Reading Reviews for Take A Chance On Me
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm Take A Chance On Me

2nd January 2014:
Here for the 12 days of reviewing and it seems like forever since I read something of yours I decide to read this :D

I didnít really know what to expect from this because from the banner I guessed it was different to your usual style, but I really loved it and I think the style worked really well for you. The way you added in the theatre terminology was another nice touch because I never had Albus down as the musical lover but it went well with the humour of the story.

Yay for Vinny appearing again! Iíve really missed her so I hope thereís some more Welcome to Mars around the corner. She was just brilliant in this story with her Muggle references, and her forwardness with the kiss. I feel as if Iím blathering away but she is one of my favourite characters of yours mainly because sheís so different to the usual female OCs I see floating around and this was like a breath of fresh air.

I love how you revisited Winner Takes All too with Rose being away and Albus cursing Scorpius. It makes me want to go and re-read again! But the references were in a subtle way too so that for people who havenít read it would probably be able to keep up with this too.

Albus was brilliant too, of course! I never had him down as such a hilarious narrator but he did have me laughing all the way through. He had this little quirk with including all the theatre terminology which made him rather endearing because everyone always has their own way of viewing things so it made him really relatable.

He also had that lost puppy effect too, but it was in a good way. With the way he was cursing Zamibini and the way he was overthinking the kiss at the end. Gah, he was just so cute and wonderful and Vinny was brilliant at the end too. Sorry for what seems like random blabbering I am yet to drink my coffee which probably explains it :P

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi, Kiana! Its lovely to see you reading this story, too! It is different from others I've written, but that was part of the challenge, and it was a fun experience to try something like this. I'm glad that you liked the theatre analogies - I love being able to have a consistent theme within a story, something that ties everything together beyond plot and characters. And just as a note, it's not musicals he's thinking of, but stage plays. ;)

Yes, she's definitely going to become a more significant character in Welcome to Mars - she'll be at Rose's side in more constructive ways; the one who supports Rose no matter what, yet who is also Rose's voice of reason in times of need. But this one-shot provides more background about her and her love of independence. She is a great character, and I actually like how I've created her in a roundabout way - she has developed more naturally this way. And it's fantastic to hear that you like her! :D

Albus is a bit of a lost puppy. XD He wants to be all heroic Auror, but he's a very awkward person, much like Rose (hence their close friendship, and Vinny's closeness to both of them). I'm very glad that you liked Albus's narration - it really was the key to this story's humour because he just had a great voice to him, and the style accentuated his voice.

Thank you for reading and reviewing! It's great that you enjoyed the story!


 Report Review

Review #2, by 800 words of heaven Take A Chance On Me

16th December 2013:
OMG! I am so sorry about this, but I tagged you in REVIEW TAG(!) over a week ago, but then my internet crashed unexpectedly, so I lost all my open tabs... and then I forgot. But now I have remembered, and I am here with my promised review! Also, instead of reading Pride and Pestilence or Partners in Crime I chose to read this because it had a very pretty banner ^.^

I love the way you've written this! It's so different from what I've read by you so far. Is that because the story is one of your older ones, or because you tailored it to what the story required? I'm a huge fan of parentheses, and you've them so wonderfully - I am really envious. I usually go incredibly overboard when I work up the courage to use them, but you've used them here with restraint and refinement. So classy!

Is the film to which Virginia - sorry - Vinny is referring One for the Money based on the book of the same name by Janet Evanovich? I think that's the one that has a cousin named Vinny... slimy fellow, too. Anyway, that's beside the point. I love Albus' flare for dramatics, especially because it seems to involve films. For someone who dismisses lawyers and the mafia as "odd Muggle things" he sure is well acquainted with the world of the silver screen. A closet fan, perhaps? Or maybe he prefers Gandalf and Captain Jack Sparrow to The Godfather.

Albus is a fantastic narrator. His voice gives the entire story a quirky coming-of-age comedy vibe which I'm really enjoying. He's such an engaging character and it's a pity that the people around him can't see this side of him. He's awkwardly charming in his own geeky way! And he always seemed mentally prepared for the worst, which I think is the reason that the worst (in his eyes) almost always happens to him.

I find Albus an incredibly relatable character. He has all these pressures and standards to which he is trying to live up, but deep down he realises that he's doomed before he started, but he still tries and copes in his own way. That feeling of helplessness, but still marching on despite the odds is a feeling to which I could relate, and I think that's what makes your Albus very special.

I'm glad that something worked out in Albus' favour at last! I really enjoyed reading this, as you might be able to gather from my ramblings... or then again, maybe not. But still, so much fun, as always, and I really am sorry once again for this incredibly delayed review!

Author's Response: Thank you for this review! Wow, it's wonderfully long and detailed - definitely worth the wait (which wasn't really a wait at all).

This story was purposely written in a much lighter style because it was for a specific challenge - we did a style exchange, and I was assigned Inti, which accounts for the interesting style of this story. It's somewhere between minimalist and stream of consciousness, making it fragmentary and deadpan in every possible way. :D I'm very glad that you liked how it turned out. I have no idea whether I could ever make the style of this, including the parentheses, work again, but it was a fun story to write, and it means a lot that you enjoyed it.

Vinny refers to the early 1990s film called "My Cousin Vinny". I'll bet that Evanovich is also referring to that movie. It's a pretty iconic comedy, and I couldn't resist referring to it in this way. I'm also trying to remember what kind of films I wanted Albus to like. He wouldn't like fantasy ones because he would never agree with the magical theory, but I like the idea of him going for pirate movies. Maybe even Indiana Jones and Star Wars.

He's a fun narrator to work with, which is why I took him up again in Partners in Crime - when he's characterized in this way, he has a great humourous tone. It's fantastic to hear that you like his geeky charm and his awkwardness. He is rather like his father, and I think that if Harry hadn't grown up under so much negativity, his humourous side would have come through a lot more (he was a sassy kid, that's for sure).

It really means a lot that you thought Albus relateable. This is very much a coming-of-age story from that post-Hogwarts/school period in life where one just wants to find the right niche, but it's an uphill battle. You've described it brilliantly, and it's awesome that this story hit you in that way.

Thank you again - this is an incredible review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by -BookDinosaur- Take A Chance On Me

15th May 2013:
-BookDinosaur- here with your requested review!

So, first off, I really liked this story. I've never read a story in this drama/script format, but I think you managed to pull it off, because I really enjoyed it.

I will admit that I was slightly wary of the short, abrupt sentences while I was reading the beginning, but they didn't disrupt the flow of the story much, which was a pleasant surprise, so well done on that.

I think your characterisation of Al and Vinny was good, I especially loved Al's awkwardness, and his narration was hilarious and easy to read, you really felt like he was talking to you.

If you hadn't told me, I don't think I would have known that fluff and humour weren't your 'styles', so I don't think there's anything for
you to worry about there. ;)

All in all, congratulations on a great one-shot that I really enjoyed reading!

Author's Response: Thank you for filling this review request! It's wonderful to have heard from you so quickly, and a great treat that you also enjoyed reading this story. :D

Writing humour and fluff (or anything remotely happy) is uncomfortable for me - it never feels particularly genuine, which accounts for the use of short sentences. The choppiness was part of the style, but I keep wondering if I overdid it and hurt the story's flow. It's wonderful to hear that it still worked in the end, that it was visible, but not too disruptive. All the same, I might go back to try and smooth things out a little more. :)

Thank you again for taking the time to read and review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by lizmusic45 Take A Chance On Me

21st February 2012:
I LOVE THIS!!! Oh my gosh this is so going into my favorites! This story just connected with me, and I'm not joking! I've always wanted to go into film, and this sort of felt like something I want to happen.

People will sometimes (at least the Harry Potter fans) will call me Luna, they'll say I'm happy and just odd, but I feel like Vinny, and I wish I had my Albus.

You just took all I keep hoping to happen! Even all the awkward stuff, I'm such a sucker for that! I want that to happen, I want to be unsure, I want to be geeky, I want to be looking down at my feet, while he finds all the right words!!

I'm not saying this to be nice. I'm saying all this because it really is the truth, expect a favorite, because this, this is so epic, and I love the banner to, really pretty!!

Lizzie

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much! It's one of my rare attempts at fluff, and it means a lot that you like it since it was pretty far out of my comfort zone as a writer. Writing it in this style really helped me get into the right mood for it, though, and I'm really glad that you liked the whole film aspect of it. :D

Thank you for reading and reviewing this story! It's wonderful that you liked it and that it worked out right to your expectations. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #5, by webeta123 Take A Chance On Me

22nd October 2011:
Hi!

First off, I love your story. I thought it was very original and considering I know next to nothing about next gen, I thought you characterized everyone quite well.

I also love the format of the story. You could hear Albus's voice in your ear as you read and makes you really understand the emotions he's feeling.

Thirdly, I love Vinny! End of that.

So, awesome story, 10/10, all that fun stuff

~webeta

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's fantastic that you chose this story out of all the ones I have to read - it's one that I enjoyed writing (though it was a challenge!) and it's sat neglected on my page for too long. It means a lot that you chose it to read and review - and that you liked it that much as well! ^_^

I'm glad that Albus's voice was so strong. For some reason, he's one of those characters whose voice comes to me very easily - somewhat sarcastic, more than a little self-conscious, yet also sensitive and intelligent. It makes him a great narrator, and he was perfect for the challenging format/style I put him through for this. :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by Owlpost68 Take A Chance On Me

13th March 2011:
lololol I've never seen that kind of writing, but it was so well done! I loved it! :) Especially when she said he was a complete troll lololol Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's fantastic that you enjoyed this story, as it's one of my personal favourites - some of the lines are just so funny (I kept laughing while writing this, so my family thinks I'm utterly insane :P). I'm really glad that you found it funny, too! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #7, by Sarah_Bee Take A Chance On Me

7th May 2010:
wow Susan! you always manage to surprise me and make me in complete awe of your writing!
I know this technically wasn't your 'style' of writing but I did see your style come through with the humorous bits!
I absolutely love your creative use of line breaks and phrasing like here:
"Limp as a rag, man. Limp. As. A. Rag."
This fic was such a joy for me to read! It put a smile on my face, a smile that was needed badly as the past weeks with kidney stones/going in and out of hospitals/doctor offices and now having to change my diet. this was just the perfect heartlifting little fic! So thanks so much for writing this! It cheered me up! :)
I absolutely loved how you ended it with them kissing and ending up into a bit of something more! It was wonderful!
My favorite lines: "ďIf I thought that you looked like a fish before, now you just look like an idiot.Ē
Swallow. Think. Work jaw back into speaking-mode."
I haven't seen many great Albus/OC one shots that are creative/unique but yours is definitely one amazing/unique fic! I swear Susan, no one can ever write like you do. Your style is so lovely and I hope you never change it. You're amazing and such a great inspiration to me!
Great writing, as always Susan! I'm looking forward to even more of your work here and TDA! :)
Sarah

Author's Response: Hi Sarah! ^_^ It's great to hear from you again, especially on a story like this, which is very different from my usual style. But my own style still came through? That's interesting - it must have been the sarcasm. :P

I'm really glad that this story made you happier - it's always wonderful to find a pick-me-up story, and it means a lot that this one was that for you.

*huggles* Thank you for your support and kind words. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #8, by Inti Take A Chance On Me

24th April 2010:
Susan, Susan, Susan! Just stopping by to say, once again, that you really are a genius. Have to say the kiss was my favourite part. The moment, the build up and the reaction were absolutely hilaro. Thought it was probably the most 'me' part of the story as well, that whole idea of the girl being the one in control, or at least knowing what's going on.

Anyway, I loved it! Gives a whole new layer to Winner Takes All. Hope this doesn't end up ruining your writing completely, gets addictive you know :P

Author's Response: Ooooh Jack! It means so much to hear you say so! Your style is insanely difficult to try and duplicate, so that you think I got it, especially at that moment in the story, is awesome. :D Haha, she does get the better of him throughout, and that made it more fun to write.

I wouldn't mind it "ruining" my style at all. It was refreshing to use short forms and write something funny for once, instead of wallowing in angst or drama. :P I really should write more light/humourous stuff.

Thanks for reading and reviewing, Jack! It was fantastic to be paired up with you for this challenge. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #9, by xXSeamus_and_DeanXx Take A Chance On Me

23rd April 2010:
really cute loved reading it because of your set up and style! It was very different and I really enjoyed it!
with love
Bea

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It's great to hear that you enjoyed it! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #10, by Werewolfs Rule Take A Chance On Me

23rd April 2010:
Cute, funny too. I like the whole script thing, I thing that it works very well with the story.

WR

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :D The script idea I put in to try and play with the structure a bit - I'm so pleased that you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Ashi_xxx Take A Chance On Me

23rd April 2010:
aww wow! this was really well written and Albus was hilarious =]

nice to see a story from a guy's perspective for once =D

Author's Response: Thank you! :D I'm really glad that you liked it and Albus (who is addicting to write about).

I agree that there need to be more stories from the male perspective. There aren't enough at all, and it's really interesting to write from that point of view. :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by whacked Take A Chance On Me

23rd April 2010:
that was quite cute. I could feel a bit of Inti's style coming through, so well done on that!

I like this approach on Albus, as I've never read him like this before, well, not quite so ... I can't describe it actually. He does remind me of Inti's Louis, but somehow not. It's very difficult to explain. But nevertheless, a really enjoyable one-shot.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It's wonderful to hear that you liked it and saw Jack's style coming through. The light humour style is a big challenge for me, which made trying out Jack's style to be pretty difficult (which is, after all, the point of a challenge :P).

Albus here is very awkward. There's a lot of Jack's Louis in there, but I think that Albus is even less certain of himself - he doesn't worship his father openly, there's weird Oedipal things going on, and then there's that thing I can't explain at all, either. XD

But anyway, thank you very much for reading and reviewing. I really appreciate it! ^_^


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login