Reading Reviews for I Do (Cherish you)
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jellybeans I Do (Cherish you)

25th November 2011:
This is a really nice story :) i love the similarites between the couples and the ending was really effective... A great read :D

Author's Response: Thank you. That was exactly what I was aiming for. The parallels between the couples always interested me. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by mrs_remus_john_lupin I Do (Cherish you)

28th October 2011:
THIS IS BEAUTIFUL! =')

Author's Response: Awww! Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #3, by stonecoldsober I Do (Cherish you)

31st October 2010:
Personally, I think the ending works really well. Like you said having someone there that would've been at both weddings is so effective. I love the way that James and Harry were both feeling similar things about their wives. I just love it. I'm now going to have a read through your other fanfics on here. Based on this You're a really good writer. Keep up the good work :D

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much. That's a good ending to a good day! And I'm glad you think so. :)
And I always get the feeling that they would both feel the same about their respective wives.
Aww thank you, hope you like them :) and thank you for making my day :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by BecPotter265 I Do (Cherish you)

23rd October 2010:
Such a simple and sweet story that touched my heart :) Well done, I loved it. And the ending is great; not sure if Andromeda would have been at James and Lily's wedding but it was a good choice. There could have been Professor McGonagall at both weddings; just a thought.
Very beautifully written and I loved it. Added to my favourites and 10/10; well done :) xx

Author's Response: Aw thank you. I'm glad you liked it. To be honest I wasn't 100% sure she'd be there either, but I wanted someone who could've been at both and she was the only person I could think of at the time, did consider McGonagall but she didn't quite fit in my idea at the time.
But thank you, thats made my day :) x


 Report Review

Review #5, by WeaslyGirl I Do (Cherish you)

11th September 2010:
Wow that was really good, a nice story.
6/10

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Bright Green Eyes I Do (Cherish you)

26th May 2010:
Very sweet- I enjoyed it very much :)

Author's Response: Thank you :) I'm glad

 Report Review

Review #7, by butterbeergal I Do (Cherish you)

8th April 2010:
First of all, thank you for submitting an entry to my challenge. :)

A lot has been written about weddings and given the song, I guess it's inevitable to write about it. I am glad you wrote it this way though - showing parallelisms between Harry and James I - because it was a refreshing approach to a fairly common plot.

This was very sweet, and I really liked the idea of this because it comes off as a son's tribute of sorts to his father. It also made me feel quite sad for Harry for not having anyone there for him during this milestone in his life. I loved Ron here even though he only appeared at the start because he was able to provide humor and diffuse the tension that Harry must have felt. That bit really made me chuckle.

James, too, I found quite adorable. The fact that he still wondered how he managed to marry Lily was something I found in character for him (though one must take care not to overdo this aspect of him).

The dialogue at the start between James, Sirius and (eventually) Remus really made me laugh. I loved how Sirius called out to Remus to help him reassure James. The bit where James stuttered "I... She... We..." seemed a bit forced to me, a simple "I..." or him being speechless would have sufficed but that's just me. I don't know why that particular part struck me. It's very minor though, so please feel free to ignore this. Hehe. :)

As for Andromeda being there during both weddings, it's an interesting thought. But for me whether or not you choose to retain that part, the story will still feel the same. Besides, you've written such a sweet story for father and son, and I think that's what really sticks to the readers (at least to me). :)

I think my favorite part would be -

He knew that if a hundred Dementors appeared right now, he would have no problem conjuring a patronus...

Prongs.


That line really spoke to me. I liked how it provided continuity to the shift in scenes, and how it basically summarized everything for the story.

Technically, there are minor punctuation issues, especially for the dialogues like missing commas or quotations but these are things that a bit of editing can easily fix. :)

So overall, a very sweet, interesting and unique approach to the song. Good job, hun!

Cheerio,
Gillian

P.S. I'm horribly sorry for the delay in this review. Forgive me?

Author's Response: I really enjoyed writing this- I'd never heard of the group before but found it on youtube. :) It did feel natural to do a wedding scene and I always do the marauders so I wanted to do something a bit different. And I wasn't sure I could do a whole fic on Harry and Ginny. I liked the idea of comparing James and Harry as everyone always says how alike they are. Therefore I thought it would be quite interesting comparing Sirius and Remus with Ron. They just seemed to come naturally when I wrote really.
And I figured James would still be bowled over that he was finally marrying Lily! As well as being very nervous. But yeah the 'james-obsessed-with-lily' thing can be overdone
And I absolutely love writing marauder dialogue so I find it quite easy :). The stuttering I did purely because I didn't know how else to write it.
Aw thank you- I'm glad you think so, I wasnt sure about Andromeda but its nice to know that you think it worked, or made no difference to the story :)

One of my favourite aspects of PoA was the whole idea of prongs being there as well so it seemed fitting to include it there- a way for his father to be at his wedding I guess.

And I am terrible at editing and to impatient to wait for a beta lol.

But thank you so much- its so when people take the time to go into detail like that. And after a review like that?? Of course I forgive you haha
Sophxxx


 Report Review

Review #8, by grangerdanger I Do (Cherish you)

29th March 2010:
Wowee! Yey I loved it! So sweet... Alright, I'll go and listen to the song right now!

Author's Response: Hehe yay!! Glad you liked it!! I have never heard the song before but got it for a challenge lol

 Report Review

Review #9, by Harry and Ginny I Do (Cherish you)

23rd March 2010:
i like this fic and i read it several times because it's interesting that Andromeda was at both weddings. by the way, i hope i'm not bothering u with this but, the banner u have it was me who made it over at TDA and i would like if u could credit it please but i understand if u 4got or something...^_^

1000/1000 (the story was awesome)

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Ahh you know I was walking home and realised that I hadn't credited (was rushing to put it up before going out again!!) Sorry about that- will go and do it now.
I wasn't sure about using Andromeda but she was the only canonical character other than someone like Hagrid (who I'm not comfortable writing) would have been at both (being Sirius' cousin so possibly a friend of James' as well as Teddy's grandmother0. I glad you like it, and thanks again for the beautiful banner!! xxx


 Report Review

Review #10, by Alex_Cat I Do (Cherish you)

17th March 2010:
I think you had done a wonderful job for this story. You told both story like a flashback, the way you set the time for both story are perfectly in order. Absolutely amazing...

Author's Response: Thank you :) Thats made my day!! I'm pleased you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by my wicked quill I Do (Cherish you)

16th March 2010:
Wow! This was so sweet I have a similar story on this site just not the wedding, I love this!

Author's Response: :) Thanks a lot xx

 Report Review

Review #12, by JilyRonks I Do (Cherish you)

16th March 2010:
This is so great! JilyRonks x

Author's Response: Aww thanks!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login