Reading Reviews for The Journey of a Curious Fairy
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Secret Santa The Journey of a Curious Fairy

23rd December 2011:
I have to admit, I wasn't entirely sure what to think about this - but it's so sweet! The fairy's character is so cute and adorable with her curiosity and I like that you made her different from the other fairies. Her obsession with just looking at Harry and the way she reacts when he looks at her made me smile. I think I have a slow, fairy brain too as I'm not sure what she did that helped him :P but it's still a beautiful, cute little one-shot.

Love,
Secret Santa xx

Author's Response: Don't worry, you're not the only one that thinks that way ;) This is just a short little piece I randomly thought of one day. As for what she did to help him, well...honestly I'm not too sure either. I guess you'll just have to ask Harry what happened there! ;)

Thanks so much for reviewing! Your reviews are so sweet. :')


 Report Review

Review #2, by orderofthephoenix The Journey of a Curious Fairy

2nd March 2011:
Hey Jordan! :)

It's nice to see a story about a lesser known species of the Wizarding world. I notice you've got another slightly similar story on your page so I'm sure I'll be reading that one next! :)

This was very creative and descriptive. I like your interpretation of Harry from this fairy's POV, especially the 'strange contraption on his face'. :)

I'd have liked it to be a little longer but it's a lovely read as it is. I'm going to have to go back and reread GoF to find the scene where Harry's at the lake. Silly me, I can't remember it.

-Sophia x

Author's Response: haha the strange contraption phrase seems to be very popular ;)

You're not the only one who has said that they want this to be longer.. *hides* I think I'll just leave it, though, because I honestly can't think of what to add to it at the moment. :P And actually, I can't remember exactly where that scene is either... o_O maybe I made it up? Lol I fail.

*hides from extreme canon people*

Anyways, I'm glad you like it, Sophia! Thanks so much for the nice review :)

~foundriapenguin


 Report Review

Review #3, by TheProphecy The Journey of a Curious Fairy

15th February 2011:
Hellooo,

REVIEW BOMBBB!!..No.4

I like that youíre doing mystical creatures, like the mermaid and the fairy, itís different and original, I like that. :D

I like her characterisation and her sisters, the butterflies bit cracked me up!

It was kinda short though I wanted it to go on longer!!! I also wanted you to develop her as a character! But overall I liked it. You have such an amazing imagination and a brilliant writing style.

Next bomb!!!

Author's Response: HEH. Writing short things is so much easier so I tend to lean towards that. :P Amazing imagination? BRILLIANT WRITING STYLE? OO: *dies* zomg, you just made my day. Thank you so much for this lovely review!

~foundriapenguin


 Report Review

Review #4, by Alopex The Journey of a Curious Fairy

26th December 2010:
Hi FoundriaPenguin. :) Here's my chance to return the favor.

I have never read an HP story about a fairy before. Never. How unique! You have some very unusual looking things on your page, but I just couldn't resist this story.

I loved reading a description of a human (especially one I can picture so easily in my own mine) from a completely different creature's point of view! It felt familiar and alien at the same time, if that makes sense. I cracked up reading about the "contraption" on Harry's face.

I admit I haven't read GoF in quite some time, and I can't really remember the scene when Harry finally figures out the egg. I know Cedric gives him a hint, which he takes, but I don't remember him sitting alone by the lake. Therefore, I can't really place this story in context . . . my brain is as slow as the fairy's!

No matter what, it was a really cute story. The fairy came across as very child-like and innocent, with a love of exploring and adventure. There wasn't much of a "point" to this story, but it was a very refreshing read. :)

Author's Response: Hey Alo!

I wish I could take credit for the fairy idea, but actually I did this story for a challenge on the forums! As for the unusual things on my page, well, I have strange ideas for stories xD

hehe strange contraptions FTW! You know what, I can't remember when Harry sat alone by himself by the lake either, but I'm pretty sure it must've happened LOL. I don't think I just made that up, so I will have to go back to my old copy of GoF and look that up.

Thanks for reviewing this, Alo! Getting your feedback was really great for me to read! :D

~foundriapenguin


 Report Review

Review #5, by Drummergirlred The Journey of a Curious Fairy

21st August 2010:
very whimsical and definitely one of the more creative stories I've read. Nice to ponder what other creatures think of Harry and that just not witched and wizards are curious about him. Though this is short I liked the OC and think it would be cute to read more about her.

Author's Response: Ooh, whimsical! :D I like that word. I don't know if I'll write more stories about her, though. Maybe I will on a spur of a moment. Thanks for reviewing!

~foundriapenguin


 Report Review

Review #6, by AndrinaBlack The Journey of a Curious Fairy

19th August 2010:
Oooh fairies! I wish there was more about them in the HP books. This was a really delightful story! I really got the image of a little fluttering fairy flying around and being curious and I liked your main character. I liked how you made it obvious how much smaller she was than Harry, by describing him as huge. I also liked how you made her help him in a way but not make her smart anyway, but just having her little fairy brain. I loved the story!

Author's Response: Aw thank you! I feel like fairies are awfully neglected in HP, and I'd really like to say that to write about fairies was my entire idea but...I did this for a challenge ^_^ I'm glad you love my story! :O You used the "L" word! AHHH (: Thanks for reviewing!

~foundriapenguin


 Report Review

Review #7, by Jane_Volturi The Journey of a Curious Fairy

19th July 2010:
Hi Jordan

I was just scanning randomly through the stories on your authors page when this one in particular caught my eye and I decided that reading it was just too tempting an oppurtunity to pass up. My first thoughts when reading the summary were...FAIRIES! It's not very often that I come across a story that includes these wondrous, fascinating creatures, and with my experience in reading some other pieces of your work, this story practically screamed originality.

Where to begin? Ah-ha, I'll start by discussing the basic idea of the plot in general. It was light, innocent and so childlike - really, a true pleasure to read. I'm glad that you kept this short with little a plotline as possible - the inclusion of fairies isn't very big in the Harry Potter series, and they really are simple, pretty creatures. I think that this was the perfect length to be honest, short and sweet. If I recall this point in the book, the story is leading up to the second task, and there's a lot of angst and mystery hanging in the atmosphere. I think you chose your setting very well, this one-shot really added a light touch to this point in the story, and I really enjoyed reading it.

I thought that the fairy was cute, like one you'd read about in a fairytale. She added a real innocent touch to the Harry Potter universe which seems to handle magic a little more darkly in my opinion. The choice of title was good also, it really defined the whole point of the story, and her interest in Harry Potter really intrigued me. She reminded me of Dobby in that way. One part of the story made me giggle - when she refers to the 'strange contraption' on Harry's face. Lol, she meant his glasses right? Everything from her thoughts to her behaviour was just so ingenuous and - fairie-like. You really did an excellent job with handling her characterization.

I think that your choice of words flowed really well together. There weren't any big or difficult words in there which is good because it fits the theme of this story. At the same time I like the way that you told the story from the fairy's point of view. We were seeing that point in the series from her perspective, and it was a nice change.

I couldn't spot any mistakes regarding spelling or punctuation, once again I can find no critisism for your work.

I know I've already mentioned it in previous reviews but I thought I might as well comment on it again. Your originality when it comes to writing is a real skill of yours - you write OC's so well in a way that they never bore you or fail to keep your interest. I thouroughly enjoy every OC that you make, and I can't wait to see who else you'll create in the future. Again, it really is a pleasure to read your work, keep it up :D

10/10

Katie (JaneTwilight)

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, this review was so deliciously long! :D

I'm so glad you thought the plot was good! I was a bit scared that the story should have more substance and that I should lengthen it, but many reviewers have told me that it's perfect, so I'm not worried anymore. (:

Thank you so much for all the compliments! Some of these things I never thought much of, but your words have really made me extremely happy! :D So much flattery is making my head spin! Again, thank you so much for your long and thoughtful reviews! I really appreciate it so much.

*hug*

~Jordan


 Report Review

Review #8, by BellaFan202 The Journey of a Curious Fairy

16th June 2010:
That was cute. I liked it, I really did. 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks so much! ^_^

~foundriapenguin


 Report Review

Review #9, by Riya Potter The Journey of a Curious Fairy

7th June 2010:
Nice story!!! Gud 1!!!

Keep writing... :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I will keep writing, don't worry!! (:

~foundriapenguin



 Report Review

Review #10, by lustylover The Journey of a Curious Fairy

11th May 2010:
Here is my review (finally!!!):

I thought this was such a cute little tale! I like the idea of a fairy...i really have never read stories on here with fairies, so it was definitely a breath of fresh air! :) I think you are talented and have a lot of potential to write some great stories.

LL

p.s. thank you so much for requesting reviews! Please check out my stories here on HPFF if you get the chance!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! They make my day even better than it already is! :D

~foundriapenguin


 Report Review

Review #11, by Evil Sami Poo The Journey of a Curious Fairy

6th May 2010:
Sorry about the wait.

anything at all! length?
Perfect length, short and sweet but long enough to capture attention.

flow?
So cute, the flow followed perfectly to what I would see in a fairies mind.

characters?
She was adorable! I love the little reactions, she's perfect and I want to hug her! Harry's reaction was also straight on target.


Pretty much the MOST AWESOME STORY EVER! I really enjoyed reading it XD

Author's Response: haha awww thank you so much! I'm so happy you got around to reviewing my story! (:

~foundriapenguin


 Report Review

Review #12, by propertyoftheHBP The Journey of a Curious Fairy

24th April 2010:
I'm sorry it's taken so long to review -- I kind of neglected my thread for a while, as you obviously know.

Anyway -- this was so cute! I've never read an HP story where there are fairies like this before. She (did I miss her name?) came across so cute and bubbly, like a little toddler. Especially the last line, "I curse my slow, fairy brain." Aw. I liked that she very well knew who Harry was; fairies were probably persecuted just as much as any other creature during the First Wizarding War, (after, too, I'm sure) and Harry is a savior to all. ;)

You asked about the length; I thought that it was just right! Too much more seems like it would almost defeat the purpose/meaning of the cutesy-ness and fluffiness of it all.

And I can't seem to find any places for improvement like you mentioned; I might give the main fairy a name, but that's really only personal preference, it didn't detract from the story at all. Overall, I loved it! 10/10

Author's Response: I never gave her a name because I didn't think it was necessary, hehe x] I kind of just dubbed her as "Curious Fairy." I'm so glad you love this story! And the fantastic rating!! AHhh(: This made my day.

~foundriapenguin


 Report Review

Review #13, by Jackson Robles The Journey of a Curious Fairy

18th April 2010:
Hey Foundria! Not too much to say here - I mean, it was great.

But it was also short :P so I can't go to great lengths talking about things.

I like your fairy. She's nice. And different from the crowd! By the way, this is really . . . I kind of totally forgot fairies existed! It's great. I've never ever read a fic with fairies in them before, and this one is great.

I really like the ending as well. The little fairy with a kind of crush on the Boy-Who-Lived - and then she helps him!

It was great - innocent - I liked it. So great job! haha

Jackson

Author's Response: haha I wrote this for a challenge and I thought fairies were really cool, too! ^_^ Thanks so much for the review!

~foundriapenguin


 Report Review

Review #14, by TallestTower The Journey of a Curious Fairy

4th April 2010:
Hello! Wow what a lovely one-shot. It's Broomsticks from the forums by the way.

- Narrator
Written from the point of view of a fairy - that's a first! It's a really cool challenge idea and I like that even though this was a short one shot, you still managed to describe her character by comparing her to her sisters.

- Tone

The personality of the fairy was the same throughout... curious! Very befitting to the title! She was a curious, ditsy fairy that was fun to read and her "voice" remained consistant throughout.

I love the idea of fairies in the forest. I also like your characterisation of the fairy - I would imagine that they are curious, vain creatures but also enthusiastic... it's their buzzings wings that make them seem full of energy.

- Dialogue

Not a lot of it, so I won't babble, but the stuff that was there was good. Larissa was funny :)

- Vivid parts/Favourite parts

My favourite part was when she described Harry's glasses as being a "strange contraption". That made it really realistic and was just a lovely touch.

- Grammer

I didn't notice everything! I don't pretend to be a grammer whiz but I would say perfect, or close too! It's such a great thing to be able to read something without noticing pesky problems everywhere.

- Questions/ Anything else

Ahh I loved it, I did and I know this is just me being dum but what happened at the end?

Who was Harry thanking, was he thanking himself? Could he see her? If he could and he was thanking her, how did she help?

The way it reads it seems as though she didn't do anything and I'm guesing Harry was just thanking himself, but I wanted to check incase I missed something!

Brilliant, a really intresting refreshing read which is a good length - covers the story without babbling, although I wouldn't have minded it if it was longer!

Hope this review has been helpful!

- Broomsticks/TT

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks so much for the lovely review! I tried to base my fairies off the description of JK Rowling's (: It seems I did well!

Haha you're not the only reviewer who wanted to know what happened in the end! But if I told you it wouldn't be much fun!! I like to think of it as inspiration or something of the sort. I'm not even sure of it myself :D

Thank you so much for all your comments! I really appreciate them, and your speediness! We really are the epic speedy ninja reviewers, aren't we? (;

~foundriapenguin


 Report Review

Review #15, by kandekisses The Journey of a Curious Fairy

3rd April 2010:
Hello! Sorry for the lil wait there.

This was definitely a cute little one-shot. I have to admit, at first I was a little wary because of the length. Its so hard to write something substantial in so little length. But you've done it.

I remember seeing that challenge and though it was interesting because of the faerie twist. I love faerie's =)
&You don't see too much of them in the stories on here.

I think you did a good job with this. It's cute seeing how innocent she is. &The part with Harry was really funny.
'It's not till he leaves that I consider this: What did I do that helped him?' Lol.. what did she do?

But yes, overall this was a really nice short one-shot. Good luck in the challenge. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: haha, thank you so much for all of your wonderful comments!

Now, if I told you what she did to help Harry, wouldn't that ruin the fun of the story? ;] To tell you the truth, I'm not quite sure either, though I have a slippery grasp on it.

Again, thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you think the story's good because I was uneasy about the length as well, but you've soothed my worries.

~foundriapenguin


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login