Reading Reviews for Romeo and Juliet
  
30 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Galawen Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

18th July 2013:
Oh my god. This is wonderfully irreverent and I LOVE IT. I probably screeched with laughter throughout the whole thing without feeling a shred of guilt even though I am a Scorpius/Rose shipper. In fact I think its because I love them so much that this was brilliant. Sco/Ro done well can be great but there are a million and one cliches that authors fall into (and I think you showed most of them here!) This line especially stuck in my head "Snogging is how good couples solve problems meaningfully. This is truth." Sometimes I get so frustrated reading stories with that as its maxim because its so ridiculous! I also loved that you highlighted the fact that Rose has to continuously remind Scorpius that she hates him.despite the fact that usually she's been doing that for years!
It isn't just the fact that you were unnervingly accurate in your cliche-identification, your writing managed to stay completely top-class despite the unfortunate content and you managed to keep the atmosphere upbeat. What I mean by that is that this never felt like it was descending into a complaining session about Scorpius/Rose fics. Instead it came across as a good-humoured and witty poke at something - kind of like how you'd tease a brother or a sister. The combination with Romeo and Juliet helped make it over the top dramatic and entertaining.

Simply put you made me laugh at Sco/Ro yet not dissuade me from my favourite pairing. Well done!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Up and Away Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

19th May 2011:
Hahaha I really enjoyed this. I didn't read the note at the top at first, so i was confused for the first two paragraphs, but once I realized you weren't doing this on purpose, I loved it.

Thank you for brightening my day!

 Report Review

Review #3, by ToReleaseMe Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

15th January 2011:
This truly made me laugh. I love how you basically nailed almost every fanfic (yes, parts of mine included) in this. So well written and very funny, your style is superb.

10/10

 Report Review

Review #4, by Dia:] Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

30th December 2010:
Ahahahahaha. hahahaha. ahhh. hahaha.
Wow. That. was. AMAZING.
Pahahahaha.
Ok.
*gets self under control*
that was witty, well written, and...
*giggles*
HALARIOUS.
:D

 Report Review

Review #5, by flavia pulchra Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

27th December 2010:
I haven't read anything so funny in a long long time. You have managed to capture and twist this over-used style so well that I recognised it from the first sentence. A shimmering example of the effervescent wit on this site, and a point well proven that there is a boundary of how much soppy love/hate we can take.

Author's Response: Ah, thankyou muchly! It was so over the top that though I enjoyed writing it I wasn't sure how it would be received!

There are so many decent writers on this site, and I think ff doesn't get the recognition it deserves because of all the other writers who are just lazy or not really concerned with writing so much as living vicariously through their protagonists :S [/soap box]

Thankyou so much for the lovely review! Glad you enjoyed!


 Report Review

Review #6, by TheTenthWeasley Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

29th November 2010:
This is brilliant. Absolutely brilliant.
I love you, I really do.
Thanks so much for writing this, and that's all I have to say.

 Report Review

Review #7, by IntoTheDarkness Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

28th November 2010:
Best parody ever. You really hit the nail on the head with this, it was amazing! Thank you for making me laugh so much!

Author's Response: Oh wow, thankyou so much! I enjoyed writing it, it's lovely to hear you laughed! Thanks for taking the time to review, I do appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by avada kedavra Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

3rd November 2010:
what was that? worst story ever NAHH JOKESSS IT WAS AWESOME

 Report Review

Review #9, by onestop_hpfan18 Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

23rd August 2010:
This was simply amazing, Jo! I really enjoyed the style and voice you wrote with, and you've really nailed Shakespeare's prose on the head. I also liked how you broke that wall between the author, story characters, and readers, and you pulled it off very well, too. Keep up the excellent writing! :) 10/10

Author's Response: Leslie! Thankyou so much fot taking the time to review!

This was a strange, starnge piece but I'm so glad you enjoyed it :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Fred_Forever Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

8th August 2010:
This is BRILLIANT! Love it!

Author's Response: Thankyou! It means a lot to hear that!

 Report Review

Review #11, by justonemorefic Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

28th July 2010:
Okay, it's official. Just marry me now.

I usually don't like parodies, because it's actually hard to find a good one. They can get too over-the-top. But this was just deadpan perfect. This is the vocabulary and syntax I love. You don't sound like you're trying too hard at all. It's little lines like "Furniture is scarce about Hogwarts." that get to me.

Do I sound fangirly? I think I sound fangirly. 8D

Author's Response: You do sound fangirly, but I have been there many times and am deeply honoured by your slight fangirling.

Nearly everyone has mentioned that they avoid most parodies for that reason, and it's good I didn't know this before writing it, or I wouldn't have dared! It's more than a little bit wierd, but it's lovely to hear that your appreciated my oneliners - I've never been able to do outright humour, but if people are least smirking at my snarkiness I'm happy, and a marriage proposal? You pretty much made my day!

Thanks for the wonderful reviews! Love your username btw!


 Report Review

Review #12, by simi potter Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

15th May 2010:
wow...it was really good
A great combination of shakespeare and harry potter
( i am reading romeo and juliet in english right now)
10/10)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Thanks so much for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by kassandra466 Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

11th April 2010:
wow! that was intense in a box with a bow on top!

Author's Response: hahah it was rather, wasn't it? like I said in the AN, tisn't meant to be serious (or I would need serious therapy) but hopefully you enjoyed it and giggled some :)

Thanks for reviewing! Means a lot, really!


 Report Review

Review #14, by blueirony Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

9th April 2010:
LOVE. THIS. SO. SO. SO. SO. MUCH.

No, really. You actually don't understand, you are my new favourite person.

I want to quote my favourite lines back to you and I even begun to do so, but quickly realised that I was essentially quoting the entire thing back to you.

You are amazing. This parody is amazing. It was hilarious. Some of the cliches you use, the way you mock bad writing, the disgustingly long analogies you use, the way you mock people's general perceptions of characters, all the talk about their eyes it just... amazing. So unbelievably amazing and awesome.

Apologies for the shortness of this review. But I don't actually think I can formulate how much I love this fic in words. I don't think there are words in the English language that can do it.

Joop :]

Author's Response: So you liked it then? :P

Honestly though, YOU are lovely! This is quite seriously one of the most adorable reviews I have ever got, and there's been some actual competition recently!

I'm so very glad - I can't describe how glad I am -that you enjoyed it! This was an incredibly fun, nonsensical piece for me to write, and it's just amazing to hear that other people enjoyed it at all! (esp as humour = not my comfort zone)

I'm really, really not that wonderful - it's much easier to write something like this than it looks, and I've got years of gentle (or not so) mockery behind me, and you are very kind to say so. I did wanted this to be a fun little piece that made people chuckle a little, so your response made my day!

Thankyou so much for putting the biggest smile on my face!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Anna Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

7th April 2010:
Oh my god! I have not enjoyed a ff that much in a long time! That was HILARIOUS. So freaking and completely hilarious. I can't even explain how awesome this is. I love you.

Author's Response: Hi! I'm so glad you liked it, it's quirky and a but strange but I loved writing it :)

Declarations of love and/or reviews are all very welcome, thankyou so much for taking a moment to drop me a line - I do appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #16, by J_O_I_Rowling Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

5th April 2010:
amazingly light hearted parody of a shakespeare/HP fan-fic story, especially for you. funny how most, if not all, the ridiculous things you made them do (re- the makeups and breakups) actually are a frequent occurrence in fan-fic. i actually snorted at the end of act III, at what scorpius told rose about why he did...something i can't state here, keeping it 12+ and all.
story made me laugh, and albus' melodrama at the end was hilarious.

Author's Response: I'm making an effort to try different styles and maybe even write a happy piece! This was a parody though, so all those things were taken from fanon I'd seen done to death.

I'm SO glad you laughed, this would have been awful awful if no one found it even slightly amusing. Thankyou so much for reviewing dear :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by WitnesstoitAll Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

5th April 2010:
Jo,

Is it terrible that I am laughing?? hahaha. This is very clever... I laughed the hardest when I read this line: “That’s why I’m so attracted to you! Your bad boy ways and emotional baggage are all a sensible girl could ever want in a man!”

Hahahaa. And I decided that this is why I'm Cad's number one fan girl. :)

As always, lots of love. :)
Melissa

Author's Response: Lovely,
I hope not, it was my intent to get some giggles from this, tis a parody! It's really not though, this is the type of writing that looks far trickier than it it is.
Glad you liked it my dear, and I have announced to the world your position as Cad's number one fan girl :)
xx


 Report Review

Review #18, by bespontaneous Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

28th March 2010:
this made me laugh!
i loved every bit of it

Author's Response: Laughter was the hoped for reaction! Love the username, and thankyou so so much for reviewing, it means a lot!

 Report Review

Review #19, by pinwheelgoddess Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

28th March 2010:
Wow, if HPFF had SNL, you'd be the head writer. This is totally awesome with the fact that you know how to write and you're not eight years old (well, you could be, a very brilliant eight year old for all we know). Keep up the awesome work!

Author's Response: If I was 8, I would be rather messed up! Luckily I'm old enough to join elderly hpf :)

Thankyou for such a lovely review! I've honestly never written humour before, and I've always been in awe of people who could write witty pieces that made me giggle. It's great to hear that you liked it, and since I spend far too much of my time here, I'll be posting away for sure!

Thanks again for the review, I love hearing from people!


 Report Review

Review #20, by malfoyfan Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

27th March 2010:
No offense, but that was probably the weirdest thing I have ever read. I've read parodies before, and they tend to be funny... And the last act sort of scared me... I can HEAR Shakespeare's curses from the grave- all the way over in the U.S. Seriously.

Author's Response: haha I am not offended at all! This is the wierdest thing I have ever written, and I did expect to get mixed reactions to it.

It's not at all meant to be serious - I am a huge literature geek, and this was more a poking at fun at people who butcher the Bard and forget that Romeo and Juliet.. died in the end. Tragedy, not romance, and only 'star crossed lovers' really applies to Scorose.

Anyway, hope you enjoyed it even if you didn't find it funny.. and thankyou very much for reviewing, it is MOST appreciated!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Simon Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

27th March 2010:
I like your style. It's very original!

Author's Response: I like YOU very much for reviewing, thankyou! Much appreciated. This isn't that original, making fun of cliches is fairly easy, but it was LOTS of fun, and I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Camilla Monet Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

25th March 2010:
THATS SO DEPRESSING.
GOODNESS GRACIOUS.
(It was also completely hilarious in the beginning I might add)

XD

Author's Response: bahaha it does seem to be a common thread in some of my stories.. but I don't always kill everyone off, PROMISE.

Glad you found the beginning hilarious anyway, and thanks for your reviews! Much appreciated!


 Report Review

Review #23, by collette michelle Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

24th March 2010:
Jo, have I ever told you that you are brilliant? I haven't? Well I must apologise and do so now, because love, you are!!

I had been meaning to read this since I caught wing of it on TGS, but due to (still) busy schedules, I had to put it off. But OH MY GOD! I couldn't resist a parody of Scorpius and Rose, (you don't pass that poking of fun up!) and was this hilarious. I loved the entire thing, loved loved loved it. I must have been fighting down the giggles through the entire piece. I don't think I have ever laughed so much in a FF work, ever! Beginning to end it was brilliant, the whole Romeo and Juliet story line just made it over the top (that is in a good way).

I loved all the little added things, just the extra sentences that didn't necessarily relate right to Rose or Scorpius, but were almost witty/sarcastic/smart remarks to various things in the story and cliché FF in general.

I don't know what else I can say, other then I simple loved this! It is a brilliant parody (which often times seem to miss the mark by A LOT). Possibly best I've read...?

FAN-TASTIC Job love!
xx.
Collette

Author's Response: Honestly my dear one, I have no idea how to respond to this. I left it for a good week thinking perhaps I could recover from it, but not at all!

You are far too kind (x a gazillion) but I am so glad you enjoyed it love! I had so much fun writing it and it means the world to hear people like YOU enjoyed it!

So many people have mentioned how awful parodies can be that I simply have to mention that I wasn't aware of this, or probably wouldn't have been brave/mad enough to even try it! And quite honestly, this wrote itself, it took very little effort on my part and looks far more clever than it really is.

You are a doll Collette, you really are. I can't quite convey how much this review made me smile and squee and will just say thankyou darling, thankyou! ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by butterbeergal Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

22nd March 2010:
Oh my goblins, Jo, that was bloody hilarious! Hahahahahaha! And by that I think I've addressed your area of concern. ;)

I have been looking for a good parody to read and thank Merlin you dropped by my thread for your scrumptious offering. I am actually a Scorpius/Rose fan, but you've done a wonderful job with this parody that I am by no means offended. In fact, I was smirking all throughout. And it's true, ScoRose stories often have the tendency to fall under the 'categories' you've written - not that that's a bad thing because some authors can pull it off rather well - but this was just freaking brilliant!

I think parodies are very sensitive territories because the chances of them going horrendously wrong are quite large, but I never doubted for a second that you could pull this off. I've so many favorite moments - actually, the whole thing, haha - but okay, if I were to settle for one, it would probably be the part when Al discovered them. Oh you poor, poor souls. Genius!

Technically, there were some teensy weensy typos and misplaced/missing punctuations but really, Jo, they are quite insignificant in the grand scheme of things, i.e. the amazingness of this piece.

I've nothing but praises for this and you. Truly, your stories never fail to entertain me and you are more than welcome to request for reviews any time.

I'm a big fan,
Gillian

Author's Response: Gillian my lovely, thankyou for all your support, it means the world, really!

I've got a soft spot for Scorose (or I wouldn't have been able to write this :P ) but smirks were exactly what I was hoping for. I'm realising in hindsight that it was a tremendous risk posting this, but I am incredibly relieved it didn't flop. I'm very very happy you enjoyed it, but I assure you it wasn't that hard to write - poking fun at cliches is much easier than pulling them off, and this was just a bit of fun I couldn't resist trying!

I will skim through and try and pick up on those typos(they always get the better of me!) but this entire review is just stunning. I've been writing here for less than a year, so I really do get all mushy and gooey when I hear that people are fans.

x Jo


 Report Review

Review #25, by Childish_Fairy Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

21st March 2010:
I'm dying!!! Oh God, this is the greatest Rose/Scorpius EVER! I can't remember the last time I laughed so hard.

This was the smartest parody I've ever read and I know this because I'm guilty of nearly everything!!

"I've done things, Red," he whispers huskily. "In my seventeen years as a sheltered only child of a family closely monitored by Aurors, I've seen things you can't imagine, and done things I’m not proud of." - I loved this bit more than you can even know it's so TRUE, how can someone so repressed by the minstry have led such a wild life before finally setting down with Rose Weasley? Contradictions in Rose/Scorpius stories are so noumr

This was genius! You're Genius and I loved it :P

752254325432/10

xo Ale

Author's Response: *dies*
Seriously, how can I respond to that?

ALE you loffly lady! My main hesitation in writing this was that I love a good Scorose and didn't want to offend writers - like yourself, who can actually pull it off, so it's AMAZING to hear that you liked it!

Cliches = unavoidable, it's working with them innovatively that requires real originality.

It isn't that smart really, it's the kind of writing that looks hard to pull off, but is actually ridiculously easy - I think I've read so many Scoroses it just wrote itself. Also the bad boy Scorpius has always amused me more than appealed, glad someone else picked up on that, one of my favourite lines! I had so so much fun writing this, and I'm thrilled you enjoyed it!

You are crazy, and far, far too kind, but simply lovely. Thankyou so much for the review dear, it means the world!



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>