Reading Reviews for Intimacy
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by parashar_harry Inside...

19th November 2011:
its very realistic
its human nature . bill is really very strong person that he came back which is almost impossible for any male at that moment.
fleur is lucky.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading! I'm glad you found this story realistic. I couldn't bring myself to write Bill (or any Weasley for that matter) being unfaithful. I just love the Weasleys too much and think that they have such strong family values that none of them could ever destroy their family in such a way.

Fleur is definitely lucky :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Georgia Weasley Inside...

6th August 2011:
Ooh, a darker side of marriage. Very realistic and true to life. I liked that you showed the humanity of Bill Weasley. Sometimes the Weasleys are depicted as the perfect family, with no flaws or temptations. Bill is a man, and when things are not as hot as they once were at home they will be tempted. I do appreciate that his moral compass led him home to start over with Fleur. Again, a canon moment that could really have happened. Excellent job.

Author's Response: This is a lot different than what I usually write, and I probably never would have written anything like it, if it weren't for the challenge I was in. That's why I love entering challenges, they can really push you out of your comfort zone :P

Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by StEpH_M Inside...

5th August 2011:
Bill is such a lovely character to write about, you gave him justice. I never expected thoughts like that to ever cross his mind, but you defiantly made it believable through out this whole one shot I was like NO BILL DON’T DO IT! It was lovely to be able to read about him doing something other then fawning over Fleur. I like how you still managed to keep his personality even while he was thinking about cheating on his wife. He still seemed like the loving, nice man that I always thought he was in the books. I also commend you on making him have a little war within his own head as he debated whether what he planned to do was really such a good idea. It really made me able to agree with your ending, that he turns away and goes back home. If you had have just had him thinking about going after his secretary I would have probably been like, ‘where did that come from?’ and not really been able to believe that it was something he would have done.

I also like that even after 12 years of marriage, they may be having their difficulties but I think this dilemma really made him realize just how much Fleur means to him. And I just hope that he went home and should how much he loved her, and they slowly made it back to the relationship they had when they first married. The one full of passion and love. It would be nice to think that people could manage that all on their own.

Just one thing you need to edit; ‘He mentally shook himself.’ You spelt himself wrong just thought you would like to know incase you want to change it.

This is so amazingly done and a lovely short One-shot, I love reading your stories so far, and I think I will end up reading and reviewing them all :)

~ StEpHM, Ravenclaw ~

Author's Response: You write such lovely reviews, Steph. Thank you so much :*

I wrote this story for a challenge. It had to be based on the song quoted and feature Bill, who I had never even considered writing about before.

Originally, Bill was going to go through with it, but at the last minute, I couldn't do that to him. I'm a sucker for happy endings and for the Weasleys, so I wrote it this way instead.

Thanks for pointing out the typo! Seriously, feel free to point them out any time. Its hard to see them in your own work sometimes.

And you may feel free to read my stories any time :) I would absolutely love that!

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #4, by schoenemaedchen Inside...

9th July 2011:
Hi there! Fellow Claw here with your review-battle review!

This was just what I needed today. I was having one of those fan-fiction days where I felt like I was reading the same thing over and over again.

Then I found your story. It is stories like these that always keep me coming back to review, even after disgusting 60 hour work weeks and sometimes the little time I get to enjoy in my marriage.

I've luckily never had to worry about the issues you've brought up, but I'm so happy that you've written about them in this story because they do happen and they happen more often then they think. I also think that the "reality" that JKR brings in her stories (i.e. Snape's less than pleasant childhood or growing up without Parents) are things that simply can't be ignored, even in fanfics.

The way you presented the story was simple yet effective. Often its a split second decision, an emotional impulse that leads us to that one critical, life changing moment.

At first I thought...ahhh I want to read more. For me the story was too short. I don't think this is a bad thing, I think I was just craving more of your writing, more details. I think this really proved that you suck the reader in...and that's the beauty of it.

So simple. So provocative.

A seriously neglected story in your selection, review wise. It deserves lots of reads more. I sincerely hope I can discover many more wonderful, creative, and thoughtful stories just like this :)

All the best
-schoenemaedchen ( GO CLAWS )

Author's Response: I think I've told you before that I love your reviews, because I love your reviews. :)

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. It's been awhile since I've looked at this story, so I'm glad you chose to review it. I have a fairly simplistic writing style, and probably need to work on fleshing things out a bit more. I'll take another look at this story and see if I can do that a bit more.

Thank you so much for all of your kind remarks. I'm really glad that you enjoyed this story and found it different and interesting.

~Singularity
('Claws for the Cup!)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Pacific Wizard Inside...

17th December 2010:
Singularity: Lol...This is very sensitive ground for any married man or woman to tread no matter how long they have been married. Talk about being on the spot! But I'm not one to shy away from risk when I know it has good reason to be attempted. So, here goes...

First, intimacy and passion are very important to a relationship as we all know. In my mind, it is a by-product of something much deeper. I was very surprised when reading Deathly Hallows about how Fleur stepped up to the plate when Bill was injured by Greyback. She showed the depth of her feelings for Bill that went way beyond physical and emotional attraction. Their souls and hearts had bonded in mind and spirit as well as physically and emotionally long before this tragedy had happened. What does that mean?

Have you ever walked into someone's home and at first sight its not very attractive, doesn't have great curb appeal, they don't have the newest furnishings and the place needs paint. But you feel comfortable for some reason because you can tell that the home has been "lived" in. The people there are comfortable in their home and in their skin. They have laughed, cried, succeeded, failed, experienced new life and maybe death...but they did it in this not so fashionable home...together. Why? Because they bring out the best in each other, especially when it counted. Just like you did with Bill in your story. This was Bill's chance to step up and he did. You have him reflecting back on Fleur, as it should be. I'll wager that the example set by Arthur and Molly had a hand in it as well. Bill knows too that Fleur stayed with him when it would have been understandable if she wanted to "rethink" her options. That is, if she were not the person she was.

I'm a two-time cancer survivor and sometimes people think of me as some sort hero tough guy for coming through it twice. I wasn't the hero. My wife and care-giver was and is the hero. She stuck with me through the discovery, procedures and the recovery. The surfer boy looks have faded some (chemo can do that to you) but I'm still her very own beach boy.

We have intimacy and passion. Sometimes life events and mundane routines can make you forget to communicate mentally, spiritually and physically. You don't make time... for quality time together and there can still be temptations. I guess what I'm really trying to say is that my wife helps me be the best person I can be, as God had intended. You don't forget that when it's time to make a life changing decision.

I hope that I haven't offended you or anyone else with my thoughts on this subject. You struck a chord with this story and I am very glad you wrote it. Many readers will appreciate what you wrote here. I did. Well Done. PW

Author's Response: First of all, I'm incredibly difficult to offend, so no worries there. But, to the contrary, I feel privileged to learn more about you, PW. I've always felt that writing a story is only half of the equation, the other half comes from the interpretation of the reader, so I absolutely love hearing what this story brought to your mind.

I think we were all taken aback by Fleur's reaction to Bill's injuries. We all, like Molly, thought that their relationship was superficial, based at least primarily on physical attraction. But Fleur really proved that wasn't the case. Their relationship goes much deeper than that. I think Bill realizes that in this story.

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and a tiny piece of your life with me. Your wife sounds amazing.

As always, but especially in this instance, I immensely appreciate your reviews, PW.

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #6, by Marauders001 Inside...

26th June 2010:
'Ello! I thought I'd check out your stories so you might get mass reviews .-.

First of all, I love that song heaps, so I listened to it while I read this :)

I love the idea for the story because we're kind of given the idea that Bill is cool and awesome, and the way you have someone so much younger than him attracted to him kind of brought that out more.

I think the way you describe Bill and Fleur's relationship was fresh, because in the books we see that they're so in love and we don't catch hints of them drifting apart, but I think the way you've made it out - that with all the kids and work, they have no time for each other - is quite normal and believable.

I almost thought he'd do it, but the fact that he thought of his wife and children before he went in was a great idea, I like that he turned back and stopped himself :)

You have yourself a great story here, thanks for the great read.

Author's Response: Thanks for checking out my story and taking the time to leave a review. I'm ok with mass reviews, you know. In fact, that sounds pretty supermega-awesome :P No pressure, though, this one review already makes me super happy :D

It always seemed to me that Bill is the kind of guy who would have women falling all over themselves, and I don't think that a few years would change that much.

I'm glad you found Bill and Fleur's relationship to be believable. Their relationship seemed to be characterized by this intense, passionate love. When Bill was attacked, we were able to see that it actually runs deeper than that, but I think at it's heart, it is based on this fiery passion. This passion will fade with time, but it doesn't mean the relationship is doomed to failure. It just takes time and effort.

Honestly, I kind of thought that Bill was going to go through with it too, but at the last moment, that Weasley loyalty really came through. I'm glad. I would have had a hard time publishing a story that had Bill (or any of the Weasleys for that matter) being unfaithful.

Thanks again for the lovely review. It is very much appreciated!


 Report Review

Review #7, by KAVYA Inside...

13th May 2010:
brilliant absolutely brilliant.terrific...loved it.besides that sounds so much like bill

Author's Response: It was my first time writing Bill, so I'm glad you thought he was true to character. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by LindaSnape Inside...

11th May 2010:
Oh, this was so terribly sad, and yet I loved it! It was absolutely beautiful despite the fact it was so depressing. I felt so terrible for Bill.

However, I also feel that this piece is realistic. Sometimes, people feel as if they're falling out of love with their mates. Why else would people cheat with others yet insist that they're madly in love with their husband or wife?

Fortunately, Bill thought before he made that mistake.

I like this characterization of Bill. Most people portray him as a strong he-man that isn't flawed except for his temper. This made him flawed and thus made him more realistic. After all, I feel characters are meant to portray people. I don't like characters that are simply static. Here, he seems very human.

I couldn't help but dislike the secretary. Although, that's simply because I hate cheaters. I think that most people do. (Even cheats themselves, but that's another story, entirely).

I was glad that Bill could stop himself, but I'm sure that he'll have to live with the guilt of what he had almost done.

As far as spelling, flow, and grammar went - they went swimmingly from what I saw. I didn't pick up on any shifting tenses, spelling or grammatical errors, or improper verb tenses. So kudos.

I always appreciate fanfictions that have that polished look.

I enjoyed this very much! Thanks for sharing this.


Linders

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for such a thoughtful and thorough review. It is very much appreciated. I've never written about Bill before, so I'm glad you thought his characterization was realistic. I feel like relationships change and we have to change with them if we want to make them last. Everyone faces temptation, but Bill is a Weasley and I see them as being really loyal, so I couldn't let him go through with it. Your review really made my day. Thanks again, Linda :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login