Reading Reviews for Dudley's Tale
  
42 Reviews Found

Review #1, by oliverwoodssecretlover Grand Theft Auto

11th September 2011:
Why does it say "*What are you doing?" ? Otherwise, very nice chapter & chapter title, keep 'em coming! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by oliverwoodssecretlover Insanity is Humanity

11th September 2011:
"Gerroffmehewkgk", huh? Nice word. Um...yeah...good chapter. I still am reading this, so you're doing something right. I hope this makes your day! (: Oh, and I really like the different POVs - they keep the story interesting.

 Report Review

Review #3, by oliverwoodssecretlover Knowledge is Power

11th September 2011:
I really like this story! I have no idea if you finished it or anything or even if you've updated it in the last decade or whatever but it's really unique and well-written! Would you like to know what made me comment on this story? No, it was not your plea for reviews...it was the rush of empathy I felt when you mentioned AP Exams! Guess what I'm doing right now?! Studying AP Chemistry! And I have an AP English outline due on Monday! Last year it was AP US History & AP Biology...so I definitely feel your pain! Oh, and keep writing, this is very good stuff. (:

 Report Review

Review #4, by ginnypotter242 Grand Theft Auto

5th August 2011:
I really like this story-I always like the ones about Dudley when he's in hiding. I hope you upload soon, it's really a great story!

Hazel and Dudley are so cute together! She's such a sweetie, and they seem so good together! I like Lunet too-the mind-reading is a bit weird, but it goes with the story well. Great job characterizing all the characters, you really made them come alive. Keep uploading!

~Sara
puppyluv242 (Gryffindor)

 Report Review

Review #5, by popkin Welcome 'Home' Harry

5th June 2011:
Since I am enjoying this story very much, I've just printed out a copy so I can it read in a more relaxed position. Now that the printing is complete, I realize that the story is incomplete and has not been updated since November 2010. I do not want to read one more incomplete story.

Please tell me you are going to complete it.

Please, please, please.

Thanks

Author's Response: I actually just logged in for the first time in months with the intention of getting back into this story. I've had the story arc & ending planned since the beginning but, alas, college applications and then enjoying my last few months of my senior year kind of kept me busy :/... Now that its summer, hopefully I'll get some writing done!

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by WotcherLizzieGinny Grand Theft Auto

28th January 2011:
I love this story! I've always wanted to read a story about Dudley and this one is perfect. Keep writing!
Sierra

 Report Review

Review #7, by Secret Santa Welcome 'Home' Harry

15th December 2010:
Hi,
I wasn't sure what to expect when I first opened this, to be honest, I've never read any fanfictions from Dudley's perspective and I really didn't know what to expect at all. I have to say this was, not only surprising and insightful (as there really isn't much we can gather about Dudley's thoughts from the books) it was also a very interesting opening to this story. From the beginning until the very end I was captivated by the complex way you have given him his own voice. A voice that seemed to suit what we know of Dudley but at the same time was unique to this story.

What I found particularly interesting was the way he seemed to react to Harry, while he pretended really not to care like his parents it was obvious that he certainly paid a lot more attention to his cousin than first met the eye. I particularly loved how you've portrayed this in particular, it adds a certain element of individuality to him and certainly made me rethink his character slightly. I always thought of him as a bully, really nothing more or nothing less. The only thing that changed that slightly was The Deathly Hallows and to be honest, I really love how you've given him this voice that stands out contrasting what I first thought of him and perhaps what was the reality of the situation.

Another of the things I loved about this chapter was the way you've used the text from "Dudley Demented" in order to show how Dudley reacted to the situation at hand and then using it to show how it has changed him over time and how he has come to view himself as a result. It was interesting to see these events unfold from his perspective also, your writing style really adds to the feel of the story and the descriptions of the situations involved were excellent! They gave me the feeling that I was looking on to these events from his perspective which only added to the countless things I loved about the way you have written this and I'll also add that your use of grammar and your spelling were flawless! I really love finding a beautifully written fic such as this!

I really enjoyed reading the first chapter of this fic and I look forward to reading the rest, I really loved this beautifully written insight into the mind of Dudley Dursley, and I've gained a certain appreciation for his character in just a single chapter, I look forward to seeing what the upcoming chapters will bring!

From,
Secret Santa

 Report Review

Review #8, by Secret Santa Welcome 'Home' Harry

15th December 2010:
Hi,
I wasn't sure what to expect when I first opened this, to be honest, I've never read any fanfictions from Dudley's perspective and I really didn't know what to expect at all. I have to say this was, not only surprising and insightful (as there really isn't much we can gather about Dudley's thoughts from the books) it was also a very interesting opening to this story. From the beginning until the very end I was captivated by the complex way you have given him his own voice. A voice that seemed to suit what we know of Dudley but at the same time was unique to this story.

What I found particularly interesting was the way he seemed to react to Harry, while he pretended really not to care like his parents it was obvious that he certainly paid a lot more attention to his cousin than first met the eye. I particularly loved how you've portrayed this in particular, it adds a certain element of individuality to him and certainly made me rethink his character slightly. I always thought of him as a bully, really nothing more or nothing less. The only thing that changed that slightly was The Deathly Hallows and to be honest, I really love how you've given him this voice that stands out contrasting what I first thought of him and perhaps what was the reality of the situation.

Another of the things I loved about this chapter was the way you've used the text from "Dudley Demented" in order to show how Dudley reacted to the situation at hand and then using it to show how it has changed him over time and how he has come to view himself as a result. It was interesting to see these events unfold from his perspective also, your writing style really adds to the feel of the story and the descriptions of the situations involved were excellent! They gave me the feeling that I was looking on to these events from his perspective which only added to the countless things I loved about the way you have written this and I'll also add that your use of grammar and your spelling were flawless! I really love finding a beautifully written fic such as this!

I really enjoyed reading the first chapter of this fic and I look forward to reading the rest, I really loved this beautifully written insight into the mind of Dudley Dursley, and I've gained a certain appreciation for his character in just a single chapter, I look forward to seeing what the upcoming chapters will bring!

From,
Secret Santa

 Report Review

Review #9, by Scipia Into the Wizarding World

11th December 2010:
AWESOME!!
HARRY HAS A HOUSE IN VENICE!
I really can imagine Dudley's shocked face whenever he finds out something new about his cousin :D
Makes me grab my stomach from laughing so hard :)

Author's Response: Scipia,

I'm so glad my story could make you laugh! Thank you so much for leaving a review!

-Serious_Black


 Report Review

Review #10, by Jen Fireside Chat

28th November 2010:
I'm glad you're back to writing this... It shows a lot of promise and I look forward to reading more, but the delay between chapters has occasionally made it very difficult to keep up.

Author's Response: Jen,

Thanks so much for reviewing. I know I took a really long hiatus this summer/early fall... I'm making a commitment to never letting that happen again :) Hopefully you'll enjoy the next chapter. I just have to talk to my father about some Italian translations & it'll be in the queue!

Thanks again,
Serious_Black


 Report Review

Review #11, by SeverusLove Insanity is Humanity

4th September 2010:
This story is good. It's unique and fits the original series. But I have this thing against OCs and hate when they stand-out too much. But this was rather amusing. I'd love to see more magic in the story. Good job though, it was very amusing.

Keep it Up,
SeverusLove

Author's Response: SeverusLove,

Thank you so much for your sweet review! I appreciate the feedback and plan on including more magic in future chapters. Again, thanks.

-Serious_Black


 Report Review

Review #12, by Harry and Ginny Insanity is Humanity

20th July 2010:
this is getting very interesting! i can't wait to read the development between Dudley and Hazel (what does she think about Dudley) and the next chapter! will u update soon please?^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Harry_and_Ginny,

I'm sorry this took me so long to respond to... As it has been known to happen, life got really crazy for a while. I actually just submitted a chapter into validation, so hopefully it will be up soon!

-Serious_Black


 Report Review

Review #13, by Harry and Ginny A Sanguine Catastrophe

20th July 2010:
i'm so sorry i only got to review now! it was very sweet of Dudley to stay and watch over Hazel. when is something going to happen between them? reading next chapter now.^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Harry_and_Ginny,
You don't have to worry. Seriously (haha... I know... my name), I've been so bad about updating with new chapters, I honestly don't feel I deserve such wonderful reviews. Hopefully, I'll update soon, and you'll love that chapter too.
-Serious_Black


 Report Review

Review #14, by RumbleroarOnMars Insanity is Humanity

29th June 2010:
Awesome chapter. It was cool to see it from another perspective, and see what he thought of Dudley. Can't wait to read what happens next, I hope Diggle is OK!

Author's Response: RumbleroarOnMars,

Thank you so much for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed reading it from the other perspective; I certainly enjoyed writing Justin's point of view.

-Serious_Black


 Report Review

Review #15, by philly94 Insanity is Humanity

28th June 2010:
great chapter, great story! Its cool to hear about Dudleys time in hiding, most of the stuff focuses on the Trio and family after the war. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: philly94,

Thank you so much for your review. I myself was always curious about the Dursley's time during the war. Hence, this story. I hope you enjoy the next installment.

-Serious_Black


 Report Review

Review #16, by RumbleroarOnMars A Sanguine Catastrophe

26th June 2010:
Another good chapter, I enjoyed it :) Keep writing please! I am looking forward to the next chapter :)

Rawr >:D
10/10

Author's Response: RumbleroarOnMars,

Don't worry, I definitely plan to continue writing this story. I'm SO sorry about the long wait for this chapter, hopefully the interim periods between updates will shorten... for all of our sakes.

Thank you so much for reviewing. It means a lot to me.
-Serious_Black


 Report Review

Review #17, by aussieginny A Sanguine Catastrophe

26th June 2010:
lol very good as always but maybe pretty please a quicker update??? lol love ur work
xoxoxo aussieginny

Author's Response: aussieginny,

Yeah... I'm kinda really ashamed about how long a respite I took between these past two chapters... I could provide a lengthy list of excuses but I feel that would tarnish whatever integrity I have. Hopefully you'll also enjoy the next chapter, which went up today.

Thank you so much for your lovely review. You made my day.
-Serious_Black


 Report Review

Review #18, by RumbleroarOnMars Knowledge is Power

14th June 2010:
I love it! I really can't wait to read more! You are an amazing writer so please update as soon as you can!!

Author's Response: RumbleroarOnMars,

Thank you so much for the review! Now that school is officially out, I actually put the next chapter into the queue this morning. Hope you enjoy the latest installment.

-Serious_Black


 Report Review

Review #19, by Jackson Robles Knowledge is Power

26th April 2010:
Oh the joys of AP tests. I could never take more than four - and even then for some reason scheduling only allowed me to actually take three classes. Both Junior and Senior year I had to study for an exam on my own. But Gov and Lang? Bah. Easy peasy - as you well know ;)

Let's see... today is April something? Yeah. 26th. That means that they're getting closer. So good luck! Basically. I'm sure they'll be a breeze.

But who cares about that? We're talking Dudey's Tale here! Aren't we? You know, I was just thinking the other day about how some people might arrogantly bash your portrayal of the stout boy. Saying he would never act like that. But, I mean, when you think about it, he's got a 'muse' to his changed behavior. You explain it - and even beyond that - you've got that one, very provocative line where Dudders gave Harry that lovely little line about how he never thought he was useless -or whatever it was (it's hard being so involved in HP when you don't have any of the books... oh well, term's over on Friday anyway) - you know what one I'm talking about?

Feedback... well... hmm. I'm in a good (yet very drowsy) mood. So there hasn't really been much critique lately. I can give you some, if you're interested.

Hazel - ? Well, we've got a bit of her story. Extremely beautiful girl that just reads. She's small, but amazingly beautiful, and apparently smart - as she reads all sorts of lovely little books most people wouldn't bother with. Now does that make her smart? Well, it gives her the impression that she's smart. So, in a way, it does (as anyone that reads those kind of novels inevitably goes around, sipping tea from elegantly carved China while discoursing loudly on the pathetic state of literacy in South Africa - overbearing, basically) - but for some reason Hazel's innocent. Well, oddly enough, her character strikes me as cliche. But not for HP fanfiction. For original fiction. She is the character all those bookworms like to write. That beautiful bookworm that's truly nice and earns herself a guy that just loves her for her... self - that petite, mild (her worry at the outburst she thought she had toward the two boys) girl who nice guys (you do throw it up a little bit with the use of Dudley as her knight in shining armor though - not a dashing man in a Versace suit)

But, when thinking about the characters it must be said you keep them in well rather well. Owen's craziness coming out in excitement instead of angry outbursts - keeps him in line with his brothers. And I must say they aren't vague in any sense. Justin's a bit left out, but we haven't seen that much of the story yet, have we? (or have we...? No, I don't think we have) Lunet is that fiery little 'sister' that I've seen maybe a couple times before - Nesta, that very attractive, very abrasive girl that just goes and goes - Dudley, bad trying to do right - Owen, well, I'm still a little skeptical about his person. Does he like Hazel? I dunno. Maybe. Maybe not. And why was he up? And what's around that corner?

Like I said, the characters are very poignantly drawn out, which is a writing feature that a lot of HPFF artists leave out on more than one occasion. And I don't want you to change Hazel or anything. I mean even real - haha, not calling you fake, but you know what I mean ;) - authors take their own flak. Like J.D. Salinger. Catcher in the Rye . oi. There are so many things that can be torn apart in that novel. It's scatterbrained narrator that really doesn't stand for anything but angst - and Salinger's inability to truly give meaning through that kind of narrator. (Edisto by Padgett Powell makes Catcher in the Rye look like a joke - have you heard of it?)

So no worries there. Hazel's a nice character. I like her - and I'm sure that nerdy, beautiful bookworm will come out with some qualms soon.

... Man I've gone to town on this review haven't I? NOT DONE! Nope. You know? Apparently MLA changed their rules? Books are to be italicized now, instead of underlined. :P

Okay, now I'm done. I. think. I might have lost something in the rambling. I mean - it's an interesting little chapter isn't it? I mean, the library sounds like a pretty cool place, doesn't it? And Dudley flirted! Kind of... you know?

Anyways, I'll be checking up on this story come May 13th ;) - most liberating feeling in the world, knowing AP exams are done. Well... maybe not most, but I'm sure it's up there :P

Jackson

Author's Response: "Old Hickory" (or perhaps "Young Hickory"... I'm pretty sure you're birthyear is before 1767, thus making you significantly younger than the president)

OMG! And I thought you said your reviews were going to get shorter! Wow, you definitely had fun with this one! I'm going to actually read it now... :P

I'm in 4 APs this year... I was REALLY stupid and let my guidance councilor talk me into it... Thanks to a joint effort between her and my mother, I'll graduate with 10 APs... I may die. I'm not to worried about the exams, oddly enough... The exams are never as hard as the actual classes at my school.

I was hoping to incorporate more of Hazel's background with her father & half-siblings later in the story, thus hopefully making her a tad less cliche. I am already painfully aware of how superficial the reader's knowledge of the character is... this is partially because Dudley really knows almost nothing about her and the story is primarily told from Dudley's point of view.

Can I just comment on how amusing it is that you mentioned Catcher in the Rye in this review & I mentioned the book in a response I just wrote to an earlier review of yours? The coincidence made me smile.

I have not heard of Edisto but I'll put it on my summer reading list... If my local bookstore has it, I'll pick it up and put it in my "to read" book basket (I'm weird and keep a basket of unread books by my bed... don't judge me, I know it's probably bad for the books)

No worries about rambling... If everyone was focused all of the time, the world would be an incredibly boring place and I wouldn't have such a long wonderful review from you! I totally get what you're saying about AP exams though... It may not be the MOST liberating feeling... but when you're actually done, you feel like no feeling in the world could top the freedom you are experiencing at that moment.

Thanks for the reviews... sorry it took me an eon and a half to respond :P

- Black


 Report Review

Review #20, by Jackson Robles The Joys of Telepathy

26th April 2010:
I think we've reached the point that my reviews are going to drop in length. I do try to keep them rather long. It's hard though. You know? It's not like I'm SEARCHING for things to say - it's just I don't want to repeat anything I've said, you know?

Ahem, anyway. I do like the idea of Duddykins and Lunet as good friends. And the POV change was a nice little shake up as well. Lunet's fiesty, but she means well, which is probably what makes her so likable. You know what I mean?

And good ol' Dudley. Least he's not a horn dog for Hazel, which leads me to believe he really does like her. Justin and Nesta? Well... I'm sure that'll go well... yeah...

And what of Owen? I wonder if we'll be seeing any more of him in the near future.

Like this chapter? You got to show off a bit of your Italy knowledge. All that stuff sounded familiar. Oh the joys of studying the renaissance (ever since Euro I've always pronounced that Ren-AYE-saunce - you know? :P) And I'm sure they were quite the entertaining pair in the middle of St. Mark's square - could everyone understand them?

There were actually LESS screw ups in this chapter (not that... being called screw ups is a bad thing - though it does kind of throw things in a negative light, doesn't it? How... about... typos? Eh. Hold the same weight with me)

Mr. Jackson ... *middle name to be figured out later* Robles

Author's Response: Mr. Andrew Jackson Robles (may not a middle name... but perhaps now I could call you "Old Hickory"? haha!)

Italian knowledge comes from many a summer escapade into Venice with my lovely cousins. St. Mark's Square is ALWAYS crawling with tourists, most of whom speak English, either natively or as a second language. Most Italians I know are also required to learn English in school. So it is probably safe to assume that there were plenty of people who could understand the two. And even if one didn't understand English, I'm sure they would find it QUITE bizarre to see two teenagers making such a scene.

Oh yay! Fewer "screw ups"! Lets call them "unfortunate mishaps of the grammatical sort" UMGS, for short :P.

-Serious Leigh Black (I've decided I like the middle name)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Jackson Robles The Morning After

26th April 2010:
DONE! Loved it. I just do. There are a few ... wording errors that I see where things make me raise my eyebrows, but I'm not your beta so I won't go berating you about it. (you should've seen the things Alopex said to me when we were fixing up ATAS! But I will say I helped my writing grow by leaps and bounds so :P)

And as an example as something that just didn't look right:

"He looked her cream heart-shaped face up and down" - or something to that effect. I was kind of like o.O whaa? And had to reread it to fully understand what was going on. It's not a big deal, like I said, but things like that... I'd be killed for. *cries*

But seriously, it's great! I do like the oddity of Lunet being a mind reader. And Nestia liking Justin. And Dudley of course likes Hazel! Called the mess out of that. *nods*

So what are we looking at here? Obscure magical creatures! I mean, really, they were in Books 3 and 4 - but I mean, who's written a fanfic with them in it? Maybe one or two people - tops! I'm just saying. And it was well written. I totally forgot what a hinkypunk did before Lunet came and saved Dudders.

Lucky Dudykins. And speaking of lucky - he seems to be doing well earning Hazel's affection. And that's love, that is. Wanting to be a better person after meeting someone. Well - it can be. We kind of have to think, you know what I mean? Why is he wanting to be a better person? Because of her, or for her? To earn her affection, or what?

If it's to earn her affection... well, that's not exactly love, but it's an important, selfish, step on the road that leads there. And if it is because of her, well, buddy's head over heels. And definitely even more so after talking so easily with her.

We're building conflicts! Did you notice. Nestia =/= Justin. Lunet's ability to hear things. Vernon (this one's minor) and his Confundedness. Dudley's affection for Hazel. Things! Things are moving.

And it's going well, I think. Sure the edits are going to help wonders (just saying :P), but at the moment it's not bad (:P again).

Mr. Robles

Author's Response: Mr. Jack-and-the-beanstalk Robles (I'm having fun with naming you)

I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter. As for the magical creatures... I have a weirdly specific memory for random details (like the creatures students faced in Lupin's obstacle course final)... For example, I could tell you that Holden Caulfield buys the "Little Shirley Beans" record for his sister... I don't have a clue why I remember that, but it is literally engraved in my memory for some unknown reason.

That he wants Hazel to like him, does not mean that Dudley is in love. He certainly does not realize that he might have strong feelings towards her as he is not quite mature enough at this point. He knows he feels something.

Never fear, mass edit begins April 13. No sooner because I'll be taking the 12 (my last day of exams) to sleep & veg, making a general slug out of myself, as a reward for studying. But right after that, I'm grabbing my "Strunk & White" and smiting these mistakes with the sword of grammar!

-Serious Leigh Black (like my new middle name?)


 Report Review

Review #22, by Jackson Robles The Ministry Has Fallen

26th April 2010:
The Ministry's down! Whatever shall they do?! . They'll spend the night in the woods - that's what. I mean, really, they just have to be sure that their place wasn't compromised! And Dudley said Voldemort too! Was the taboo placed? Well, if not then, then definitely now (weird phrasing...)

Yeah, hullo Black. My seriously serious time at being playfully serious is seriously over and I no longer have any intention of being either fully playful or serious - but shall instead choose a amalgam of both properties and just hope for the best. And therefore! We now start the review. Or is it ergo? I think, if I had one iota of what I was talking about I'd know that it was 'ergo' - my bad there.

It's not horrible for not being edited. My first run throughs at writing have really O_O mistakes in them as well. I think mostly everyone makes most of these mistakes when writing one time through. Edits are ♥ - but I do understand your rush and... ahem, mistake, so it's all good.

Onto the content! *thinks* Well, we're looking at an important chapter. One keeping in time with Deathly Hallows - and one that I think hold quite a significant weight - I mean, they just left the Potter house! Are they going to go back? And Dudley's thinking of Hazel in a very teenage boy way - which is good I think, for the romance at least.

Oi - I'm glad Petunia had a little bit of sense in this chapter. Although it was callous and annoying, she at least was able to bring her husband down a couple steps and just when Vernon was finally told off about accepting the house! They have to leave.

Anyways, I'm interested and continue to enjoy the read.

Mr. Robles

Author's Response: Robles,

I know that you've already read the next few chapters and left me absolutely marvelously long reviews on each... So I plan to read all of them, make small comments on each, then compose a lengthy response in the most recent review.

I'm glad this chapter wasn't "horrible for not being edited!" Yay for that! Major editing streak begins in a little under 2 weeks! Get excited!

On to the next fabulous review!

-Blackly_Serious


 Report Review

Review #23, by Jackson Robles Into the Wizarding World

24th April 2010:
Hullo Ms. Black (that is officially the funny) - I was going to point out a few areas that needed 'super edits' - but looking like you're going to get to them soon anyways - so I'll stave off and wait anxiously for 'defiantly' to be turned to 'definitely' :P

But what are we looking at here in terms of story? It's a very interesting set up. I like the whole idea of the house and Justin! It's Wilson from House! A younger Wilson of course, but I think that totally works for him. I definitely hear his voice now. I also liked the lion smelling their wand to let them in.

But to the characters themselves! Won't this be an interesting - well, year? That was a very funny instance with the two boys oggling Nesta. I'm sure that'll lead to some interesting conversations between the boys later in the story. And then we have Hazel! She didn't have much in this bit did she? Well, I get the feeling from the banner that this is the girl to watch.

And! I totally knew it was a Potter house. I actually thought it was their home in England before Justin said anything. For some reason I was willing to accept the Thames as being just 10 feet across. Silly me.

Oh well. At least I didn't take my entire story do--- oh yeah. Haha - I was totally just talking in general. Not about you at all. *whistles innocently*

But I do enjoy reading this story. It's - innocent? Easy going? It's definitely a good story. I mean, so far as I can tell ;)

Jackson

Author's Response: Mr. Jackson,

I should tell you that 'defiantly/definitely' is one of my cruxes... I can NEVER spell "definitely" correctly (I'm actually REALLY happy that you already spelled it in your review so I can reference it & not make a fool of myself in this response). So don't be too surprised when you see it again... I'm sure its there a few times (silly me & my lack of spelling skills).

I'm going to go & quickly fix that error... I'll go back & find the others later during the mass edit...

You're right, Hazel will play a larger role as the story progresses. Nesta and her younger sister will glean some more attention as well.

I suppose this could have been in England. I chose Venice b/c I'm pretty familiar with the city. My family lives close by so during my summer visits my cousins & I have done the tourist-y thing there a few times. It seemed like a fun place to set the story.

Ok... I'll take the ridicule. I'm a bit absurd, I'll admit. Only a REALLY gullible, REALLY irrational person would take down their story... on April Fool's Day... That was a fail.

I'm glad you're enjoying it. Thanks for reviewing :)

-Ms. Black :P


 Report Review

Review #24, by Jackson Robles Welcome 'Home' Harry

23rd April 2010:
Hilo. How's things Serious? I think I can call you Serious. I mean, is Ms. Black good? I don't want to cross any boundaries.

That is actually very funny that you fell into the 12- rule so wholeheartedly. I was tugged in for a bit before realizing what day it was and having read about the Twilight thing the year previous. ;)

But besides that you've done a good job with this first chapter. I think our writing styles are similar, if that means anything? I don't know... just the way you tackle the narrative kind of feels familiar. Does that make more sense? o.O

But anyways, well, the mind of Dudley is an interesting thing, no? I'm sure that he's not just demented but tormented as well. And I like the idea of a bit of a surprise at the end (if you hadn't read DH :P) as well. Just - the Dursley's are all these kind of wizard haters and disdainful of anything to do with that crackpot school - and then they crack while Petunia bawls her eyes out into Ickle Duddykins's shoulder. It's a nice imagine.

And while the Dursley's weren't the nicest to him, the first four novels kind of had that comedic feel with the Dursleys - you know? Everyone always talks about the idea that they abused Harry - and some fics make it much more angsty (wink wink) than the books ever did. And it kind of irks me. Vernon and Petunia are comedic styled characters. A horse and a whale - with a son that was (before boxing) wider than he was tall. Funny images all round.

And you keep that going. Dudley's not the deepest character on the planet, and truth be told, sans the Harry thing, he's a regular British kid. He just has knowledge of a very strange place.

And now he's going somewhere very interesting. I quite like the idea and premise of this fic, and look forward to reading and seeing where this is all heading toward - I quite the idea of a dudley/OC fic. We'll have to see how she looks, hm? ;)

Jackson

Author's Response: Jackson,

Wow! Long Review!

Haha! You can call me whatever you want, be it Serious or Ms. Black or anything else you come up with. I'll respond to literally anything.

I'm pretty sure that I am THE most gullible person on this planet. I've found that I just have to laugh at myself when I fall for practical jokes, which, needless to say, happens a lot.

I'm glad you enjoyed the first chapter. I think you might be right; we do write similarly, now that I think about it. Fun stuff!

I wanted to write about the Dursleys because of the "comedic feel," as you put it, I found in the books. The Dursley v. Wizarding World chapters in JK's books have always been some of my favorites because they overreact to EVERYTHING.

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review! It made my day!

-Serious/Ms. Black/whatever :P


 Report Review

Review #25, by Harry and Ginny Knowledge is Power

21st April 2010:
all i have to say is update! update! update! i want to know what's going to happen now!^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Harry_and_Ginny,

I promise I will update as soon as my tests are over! The next chapter is written and everything... I really do need to focus on my school right now though. I hope you understand. Thank you for leaving another wonderful review!

-Serious_Black


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>