Reading Reviews for That's just life.. In Danish
  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Awy Wizarding Christmas

2nd August 2011:
(Okay, on to writing in English, considering HPFF being an international site ... didn't think of that in my last review. Ahem.)
-
A very interesting continuation of the story. I'm most certainly looking forward to see what'll happen at Grimmauld Place - I'm sure it won't be boring! :)
One of the things I like the most in this story is that nobody seems able to pronounce Laerkes last name. A very realistic detail - and very entertaining.
You have a nice English, easy to read and - after what I noticed - no mistakes. So, bonus point for that, haha!
Oh, and about languages: it would be very amusing to read about Laerke saying something in Danish later, so perhaps that could be in a later chapter?

Eh, and one last thing ... remember the few corrections I made in my last review? Well, I've got them wrong, it wasn't mistakes at all. Sorry, sorry, sorry!

... and I'm also sorry it wasn't that detailed a review, but I don't have so much time to write right now. But, I'm still a fan of the story, so please keep writing, it would be a shame if your story got abandoned; it's very good! ^^

Author's Response: Hi there Awy! I missed you :D Thank you for this very long review! I can't believe you took the time to write so much for me! I'm sorry I didn't tell you about the update as I promised, but I found myself rather addicted to tamora-pierce.dk so I took a long break. It helped :D I really can't wait to write that chapter either (I have just started it!) The thing about the name is one of the things I love the most about this story! I'm glad you didn't find any mistakes :) (Took my oral English exam in June: 12! :D:D:D) I had planned all along to use some Danish language, and I am going to introduce it in the next chapter. I am thinking about having her rant, talk in her sleep or talk with her family over the phone while all the Potters are listening. I am probably gonna go with all of them xD About the mistakes; that is competely fine :) I am just glad you took the time to review at all! I promise I will start writing again very soon. Hopefully this weekend! Thank so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Fiery Ginny Wizarding Christmas

27th July 2011:
GAH you are so amazing!!! :) Love it, just like all your other fics ^_^

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I can't believe you took the time to read and review ALL my stories! Every single on of them! I. LOVE. YOU!

 Report Review

Review #3, by reallifewizard Those bloody three letters

6th June 2011:
W.o.w. Your English is fantastic. In fact, it's probably better than mine, and English is the only language I speak.Your story seems like it will be really good :)

Author's Response: Woah :) Thanks so much! This really means a lot to me.

ekroman


 Report Review

Review #4, by Hermione389 Those bloody three letters

5th June 2011:
I like it! Taking into account the fact that English isn't your first language, I think that this is a very good story. I'll tell you something - I know some people (not on here, though!) who are English through and through, and they can't write for toffee. Honestly, this is a brilliant story.
Hermione389 :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you like the story ^^ Especially because this was written over a year ago, and I have definitely advanced since then :)
ekroman


 Report Review

Review #5, by magicmuggle01 Wizarding Christmas

5th June 2011:
After such a nice chapter, how can I not forgive you for not updating sooner. I loved this chapter, nobody should be alone for christmas. 10/10 and please update very very soon (hint, hint).

Author's Response: Aww thank you! That means so much! I promise I'll try to update soon, but I have a lot going on right now, because I'm moving very urgent, and starting school in 3 weeks with people I don't know ^^ And you are right that no one should be alone for Christmas! Thanks heaps for the good rating :)
ekroman


 Report Review

Review #6, by Dail_Evans You're not a Gryffindor

17th May 2011:
Cool! Now I'm curious... how do you pronounce her name?

Author's Response: If you want to know how to pronounce her name then go to Google Translate and put Lærke Nørregård (copy it from the story or this answer) Then set it to English->Danish and press listen :) That is the exact way to pronounce it :) Thanks so much for the review!

ekroman


 Report Review

Review #7, by magicmuggle01 You're not a Gryffindor

3rd March 2011:
Another fantastic chapter. I love the way that you have the main character not knowing the Potter family history. My rating for this story so far has now gone up to 10/10. Please update soon. Adding you to both fav authors and story so that I can keep track.

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much for all the kind words :) I'll do what I can to update soon :) And thanks for the faves ^^ That means a lot!

- ekroman


 Report Review

Review #8, by magicmuggle01 Getting started isn't always easy

3rd March 2011:
Only one mistake that I noticed, instead of trickered it should have been triggered. Another enjoyable chapter. I have a funny feeling that two new friends are about to emerge. Another 10/10 and onto the next chapter.

P.S. Your English is really very good.

Author's Response: Again thanks for pointing out my mistakes so I can fix them :) thanks for the 10/10 :)

You don't know how much you comments on my English means to me! I love the language, and I really hope that my end of year exam is going to be written English. Especially since one of the other options is oral German -,- Yuck! I. Hate. German!


 Report Review

Review #9, by magicmuggle01 Does it even matter?

3rd March 2011:
Your written English is very good. Hardly a mistake so far in the spelling. If you are using a spell checker on your computer switch the language check to English uk and that should pick up on your mistakes. You only made one spelling mistake in this chapter as far as I could see, and that is stares. In the case of the way you were using the term it should have been spelt stairs. Another great chapter, the getting to know you patter is always good for a chapter, and gives you time to think about the following chapter. Again 9/10. Will now continue to the next chapter.

Author's Response: It really means a lot to me, that you took your time to review all four chapters :) Most people (myself included) only réview the last chapter, so thank you very much! I'm glad that you pointed those mistakes out to me so I can correct them :) I'm editing all my chapters right now, and your corrections helps a lot :)

ekroman


 Report Review

Review #10, by magicmuggle01 Those bloody three letters

3rd March 2011:
I started to read your chapters about the Weasley---Potter kids first then decided to read this story first, I thought I might get a better understanding of the timeline (as you put it). I quite enjoyed this chapter, it made me smile when Professor Vane tried to pronouce the Danish name. I will go onto tghe next chapter. 9/10 so far (rating is subject to change).

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you very much :) it means a lot to me! Hopefully I'll have another chapter up soon.

Hugs from Denmark


 Report Review

Review #11, by CSKDK Those bloody three letters

11th November 2010:
Hi!

OMG, I'm a 15 year old girl from Denmark, too! Hej! :-D


This chapter was a little short, but is only the start. I'll be looking forward to see where you'll take this story. I'll be cool, if you have Lrke meet some of the canon-characters!

I've never heard of a danish school of wizardry (there could never be enough wizards in Denmark, to fill up an entire school!) so, naturally, they'll be send to Hogwarts... though, we didn't hear about foreign students in the books.

Author's Response: Jamen hej da:) That's right, it's only the start :) I never heard of a Danish school of wizardry either, and besides I couldn't write this story in Danish, since the language on HPFF is English.

Hugs ekroman


 Report Review

Review #12, by Tashi Lupin You're not a Gryffindor

28th October 2010:
YAY!! I hope you have more Danish stuff though. I'm starting to dislike the Ravenclaw girls and Scorp was interesting. Honestly, I can't wait till the holiday chapter, because whenever I think of Scandavia I think of the holidaies because of my Grandmum's Norwiegen recipies and the Scadivavian decorations my family digs out.
Anyway, another great chapter, 10/10 :D
Hugs~
Tashi

Author's Response: I will have more Danish stuff don't worry. That was part of the reason I made this story in the start:) I myself do not like with Scorpius being all nice and that, but I didn't want to write him as a new Draco either since this is my story and not JKR's. I can't wait to the holiday chapter either, so maybe I should just hurry up and write it now x) And thanks for the 10/10! ekroman

 Report Review

Review #13, by Tashi Lupin Getting started isn't always easy

28th October 2010:
It's really good. Lily is a lot like Ginny in this chapter. I'm gona go read the next chappie! 10/10
Hugs~
Tashi

Author's Response: Wow thanks! I didn't really think of it that way but yeah she is :) Enjoy then :) I'll put another up as soon as possible!

ekroman


 Report Review

Review #14, by Tashi Lupin Does it even matter?

28th October 2010:
Nice! I love Larce (that's how you prononce her name right?) and Mellisa. It's cool that she has like, 15 cousins. Anyway, It's interesting that Flitwick is head-master and I think the conversation about blood-status is genis! Thanks for the trasalation at the bottom!
Hugs~
Tashi
(10/10 again)

Author's Response: Hmm well yeah kinda.. It's how you would pronounce it best so yeah :) And I'm so glad that you like my OC's .. I think I read somewhere that Flitwick being Headmaster is JKR-canon so that where I got it :) The part about so many second cousins did I take from myself. I think I've got even more though x) The blood-status part was my favorite to write, so I'm happy that you enjoyed it! Hugs ekroman

 Report Review

Review #15, by Tashi Lupin Those bloody three letters

28th October 2010:
It's really good! The only thing that's bothing me is I don't know how the prononce Lrke Nrregrd. It seems really nice, and I want to read more!
9/10
Hugs~
Tashi
p.s. It's short, but I don't mind!

Author's Response: Again thanks! And especially for leaving so many reviews:) If you go to Google Translate and put 'Lærke' and set both boxes to Danish and press listen you'll have an idea.. Only you have to make the 'e' sound longer :) It's not all wrong on 'Nørregård' either. Hugs ekroman

 Report Review

Review #16, by phoenixy_friend You're not a Gryffindor

18th September 2010:
Sorry, but when I read this it always makes me thing of random comics from Scandinavia and the World (credited to Humon). It's a bit funny, really.

Do Danes really sound like their speaking with a potato in their mouths?

Author's Response: Well yeah I see it now. When I first read your review, I didn't know what 'Scandinavia and the World' were, but now I do :) I've just read them recntly, and realised that this was what you meant.

I can't say if we sound like we're speaking with a potato in our mouth. Well not when speaking Danish, since Danish with a potato in the mouth sounds different than without. Only the dialect from the southern part of Jutland (the part of Denmark that is connected to Germany) sounds a little like speaking with a potato in the mouth. When speaking English some people do indeed sound like they're speaking with a potato in their mouth.

Anyway thanks for the review


 Report Review

Review #17, by PinkTori13 Getting started isn't always easy

17th July 2010:
great job! your English is very good. can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Your comment on my English means a lot to me, mainly because I'm not a native speaker of English, and since only Danes speak Danish they make us do both English and German in school. Yuck!

Well just keep reading :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by PinkTori13 Does it even matter?

17th July 2010:
Great chapter! i can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Thanks ! Wow you make me so happy just by reviewing once, so doing it thrice makes me wanna dance. Only I don't want my family to think I'm a nutter X)

 Report Review

Review #19, by PinkTori13 Those bloody three letters

17th July 2010:
bravo! loved the little rant about her name, so funny. I know very few people that actually like thier names. keep up the great work!

Author's Response: Wow thanks! I've been checking for a review since the last chapter got validated and suddenly there's THREE! That's really one of those thing, when you're Danish. People can't pronounce your name! I lived in England, when I was 2, and everyone pronounced my name the English way (Emily), so I kinda built that one on myself :) thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #20, by philly94 Getting started isn't always easy

30th June 2010:
cool plot line, the danish is a nice touch :D
one question though-how do you pronounce her name? I can't figure it out :P
its a good story for your first try, especially if you're not english.
I'll be watching for the next update.

Author's Response: Seriously? You like the whole Danish thing? I was really worried about that one, but I decided to go for it. I can't describe how happy this review made me. Someone who will be watching for the next chapter is more than I ever dreamt of. I've just put another chapter up for validation and the queue is 3 days, so it should be out soon.

No I am not a native speaker of English, so if you really think my story is that good it means SO much to me. English is my second language, whilst German is my third.

And the part on how you pronounce it. I really don't know how to explain it. As answered on another review Danes pronounce quite a few letters different than English people (and other people for that matter) does, but a decent guess would be like "Larke". Make the "e" sound a bit like a sigh and you pretty much has it :) 1.000.000 thanks fot the review, and stay tuned !


 Report Review

Review #21, by J Does it even matter?

16th May 2010:
The minute I saw this I knew I had to read it, you see, I'm swedish, so you being danish made me curious... :) Since english is not my mother tounge either, I'm not the best judge, but I think you're doing a good job with your english. I think the story is well written. But I do wish next chapter will be more eventful, I feel like it hasn't happened very much in the story yet. But good job! :)

Author's Response: Wow.. Thanks so much! A Scandinavian reader :) I know, I know. Very uneventful. Chapter two wasn't really planned, but I just thought it would be a easier way to introduce some people. I promise that the next chapters will be more eventful. Thanks for the nice words :D And thanks so much for the rewiev.

ekroman


 Report Review

Review #22, by albus22  Those bloody three letters

8th May 2010:
this is very cute & original! so how do you really pronounce it?

Author's Response: Thanx so much! This is my first review. How cool :)

Really Professor Vane (the smart ones has already guessed her first name) got it pretty much right. Anyway it's hard to explain. Danes pronunces some letters in a different way than English people do. As I imagined this inside my head she got it as right as she could. Maybe remove the "H" from "Lerche" and it's almost correct. Her last name "Nørregård" is a bit harder to explain, but she got that part almost right as well.

Emilie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login