right after the battle, even so close after that Neville isn't even changed out of the robes he fought in. It makes the emotion so much more strong on Neville's part and helps Alice realize everything...

Needless to say, I loved this so much. It was a fantastic idea and absolutely deserved to be on StorySeekers. :) Wonderful job. 10/10

Author's Response: Oops sorry about the delay responding! I'm really glad you liked this :). Your point about the ellipses is dead on because I wanted it to take away from the polished look of that part of the story. There was no control or order in her thoughts so I felt my writing may as well lose a little structure too! :)
When I was writing I never really thought too much about Frank to be honest! I was concentrating on Alice but the more people mention it the more pity I feel for him. So reviews like yours have taught me more about my own character! So thank you so much for that and for taking the time to review especially if you heard about it on Story Seekers! :)
THANKS again!!!
xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by Jolly Submergence to Emergence

5th August 2010:
I read this story because I was going to listen to Story Seekers #9 and I like to read the stories before I listen because sometimes they give away parts of the story and I just have to say that this story is brilliant! I mean really!

It made me cry. No, I am not just typing that, or I am not just typing 'cry' when I really only almost cried, because actual tears were rolling down my cheeks.

You really brought the whole tragedy and sadness of Neville's situation to life and I also think you were able to capture Neville very well. I really like these sentences:

I knew he had it though; I always knew my child, my son was brave. Maybe not in an obvious way, maybe not in the manner that would draw attention and accolades. But in a way that gave him the strength to sit there day after day with me; speaking without ever knowing if anyone was actually listening, without knowing if I understood.

That part was just sooo sad, but the actual part that really got me crying was...

"Not only Fred Mum, Professor Lupin and his wife are gone too, and so many students, so many that I barely knew by sight let alone their names, are dead; their bodies litter the grounds of Hogwarts, intermingled with those of Death Eaters."

The fact that Neville couldn't bring himself to be happy even though Voldemort was dead was just so heart-breaking and just...urgh. *restrains from starting to cry again*

Anyway... You get what I'm saying. You're fantastic, you're story is fantastic and I loved it.

*off to add it to my favourites*

Hugs,
-Jolly

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much!!! I am seriously overwelhmed by the response this story has gotten and although I am sorry I made you cry I am glad that it inspired such an intense reaction! Thank you a million times for your review, they make me feel so happy!! :)
-xx


 Report Review

Review #9, by scooterbug8515 Submergence to Emergence

1st August 2010:
This was quite good I loved how you portrayed Alice. It was very touching when she conveyed all her feelings as best should could in that one moment. You did a splendid job of doing such a unique perspective and it really got to me because I happen to have a small affinity for Frank and Alice. Admittedly this almost made me cry. Very well done! 10/10

Author's Response: Is it awful of me to say I'm really happy it nearly made you cry?? Lol what I mean is I'm so glad this seems to have struck a note with people and thanks you so very much for taking the time to review! :)
- xx


 Report Review

Review #10, by lauraf68 Submergence to Emergence

9th July 2010:
Oh my. {Sniff}

Poor Alice, I so wanted her to be able to have a miraculous recovery to reach out, hug Neville, and celebrate with him! But I knew that wasn't probably possible. Sitting on the edge of my seat I was hoping she would be at least be able to reach him to let him know she was there. It may have only been a grip and a touch, but I think for Neville it was the world!!

Awesome, 10/10 and then some more!! ~Lauraf68

Author's Response: Yes I thought any response at all after years of nothing would have meant the world to Neville :)
Thank you and I'm really glad you liked it!
- xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by RupertsPheonix Submergence to Emergence

8th July 2010:
Love love love that she can finally communicate with him at some level. Really beautiful thought. Also a wonderful thought to think of Neville telling them everything, confiding in them about the final battle.

Great job!

--Kate/RP

Author's Response: I always thought it would be one of his first actions, seeing as they were a huge motivation for him participating at all. Thank you for taking the time to review and I'm so happy that people seem to like it! :)
- xx


 Report Review

Review #12, by Singularity Submergence to Emergence

25th June 2010:
This was a gorgeous story. Seriously, it is so beautiful to see the interaction between Neville and his mum, and to think that the gum wrappers mean as much to her as they do to him. I absolutely love everything about this story. The emotional level is right there, you haven't taken it over the top. It seems realistic, with Alice just doing a tiny bit more to show Neville that she understands (as opposed to being cured, speaking, etc.). Neville is one of my all time favorite characters. This story simultaneously broke my heart and gave me so much hope. Very well done.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! I wanted to stay away from 'miraculous' cures because I felt like it was so improbable and as far as I'm concerned the fact that Neville's been dealing with the reality of his parent's condition for so long is such an integral part of him. I'm really glad you liked it and thanks again for reviewing :)
- xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by BigTiggaPwnz Submergence to Emergence

18th June 2010:
I'm crying. Beautiful work right here. If you add a bit more emotion, we'll need another ark. Great job.

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much! I never know if the emotion I feel as I write comes across well, but I guess you got it :)
Thank you very very much for your review :)
- xx


 Report Review

Review #14, by keroberros Submergence to Emergence

24th May 2010:
Wow. I just want to quickly say that that was so amazing, so powerful and that I am rapidly fanning my eyes so as not to cry.

I loved the full circle effect with the repetition of "My son. My son. My Neville." I rounds it off nicely and I am so glad that you didn't end it with her miraculously being cured as that would have just spoilt the beauty of the piece. That little bit that she had was just so poignant and moving and...I can't continue without crying as I already had to stop writing this once.

I can safely say without a shadow of a doubt that I will definitely remember this piece. You incorporated Confucius beautifully here and really turned it in to your own.

I noticed a couple of grammatical issues such as misplaced or missing commas etc but they were so few and far between and your narrative was just so (I really need to find some more synonyms here) beautiful that I couldn't care less really and it didn't detract from what you had written at all

I'm off to get a tissue now but AMAZING! 10/10

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login