Reading Reviews for Before the Dawn
  
45 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Hippothestrowl Before the Dawn

25th January 2012:
Excellent. Feels like part of the original fiction.

Author's Response: Thank you for the wonderful compliment. I'm so glad you enjoyed this. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #2, by parashar_harry Before the Dawn

11th November 2011:
awesome awesome 1000 times or even more ^_^

i am so happy because u have written this missing moment from ron point of view . omg i can't believe it. i love ron character very much . i feel that i am like him.

it 100% realistic . each and every line is showing the perfect nature of ron.

the best line is " the weaselys were broken ". this simple line has really a very deep meaning . those who really love weasley family and understood them can only know its meaning.

the use of bloody git for harry make me smile at this sad moment also.

thanks again for this chapter. no one can write better than u specially the missing moment of book
^_^
10/10

Author's Response: Hello again :) This was one of the very first fanfics I ever wrote, mostly because I wanted to know where the heck Ron and Hermione were when Harry was walking to his 'death'.

I really like Ron a lot, too. He's one of my favorite characters to write. I've got a couple other stories featuring him.

I'm glad you liked that line. I love the Weasley family, and it really struck me how difficult it would be for them to move forward and to figure out how to be a family again with one of them missing, especially when Percy has been estranged for so long, and they just got him back.

And I feel like Ron's initial reaction to Harry's choice would be anger, but at the same time, I think it would be very short lived anger, because he understands Harry.

Thank you so much for the compliments, and for continuing to read and review my stories. It means the world to me!

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #3, by Georgia Weasley Before the Dawn

6th August 2011:
GAH! I love missing moments that keep all the characters in canon. This is perfect. Ron's emotions are spot on, and you handle each of JKR's characters so brilliantly. LOVED it.!~GW

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! This was really the first fanfic I ever wrote. I really wanted to know what the heck Ron and Hermione were doing while Harry was walking to his death, and was unable to find a story that addressed that, so I wrote it instead :P

Thanks so much for your kind compliments. I worked really hard on the characterization, so I'm glad you thought it was well done :)

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #4, by momotwins Before the Dawn

6th August 2011:
I know you already have a ton of reviews on this one-shot, and normally I'd set out to review the least-reviewed first, but after your lovely "Hero", I could resist checking out your missing moment. I love a good missing moment.

I'm so glad this is from Ron's point of view. You did so well with him as a child, I'm not surprised to see you write him extremely well as an 18 year old. Characterization is clearly a strong point for you as a writer! Hermione is also spot-on, and I loved her giving Ron the exasperated tone when he didn't leap to conclusions about Snape's memories as quickly as she did (neither of the boys ever does, and she always seems impatient about it). Ron and Hermione running into Neville as they try to retrace Harry's steps is just perfect: again with the fantastic characterization! I love Ron's response to him, too, with the "Yeah, great, you do that" XD So Ron.

Ron's realization that everyone is disposable to Voldemort is well-portrayed. It is horrifying to someone as loyal as Ron to see that the other side, so to speak, has no such quality to them - Voldemort's followers are meaningless to him, only tools to be used and discarded.

Ah, I know I'm just raving over how great this is, and should try to come up with some concrit, but I got nothin! It's great! I loved it, every bit of it. Ron was utter perfection, and so was everyone he interacted with. I especially loved Ginny, and the brother/sister moment of holding hands for comfort. This was just lovely. Off to read the companion piece!

WTM - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: I love missing moments too. They're my favorite :) This is actually the first fanfic that I ever finshed, and pretty much what got me into writing. I wanted to know what the heck Ron and Hermione were doing when Harry was walking to his "death." This is what I came up with.

I work really hard on my characterizations, mostly because I love these characters and don't want to screw them up, so I'm glad you think I do ok with that.

Thanks for commenting on the Neville bit. Ron's "Yeah, great, you do that" line is one of my favorites. Just a throw away line from Ron, but Neville really takes it to heart because he's awesome. :)

Thank you for continuing to read and review my stories. I really appreciate it :)

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #5, by forsakenphoenix Before the Dawn

5th August 2011:
I know this has forty reviews but the summary intrigued me and I had to stop to read it. I don't read a lot of Trio fics. It's hard for me, I guess, because I don't like other authors playing with the main characters of the series and feeling like I'm comparing them to Rowling. But this, this could pass as a missing moment from Deathly Hallows. It was so perfect. You've managed to write the tone and emotional devastation of the battle - the fear, the loss.

The characters were spot-on. Neville upset with himself for letting Harry go off, Ginny with her quiet acceptance, knowing Harry enough that he has to go off and play the hero.

I felt so sad for Ron when his mind started to wander and he almost thought that it was Harry's fault for everything. I think he would've hated himself for thinking that.

I'm not sure if it was intentional but...this quote: "He's gone where we can't follow," Ron muttered at last. It reminds me of Lord of the Rings, when Samwise says, "Don't go where I can't follow" to Frodo when he thinks Frodo has died. Because Harry's going off to die, and it just fits so so well if it was intentional.

I really did love this. You did a spectacular job. :)

forsakenphoenix (ravenclaw)

Author's Response: I'm glad the summary pulled you in. I'm pretty bad at writing summaries, so it's nice to know that the short and sweet technique worked at least once! :P

Thank you so much for this review. I love writing the trio, and I try really hard to keep them in character, so it's nice to hear that people think I succeeded.

Ok, you caught me. That was very much an intentional reference :P Actually, this was the very first fanfic I ever started, and it kind of sprang out of that quote. I love LotR, especially Sam, and that part just breaks my heart. I'm glad you mentioned that. I think you might be the first person who has.

Thanks again for reading!

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #6, by NaidatheRavenclaw Before the Dawn

9th July 2011:
This was an excellent story!

I think you captured the emotions of this point in the Battle perfectly. The despair, the loss, the fear. Everything really came through in this piece of work. It definitely could have been written in to Deathly Hallows.

The reactions of Ron and Hermione were perfect. How they knew what was happening, even without really knowing. And Ginny's calmness was also fitting, I thought. Detatched, yet still hopeful.

It was a gorgeous story. Excellent job on this!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review (Go 'Claws!) I'm glad that you enjoyed this story and thought that it fit into Deathly Hallows. I really appreciate your comments. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Jamie Before the Dawn

5th July 2011:
:)) I really liked your story and am looking forward to the companion piece. :))

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by golden_trio Before the Dawn

4th July 2011:
Oh wow! This was really good! I feel you described Ron's thoughts perfectly! I hope you write more like this! :)
-K

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed this story and thought I captured Ron's character. He's rather fun to write :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Lets All Be Squibs Before the Dawn

23rd January 2011:
Really really good! I like that Ginny understood, but I think she was little too excepting. I imagine she wouldn't have been surprised, but she loved him so dearly, she was depressed without him at Hogwarts, I can't imagine that she would have accepted it so easily. But Ron and Hermione are perfect, good job!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I appreciate hearing your thoughts. I'm glad that you thought that Ron and Hermione were done well. As for Ginny, I tried to allow the reader to see that she was really hurting, but was putting on a strong face. I think part of her knew that something like that was going to happen sooner or later. She understands his 'saving people thing' more than any other character, in my opinion. It doesn't mean she likes it, and it doesn't mean that she isn't going to break down later. I think she's just trying really hard to fake nonchalance. Does that make sense? I'm not sure I'm explaining it very well.

I've written a follow up to this story, "This Ends Today" that explores nine character's reactions to Harry's 'death' and Ginny's is one of them, if you'd like to check that out. I'd love to know what you think.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by samysam Before the Dawn

23rd January 2011:
Hey it was really awesome.i jst loved it..Actually J.K.Rowling should have wrote it herself in d book..d thoughts wen Harry went missing n wat Ron n Hermione felt at dat time..Thanks a lot.i felt as if it really was a chapter from Deathly Hallows.Awesome.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review. What a brilliant compliment. :* I'm glad you enjoyed!

 Report Review

Review #11, by ElanalovesHarry Before the Dawn

22nd January 2011:
I think this is a really good idea of how the characters would've acted when they realized that Harry was gone. You also did a really good idea of keeping the characters true to themselves that most authors fail to do in fanfiction. Amazing stuff, you're an amazing writer :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! I try really hard to make sure the canon characters are 'in character', so I'm glad you thought I did that well. If you enjoyed this story, I hope you'll check out some of my other stories. I've written a bit of a companion piece to this called "This Ends Today" if you're interested *shameless plug* :P

Thanks again for reading :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Romione4ever Before the Dawn

22nd January 2011:
This is wonderful! It's officially going in as canon for me! :D

Author's Response: Aww, thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it. That's an awesome compliment :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by maskedmuggle Before the Dawn

22nd January 2011:
Hello!
Since I was hovering around on your author's page, I figured I might as well read this as well.

Well, I thoroughly enjoyed this as well. It's clearly very well written and a lovely missing moment. Again, you write the character's emotions, reactions, thoughts so well and so realistically.

Nice read!! Ooh, and I like how you use canon quotes. Really makes it tie in with canon so cleverly! :)

Author's Response: Yay! Thanks for reading :) I love writing canon characters, and I put a lot of effort into making them realistic, so I'm glad you found them to be in character.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by The Empress Before the Dawn

20th January 2011:
Wow, very powerful! I love that you've done this from Ron's point of view. I think you captured his character perfectly and I really like this piece. It reads as a very accurate portrayal of what might have happened.
Great story!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm really glad that you enjoyed this and felt like it was true to the books and the characters. I think Ron's might be my favorite POV to write from.

If you get a chance, I'd love to know what you think of the companion piece, 'This Ends Today' *cough* Shameless Plug *cough*

Thank you again for your review! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by DaBluBanana Before the Dawn

2nd January 2011:
Oh, confound it all!! Why do all your fanfics make me cry??? You are such a great writer!! I love this story, it's absolutely wonderful! Keep on writing, keep on coming up with ideas, and most of all, keep dreaming!

Author's Response: I promise they aren't all sad! Like...um...Defining Decisions! That one isn't sad! And I like to pretend that Life of the Party is at least a little amusing, so no sadness there either :P

Thanks so much for your lovely reviews and compliments. I really appreciate hearing what you think :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by spencefa Before the Dawn

25th December 2010:
wow, that was really good.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading! I'm glad you enjoyed :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Emccentric Before the Dawn

24th December 2010:
Words cannot describe how perfect this is. I was shaking and crying uncontrollably while reading this. It's just so well-written. I wish you'd write the part where Hagrid carries a pretending-to-be-dead Harry back to the castle, though. With your writing style and everything, I'm sure it'll crush my heart, which is classified as a good read for me any day.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review. You're incredibly sweet. While I'm not exactly glad that this made you cry, I've always thought that the best compliment a writer can get is knowing that something they've written has really had an emotional impact on a reader. So thank you again for reading and reviewing.

Also, I'm kind of working on a follow up to this story that is kind of a mash-up of several different people's perspectives at the moment that Voldemort announces that Harry is dead. We'll have to wait and see if it works out...


 Report Review

Review #18, by BBQskittles Before the Dawn

22nd December 2010:
This was pretty awesome. I wish it was longer though. Maybe include harry being carried by hagrid.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed it, even if you thought it was too short. I'm actually working on a piece that is a mash up of a bunch of character's reactions to Harry's "death". If the plot bunnies are cooperative, that is.

Thank you for reading!


 Report Review

Review #19, by krazyboutharryginny Before the Dawn

4th December 2010:
This is the third story of yours that I've read, and I just wanna say that I love your work. :)

This was so touching. I loved it.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! Repeat readers make me happy :) So glad that you enjoyed this story.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Pacific Wizard Before the Dawn

20th October 2010:
Singularity:While I've read your stories before I feel like I "discovered" you today. Your first fanfic: "Before The Dawn", was remarkable. The story's pace, plot, characterizations and dialogue were all superb. My only wish was that the story was longer and you carried it past the demise of Voldemort toward closure. But I also liked the fact that this was a lost story in The Story, of his closest friends while he (Harry) went to offer himself for the good of the wizarding world.

I enjoyed your descriptive narrative depicting the despair that comes with the pain and fog of war, Then everyone's realization that Harry was off to sacrifice himself (again) for the greater good was perfectly paced and cleverly written. In-spite of their agony over his decision to face Voldemort because he loved them, they realized that their anguish was because they all loved him in their special own way. I enjoy your writing style and will look forward to many more fanfics. Well done. PW

Author's Response: I've often thought about continuing this story at least until the trio is reunited, after Voldemort's defeat, so it might happen one day.

Thanks for your kind comments. I'm rather fond of this story, as it was my first (or at least one of my firsts) so I'm really glad that you enjoyed it and thought that the characters and pacing were done well.

Thank you so much for this review and for all of your wonderful reviews! You're pretty much my favorite person right now :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Paige Before the Dawn

17th October 2010:
Wow, I think this is really good! It really expresses how I think Ron would feel. It's really brilliant. It was a good satisfying read. There is one thing that I do think though, and it's that I don't know if Hermione and Ginny really would have reacted the way they did here. I think they would have wanted to go into the forest even though it was going to Voldemort. But besides that its really good!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I think you're right, Hermione and Ginny would have wanted to follow Harry as well, but I think that they realized that it was too late. Harry had too much of a head start on them and they would never reach him before he got there. Hermione especially, I think, always knew that she could only go with Harry so far, that there would always be a point where he would have to go forward alone. Most of the books reach that part. No matter how much help he gets from his friends, he almost always ends up facing Voldemort alone at the end. At this point, I think Hermione and Ginny (and Ron, in the end) realize that all they can do at this point, is prepare for whatever comes next, because there is nothing they can do for Harry at this point. At least that was what I was thinking.

And that is probably far more explanation that you needed :P I really appreciate your review and hearing your thoughts. Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #22, by xxxLeahxxx Before the Dawn

12th October 2010:
This is really good...I read it just randomly and was really suprised. From the first paragraph I could tell it was super well written. Thanksxxx

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! I'm glad you stumbled upon this story and enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by PhoenixTailAndHolly Before the Dawn

12th October 2010:
nice, though the 'god speed' in the end felt misplaced. JKR never mentions gods in HP, so adding it felt out-of-place. Other than that, it was a nice story. Rated 7/10

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm sorry that the 'god speed' felt out of place. I wasn't sure what the wizarding equivalent would be, ("Merlin speed" just seemed silly) plus, I just really wanted to include that line. I know that Jo never writes about religion in her books, but (at least to me) that doesn't mean that it doesn't exist in the wizarding world, especially when you consider the high number of wizards and witches who have Muggle relatives. Anyway, I'm getting off topic :P

Thanks again for reading, I'm glad you enjoyed the story overall :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by WeasleyGirl03 Before the Dawn

12th October 2010:
Fantastic story! You captured each characters' personality perfectly :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm so glad that you enjoyed the story and the characters :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by pattybuns_hpf Before the Dawn

12th October 2010:
I know I've read this before and I think I got around to reviewing it, but I had to go before I did. But now, I'm here to do it.

This one-shot is simply a fantastic read - right down to the very last word. I loved how you wrote the characters and how they are so much a like Jo's point of view of the characters.

As I said this was a fantastic read. I hope to read more missing moments from you! xD

-Patty

Author's Response: Thanks for coming back to review. I really appreciate it :) I do my best to make the characters as true to canon and as possible, so I'm really glad that they seemed similar to Jo's versions. What a compliment!

My story, True Gryffindor, is another missing moment (well, half of it at least) featuring Neville and Dumbledore and set at the end of Sorcerer's Stone, if you're interested.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>