Reading Reviews for At The Hour
  
28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan Dominus Tecum

8th June 2013:
Wow. I can't say I was surprised, given Cecilia's father's law - I was almost expecting this. Especially in a time of war like that, not all of them could realistically get through it alive. But that didn't make it any easier to read. Especially from Siobhan's POV - that girl had enough to deal with as it was without the death of her closest friend. And with Cecilia being so happy in the first chapter, cutting roses and excited about her life. Ugh so sad :( (but very well written.)

Author's Response: I'm glad this particular plot twist fits with the overall plot. I wanted it to be surprising but not to the point where it doesn't make sense, kwim? It's meant to be hard and painful. It was painful to write - I really liked Cecilia and didn't want to kill her off. And I hated doing it to Siobhan. Sometimes you have to be cruel to make the plot work though. Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by RIP Cecilia Dominus Tecum

2nd January 2013:
NONONONO
I am so upset right now.
You have no idea how much I just cried.
She was my favorite character.

why

Author's Response: I know :( I was sad to kill her off. I really loved her character.

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by George Whitman Dominus Tecum

29th July 2012:
You've caught me off guard by killing off Cecilia. She and Siobhan are my favorite characters. It never occurred to me that you would kill Cecilia off. I thought maybe Siobhan. I figured on Cecilia's father because of his work but somehow I always imagined Cecilia would be spared. I'm still a little in shock, I barely believe it but this takes the series into a direction that we knew was coming and there can be no sadder way then killing off such a beloved character. It was unusual to see Siobhan in an emotional state and I am eager to see her in the future. Poor Reid, this was so well crafted because of how normal everything was as the death eaters struck. It's a sad and powerful depiction of the times. Well done.

Author's Response: Ah I meant it to be a shock, I did hint at it but I was hoping to still catch people off-guard, so yay success! I was sad to kill off Cecilia, because I quite liked her character, but it had to be done. She was the best catalyst for the next progression of the story. I still have plans for Siobhan later, I want to write more about her. Poor Reid. I have a few more things posted about the Unsinkable group, including Reid. Thank you very much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Moonyxluna Dominus Tecum

28th December 2011:
Oh poor Siobhan.. she is one of my favorites as well. (I don't even want to think about poor Reid!)
Unfortunatly I understand why it had to happen, with the war coming for them, and her dad's involvement.

:(
You wrote her emotion very well, it almost brought me to tears. Unfortunatly it's 2 a.m. here and I need sleep, so the elopement will have to wait for tomorrow!

Author's Response: I know :( It really did make everything else happen though, so it had to be done. Get your sleep, and thank you so much for the review! Let me know what you think of Over the Anvil :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Moonyxluna Gratia Plena

28th December 2011:
NOOO! What about running away with Reid!? I love them almost more than Arthur and Molly. Why!?

I'm sad, and way too into this series.

Author's Response: Sad I know :( I loved them too. There are still a few more stories past this one though, so you'll get some more Reid, and the other characters. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Singularity Dominus Tecum

14th August 2011:
I'm really glad you wrote this from Siobhan's perspective. I've always wanted to see more from her, and it's really heartbreaking to read her reactions. Cecilia was really the only person she was close to and now that's gone.

"there was nothing but her, the murmured words, and the soft feel of Cecilia's hand in hers, a universe in a moment."

That line really hit me. It's really beautiful. I also love the inclusion of the prayer, even though neither Siobhan or Cecilia were religious. Sometimes, especially when someone dies, prayer just seems like the right thing to do, whether you believe in it or not.

I really worry about Siobhan. I don't see her handling this well. And Reid...oh, he's not going to take it well either. Especially since he was there so shortly before it all happened.

I understand why you had to do this. It's unrealistic to think that they could all survive the war unscathed, and with the legislation Mr. Fletcher was trying to pass, he's a target.

I'm looking forward to a little more Molly/Arthur romance. I could definitely see this being a catalyst for the two of them to run off together. When you don't know how long you have, it's best not to waste a moment.

~Singularity
(Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: I did write a chapter showing Reid's reaction (from Arthur's POV) but I liked this as a two-part story so it never got posted. I think it's more powerful showing the two girls.

Cecilia was really the only family Siobhan had, her "person" (as they say on Grey's Anatomy), and finding her body really cracks Siobhan for a while. It takes her a long time to recover, but she hides it better than Reid will, because she keeps her feelings tamped down at almost all times. It isn't healthy, really, but Siobhan was damaged to start with, poor thing.

I really did feel like this was a necessary plot twist to set the rest of things in motion that had to happen. Starting off the cascade into canon, you know?

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Singularity Gratia Plena

14th August 2011:
Gah! See? I knew I should've just stopped after What it's Worth. :( I don't know why I was so blindsided by this. I've been worried for Cecilia ever since her father's pro-muggle legislation started.

I think it's because you lulled us into such a false sense of security. Cecilia was happily thinking of the future, Mr. Fletcher's legislation was almost passed, they were sitting down to dinner, then BANG! It all falls apart. I mean, obviously, that's they way it would happen. Death Eaters don't wait for a convenient time to attack, but it was just so sudden and somehow unexpected, which is quite a feat really. So nice job on that.

I wanted Cecilia to just leave so badly, but that's not her. She doesn't run away. She confronts her problems. Of course she would stay with her parents.

I'm still really sad though :( I really liked Cecilia, and Cecilia/Reid, and Cecilia and Siobhan. Sad day...

~Singularity
(Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Ah, sorry. But it's supposed to be blindsiding - the brutal wiping-out of the entire family. The false sense of security at the beginning is deliberate too. I'm glad it managed to be unexpected and shocking despite being hinted at in What It's Worth, although I'm sorry to do that to everyone.

No, Cecilia wouldn't run away. It's not her. She always stands and fights.

Thank you for reviewing. And sorry again. I really liked her too.


 Report Review

Review #8, by artemisia Dominus Tecum

29th March 2011:
So so so sad! I started crying at the very end. I really became atatched to her, she reminds me of my best friend. :(
Poor cecilia :(
Wonderful story's though!! Keep up the good work!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it, despite the sadness. I didn't want to kill her off, I liked Cecilia too.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Timstearns2 Dominus Tecum

18th February 2011:
Powerful. Well done. The prose is beautiful. Siobhan's emotions are so real. This is how I felt when I had family die.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Georgia Weasley Dominus Tecum

25th November 2010:
I don't know how I missed this one! The contrast between the cozy, comfortable scenes of home in the beginning and the tragic desolation of the end is jarring. But in a good way. You have such a way with emotional description, putting the reader right there with Siobhan. Her reaction was so typically her, and you knew that was the end of Siobhan being close to anyone. The part about saying the rosary for Cecilia nearly did me in. I'm so glad you didn't bring Reid into this, I might not have survived. Excellent, as always. ~GW

Author's Response: I thought you'd read it! I wrote this one to really be death as a slap in the face. Cecilia was so bright and full of life, and then is snuffed out in an instant. I'm glad Siobhan's reaction seemed in character. It is the end of her getting close to anyone for quite some time - almost 20 years. ;) She's not a devout Catholic by any means, but she is very Irish and it's sort of bred into her. I actually did write a Reid chapter, but never posted it. If you want to read it, hit me up and I'll send it to you. :) Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Aidenk77 Dominus Tecum

2nd September 2010:
Wow. I didn't see that coming. Exceptionally well written, powerful and heart-wrenching. On to the next story!

Author's Response: I'm glad I managed to surprise a few readers with this plot twist :) Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Alopex Dominus Tecum

11th July 2010:
*is aghast* No, not at the story. At myself. It's nearing three months since I've left you a review, and you've posted a lot since then! Then again, I did take a break and didn't really review much of anything during that time, so it wasn't just you I neglected.

Anyway. Phew. No, I won't flame you. That would be silly. This chapter had to happen, and I love it when authors are relentless, forcing the readers to face unpleasant things. I recall in the last chapter that you really fleshed out Cecilia's plans for the future, making it seem all the more horrible when she was killed. Now that future must go on without her.

It was a bit wrenching, knowing that Cecilia and her family have been killed, and knowing that Siobhan is innocently about to discover them. She seemed so happy at the beginning, and we all know Siobhan isn't the happiest girl. It was cruel of you to do that to her, but fitting as well. It makes sense that she would be the one to find the Fletchers, and who better to use to show the impact of Cecilia's death?

I loved the appearance Molly and Arthur made. I know Siobhan wasn't the closest to them, but they were still friends, and it was encouraging to know they were there for her, even if she wouldn't really allow them close.

I wonder if we'll be reading more about Siobhan's future in future stories? It sounds like she has an interesting future in store for her, even if she is effectively leaving Molly and Arthur's lives. (Effective way to reduce your cast list, lol. You do have a LOT of characters. Thank goodness not everyone has to die!)

Author's Response: "Effective way to reduce your cast list" - Okay I totally cracked up at this. XD It's so true. I have a list to keep them all straight. Actually my notes files on the Unsinkable-verse runs close to 80 pages. It's quite ridiculous haha. Yes, I have to admit, it's sort of a relief to be down a few characters.

To give some further info on how Molly turned up (I actually put this in that third chapter I mentioned in other review responses, but since I didn't post it, here goes): Out of the other Gryffindor girls, Siobhan was next closest to Molly. When she got her Apparition license, her "next of kin" emergency contacts were Cecilia and Molly. She has no one else.

I suppose it is relentless, isn't it? War and death and life, all of it. Never thought of it quite that way, that writing about them makes an author relentless, but I must admit I'm quite flattered. Thank you. And all very cruel at the same time, too, as you said - Cecilia's plans for her future, Siobhan's brief contentment (inasmuch as she feels that, which is a relative term for her at this point in her life) with her life. And now all torn apart.

Thank you so very much for the review! I'm unspeakably glad to see your reviews again. I definitely missed hearing your always insightful thoughts :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by RonsGirlFriday Dominus Tecum

9th July 2010:
Oh wow, I don't even know where to start. First off, I am really glad you made this chapter about Siobhan and not Reid. I love Reid, but the bond between Siobhan and Cecilia has its own power and value that deserves to be explored. The whole chapter was so incredibly sad and I felt like crying. Siobhan's grief and anger and feelings of isolation are palpable, and it's all the more sad because Siobhan has nothing left.

I loved the incorporation of the prayer, and on that note, I think the story title and chapter titles are brilliant and well suited to the story - probably more so to the second chapter than the first, but overall they really set the tone.

The writing in this chapter is really evocative, and I especially like these lines:

there was nothing but her, the murmured words, and the soft feel of Cecilia's hand in hers, a universe in a moment

She knew she had to leave. Cecilia had kept her tied to the British Isles, her wandering spirit tethered by her love for her best friend, her soul's sister. Now she was cut free, and she could feel the wide world calling to her. It was time to go.

It's just really powerful. I feel like calling my best friend right now to say hello and tell her I miss her. How absolutely cheeseball of me is that??

Anyway, the question might be premature since I don't know how much Siobhan will feature in "Over the Anvil," but will we learn what happens to Siobhan and get any follow-up on what she decides to do after this? I feel so broken-hearted for her.

Author's Response: I wrote this half of the story first, oddly enough. And then I wrote Cecilia's half, and considered it finished. This was about a year ago, maybe more. Shortly before posting it, I re-read it and got a bug in my head and wrote most of a third chapter, from Arthur's perspective. He's the one who tells Reid what happened. I may never finish it and will probably never post it, but I enjoyed writing it.

Titles are the bane of my existence, so I was really happy to work these out. I really felt they meshed, so thank you so much for the compliments on them. And I'm glad the story touched you - I was really feelin' it when I wrote it, so thank you for calling it powerful.

"OTA" has some of what happens to Siobhan. You'll hear a bit at the end of it. The rest of Siobhan's fate, I've got a partially-written post-DH piece that I'm debating finishing off, and it will show what happened to her. I do have her future mapped out, I assure you ;) At the very least, if I never finish that one, I will post about her character.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by RonsGirlFriday Gratia Plena

9th July 2010:
TERRIBLE! Cecilia! No!

I had a feeling it would happen, because I figured her family would have been blacklisted due to her dad's politics. But I love Cecilia, and I love Cecilia/Reid, so to not see them get to run off together is heartbreaking. And I do like that the words Cecilia wanted to hear were "Run away with me," rather than "Marry me." I suppose they're not necessarily mutually exclusive, but it seems so like them, to just want to take off together and then sort it all out whenever.

I peeked at your review responses and noticed you said you'd been planning on doing this since early in Unsinkable! Crazy! I definitely wouldn't have seen it coming that far back. Apart from being completely twisted and killing off an OC I have become more attached to then most other OC's I've ever read, I can't believe you've been planning it the entire time!

Anyway, she went out like I would have expected her to, trying to avenge her parents rather than escaping and saving herself. It only seemed right for her character - I don't think she would have been Cecilia if she had taken the other route.

Author's Response: Ah, yes, whether or not there would actually have been a marriage involved in the running away together is sort of up for debate - even Reid may never know whether it would have happened. Poor guy.

Yeah, when I first started turning Unsinkable into a full novel-length instead of the short story it started out to be, I sat down one day and thought about what would happen to all their friends. And I was sure one of them would die, and it was always going to be Cecilia. I feel bad, but the continuation of the story just didn't work without it. I really like her and didn't want to kill her off. There's an AU in my head where she and Reid marry (after a few years) and she's a high-powered barrister in the Ministry, and they have two kids. But it didn't happen. *sigh*

I definitely can't see her running away. She would fight, even if she knew she was outmatched hopelessly.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by GinnyCullen Dominus Tecum

15th June 2010:
That was heart breaking. I cried like a baby. I understand why Cecilia had to die though. As if to prove the first war had started.

Great job I loved it and plan to read everyone of your stories (I already have read 9 of them)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it, despite the sadness. And I hope you let me know what you think of the other stories! I always enjoy reading your reviews.

 Report Review

Review #16, by GinnyCullen Gratia Plena

15th June 2010:
This chapter was beautifully written but I must say it was about the saddest thing I have read in along time. Cecilia was one of my favorite characters in the unsinkable stories. I was wanting her and reid to live happily ever after.

But I do believe this fits the times better. Great job.

Author's Response: I kind of wanted a happily ever after for Reid and Cecilia too, but I've had her slated to die since early in "Unsinkable". It got to the point where I couldn't imagine the story any way but with the Fletchers' murder. But it is good to hear that you liked the character that much :) Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by LindaSnape Dominus Tecum

18th May 2010:
I read this some time ago, but I hadn't reviewed it yet, I'm sorry about that. I feel bad for waiting so long to review on something that I really enjoyed.

The writing in this was beautiful. It was really emotional and moving. Not to mention it was almost quite poetic in some parts and I really liked how you managed to pull that off whilst still pushing a plot driven story. That was quite genius of you!

The characterizations in this were gripping and moving, and seemed quite realistic. I know what it's like to be pulled down to a place because of one person and then have them ripped away from you. It does give the sense of urgency to flee.

As far as I can recall there were no spelling or grammatical errors that I picked up on, so kudos there. It's always nice to be pulled into a story and not be jarred with those distractions.

Lovely work!

If you couldn't tell from my gushing already, I absolutely adored this. It was sad and tragic, but it was also very real. Not everything in life is rainbows and unicorns as much as we wish that it could be.


Linders

Author's Response: I always appreciate reviews, whenever they come! I didn't know you were reading the Unsinkable-verse, that's cool :) I hope you liked it.

Orthography is one of my strong points, if I may brag a moment :) I don't use a beta, so I just re-read a few times and hope to catch all the typos.

I actually wrote this about two years ago. It was sort of a relief to finally post it. It's been through many revisions since then in the first half, but Siobhan's finding the bodies has remained much the same. It is pretty tragic :/

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by theelderwand Dominus Tecum

8th May 2010:
No flames, just a few tears.

Speechless.

You've packed so much into such a short span of writing, its hard to process it all.

The Wizarding War has exploded on the scene and the destruction its left in its wake is overwhelming. I really am at a loss for words here.

Superb writing.

TEW

Author's Response: I knew people would be upset, I'm glad there's a level of acceptance for this particular development in the series. Poor Siobhan. Yes, definitely the war is on, and it's already causing destruction in people's lives. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #19, by theelderwand Gratia Plena

8th May 2010:
I knew this day would come, but I've been dreading it.

Sorry, kind of at a loss for words.

The writing was excellent. You've set the mood so well in the begining, so much so, I never expected this chapter to end this way. I still thought there was time. And, I suppose, that was the point. You always think there'll be another tomorrow until there won't. Well done that.

I still hold out hope that Cecilia survived, but not much.

An excellent chapter, though painful to read. Must say, I've become attached to your OC's.

I simply must read on. Sorry for the shortness of this review.

TEW

Author's Response: Yes, it was hinted pretty broadly (or I thought, anyway, I was worried I'd dropped too many hints) that Cecilia's family was in imminent danger. I'm glad I still managed to get the shock of the attack in the story, despite the highly-telescoped plot twist. I was attached to her as well, but no chance of her survival, I'm afraid. The way I pictured this was the point at which she stops at the top of the stairs was her moment of choice - she could have escaped and lived, but her family was more important to her.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Rachel Dominus Tecum

30th April 2010:
Aah, what are you doing? I'm so sad... :-( I won't flame you. I understand that this kind of thing often has to happen. It really makes me hate how empathic I am, though, because I feel the same things the characters do, you know?

Anyhow... I'm sure that you have good reasons for doing what you're doing. Aaaah... I feel so bad for Reid! :-( Lots of sadness from me.

Author's Response: *sigh* I know, I really didn't want to kill her, to be honest. I've been working up to this for over a year now, actually. The Siobhan half of this chapter was written way back when I first finished "Unsinkable". It's been significantly edited since then, but yeah... Killing off Cecilia made me very sad as well, believe me. Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Katie Dominus Tecum

27th April 2010:
I'm so...

I cannot beging to tell you that, since beginning to speed-read 'The Unsinkable Molly Prewett' just two days ago, how attached to these characters I have become - especially Cecilia and Reid, who I love.

As a writer, I understand that her death was necessary, but oh, Cecilia. I feel as though I've lost a wonderful friend I just met.

Author's Response: I'm pretty attached to them too :( In my head, there's an AU where Cecilia did escape out the attic and lived, and she and Reid marry and argue for the rest of their lives. But it wasn't as interesting of a story, and didn't provide the needed catalyst for the next part.

Anyway, thank you so much for the review! I'm very pleased that you like the Unsinkable series so much. Speed-reading all of it in two days! Wow!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Hermione528 Dominus Tecum

27th April 2010:
Poor Siobhan! You stayed very true to her character-- she reacted very appropriately for her personality. RIP Cecilia. :( I can't wait for the Molly/Arthur story, though! :) Thank you for this beautiful tearjerker!

Author's Response: Thank you! I thought this was how she'd react. Actually, this isn't over - her full reaction will be over quite a long period, and we'll see more of it at Cecilia's burial. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #23, by TheForestAgain Dominus Tecum

27th April 2010:
Poor, poor Siobhan. The last comfort and family she truly had in this world. I can't believe I didn't think of her when Cecilia first died..
Despite the earth shaking sadness in this, it was really beautifully written. Is this story over? Or is there more to come? I'm really excited for Over The Anvil! I don't want to see Reid's reaction either...:(
I hope Siobhan ends up okay.


Fantastic chapter!

TheForestAgain

Author's Response: This is all I had initially written. I started writing a third part, from Arthur's point of view, but I think I might just leave it. Thank you so much for reviewing! I loved hearing all your comments (especially the "beautifully written" one, that really made my day!). I'm so glad you liked it, despite the sadness!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Kristin Gratia Plena

26th April 2010:
Oh god.

It wasn't as if I didn't see this coming, but ... I don't think I've ever been so close to crying over a fanfic before. And Cecilia, too! I knew something would happen to her father, but killing her as well (is there a faint hope that she isn't dead, that the green light was something else??)!

The sudden change from happy, warm summer and Cecilia's romantic thoughts and perfect family life to chaos and cold murder was extremely well written, almost like a David Lynch film. And poor Reid ... what is he going to do, kill himself?

Author's Response: I did hint pretty broadly about this outcome, but I was hoping to still keep some of the shock value, so I'm glad it did. But sorry that it had to happen! No, she is definitely dead (as you probably saw if you read the second half). Thank you for the review - and thank you so much for the comparison to David Lynch! That's a high honor.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Hermione528 Gratia Plena

25th April 2010:
All I can say is, quite simply, "Wow." What a dramatic, gripping, heartbreaking start to a story. I'm at the edge of my seat waiting for the next part.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>