Reading Reviews for Ashes and Dust
  
41 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Seren Sirens

28th December 2012:
This is just amazing. I loved the first story, and thought it ended with some loose strings, so I was glad to see there was a sequel! I absolutely can't wait for the next chapter. Oh, and why don't the Aurors just use a Penseive or Veritaserum do determine that Draco is innocent? Anyway, good luck on the next chapter! I hope I'll see it soon.

 Report Review

Review #2, by a-d Sirens

3rd September 2012:
Interesting.
Used to only wonder how a Silent Hill could be made, now I'm wondering how it might grow.
And why.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Cari0 Sirens

3rd October 2011:
Yay! This is great! Please continue soon! Are Harry and Draco going to see eachother in Silent Hill? Will Harry even get pulled into Silent Hill?

 Report Review

Review #4, by datbenik513 Sirens

28th June 2011:
I was already contemplating about tying you to your bed with only a typewriter and a box of 80 grams paper within reach, but you were faster.

It was an amazingly tense chapter and the story itself, I mean the real stuff - hasn't even started yet. It projects a film noir-type atmosphere, something dark and unwelcoming, something outwardly evil. The description of the pouring rain, the eerie wailing of the siren only Harry seems to hear, even the Aurors... an outwardly bone-chilling experience.

I was always of a very high opinion about your writing skills, but now you managed to surpass even yourself. There was also something... script-like in this chapter, ready to be shot for the big screen.

This is the most perfectest of all scores one can imagine, m'dear. A perfect TEN, no questions asked. I LOVED IT!

 Report Review

Review #5, by FireCracker2000 Sirens

21st June 2011:
Yey! Thanks for the update, I really love this story :-D Can't wait for Draco and Harry to meet up! xxx

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the thoughtful review, FireCracker2000! It was just wonderful hearing from you. I'll try my best to have the next chapter posted soon. Until then, take care and be well! ^_^

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #6, by Void Character Sirens

11th June 2011:
Thanks so much for continuing this story! I was scared you weren't going to. It will be interesting to see how this part plays out. I wonder if Shepherd and Ron will get trapped in Silent Hill to, or if it's just going to end up with Draco and Harry. Anyway, good job! Reading your writing is like eating ice cream...YUMMMY

Author's Response: Hi Void Character,
Thank you so very much for reviewing! Your feedback was just wonderful and I'm so glad to hear that you are still enjoying this story. Also, I do sincerely apologize for the lack of updates. RL has been completely unforgiving lately. The next chapter, however, is in the works and I'll try to have it posted as soon as possible. ^_^ Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #7, by Hinata245 Scapegoat

26th March 2011:
I love this story almost as much as the one that came before it. I was just wondering if Cybil will make another appearance. You seriously had me crying at the end of Trial by Fire. Thanks for being so wonderful! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so very much, Hinata245! And yes, Cybil will make an appearance in the sequel. The next chapter is in the works and should be posted in a couple of weeks. Once again, thanks for your support!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #8, by FireCracker2000 Scapegoat

31st January 2011:
Hurrah! This story is so brilliant! I'm sorry Draco and Hermione won't be seeing much more of each other, but I can't wait for him to meet up with Harry. I really like the descriptive way you have with words, so creative, it really brings the world to life. Looking forward to the next chapter! Hxxx

Author's Response: Thanks so much, FireCracker2000! I'm so glad to hear that you're still enjoying this story. ^_^ Even though Hermione and Draco won't have much direct interaction in future chapters, I do promise that they will both be major characters in this fic. ;)

Again, thanks so much for your continued support and encouragement! I will try to have the next chapter posted as soon as possible. Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #9, by datbenik513 Scapegoat

27th January 2011:
It extremely pleases me that it's your chapter here and no one else's that holds my 500th review on HPFF.

Even though this had been an extremely long wait, you don't cease to amaze me every time I enter your Potterverse.

Having spent quite some time watching The Mentalist, CSI and the like recently, I have to admit that I enjoyed every single letter of this chapter. The interrogation scene was just priceless and I was loudly applauding when Draco busted the Auror.

The additional kudos goes for the fact that you didn't suddenly make big pals of Hermione and Draco. Their common past and past enmosity will always hang around their neck so that even a civilized conversation between them will be troublesome if not impossible.

Draco's mental state is ... , OK, trying to use Queen's English here :D ... lower can one not fall. He's frightened, pained and desperate, yet dangerous, a caged animal that will fight until the bitter end - proven by hitting the Auror and snitching Hermione's wand.

The last chapter should go into the books. Utterly amazing.

A perfect score, without doubt.

PS. If you keep me waiting for the next chapter, I will go all Kathy Bates on you, honey :D

Author's Response: Hi Zoltan!
Thank you so much for the fabulous review! I should have responded to this much, much sooner. Please forgive my lack of replies, etc. lately. This semester has been torturous. But I do sincerely apologize for taking so long to get back to you. This review was just wonderful (as always) and I really do appreciate your continued support of this fic.

Yeah, this chapter took me WAY too long to write. I feel like a bad author. Even though I had this chapter plotted out, I just didn't have the free time to sit down and write it, which was very frustrating.

Haha, I'm glad you liked the scene in which Draco confronts the Aurors. I have to say, while I greatly respect law enforcement officials, those two really had it coming. ;)

And yes, I thought it would be terribly weird if Draco and Hermione suddenly became best friends. As it is, Hermione still dislikes him immensely and Draco was only too happy to steal her wand and stun her.

Needless to say, I'm so, so glad you thought Draco's mental state was appropriate. I think if I was him, I might go a little crazy as well.

Haha, Kathy Bates! Misery was actually a great movie. She's an amazing actress. I will try my best to get the next chapter posted before you turn into Annie Wilkes, but I make no promises. RL has been very unforgiving.

Again, thanks so much for reviewing, Zoltan! I do hope things are well with you and your family. Take care!

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #10, by Void Character Scapegoat

15th January 2011:
Better late than never! It's good that you're continuing this story, as it is pretty awesome.

The whole idea of Hermione feeling empathetic to Draco and giving him that chance to escape . . . Your characters are consistent and rarely out of character xD.

I love your descriptive writing style, it makes even the most bland of scenes interesting!

Keep up the good work!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review, Void Character! I was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed this chapter. Needless to say, I truly appreciate your continued support and encouragement. It was really wonderful hearing from you.

The next chapter has already been plotted and should be written soon. Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #11, by NeverMoonAWerewolf Fog

9th December 2010:
Poor Cybil!
Great story! (Merlin! my reviews always sound really weird!)
Please continue soon!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review! It was great hearing from you. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #12, by the rising sun Fog

28th November 2010:
I scream, you scream, we all scream for UpDaTeS!!

Author's Response: Updates are coming, I promise! This story hasn't been abandoned, new chapters will be posted soon. :) Thanks for your patience!

 Report Review

Review #13, by NeverMoonAWerewolf Fog

20th November 2010:
Great Story!
Please update soon!!
ps. friend who read this suggested Draco burn himself to death in the end, because he's still tormented by Cybil's death!!

Author's Response: Thank you so very much for the thoughtful review! I do truly appreciate your helpful feedback and suggestions. Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #14, by Sorceress Cassandra180 Fog

10th November 2010:
Just finished reading Trial by Fire, as well as what you have of this one. I have to say as both a Silent Hill fan as well as a Harry Potter fan this story is just brilliant. I'm rather ensnared by the blending of the many universes here. I ask that you, please, do continue.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the great review, Sorceress Cassandra! I'm so glad you enjoyed both Trial By Fire and the first few chapters of the sequel. I know it has been a while since I've updated, but I am hard at work on chapter three and should have it posted soon.

Again, thanks for everything! I do hope you have a pleasant weekend. ^_^ Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #15, by datbenik513 Fog

4th November 2010:
I almost missed this chapter. Shame on me, I haven't visited your page for quite some time now.

This one is a cool example when "less is more". You give vague hints as to Harry's previous involvement in researching Malfoy's case and a few shadows of what he had seen in Silent Hill, enough to cause him nightmares ever since.

For some reason, this chapter eerily reminded me of one of my own chapters, "Crossing of Two Fates" of "Our Past Deeds". Like little Ginevra's path crossed Harry's there, completely unknowing what this meeting would bring to both of them, the same way Harry met Leo, unknowing about his involvement in Cybil Bennet's case (and life as well).

A tiny typo. Ron was holding the RECEIVER upside down, not the RECEIVING. Apart from this, again, a very strong, introductory chapter. For in my eyes, this is where the story really begins.

I can't really help it, but I certainly much more prefer your "horroristic" side to your "historical" side. Don't get me wrong, Madame Minister is an awesome piece, but your inner Stephen King just pleasantly creeps me out. I just hope you don't abandon this story!

Author's Response: Hi Zoltan!
Thanks so much for the awesome review! I'm sorry it's taken me forever to sit down and write out a proper reply. My appendix put on damper on things for a while and then school got unbelievably hectic. I do sincerely apologize for the delay, though. I absolutely love your feedback and I really feel terrible for not getting back to you right away.

Needless to say, I'm thrilled to hear that you think this story is progressing well. Sequels are always hard to write, at least in my opinion. And I've sometimes found it difficult to translate the same tone/atmosphere of TbF over into this fic while introducing a new plot. I'm glad you think it's working out all right, though. ;)

Ah, the Harry/Leo scene! Yeah, I hope it didn't come across as too contrived. I'm sure you'd be able to pull off the whole 'chance meeting' subplot with more finesse. I'll definitely have to drop by "Our Past Deeds" to see what you've done.

And thanks so much for pointing out the typo! Ugh, how blind can I be? I'll have to fix it right away.

You know, sometimes I think I prefer writing horror, but then again, history has always been my first love. Perhaps I should write more historical horror to satisfy both my muses? Haha.

Anyway, it was really great hearing from you. Again, I'm so sorry it took my forever to reply. Real life as been extremely unforgiving lately. I do hope you're well and having an enjoyable winter. Take care!

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #16, by Illuminate Fog

4th October 2010:
Hi! I don't really have a lot of time, but I wanna say I quite enjoyed this chapter. Your Ron and Harry were both believable. You wrote it very well, everything I said in the previous reviews still stand.

Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Illuminate! It was really great hearing from you. I'm so glad you thought Harry and Ron were true to their canon selves. ^_^

I hope you have a lovely week. Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #17, by Illuminate Purgatory

4th October 2010:
Hi! This chapter was good aswell. You describe Draco's emotions very well and it's easy to relate to and understand him, so well done on that.

I liked Hermione's addition, and thank you for saying this isn't a Dramione, I have to say I took a sigh of relief :D

Great episode, well done!

Author's Response: Hi Illuminate!
Thanks a million for reviewing! I'm so glad you're enjoying this story so far, even though you have not read the prequel. And yes, there will not be dramione pairing in this fic. I don't think there is much room for romance--canon or non-canon--in a story like this. ;)

Again, thanks for everything! I truly appreciate your feedback. ^_^ Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #18, by Illuminate Prologue

4th October 2010:
Hi!

I haven't read the original story of this, and I don't know Silent Hill, but I don't really feel consfused about this so far. Perhaps it's because my reading nature is expecting it to be explained, but I know it probably won't, since it all happened in the previous story :)

But in terms of writing, you wrote this very well. It is very well described and the whole atmosphere is very smoky and dark. I like it :) And there was the right level of exposition, which is always good :D

Very good, well done! :D

Author's Response: Hi Illuminate!
Thank you so very much for taking the time to read and leave such kind feedback! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed this chapter and weren't too confused. Even though this story is a sequel, I tried my best to include bits of back-story in order to give new readers something to go on. ;)

Again, thanks for everything! I really do appreciate your comments. I hope you have a great week! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #19, by FireCracker2000 Fog

29th September 2010:
Oh I just love this story! Your writing style is so enjoyable, the level of detail and the way it flows is just so easy to read but not simple at all, just really good lol. I can't wait for more, I love that Harry's sympathising with poor old Draco, I can't wait for them to meet! Great job Hxxx

Author's Response: Hi FireCracker!
Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review! It was really great hearing from you. I'm so glad you're still enjoying this fic. The next chapter has already been plotted and I should get down to writing it in a few weeks. ;)

I hope you have a pleasant weekend. Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #20, by MidnightBlue_x Fog

18th September 2010:
The starting is good, amazing actually and it's really easy to picture this scene which seems to be a talent of yours. The description is amazing and for me it feels like I'm watching this scene from above.

I love Harry's characteraztion, how he believes Draco is innocent is somehting entirely different in a fic like this and frankly I find it refreshing. I love this line 'wish, just for a moment, to touch her hand…', I think it's extremely sweet and defintely something I can imagine Harry saying.

Ron's characteraztion is great, the line “Mate, you need a bath.” is totally something I can see him saying.

I'd love to continue reviewing this, if you'd like me to of course because honestly this is the best fic with Draco in that I have ever read. So I hope to see you 'round and thank you so much for requesting!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hi Ely!
Once more, thank you so much for the thoughtful feedback! Your reviews have been just wonderful. I feel so very spoiled, haha. ;)

I'm so glad you liked my characterization of Harry and Ron. I've never written them before and I thought they would both turn into big cliches. ^_^

Again, thanks so much for everything! I will definitely re-request from your review thread in the future. Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #21, by MidnightBlue_x Purgatory

18th September 2010:
Me again.

I have to tell you that I might have to kill you for making this story so damn addictive. The characteraztion was amazing, of all the characters and once again I found it hard to tear my eyes away. Plot is still great and I feel myself feeling sorry for Draco over this whole ordeal. And lastly the atmosphere is great, I can, once again, imagine watching this scene. I'm sorry this review is shorter than the first one but I wasn't sure what else to say, Sorry.

x Ely

Author's Response: Hi Ely!
Thank you so very much for taking the time to both read and review! I cannot possibly express how grateful I am for your thoughtful feedback.

I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter and my take on Draco. I do hope he wasn't too melodramatic. ;)

Thanks again for everything! It really was wonderful hearing from you. I do hope you have a great week. Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #22, by MidnightBlue_x Prologue

18th September 2010:
Hey, I'm here for your review.

Wow, I seriously couldn't tear my eyes away from the screen until this chapter was over. Usually I don't read these sorts of stories as I prefer to hang around the Marauder Era but I'm so glad you requested it.

The plot is very good, even for a first chapter which is hard to find these days but it makes me want to read on and see what happens.

Characteraztion; Well obviously there are no canon yet but your OC's seem like great characters. Can't wait for them to devlop even more.

Atmosphere; Hmm...Well I can imagine standing at this funeral and watching on to it. The description was great and I could really picture it in my mind.

Hope that helped a little.

x Ely

Author's Response: Hello Ely!
Thank you so much for the lovely review! It was just great hearing from you. I really do appreciate your kind feedback.

I'm so very glad you enjoyed this opening chapter. I have to admit that I've always thought my opening chapters were rather weak. Honestly, I tend to revise them at least five times before posting, and even then, I'm usually still unhappy with them, haha.

And I was thrilled to hear that you liked the OCs featured in this installment. As for myself, I've always loved working with OCs, although it can sometimes be difficult relating them to the HP fandom.

Again, thanks for everything, Ely! I hope you have a pleasant week. ^_^ Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #23, by DarkLadyofSlytherin Fog

13th September 2010:
Yay! An update!

Love it! I love how Ron and Harry are in this chapter and how they are dealing with the things in Silent Hill. I can't wait to read what you're going to do with the next chapter.

You're such a fantastic writer, and I absolutely love this fic of yours.

I really would like to know, to see, what Harry saw when he went into Silent Hill. I can only imagine what things must have look liked to him. It would be so horrible though.

Anyway, love it!

Author's Response: Hi Len!
Thank you so much for taking the time to both read and review this new chapter! As always, it was an absolute joy to hear from you. I'm so glad you liked this installment. I was rather iffy about it myself, considering that I have never written Harry or Ron before. ;)

I already have the next chapter plotted and should start working on it in three weeks or so. Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #24, by katebabelovesharrypotter Purgatory

9th September 2010:
I like where this story could go. It has a lot of depth (at least to me) and it really captures my interest. I love the titles of both the story and the chapter and I think I'll probably go read the prequel to this now. You're a fantastic writer. :)

Author's Response: Thanks a million for taking the time to both read and review! It was really fantastic hearing from you. I found your comments to be so very encouraging. I hope you have a lovely weekend. :)

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #25, by katebabelovesharrypotter Prologue

9th September 2010:
Very interesting start. I enjoyed the departure form the same old thing. And I gotta say I'm in love with Draco, sequel or not.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the thoughtful feedback! I'm so glad you enjoyed this first installment. ^_^

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>