Reading Reviews for Purpose and Priorities
  
85 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DoctorUnderwood Partings

10th March 2014:
Another great story!

Author's Response: Thank you! This was one of my first fanfics, and I'm still pretty attached to it, so I really appreciate you reading it and leaving some love. :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by Joi de Coeur Partings

29th December 2012:
I love Ron's speech at the very end. Makes me cry every time.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm really glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #3, by shadowycorner Partings

10th December 2012:
OH MY GOD YOU! This was just 2000 words that have put me on a crazy emotional roller-coaster from beginning to finish! Where do I begin? I just have no words for this wonderful, wonderful story that makes me cry inside and makes me so happy at the same time? This was so perfect in every possible way I can't even describe it all in words, because I don't have the words.

So right at the beginning you give me this unexpected lovely Harry/Ginny moment full of heartache and also hope and I'm struck straight away. It must be so difficult to be so young and already face so many challenges in your relationships already. The usual teenage drama really pales in comparison to 'my boyfriend might die any second' and then 'oh look, Hagrid's carrying my dead boyfriend' to 'well, now that things are finally okay, goodbye, boyfriend, for another 10 months'. Poor Harry and Ginny really need to catch a break. But I loved the way they handled it, in such a mature way. I believe that these ten months basically mean nothing, because what they have is already so strong for them. It was just wonderful.

Oh and the Ron and Hermione moment, let me catch a breath. I had butterflies everywhere, and I kept laughing, because they were so R/Hrish. Hermione stretching out her hand cordially, being angry with Ron for being a prat, and then Ron just blubbering away in his goofy way, and then he like sweeps her off her feet OMG DO YOU WANT TO GIVE ME A HEARTATTACK? -is attacked by another dose of Ron and Hermione feels-

And yet, those two scenes full of win and emotion and yay and joy and heartfeltness, yes I make this a word now...there was the last scene that practically almost killed me. The way you set up the scene, so simply yet so vividly and beautifully tugged at my every heart-string, with them standing together, Hermione holding both their hands. And then they start to talk and confess their friendshipy love and I'm reduced to a puddle. This friendship is what makes the series such a remarkable feat. I mean, it's full of other exquisite characters, but for me, personally, these three and what they had is simply the strongest thing. And I totally get the drama. It's common that once even great friends lose touch, they fall out of regular contact as well. So it's natural they worry about it, but of course there's just no chance of that happening, so I am comforted, and I think they're comforted deep within themselves as well. I'm not going to quote what Harry and Hermione say, but I could, because every word was absolutely moving.

And then...and then...-composes herself- they Disapparate and Ron...RON!! says all those things into the air, without them hearing, and he breaks my heart and puts it back together again. I love him for saying that, and it's so much like him to say it in secret. But I guess that's the essence of him. He doesn't need to say these things, because Harry and Hermione already know based on his actions and the person that he is. I can't imagine a more beautiful and perfect way to convey that than you did here.

I remember when I clicked your thread, I instantly knew your author page would be my new playground, because your every single summary grabbed me and I really couldn't decide. In the end, it was the Trio that convinced me and I'm just awed. With charming simplicity you conveyed so very much in few words, and that's not easy, but you've done a wonderful job. I loved reading this story. I will read your other stories, too, because this was so good I'm impressed like whoa. Thank you for writing this and sorry for this incoherent, jumbled review, but I was left in such a state I wasn't able to produce anything better.

I loved it.

Author's Response: I don't even know what to say about this review. This was one of the first fanfics I ever wrote, and it has an extra special place in my heart (because I adore the trio and their friendship, and because I am a ridiculously sentimental person, and I totally let that fly in this story). It's kind of my baby, and so when people say such nice things about it, I just turn to mush and can't really respond.

Harry and Ginny have a long way to go. Their relationship is still really new, but they've been through so much and are so committed to one another.

I loved writing the Ron/Hermione section because I love Ron and Hermione. Ron is such a great guy, but he has absolutely no clue how to talk to women, and he definitely has no idea what to do with Hermione now that she is his girlfriend and not just his girl friend (if that makes sense). I'm really glad you liked it :D

As for the ending, I really just wanted to give the trio one moment where they look at one another and just admit, out loud, how much they mean to one another and how they have been changed by their friendship. It's probably pretty ooc, but I think the sentiment is always there. Theirs is a friendship that has been tested by fire and will survive all of the tests of time. It's the type of friendship we all enjoy reading about because it exists so rarely in the real world.

I'm really glad you clicked on my thread and I hope you will check out some of my other stories sometime. Thanks so much for reading and for leaving such wonderful reviews.


 Report Review

Review #4, by shadowycorner Decisions

8th December 2012:
First off, let me just thank you for nearly killing me with the butterflies when I imagined Ron and Hermione getting DISTRACTED! Finally the two can spend some quality not-being-hunted-down time together. It just made me so happy, that's all.

I love how you made the conversation between them. It was so full of heart and care and also the individual determination and realization that they need to fend off for themselves for a little while now. I completely understand each and every one of them, you've also given the voice to their thoughts perfectly. Hermione wants to go back for knowledge's sake, she's a girl that won't just leave her education unfinished. But I also sense some sentimental need to hold onto their lost childhoods, being unwilling to let go of Hogwarts and all that it represents for the three of them.

Harry is right, though, that for him, after all the things he's been through, Hogwarts would only be kind of a step back. He's ready to let go and embark on other things, always having in mind to keep fighting even if the darkness has diminished after Voldemort's fall.

And oh my, poor poor Ron I just want to scoop him up into my arms and hug him. He really wants to make up for his walking out, but I'm glad you didn't make him resentful over the fact Harry and Hermione want different things. I can see how matured he is, and I love that he also understands.

I mean, it's okay, because we know they'll be okay, but as I read this, I have all these feelings of them parting being so scary. It must be, and for poor R/Hr who just can't be properly together now once again.

I really enjoy your writing and the soothing simplicity to it. You're not too wordy, so there's nothing to distract the reader, you just make every word count. Wonderful job. Also, you really know these characters well. I can't do more than agree on everything about them in this story. :)

Author's Response: I apologize for taking so long to get to responding to this review. Life has gotten away from me a bit...

I really loved reading this review. Ron/Hermione is probably my OTP in the HP realm, so the idea of them /finally/ being together is wondrous to me as well. I just adore them.

Thank you for your lovely comments about the characterization. I love these characters so much, so I always worry a bit that I haven't done them justice, so hearing things like that makes me feel all warm and fuzzy on the inside. :D

I am a person who fears change, so I can completely relate to the feeling of their parting being scary. Even with that deep down knowledge that everything will be fine, it's still terrifying, because what if it's not?

Thanks again for leaving such a great review! I really appreciate it :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by shadowycorner Choices

6th December 2012:
Hello, here for the holiday review swap. So, choosing a story from what you offered was tough, because I basically wanted to read everything, so I might be revisiting that thread if you don't mind. :) In the end I chose a trio fic, because I love them more than anything. This chapter was so well-written and touched on the important character cords so well it clenched my heart. It was also sad, because they're obviously going to be apart, all three of them, for a while. It's natural and they all need to find some footing on their own, but I can imagine how impossible that will be for them to imagine, having been always together for the past seven years.

Harry's choice is rather obvious. Returning to Hogwarts as a student was probably never an option for him, and he knows what he needs to do. It's also true how much it must've cost Hermione to give up her seventh year, but she's a girl who can sort out her priorities now, not like in first year. :) Why study when you can save the world, right?

Ron's part touched me the most. I just wanted to hug him. He's a grown man now, but there's still this little determined kid in him, actually believing all three of them will work in the shop. I can totally see where it's coming from, as he feels the duty to keep them close and watch over them, and make up for that time when he walked out. You portrayed that thought process wonderfully. You didn't even have to spell it out, just being in Ron's head was enough for us to know, the truth was there in between the lines and I really liked that.

Wonderful first chapter. :)

Author's Response: Feel free to revisit my review thread as many times as you would like. You are very much welcome to read all of my stories ;)

I'm glad you chose this story to review. It was one of the first ones I had ever written, so it has a special place for me and I'm a bit overly attached it it.

Harry has this overwhelming sense of duty (and a saving people thing). It's why he ends up being an Auror instead of a professional Quidditch player. And it's why he could never go back to Hogwarts after the battle.

You're exactly right about Hermione. It's such fun to watch her priorities change throughout the seven books. At heart, however, she's still that first year who loves books and learning, and is never happier than when she's doing research in the library, figuring out a really tough problem. That's where she's at her best and she knows it.

I'm glad you liked Ron's section and could see where he is coming from. He's one of my very favorite characters to write. I think he's a lot smarter and more insightful than he is usually given credit for.

I really appreciate you leaving this lovely review. I hope to hear from you again!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Jeenso Partings

14th August 2012:
RON, YOU PRAT, SAVING IT ALL FOR THE END. ; 3 ; But just saying it to the air, while standing there and crying just makes it even sadder...asdfghjkl. I think I started getting teary at "You were just Harry".

Author's Response: I love sappy, sentimental good byes. It's a huge weakness of mine, so I'm glad you liked it, too. *hands you a tissue*

 Report Review

Review #7, by WeasleyTwinMom_staff Partings

22nd March 2012:
*swoons* Okay that first scene, Harry/Ginny? OMG. I die. The romance. Adore it. Ron/Hermione was very sweet too, and very in character, and the final scene with the three of them, I LOVE IT. It was so perfect. Damn you're good at characterizing the trio!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to read through and review all three of these chapters.

I wrote this chapter to satisfy my need for sappy sentimentalism, and my desire to give the trio just one moment when they actually told each other how much they mean to one another. I know it's a bit over the top, so I'm really glad you like it.


 Report Review

Review #8, by WeasleyTwinMom_staff Decisions

22nd March 2012:
Aw, I love the way you wrote this. Totally spot-on in character for all three of them, and despite being necessarily dialogue-heavy (which I never mind, I love dialogue), the setting of the scene was very clear. Great job!

Author's Response: This was a tough chapter for me to write, probably because it is almost completely dialogue. My stories have a tendency to be dialogue-heavy, but this is a lot, even for me. I'm glad you didn't mind. It also makes me really happy that you thought the trio was characterized so well :) I really loved writing them. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by WeasleyTwinMom_staff Choices

22nd March 2012:
I love Ron. This is a lovely chapter, I love your description and the dialogue, everyone's in character and all the interactions are well thought out. You are a very talented writer.

Author's Response: I love Ron, too :) Thanks so much for your review and your kind remarks. This was one of my very first fanfics, and (probably because of that) is still one of my favorites. Getting your reviews was such a lovely surprise. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by AmeliaScamander Partings

1st January 2012:
I love this!! It one of the best I've read

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading :) I'm glad you liked it so much.

 Report Review

Review #11, by eternity1012323 Partings

19th October 2011:
i cant wait to see what happens next

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) As of right now, I'm not planning on continuing this story, though. Sorry!

 Report Review

Review #12, by mMalfoy Partings

5th October 2011:
I haven't read a lot of fics about the trio after the war, but it's interesting to see how different authors writes about them. And this one was great :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by leannemariesnape Partings

17th September 2011:
I'm such an emotional freak when it comes to the friendship that the trio have. I swear to you, I was crying at the end of this. First we have Ginny saying her goodbyes to Harry, and then the trio's goodbye. It was truely heartbreaking.

Everything they said was perfect for their character, and was just... lovely. I adored how Ron was being humourous, almost as a way of putting a wall up, but then, with his little speech at the end. It just added to the sadness and at the same time happiness.

You know they'll stay so close as they're older, but at the same time, they are becoming their own people.

They're finally grown up!

Author's Response: I, too, am an emotional freak when it comes to the trio (though I prefer to think of it as 'ridiculously sentimental' :P) This is probably way more emotional and sentimental than the trio would have ever been, but I wanted to give them a moment where they actually said out loud how much they meant to each other. I'm glad that the emotion came across for you.

I'm also glad that you appreciated the bits of humor that are thrown in (mostly by Ron). Harry is pretty sentimental guy, and Hermione has an overly emotional side to her, but Ron is not so much. Excessive emotion just makes him uncomfortable, so I think he would have to crack jokes to lighten the mood, but that doesn't mean he isn't feeling the exact same things.

Thank you again for reading and reviewing this story. It really means a lot :)

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #14, by leannemariesnape Choices

17th September 2011:
This is a really cool fic. I liked the differing points of view, and I liked the reasoning behind each of their thoughts on what would happen next. I think for people who have had "adventures" for the last seven years of their lives, it would be only natural to wonder what would happen next, which is why this is so interesting.

The nightmares were a good touch, and I liked it when Ron felt guilty whenever Harry and Hermione mentioned what happened when he was away, which I think would be very realistic, considering the circumstances.

Well done! ^_^

Leanne

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! This was one of my very first fanfics (I wrote this chapter and 'Before the Dawn' at pretty much the same time) so I always love getting feedback on it.

I'm glad you thought it seemed natural and realistic. I just wanted to explore what it would be like for our favorite trio of heroes in the aftermath of Deathly Hallows, once they had recovered and were starting to think about moving forward. Specifically, moving forward in three different directions. It's a point pretty much all friendships hit at one time or another, but due to their history, I think it's even more compelling for the trio.


 Report Review

Review #15, by lil_hermione_at_heart Partings

14th September 2011:
Oh my gah. I love it so much. It's so well written too. Ron's little speech had me almost in tears. You did such a great job. Sequel maybe? What it's like a year later?

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed this story I've played with the idea of continuing this story or writing a follow-up, but I don't have any immediate plans to do so. If the plot bunnies attack, I'll let you know. :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Darque Myth Partings

8th September 2011:
This was absolutely amazing. You've characterized the trio and Ginny perfectly, and the emotions were almost tangible. 10/10, and keep up the brilliant work!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you thought Ginny and the trio were characterized well. I know they're a bit more sentimental and emotional than normally portrayed, but I'm glad it didn't seem too out of character.

Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Darque Myth Choices

8th September 2011:
Hey there!
I'm really loving this so far, and I'm about to go on, I just wanted to let you know about a little typo I found in one of the last few paragraphs.

"But Ron had brushed t comment off."

Brilliant job, 10/10! :)

Author's Response: Seriously? *face palm* :P Thanks for pointing that out. I really appreciate it. I have just fixed that and resubmitted the chapter.

I'm glad that you're enjoying the story so far. Thanks for taking the time to read and review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Emmie Partings

8th September 2011:
That last paragraph made my cry like a little baby. This was so wonderous. I always wondered how the Trio dealt with being apart after everything that happened that year. I loved it.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing!
*hands you a tissue*
I really appreciate it :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by MadamePuddifoot Partings

23rd August 2011:
Aw! I have loved this entire story, and this chapter in particular was amazing! It was touching and true to the trio in every possible way. Ron's reflection at the end touched me the most and I even felt emotional! Great, great job!! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you thought it was true to their characters. I know it's a little (*cough*extremely*cough*) sentimental and overly-emotional, which is not usually their style, but I wanted to give the three of them one moment that they could really just stand together and tell each other how much they all mean to each other.

So, I'm really glad that you like the third chapter. I'm quite fond of it myself :) Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by writer4live Partings

19th August 2011:
This was excellent! You really got into their minds well and interpreted what they might have thought. Absolutely love this. Please update soon! :D

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed this story. Thanks for your review! I planned this story to just be the three chapters, so it probably won't be updated any more. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Kate Partings

19th August 2011:
That was amazing! One of the best I've read by far! You have talent. Please keep writing more. You're a great writer.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. :* I really appreciate it. Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm so glad you enjoyed this story.

 Report Review

Review #22, by April Partings

19th August 2011:
Really Really Luved This 1.!

Author's Response: Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #23, by April Dock Partings

19th August 2011:
Omg.! This Almost Made Me Cry.!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #24, by April Dock Decisions

19th August 2011:
Luv it.! Really good Stuff.1 But i think the chapter ended 2 quickly.

Author's Response: Thanks for continuing to read. I'm sorry that you thought the chapter ended too soon.

 Report Review

Review #25, by April Dock Choices

19th August 2011:
luvin it so far.! Whoever Wrote This Is A Really Good Author=)

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you're enjoying it.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>