Reading Reviews for Under the Eye of the Snake
  
39 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lady Kyra Average

22nd August 2010:
I am woman, hear me roar, eh? I really liked seeing Hannah in this light! It was different than how she is normally written, and it was a welcome change. I thought she was characterized brilliantly, and of course we get to see the beginning of the Hannah/Neville come out of nowhere romance.

I liked how she started out thinking she was so average, but in th end she refused to be just average. I also thought it was great that she refused to be another lovesick girl. Probably what got her wonderful ol' Nev in the end, right? :)

A very nice piece! I hope this review helps you in some way!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Lady Kyra Knowing

22nd August 2010:
I really liked this. There aren't many quality fics about Professor Trelawney, probably because she is somewhat difficult to write, and I thought you pulled it off well. The way she goes back and forth between not knowing what to do and pretending she knows everything was wonderful. I loved how she hid Lavender and was so strong for her. You don't particularly think of Trelawney as a strong character, but I think that, as you wrote, if she needed to be she could be. Her student- prize student, actually- was threatened, and she responded by jumping into action. Perhaps this is where she got the idea to throw the crystal balls in the Final Battle? :)

I really liked Alecto in this. I thought it was interesting that you gave her an accent and it was all the better. Just a note, though, you switched a bit between referring to her as her and as a him. You might want to check that.

Overall, this was a wonderful piece. I hope this review helps you in some way!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Lady Kyra One Last Smile

22nd August 2010:
I thought this was a lovely little one-shot that depicted a day in the life of Colin and Dennis. I particularly liked all of the parallels to those who hid the Jewish refugees in the Holocaust. This story had a very Anne Frank vibe to it, and it was incredibly interesting to see the parallels.

I thought Colin's characterization was spot on. I liked how he talked about his camera and how nobody smiles anymore and that real smiles were perfect. His protective side about his brother was also brilliant. Speaking of his brother, isn't his name spelled Dennis? Just asking, it distracted me a bit.

Overall, a very nice story. I hope this review helps you in some way!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Lady Kyra Flitwick's Tale

21st August 2010:
Hey, you put Flitwick in here! I love Flitwick! :)

Really, this was a nice piece that gives some insight into Hogwarts in during DH. I liked how Flitwick automatically stood up for the boy, and how the teachers were allowing the students to use them as the excuse if they got caught going to or from their revolutionary activities. It seems like exactly what all of the professors would do, though Slughorn doing it seems questionable unless the student in question is one of the Slug Club.

I hope this review helps you in some way!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Lady Kyra A Portrait in Remorse

21st August 2010:
I thought that this was an excellent piece. While it is not the scattered, somewhat humorous Dumbledore that most are used to, I really liked that you portrayed him as a wiser, world weary Dumbledore. With everything he lived through and seen, how could he not lapse into moments like this?

I like how he reflects on Snape and Harry. His reflections on Snape are really telling in how much he trusts them, while his sadness that Harry doesn't know all of what he is going up against is poignant.

I thought that this was a brilliant piece that really delves into the mind of our favorite Headmaster and comes out with the thoughts of a man who has seen too much.

I hope this review helps you in some way!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Oh_Sugar_Quills The Carrow Effect

17th August 2010:
This was really good! I loved how you wrote it, telling things that happened throughout the year instead of just one thing. I loved seeing Neville stand up to Amycus like he did, especially when he refused to Crucio Ginny. Everything that Amycus did really fit with what was talked about in the book. Wonderful job!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Oh_Sugar_Quills Draco Deliberates

17th August 2010:
It's strange reading about this side of Draco. We are so used to him being mean, so it just didn't seem right at first. Once I started getting used to it, I really liked it. The idea that he was really trying to help them never occurred to me when I was reading this part in the book.

The only thing I noticed was that it was missing a few spaces between words. Other than that it was a very good story. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Oh_Sugar_Quills Larking About

17th August 2010:
This was so good! You wrote Peeves very well, and it was very entertaining. I loved the little songs he was singing in it, and the names he had for people, especially 'nasty pink frog lady'. Wonderful job!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Oh_Sugar_Quills The Lone Crusader

17th August 2010:
I always forget that Firenze was at Hogwarts during that time. It was nice to read something about him, and how he was being affected. I thought it was interesting that you wrote it from Neville's point of view. Not only is it different, I really enjoyed reading Neville's thoughts about Firenze and everything that had happened. Very good!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Oh_Sugar_Quills Stand and Protest

17th August 2010:
I really liked this because even though it's such a short amount of time, it still showed so much about how Hogwarts was at that time. I thought it was a bit sad when she was thinking about Luna and Harry, making herself believe that they were alright. I felt so bad for Ginny and Neville at the end. Ginny because she thought she brought suspicion on her family, and Neville because he had was left to fight on his own.

Great job!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Oh_Sugar_Quills The Good Daughter's Troubles

16th August 2010:
I've never really been a fan of Marietta, but I liked this story. It was nice to know what was going through her head during all of this, and it kind of made me like her more. I loved reading about Cho coming to tell her about the battle, and her struggle deciding to fight or not.

Amazing job!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Oh_Sugar_Quills Average

15th August 2010:
I really enjoyed this. I felt bad for Hannah in the beginning, but by the end I was just thinking "Awesome!". I loved that she didn't want to be like the love-sick girls. I always imagined Hannah being one that didn't really care to be like other girls, and I think that little bit really sets her apart.

Great job!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Oh_Sugar_Quills Knowing

15th August 2010:
Great one-shot! I loved how you wrote the everything between Trelawney and Lavender. I felt like it really fit with how they interacted in the books.

When Trelawney started fighting Alecto, I wasn't sure that it really fit her character, but when Lavender brought it up she almost seemed surprised with herself and I think that made up for it.

I did notice that at the beginning it was said that Alecto was a woman, but at the end it was saying "he" except in the line, "I'll just be dumping him down the trap door, would you mind altering her memory dearie?". That got a little confusing.

Even with the he/she thing, I really liked this a lot!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Oh_Sugar_Quills One Last Smile

14th August 2010:
This is actually pretty sad. I never have been a huge fan of Colin, but this really shows a different side that we didn't get to see in the books, and I like it. I also never thought about them being in hiding and I liked the idea that they were staying at the Diggory's.

I did notice a couple of typos in there, like once or twice I noticed that "quite" should have been "quiet" and "were" should have we're", but it's no big deal.

This really was a good story.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Oh_Sugar_Quills A Portrait in Remorse

14th August 2010:
I really liked this! The way you wrote it was really good, and I think this really fits Dumbledore's character. The only thing that I noticed was what Jackson Robles has already mentioned, that it should have been "Imagine" and "Remember".

Overall, you did a great job!

 Report Review

Review #16, by keroberros Larking About

14th August 2010:
I loved this one so much! Peeves such a character and you really captured him in this. I particularly loved his names for people and the little rhymes! They're such a Peeves thing to do. It was so brilliantly written exactly how I would imagine Peeves to tell it and I couldn't help but laugh. I hope Im right in assuming it was when they went to steal Gryffindor's sword. It was absolutely brilliant and Im struggling to find any fault. Great job again scooterbug!

 Report Review

Review #17, by keroberros The Lone Crusader

14th August 2010:
This was a great chapter because it showed Firenze in a different light to what we're accustomed to seeing. It was also really clever to do this from Neville's PoV because it showed not only Neville's thoughts and feelings but also a different perspective on Divination and Firenze's character. This was really well written and the grammar was absolutely fine! Great job!

 Report Review

Review #18, by keroberros Stand and Protest

14th August 2010:
This was a great one-shot about just what Ginny was feeling during the year. I loved that thing with the peas because its so easy to associate rolling on a plate with pre-occupation. The fact that she didn't even like them all that much and they were still there anyway just showed how much she really wasn't concentrating on anything else. I really liked this as it showed that there were other ways to make a stand against the regime that didn't include being vocal. Great job scooterbug!

 Report Review

Review #19, by keroberros The Good Daughter's Troubles

14th August 2010:
Wow. I loved this. You could really feel the different emotions that Marietta had. Everyone hates her because she sold out the DA but now seeing her side of things I feel so bad for her. You wrote this brilliantly! The last couple of lines were amazing too and a great way to end the piece. Marietta trying to atone for what she did against Harry but also for herself and her family. You really made Marietta appear so much more human and it was a brilliant one-shot. Truly deserving of first place!

 Report Review

Review #20, by keroberros Average

14th August 2010:
Woo girl power! This is a really nice precursor to Hannah and Neville getting together. I feel so bad for Hannah at the beginning of the piece where she talks about her being high on Voldemort's kill list and yet when she carries on on her woe is me pattern I get really annoyed! I don't know if that was intentionally but I started to really hate her. I was like "Girl! Hush! There are people worse off than you so quit your moping and do something about it!" The section with Neville was sweet and yet I wouldn't expect anything else after all that Hannah had told us before. The ending was brilliant. "Just try and stop me" Love it! Great job

 Report Review

Review #21, by keroberros Knowing

14th August 2010:
This was a great one-shot and I can so see Lavender going to Trelawney for advice. I thought that perhaps the fight scene was a little out of character for Trelawney especially after HBP. I just can't see her being together enough to actually fire and block curses. I liked the fact that Trelawney hadn't seen Lavender's choice but rather felt it. My only criticism would be that you occasionally referred to Alecto as he or him and when she was introduced you used "women" the plural rather than the singular. Other than the gender confusion though it was a highly entertaining piece. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #22, by keroberros One Last Smile

14th August 2010:
Oh no! That was so sad because we know what's really going to happen! You could really feel the pain that Dennis felt over not being able to do anything and his total despair. I liked the fact that you had them hiding in the Diggory's house. We never know what happens to them but we know that one of them ends up at Hogwarts to fight. I liked this take on the year out. There were a couple of issues with the use of the wrong homonym such as "role of film" where it should be "roll" but other than that the piece was brilliant. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #23, by keroberros Flitwick's Tale

14th August 2010:
This was a great snippet from DH. It showed really well the things the teachers would do just to ensure that the students were kept from harm. I loved your characterisation of Flitwick. He was cute but also serious when needs be and that's exactly how I saw him in canon. His little internal conversation over the rumour was brilliant too. My only thing with it was a couple of typos. Glace should have been glance and to girls should have been two girls but other than that it was great. Good job!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Were Lupin The Carrow Effect

3rd June 2010:
I think your story is amazing!
I love the way you've done it in the view from all different people in the castle, good and bad :)

More soon?

 Report Review

Review #25, by butterbeergal One Last Smile

9th May 2010:
I have to admit that I find Colin rather annoying, but you showed a totally different side to him that might just change my mind. You've still managed to keep him as optimistic as ever despite the darker times without overdoing it. I loved the part when he explained to Denis how the wand made them special - I would have never thought of using that approach to make Denis calm down. Very touching and introspective. Good job.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>