Reading Reviews for Crossroads
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ginnypotter242 Crossroads

21st November 2012:
This was such an amazing story! I loved it :) James and Lily's relationship was so cute, and Mrs. Potter seemed so nice! Not the biggest fan of Mr. Potter right now, I'll be honest...but he made the story have that much more depth I suppose. Great writing, it was really enjoyable!

~Sara

 Report Review

Review #2, by OZ123 Crossroads

13th September 2011:
I LOVE this it's so sweet and sad and funny in a weird sort of way.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Tanderule Crossroads

25th August 2011:
Sweet story. I love it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by LooneyChick Crossroads

28th May 2011:
Loved this story also! I'm not sure if you watch the Gilmore Girls, but parts of the plot reminded me so much of Rory and Logan and their situation. Really great, fun read!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I never watched Gilmore Girls regularly, but I know enough about Rory and Logan to know what you mean. I had never thought of that before! Thanks again for the review, and I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Best,

Christine


 Report Review

Review #5, by girly1393 Crossroads

29th January 2011:
James' home seemed colder than I'd ever expected, but I loved what you did with it. The spin was gentle; Mrs Potter is by far my favorite version more or less ever.

Bravo to you.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Akussa Crossroads

20th August 2010:
This was really nice, I loved it! You write very well, the story flows and was flawless in my opinion.
I really like the originality of it; it was the first time I ever read a story depicting James' father in this light and it was a nice change, very believable!
Oh and congratulation on winning the Title Challenge!

Author's Response: Thank you so much--I appreciate the feedback greatly! I'm glad you enjoyed it, and your review certainly made me smile. Thanks again!

Best,

Christine


 Report Review

Review #7, by Adrielne Crossroads

19th August 2010:
REVIEWING: CHALLENGE ENTRY

First off, sorry for only getting around to reading your challenge entry now, but lots was going on and I completely forgot about the deadline I had set for myself!
Hoping that you would forgive me, I shall move on :-)

This is a very, very well-written story! It keeps the reader pulled in all through the story and Mr. Potter’s attitude towards Muggleborns is quite an unexpected twist! What I also like is how the title isn’t blatantly explained by the first few paragraphs, whether in descriptive voice or dialogue.

I enjoyed the characterization of all people and magical creatures involved. What I missed was the tour of the mansion. You could have had Lily wander for a bit longer before she started listening in...

And that brings me to my next point: do you think that she would honestly risk listening in to such a private conversation? I would think she’d be one to walk away and try to forget, but the two Potters’ voices would carry down the marble-floored hallway and she would hear them anyways...

I see some formatting issues: three lines of dialogue are in what looks like text boxes and the triple spacing makes it difficult to read. I know that formatting issues do tend to appear, but it's always great to check how the published piece turned out.

I will post the winners of this challenge on my HPFF blog today or tomorrow.

Thanks!

Adrielne

Author's Response: So sorry for not responding sooner. I, of course, forgive the delay--I certainly understand.

I'm glad you enjoyed the twist on things. I've found that there is a polarized reaction to the family dynamic, and a lot of people really hate that I portray James' father as less than favorable. I'm happy to hear that this depiction didn't turn you away, though.

After reading through my writing again, I completely agree with the length of her wandering through the mansion. I wish I had given myself a bit more time before she began eavesdropping. In terms of her listening to their conversation, I really like your idea of her walking away and hearing the echoes, which draws her back in. If I ever rewrite, I think I'll change that around.

Formatting killed me in this, and I cringe every time I look at the piece as a whole. Unfortunately, I've never been able to fix those three white boxes in the middle of the story... I have no idea why they're there, but there is nothing different in the writing or formatting during those three lines. It's confounded me for ages, and has driven me up the wall.

Anywho, thanks so much for the review and for selecting the piece as the winner. The challenge was a blast, and I had a great time constructing a story for it. Thanks again!

Best,

Christine


 Report Review

Review #8, by missmasquerade Crossroads

17th May 2010:
Honestly, I don't know why this fic hasn't been flooded with hundreds of reviews yet. It was wonderful, and such a pleasure to read.
My weakness really is Lily/James fics, and you did not let me down with this one.
It's so romantic and sweet, and... oh I just loved it so much!
You're an amazing writer!

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so much! I actually tend to get negative feedback for portraying James' father in this way, but it's so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the story. Thanks again for the review! I appreciated it greatly.

Best,

Christine


 Report Review

Review #9, by alexis0599 Crossroads

17th May 2010:
WRITE ANOTHER CHAPTER SOON I LOVE IT. So James's mom is okay with Lily but his dad is not.

Author's Response: Thanks! Unfortunately, this is a one-shot, so there won't be any additions to this. And yes--James' mother secretly accepts Lily. Anywho, thanks for the review! I'm glad you liked it!

Christine


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login