Reading Reviews for Five Rebeccas
  
48 Reviews Found

Review #1, by meghna Rebecca The Fourth

6th August 2012:
LOVELY RITA.

Reasons why I love this story:
1) The Smiths. Ten gold stars already.
2) Your descriptions of the Rebeccas are so amazing? They're perfectly in character with Charlie and I can totally image a love-struck loon mooning over a girl the way you portray him to.
3) "The way she said it, the words sounded like most profane phrase ever uttered by man. But at the same time, it sounded like the anthem of a generation lost and betrayed by the light they hoped would never go out." *showers you with cookies*
4) "A cigarette burn on my brain" amazing line. A++
5) THE THIRD REBECCA ERMAHGERDDD. Favourite chapter of the whole collection! So adorable and sweet and still so sad towards the end. How do you write.
6) "The streetlampís light shone outside her window and we held each other, touched each other, loved each other, until it went out." Endless there is a light that never goes out references I actually want to cry these are so clever omg.

I'm done with the bullet points. FIFTH REBECCA, PLEASE. Oh god why did you stop Rita, this is so good ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by deluminator Rebecca The Fourth

18th February 2012:
Such a sweet chapter.

I love how you have written this story so that every chapter connects perfectly with the next and yet each story is comepletely its own. With each chapter I feel like Charlie is getting something from each Rebecca that is significant to him being emotionally and physically ready for the last Rebecca.

I also liked the details from the books you included in this chapter- the Eygpt trip, Norbert and maybe Rebecca the dragon is Harry's dragon from GoF?

 Report Review

Review #3, by deluminator Rebecca The Third

17th February 2012:
Making Rebecca the Third a dragon is brilliant!

... It also makes a lot of sense. What Charlie had with the previous Rebecca, what she meant to him, did not seem like something that could be replaced with a new woman anytime soon.

However, a dragon (on top of that, his very first dragon) that I get.

By the way, I loved the line- She hated all the other trainers but only disliked me.

 Report Review

Review #4, by deluminator Rebecca The Second

17th February 2012:
This chapter is genuinely heartbreaking. I loved everything about Charlie Weasley/Rebecca Hyunh. The way they met (swearing and all), meeting the family... even the way it ended was so congenial albeit incredibly sad.

I am not the biggest Smiths fan- I only know a handful of their songs (all great songs, though) but I did smile when I read betrayed by the light they hoped would never go out.

 Report Review

Review #5, by deluminator Rebecca The First

16th February 2012:
This is just too cute!

I love little Charlie Weasley in this- he is so painfully hopeful and innocent.

I was genuinely hoping everything would work out exactly how Charlie wanted it to. Oh well, there are four more Rebecca's to come and Rebecca The First is obviously not right for him if she does not appreciate a soda pop ring.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Drecklin Rebecca The First

13th August 2011:
I think it is a well known fact that I adore everything about your writing. But really? How on earth did you make a five year old romance sound so sophisticated and real? :P It's magic I tell you! Anyways. I adore everything Charlie and this was certainly no exception. He was funny [even as a five year old] and I just loved the way you wrote him. Imagining a little Charlie running around on a playground giving soda pop rings to another little girl just makes me giggle with pleasure. The whole idea of this story is just adorable too.

Anyways, before I go off fangirling about how much I adore your writing, I'm off to read the next chapter! Excited to see what's in store :D

Drecklin
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #7, by RocketBabyDoll9 Rebecca The Fourth

8th March 2011:
I am completely and totally in love with this story. I absolutely love your style, and your The Smiths references. Can't wait for the fifth Rebecca!

10/10

 Report Review

Review #8, by Enlightened Piglet Rebecca The Fourth

13th January 2011:
Love it love it love it!
Love the slight humour in the chapters, love that not ALL of his five loves are actually named Rebecca (that would be a tad unrealistic) and love how you can really sense Charlie's distinct voice coming through.

Hope you update soon! Can't wait to read his fifth Rebecca. I hope it's a happy ending for our Charlie

 Report Review

Review #9, by anonymous Rebecca The Fourth

28th November 2010:
just the cutest, not this chapter particularly, but this story.
Can't wait for the fifth Rebecca :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by ILuvSev4Evr7 Rebecca The Fourth

27th August 2010:
I love the way you write! I mean it.

 Report Review

Review #11, by ILuvSev4Evr7 Rebecca The Third

27th August 2010:
Hahaha that's funny. lol but I love the idea of this chapter. ^-^

 Report Review

Review #12, by ILuvSev4Evr7 Rebecca The Second

27th August 2010:
SO SAD! But

 Report Review

Review #13, by ILuvSev4Evr7 Rebecca The First

27th August 2010:
Aww... :( Poor him i feel sorry

 Report Review

Review #14, by RonsGirlFriday Rebecca The Fourth

11th August 2010:
Wow, Rita! o.O This chapter is amazing. Probably my favorite chapter so far. Where to start?

First, I like how you change things up and don't do the obvious - for example, how the girl in this chapter isn't actually named Rebecca (as far as we know) - but Charlie likes to think of her as being named Rebecca. I loved that.

Also, the relationship here was lovely. It wasn't romance - the way they met, with him throwing up in a trash can definitely wasn't romantic, and he admits he wasn't really in love - and I adored that honesty here. They were just two people who wanted each other for one night - and that, of all things, helps him begin to heal.

I think this chapter also really made it clear that this isn't just a disjointed series of one-shots about a bunch of girls named Rebecca. It's a story about the trajectory of Charlie's life and love.

The writing in this chapter is especially beautiful and full of feeling. It makes me believe in love and almost-love and all that mushy stuff. XD

Melanie

 Report Review

Review #15, by RonsGirlFriday Rebecca The Third

11th August 2010:
I love that one of the Rebeccas is a dragon - how fitting for Charlie. What else is there to say? Your writing is wonderful, always interesting and unique.

Melanie

 Report Review

Review #16, by RonsGirlFriday Rebecca The Second

11th August 2010:
Rita, I am reconnecting with this fabulous story about love, and realized I never left you a review for this chapter!

I love the teenage Charlie, his obsession with music, how it connects him with Rebecca H. Part of me wishes they had worked out - I really love this Rebecca. The way they meet in the record store, her verbal explosion, her crying on his shoulder over "Morrissey you bugger wipe!" XD

Fantastic, as always!

Melanie

 Report Review

Review #17, by Cherry Bear Rebecca The Fourth

8th July 2010:
I had almost forgotten about this story, so when I was browsing my favorites the other day and saw that it had been updated - twice! - without me noticing, I was ecstatic. There's something so enchanting about this story that makes me sad that we're almost at the last Rebecca. I can't wait to see what surprise you'll throw on us then.

I loved both these chapters, but I'll start with how much I loved the third chapter. I thought it was great that you kept things realistic in that Charlie didn't go over his love for the second Rebecca as easily as he did his childhood crush on the first, and I especially liked how you didn't outright say it was a dragon. I guessed it at the first description of her, but still; it made me laugh that you threw such a curveball. And I still love how you keep every chapter somewhat parallel to the ones before with certain lines.

That being said, I loved what you did with this fourth chapter just as much. It's a bit unrealistic to expect a boy to fall in love with five girls with the same name, so I liked how you didn't do that by making Charlie give the dragon and the girl that name in these two chapters - especially because Charlie wanting this girl to be named Rebecca seems so silly, but fitting for his drunken state.

I also liked how you made this Rebecca sort of the transitionary Rebecca for Charlie; it's not a serious relationship, which makes sense since he's not entirely over the second Rebecca yet. And, like I said before, I'm really intrigued by what the fifth Rebecca will be like, because it seems like this chapter is just leading up to him having a good relationship with that one. I'm hoping for a happy ending, but, then again, this was written for the Unrequited Love challenge :P Who knows what ending you have planned in that little head of yours?

I think my favorite part of this chapter is how you made it all into a sort of hazy seemingly forgettable but actually sort of memorable night, and especially how, for once, words weren't important. I liked the repetition and pattern you have with the, "She kissed me [...] I didn't want to let go of her" section, if only because I think it reflects so much on how important this memory is to Charlie and how, when his life is in chaos, he just wants comfort.

Additionally, I really liked the Rebecca character you created here. Even though we don't hear one word that she says beyond the offering some coffee bit, her passion made her come to life in my mind. It seems like you put some thought into her character rather than just making her this essentially nameless, faceless, personality-less girl for Charlie to use and move on from.

What I like most about what I read of your writing is how ridiculously well you write, and I can't write a review for you without mentioning it. Everything just seems to flow so smoothly and it just seems so...effortless for you! I envy you that. You did an incredible job here and I can't wait for the fifth chapter. Update soon? (:

Cherry Bear

 Report Review

Review #18, by me_thehplvr Rebecca The Fourth

7th July 2010:
Aww. Next Rebecca por favor (:

 Report Review

Review #19, by me_thehplvr Rebecca The Third

7th July 2010:
I wasn't expecting one love to be a dragon! Original... I like it (:

Continuing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by me_thehplvr Rebecca The Second

7th July 2010:
I like how it was a bit consistent with the last chapter. Many lines were the same, but utterly different.

I love it!

Continuing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by me_thehplvr Rebecca The First

7th July 2010:
Aww, young love.

It was sweet (:

Continuing!

 Report Review

Review #22, by WitnesstoitAll Rebecca The Fourth

7th July 2010:
Oh my gosh, Rita. gah.

I don't know why, but this chapter is by far my favourite. This 'Rebbecca' and Charlie were beautiful. The little poetic/song-like section... wow. I had to reread it several times to be sure it was actually different wording. The repetition was spectacular... like a pulse or a tide. I'm not sure why, but I felt so emotional at the end of this chapter. Like, I'm glad that Charlie's heart is ready to love again, but at the same time, I feel so badly for him.

NORBERT! hahaa. Nice touch

xx
Melissa

 Report Review

Review #23, by Musicbox Rebecca The Second

6th July 2010:
Eventually I will try to get around to reviewing each chapter of this story...but what a gem this one is! I love the transition of sweet 'n innocent little Charlie to jaded and serious teenage Charlie - the character development between the first chapter and this one is seamless and wonderful. The descriptions are beautiful without losing the masculine voice of Charlie's narration. And can I just say how absolutely genius this line - "...a generation lost and betrayed by the light they hoped would never go out" - is? I might be biased because I do love the song it alludes to, but it's a perfect nod at The Smiths without being cheesy. Anyway, excellent work, and I can't wait to read the rest :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Rebecca The First

6th July 2010:
That was very cute! You captured the ignorance and hopefulness of a child here, and it was sweet to read. Bill's 'sagely' advice and Charlie's excitement at marriage and ice cream seemed fitting for the age.

The only two things I that didn't quite fit were toilet cleaner eyes and Molly's crafts room. To be honest, I have no idea what toilet cleaner jelly beans are. Perhaps it's a UK thing, perhaps it's me, but I have no idea. Also, I don't think Molly would have a crafts room. She strikes me as more of a kitchen-bustling type.

Other than that, it was very nice. Keep it up. ;D

 Report Review

Review #25, by collette michelle Rebecca The Fourth

3rd July 2010:
Awww, Charlie! I want to give him a hug.

First, I loved how you tied all the little details in at the beginning, the Egypt trip and Norbert[a]. Second, I loved the idea that Charlie called Rebecca the fourth Rebecca, though he didn't even know her name. Like having Rebecca the third be a dragon, this was different and I like that aspect. It's more interesting then just another Rebecca.

But anyway, now he feels better, less broken hearted over The Smiths Rebecca. That is good for him. I can't wait to read what you have in store for Rebecca the fifth!

xx.
Collette

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>