Reading Reviews for The Speech
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Snitchsista The Best Man's Speech

21st March 2012:
You might not feel comfortable writing Harry, Ron and Hermione but this was so near canon I had to review. You have Harry down perfectly, although I can see him mumbling his words like in the fourth year hahah! You really should have more confidence with yourself, and write more with these three, you deserve it!!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Red Weasley The Best Man's Speech

5th June 2011:
I loved your story, it almost brought tears to my eyes, and deefinately made me smile ... and laugh! I would have liked Harry to tell the story of the day they first met, but I still LOVE your story!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Aero The Best Man's Speech

24th May 2011:
I absolutely adored the story. It captured Harry's awkwardness and sincerity well.

Author's Response: Haha, thank you! I love awkward Harry. I swear sometimes when I read the books or watched the movies, i would shake my head, and go "Oh, Harry".
He says "Errr-" A LOT. :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by adahpfan The Best Man's Speech

30th March 2011:
aww very sweet! i laughed a lot, which is always a good sign! 10/10

Author's Response: well i'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by the midnight avenger The Best Man's Speech

17th October 2010:
that was great! I like how you tied in some of the effects of the war; it made the story seem very realistic. The change in verb tense was a bit confusing, but other than that I loved it!

Author's Response: Aw thanks so much. I do really need to work on grammer and thank you for the review! I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #6, by dobbyismyhero22 The Best Man's Speech

5th October 2010:
Awhh! This was so cute! I almost had tears in my eyes! I seriously loved it:)

Author's Response: AW thank you so much, Btw, I love your stories!

 Report Review

Review #7, by SeverusLove The Best Man's Speech

31st August 2010:
There are really a lot of grammar mistakes but otherwise, the idea was amazing.

Keep It Up!
SeverusLove

Author's Response: Thank you. Yeah I need to do some editing. Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by alicia and anne The Best Man's Speech

22nd August 2010:
this was so cute, I was tearing up at this speech, it was just so beautiful. You wrote the characters very well and I enjoyed reading this.
Harry's nervousness was cute and so Harry and I imagine this to be like the speech he would have given had JK wrote about it. Well done, it's brilliant.
10/10

Author's Response: thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by riddikuluslysirius The Best Man's Speech

28th June 2010:
I personally thought that the idea of a best man's speech was really cute and creative. I agree, your grammer and tenses could really use some work. I loved how you added Proffessor McGonagal in the story because she was a really big influence in their lives. As I was reading i felt that including a description of their lives before hogwarts was a little unneeded. I am also a little confused about why you added Neville Longbottom, maybe you could elaborate on his role and character. I also feel that you should really add more about all the other Weasley's and the Granger's. I agree, maybe you should do some research on traditional UK weddings as well.

 Report Review

Review #10, by hermione_ginny_gals The Best Man's Speech

30th May 2010:
Definitely made me smile. It was a cute story; made me laugh. I pretty much loved it! Keep up the good work! (:

Author's Response: aw thanks! and thanks for this lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by mariss The Best Man's Speech

20th May 2010:
2 words horri ble yous welcime

Author's Response: well thank you for your honesty. also, that's 3 words.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Northumbrian The Best Man's Speech

28th April 2010:
As someone who has already written a story about Harry's best man speech (mine is called "After Breakfast" and if you read it you'll see that it's very different to yours) I was interested to read another take on the situation. One thing which struck me was how both you and I had McGonagall in attendance.

I'm not certain what nationality you are, and I'm aware that you've made this a "magical wedding" (I chose to make mine Muggle, because Hermione's relatives would be attending). But this didn't seem like a traditional UK wedding. The speeches in the UK are given from the top table, not a podium and they are by the Father of the Bride, the groom, and the best man, in that order.

Others have commented on punctuation, I'm not qualified to do that, but you should also watch your tenses: "He got down from the podium and heads back to his table" does not read well. Either "he gets down" or "he headed back" not the mix you've used. I use several Beta readers and I also leave my stories for a week or two and reread them. It's amazing how many little things you can spot and correct a fortnight after first writing.

"The Golden Trio" is a fan construct which, personally, I hate. But a lot of people use it.

Nevertheless, an interesting story with some good ideas.

N

Author's Response: i'll be sure to check out your story, i didn't really follow any nationality for the wedding, i just went with what felt right. As for McGonagall, i didn't think it would be right to not have her there. She was an important part of their lives. As for my grammer, well ummm, let's just say it's not a strong suit. Golden Trio... not my favorite term, it makes them sound conceited, but it kind of fit while writing. As for Betas, i don't have any, I just do this as a hobby. But really, thanks for the tips, I'll be sure to reread the chapter, to make some corrections. Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Queenoftherandom The Best Man's Speech

20th April 2010:
This was certainly enjoyable, very good :) I think it's a fairly accurate piece, it's certainly illustrative of how I, at least, think Harry feels. I was wondering though, where did the phrase 'Golden trio' come from? (Just on a general note, I know you didn't make it up!) I'm not sure I like it as Harry Potter terminology...any ideas of its origins?

Author's Response: um I have no idea. I never really liked it much, but I needed a general way to refer to all three of them so. But thanks for reviewing!!

 Report Review

Review #14, by GinnyWeasley_13 The Best Man's Speech

18th April 2010:
So cute. I liked the bit where Harry is talking about their years at Hogwarts and Professor McGonagall gave her approval and disaproval

Author's Response: thank you! glad you liked it, McGonagall and all. thanks for reviewing

 Report Review

Review #15, by Marybeth The Best Man's Speech

17th April 2010:
Ah very cute! You should watch your punctuation though, and add in a few commas so the readability of some sentences makes a little more sense. But that's just some constructive criticism to keep in mind. The story itself was very, very nice and you kept everyone true to character. Well done!

Author's Response: thank you so mcuh! also c.c is very good for me so, thanks for that as well!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login