Reading Reviews for Victory
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm What's in a name?

7th July 2014:
Wow, I loved this one-shot, it was just so amazing!

The first part was so different from the second as it seemed as if together, they were making a name for themselves, making sure they were known in the world. You did that really well by linking to Victoireís name a lot, and I liked how you used the meaning behind that as the theme of this section with the way they always had to be winning, always had to be making a name for themselves, and it was just really interesting to read.

The second part contrasted really nicely with the first and how the love for Rose was much purer, much softer, and much more natural. Again, you did such a great job tying that in with her own name and how it has much softer connotations too it.

Your description and language throughout was absolutely stunning and each sentence just seemed to be so mind blowing! It really did seem as if you had put thought behind each sentence and word almost too, and that was really amazing to see and just gave this story another depth.

An amazing read! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by forsakenphoenix What's in a name?

4th July 2012:
Oh my god, oh my god, oh my god. Excuse me while I go die. This, Jesus, my heart. I feel like the talent on this archive is insurmountable and it's because of fics like this one.

It's just so beautiful. The imagery is phenomenal and so pretty. I don't even know what else to say. I love both parts equally. Victoire: She is Victory, Victoire, not victorious. I feel like that sentence had a lot more weight once I read the second part, not victorious. The image of her as a princess in an ivory tower, so delicate, not a conqueror is just gorgeous. I'm just going to keep using synonyms to describe the beauty that is this one-shot. Then Rose's part, her contrast to Victoire, but yet she is the one that stands out as the victor in the end.

I just feel like releasing this huge sigh when I'm done, like all these emotions have been building up within me while I was reading this and when I get to the end, I just need to release them all before I explode.

I honestly...I wish that I could explain in words how brilliant this is. How much emotion and imagery you've managed to pack into 500 words. I know I just left you a review, but it's an incoherent mess, I'm afraid.

I definitely need to read more of your work soon if everything is as beautiful as this.

 Report Review

Review #3, by ohtasha What's in a name?

1st October 2011:
Beautiful writing and I love the contrast between the characters. This is really emotive and delicate.
-Tasha

 Report Review

Review #4, by tangerines What's in a name?

28th August 2011:
That was really beautiful, you ceartainly fulfilled making every word count. :)

Author's Response: thankyou so much, I'm touched that you liked it :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by MajiKat What's in a name?

9th September 2010:
ah!
me again, lol
jo this is simply stunning! i am not a romantic but this made me smile and get all gooey. your language - just wow. i don't know what to say. you understand how to use words and how to use them well, and sparingly, which is lovely. so few words can say so much and in just over 500 words you have told a story which is endless and ageless and complete because we know these characters and we know this situation and not once did i feel like i was seeing the same thing over and over again. you made this scenario feel so real, like i was witnessing it for the first time.
congratulations!!
the characters are wonderful - beautifully done and i am jealous that you were able to do it so fluently and succinctly. so very jealous
the poetry of your words is what astounds me. this was perfection, a fairytale.
i adored this
favs!!

kate xx

 Report Review

Review #6, by Rose_Weasley123 What's in a name?

20th July 2010:
I've read this story about six times straight through, but I've never left a review. For that I'm sorry, because this is one of my favourite one shots ever. I'm afraid I have to disagree with your Author's note here :P.

You have such an ethereal, haunting writing style which works so well in this story. There's something about this story which shows off the best aspects of your style and talent for writing. Plus, some of your imagery is just spectacular. I could probably quote most of the story in trying to find the most gorgeous part of it.

I love the transition between the sections too - there's a subtle shift in the writing which I couldn't explain, but it's there and it works so well. I loved how Rose blossomed in the second section, surpassing Victoire, the 'ideal' woman, and becoming the woman Teddy loves most. It's what I love in Ted/Rose stories, and you made it work so, so well.

I loved the play on both of their names; Victoire and victory and Rose and the famous Shakespeare quote. I loved the running theme of victory and names. Gah, I just love all of it.

My favourite thing was the theme of growing up. Both Teddy and Rose grow up and become perfect fits for each other, and somehow in 500 words you showed this transition, and adolescent love in such a succinct and gorgeous way. I don't know how you do it.

This story turned me into a rambling nonsense-person, so I'm very sorry if it made no sense. Basically, I loved it.

Becca xx

 Report Review

Review #7, by momotwins What's in a name?

14th April 2010:
Beautiful imagery. It reminds me of one of those Japanese brush paintings where the picture is sort of indicated by broad sweeping strokes, simple and evocative, rather than filling in every tiny detail. Highly enjoyable ;) 10/10 for sure.

Author's Response: Wow, thankyou! This means a lot coming from a writer like you :)

I wrote this in a hurry to claim the banner, so possibly my best pieces are when I don't overthink it? Anyway I am very happy that you enjoyed it, and am swooning over your analogy! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Miriel What's in a name?

12th April 2010:
That's not awful! It's really really beautifully written!!!

To put Rose and Victoire into a story without saying HIS name, that's a really original idea. I suppose it's Teddy?

Greets
Miriel

Author's Response: Hello lovely Miriel, and thankyou for dropping by! You're very kind to say so, but I wasn't 100% happy with how this turned out personally, but I'm now too scared to change anything!

Yes, it is Teddy, I'm a little/lot obsessed with the boy and the various pairings he can be spun into! I didn't mention him partly because I only had 500 words XD, and partly because I also wanted to play with how much of us next gen writers revolve around Teddy.

Thanks for reviewing! Random reviews make my day!!!


 Report Review

Review #9, by LindaSnape What's in a name?

10th April 2010:
There's only one thing I don't like about this. That it's Teddy/Rose. I abhor that ship above all others, yet I managed to put this in my favorites.

I just prefer Teddy/Victoire. Anything else seems blasphemy, at least to me.

Anyway, enough about my personal tastes.

This was a lovely shot at Ilia's challenge. I personally love how much emotion and imagery you managed to convey in so few words. It's commendable to say the least.

It was very poetic, but I've always had a fondness for works like this. What can I say? I have a weakness for your and Celestie's writing. You're brilliant, you know?

I could only wish all my pieces were as poetic as this.

What drew me in was your summary. I honestly thought it was going to be a Teddy/someone else that converged into Teddy/Victoire, but I was sadly mistaken. Ah well.

Beautiful job, regardless!

Author's Response: Linders! Lovely to hear from you again!

Teddrose is possibly my favourite ship ever, but I can understand wht you wouldn't like it and feel honored that it still made it to your favourites. Teddoire, which is what I intended to write for this banner, is undeniably canon, but I just dislike that determinism suggested by it - not only do I not see their personalities (in my head :P )meshing but I've always been fascinated by the idea of your first love v. you last. I started out determined to write a Teddoire, but I was writing to claim this banner from UFG and creating an ambiguity about the identity of the woman in the banner was irresistable!

ANYWAY.. glad you liked it! Celeste is a goddess, to be compared to her is amazing! Really, really not brilliant - this is the type of pretty, insubstantial fairytale I've had lots of practise at, but it's just .. stunning.. to hear people liked it this much.

Thankyou so much for the amazing review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Violet Gryfindor What's in a name?

7th April 2010:
I'm going to apologize first for being a puddle of mush while writing this review. The story has made me squee and feel all happy, not just because of how it ends, but also the writing, which is pitch-perfect. Not that I would have expected anything else from you, Jo, since you're a brilliant writer, but the shortness of this story has really brought out the absolute best of your style and talent. :D

What I love most in this is how you work the transition between Victoire and Rose, how Rose matures and becomes the girl that Teddy actually loves most. Victoire is perfect, but too perfect, more than human, and that, in the end, makes her a vision, an ideal, but not right. Just from the language, I could see how young Teddy was in the first part of the story - it's so poetical in a flowery and romantic way (little-r romantic, though I do see a lot of big-R Romantic influence here). The second half reveals a Teddy that is somewhat different, more experienced, more knowing of himself and the world. There's still that idealistic romance there (especially in the fairy tale image), but I see something else in the language too. Arg, I can't describe it - it's just a feeling I got from the two separate halves of this story.

The line I liked most was Her name is Rose, not Victory, and it matters not if she smells as sweet. because you played with the R&J quote in a good way - something I haven't seen much of, especially because most people butcher it or make it sugary sweet. Here, you contradict that Shakespeare quote and it works so well.

Haha, if I ever need to describe what I think about the Teddy/Rose ship, I'll just point people to this story because it's exactly what I mean, but cannot put into words. I really love what you've done with this story and it's definitely going on my favourites list as one of my favourite Teddy romance stories, perhaps even my favourite Teddy/Rose. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #11, by daisychain1 What's in a name?

7th April 2010:
i loved it! the simple beauty of the banner and the emotion put into the summary attracted me to this lovely story! so short but fab, the descriptions were amazing and it seems so effortlessly brilliant! xx

Author's Response: Hi! Lovely to see new faces! Azure's banner is divine, I wrote this specifically around it actually :)

I assure you it wasn't effortless, but I am very glad you liked it! Thankyou so much for reviewing, I really do appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #12, by marinahill What's in a name?

7th April 2010:
Jo... how do you do it? This was absolutely stunning and gorgeous in the extreme. Every word is just so pretty! I don't think I can say anything else because I'm so completely envious of your talent and I really want to read it again. Wonderful job.

xxx

Author's Response: Marina my lovely, you have nothing to be envious of, your own description is divine!

I .. don't know how I feel about this piece, but pretty was definitely what I was going for! I think it quite honestly is just the result of having read way too much fantasy and writing specifically to fit Azure's lovely banner :P

Thankyou so much for the review, such praise means the world coming from you!


 Report Review

Review #13, by RonsGirlFriday What's in a name?

7th April 2010:
Oh, Jo.

I have just died from the beauty of this. It is so moving. I can't even form a coherent thought. I'm sorry to be so dramatic. XD

DON'T CHANGE ANYTHING, FOR THE LOVE OF EVERYTHING MAGICAL!

This is glorious. The metaphor, the flow, the poetic tone. The amazing and perfect contrast between Victoire and Rose, and the whole uppercase "Victory" and lowercase "victory." There was so much emotion and history and characterization in JUST 500 WORDS - you accomplished exactly what Ilia's challenge was all about. And I love that you split it into two distinct parts - it was a perfect choice, and the split seemed natural instead of awkward, if that makes sense.

Will stop writing now, before I write review that's longer than this one-shot! XD

Simply amazing. This is the kind of thing I wish I could write. It is so humbling to read.

xoxo
Melanie

Author's Response: Oh Melanie!

I honestly don't know how to respond to this! You are lucky I can't physically squish you to pieces! I really wasn't sure about this. Normally I don't post unless I'm happy, but this was an UFG claim, and I just didn't feel it was anything new or different.

SO YOU ALMOST MADE ME TEAR UP WITH THIS BEAUTIFUL REVIEW!

It absolutely means the world that someone like you, who is ridiculously amazing enjoyed it so much. I promise not to change anything except the as usual appalling punctuation.

You talk absolute NONSENSE at the end and I will swap talent with you annnyday XD

Thankyou SO very much for the lovely review ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by collette michelle What's in a name?

6th April 2010:
Jo, darling, this was just divine!

I loved it darling. You were able to achieve so much in those 500 words, it's rather spectacular. Your imagery and descriptions are amazing in this (and anything else) and I am envious of them. The whole second paragraph of I, gosh, I must have read it three times because I loved it so much.

Brilliant job, love. For 500 words you were able to show so much while still saying so little.

xx.
Collette

Author's Response: Collette! You are spoiling me! Honestly love, my head will swell so big I won't be able to walk around anymore!

I really wanted to show the darker side to Teddrose, because I am slowly warming to Teddoire (don't tell Jane!). I'm really not in love with this piece by any means, but I've wanted to try my hands at this challenge and I am very very glad you liked it!

Thankyou SO much for your reviews my dear! I've been such a fangirl of yours for so long that it really does mean a lot to me! ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login