Reading Reviews for From This Day Forward
  
37 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MargaretLane Welcome Home

11th October 2012:
I think his incredulity makes a lot of sense. It must be pretty freaky to find yourself married to somebody you already know and definitely DON'T fancy.

The slight arrogance ("lower myself to marry a Weasley") makes sense too, considering the family he's from and how he was brought up.

I like Rose already. It must actually be pretty weird to be acting motherly to the person who will grow up to be your husband.

Author's Response: I know! I would be a bit freaked out if I were Scorpius. I would be even more freaked out to see my husband as a thirteen-year-old boy if I was Rose, though...that would definitely be super weird. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by MargaretLane The Malfoy Family Rule-Book

11th October 2012:
I love the beginning of this chapter. I can totally imagine the Malfoys being like that.

It's kind of sad that Scorpius would have looked forward to going to Hogwarts so much and then would find when he gets there that people have a preconceived idea of him that isn't good. It's not surprising though.

I also like the way you tell us he's in Slytherin. It flows so well. Things like that can be hard to tell when the character obviously already knows and probably wouldn't be thinking "I'm a Slytherin".

That line about everybody avoiding him sort of amuses me because I recently wrote about him keeping himself to himself and not even seeming to have any friends among the other Slytherins. So I'm obviously going to see where you are coming from, having that be the case.

Wow, James is coming across as something of a bully here. Actually, it's quite like the Marauders' era, isn't it? Four Gryffindor boys, led by a James Potter bullying a Slytherin. Although at least Snape was the same age as the Marauders. Bullying somebody two years younger than you seems even worse to me. When one is fifteen and the other thirteen anyway, because there is major difference between those ages.

Hmm, that hint about Ginny possibly leaving Harry is interesting and perhaps gives some explanation of James' conduct. Maybe his family life isn't all that happy.

Hmm, I'm not convinced it would be that easy to change those things. Draco was pretty arrogant in his Hogwarts days. I'm not sure Scorpius could make him change his ways. I'm not sure he'd even listen. But it makes sense that a thirteen year old boy would believe he could.

Author's Response: So happy you liked this! These first few chapters are basically a giant pity party for Scorpius, so I'm glad you didn't find it too tedious to read and you thought it flowed well.

I think he would have a really hard time at Hogwarts. It is very reminiscent of the Marauders era :D Kind of a bit of a vicious cycle, I guess?

Haha yes. In case you haven't noticed, I'm very interested in the dysfunctions of the Potter family following the Second War...this could be considered a bit of an off-topic sequel to Shattered in that respect, because I think James isn't exactly having the happiest home life right now.

Yeah, Scorpius is a little bit silly in this chapter to think he could change the past so much, but he figures everything out soon enough (:

Anyway, thanks so much for this review! I really appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #3, by ravenclawriot Family Matters

4th July 2012:
I just discovered this story, and I love it, so please keep updating!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I've actually finished writing the story; it's just a matter of editing and posting the chapters, so you shouldn't have to wait too long (:

 Report Review

Review #4, by Rach Family Matters

26th June 2012:
i just found it and its a really great story :)

pls update soon, im so curious!!

Author's Response: Thank you! The next chapter is in progress (:

 Report Review

Review #5, by RomanticJC Family Matters

22nd June 2012:
I'm so glad that you added a new chapter I really love this story.

Author's Response: Hooray! I'm so glad that you like this story. Thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by fizzingwizzbies Family Matters

10th June 2012:
Just read this story it's awesome and different! Haha I love Louis already! :)

Author's Response: Hooray! I'm so happy you liked it :D Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by academica The Malfoy Family Rule-Book

8th June 2012:
Hey there! I'm here with your requested review :)

I completely love the concept of this story. I think your writing is really wonderful, and I like how so much of it feels fresh. The characterizations and plot concepts aren't stale, are nothing like what I've seen in so many next-gen pieces on the archive. For example, I think it's very interesting that Harry's family is imperfect here. I also love the twist at the end - your summary implies that poor Scorpius has turned the time turner in entirely the wrong direction.

That said, as with most next-gen pieces, you will want to be careful to avoid the cliches. Some readers may object to the similarities seen here between James Jr. and James Sr., but I actually like it, because it paints him in an imperfect light and brings out all the things Harry hated about Draco. I do think Scorpius is pitiable, but not too much so at this point. You will want to continue to develop him and show that he has strengths (a proclivity for Charms, perhaps), lest he seem too much like our Marauder-era canon characterization of Snape. So far, though, all the characters look fine to me.

I didn't spot any technical errors, and I liked the little bit of imagery you used here, as well as the comparisons and contrasts you drew between Malfoy Manor and Hogwarts. I'm very intrigued to see what will come next, so I'll probably favorite this and try to continue on when I have the time, but please feel free to re-request if you like :)

Nice work! I hope this review is helpful!

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hello!
I wanted to try to keep this from being too much like the typical Next-Gen story, and I'm honestly obsessed with the idea that the Potter-Weasley clan might actually have a fair bit of problems after the war, so I'm really glad you appreciated that.
I hadn't even considered that I was portraying James as so much like his namesake and casting Scorpius in the role of Severus, so thank you for pointing that out to me. I will definitely pay attention to that and make sure Scorpius does not turn out too pitiable and talent-less.
Hooray! That means so much to me, and I hope you get the chance to keep reading.
Your review was very helpful. Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Aphoride The Malfoy Family Rule-Book

7th June 2012:
Hey there!

First of all, I'd like to say that I find the whole idea of someone travelling forwards in time, rather than backwards, really interesting. Time-travel is always a tricky subject (I've always been too scared to write it, lol), but particularly when going forwards, I think, so I'm impressed you've done that ;)

I really like Scorpius' character. He seems very real - I like how even though he's a Slytherin he's not a complete coward or a wimp or anything like that - but, at the same time, he's not a genius or amazingly brave. He seems like a nice medium, which is good. Also, his point of view was lovely - the way he internalised pretty much everything and didn't speak at all during the chapter (except in the flashback) really hammered home the points you made about the 'Malfoy rules': don't talk, don't make noise, etc. I'm really curious to see what you do with Scorpius - how you make him 'grown-up', so to speak and how he develops as a character. At the moment, he seems like a pretty average teenage boy, albeit with perhaps a slightly different set of problems to other teenagers, what with the whole family issue thing, lol.

I thought Draco and Astoria were really good as well. I've never read them like that before - so quiet and adherring exactly to the rules and things. It's almost like they're both scared to stick out and be in any way noticeable within their own home, which is actually kinda sad - and not just for Scorpius. It's also a logical progression for Draco after the war, too, not wanting to stick out and be noticed and things. While it's unusual characterisation, I really like it. It fits. I hope we see more of them later on, since their characters and relationship seems so interesting and mysterious-like at the moment :P

Ah, the plot! Where to begin? Like I said above, the whole idea of going forwards in time instead of backwards is really fascinating. I'm really curious to see how Scorpius develops, how the future unravells in front of him and what he learns from it (coz he must learn something, right? :D). Even if nothing much changed at all, I imagine this would still be a really intruiging story, so it should be even better with stuff actually changing ;)

I'll definitely have to keep an eye out for you again in the review battle ;)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Time-travel is definitely a tricky subject and writing this story has been really tricky/mind-blowing, so I'm really glad to hear I haven't completed muddled things up.
And you like my characters so far...hooray! I think Draco and Astoria are really interesting and I'm a little sad this story is so Scorpius-centric and they don't play a bigger role, because they are a lot of fun to write about.
Hopefully I'm doing a good job of making Scorpius develop as a character in the later chapters.
He does learn something (lots of somethings, actually!) but I guess you'll see if you encounter me again in the review battle.
Thanks so much for the review! I really appreciate you putting so much time and effort into it (:


 Report Review

Review #9, by DemetersChild Family Matters

5th June 2012:
I still hate you for the way this chapter ends. Like, so much hate. You just had to end it with that cliffhanger, didn't you?

You couldn't have said, "They have to OBLIVIATE YOU!" and then have Scorpius be like, "Oh, no big. I don't wanna remember this anyway. I hate these people. Good grief, just send me home."

That would have been nicer. And much less cliffhangery. And much much less awesome, but still.

Anywho! Your writing is beautiful and amazing and perfect and just plain awesome, as always. And I'm the best beta ever, so obviously there aren't any mistakes left in there. I hope. I really really hope. So, it looks like you've got yourself a pretty nice chapter!

I'm rambling. I should stop rambling. You're awesome, I'm awesome, we're all awesome. And if you couldn't tell, I'm a wee bit bored.

Err, right, well. HAVE A SPECTACULAR DAY!

-Dem-

Author's Response: Hahaha. You should've just changed the ending when you were beta-ing it...I probably wouldn't have even noticed (;

Thank you thank you thank. You are the best beta ever (pending the discovery of any mistakes).

We are all awesome. Have a good day too! And thanks for the sweet review (:


 Report Review

Review #10, by moobyq Something Better

24th March 2011:
whoa this is so interesting! i hope you write more.
I'm excited to find out what is going on. His kids are so cute btw!

Author's Response: Thank you! There will actually be more soon...only a little over a year after you asked, but, y'know, better late than never.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Rowdy18 Something Better

18th August 2010:
I really like this stroy! Can't wait to see what happens to Malfoy in the furture. More soon please!

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I'm glad you like it. I will try to update as soon as possible.

 Report Review

Review #12, by rey Something Better

12th August 2010:
I really like this story. It is original and interesting. And quite mysterious in some aspects. For me at least. Can not wait for more! Please update soon. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! It is a little mysterious at parts, because Scorpius doesn't know everything that's going to happen in his future (: I will try. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by TravelingHermione The Malfoy Family Rule-Book

11th August 2010:
Okay I just have to say that Meet the Robinsons is one of my favourite movies of all time :) I don't read too many stories about the kids but this one looks like it could be interesting.

Author's Response: Yes! A fellow Meet the Robinsons fan. It's so under-appreciated that most people I talk to haven't even heard of it, so I'm glad you at least know how awesome it is. Thanks for the review and for checking out my story! I hope it continues to hold your interest.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Rosie Something Better

11th August 2010:
Love this! It's such a good concept.

Author's Response: Thank you! I credit Disney's Meet the Robinsons, which is a really adorable movie that you should definitely check out if you like my silly little story. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by marciabarcia Something Better

10th August 2010:
I think that Adult Scorpius and Kid Scorpius will talk and Adult Scorpius will give Kid Scorpius advice or something.

xoxo
~Marcia

Author's Response: Hmm, maybe...you'll just have to wait to find out, though :P Thanks for the review! I hope what does happen doesn't end up disappointing you (:

 Report Review

Review #16, by RomanticJC Something Better

10th August 2010:
I'm loving this story. When is Scorpious meting is future self?

Author's Response: Thank you! Well, I can't tell you specifics, but it'll happen...eventually ;) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by JLHufflepuff Welcome Home

14th July 2010:
This story has just made me your newest fan girl! I love every single part of it to absolute death! I love that you have his kids already there expecting him in what can only be their new house constructed on Malfoy property after they tore down Malfoy Manor? That's the only logical thing anyone would do to that house, really. It's also sweet because it's like Rose understood how lonely Scorpius felt at that moment in time and sent one of her kids out there to meet him. Aw.. :)

I think that his reaction to meeting them is extremely realistic, wit the exact right of Malfoy sass and the proper dash of childish disbelief. I think you balance his acceptance and disbelief of what happens really well - not too much of one or the other. My favorite part of his interactions with them was when he comes to the conclusion he has lowered himself to marry a Weasley.


Everything flowed completely naturally between all the characters. I love the way you've described Rose in the future, somewhat Hermione-ish yet not. The characters of Leo and Lyra are just perfect to me, also.

I'm wondering where the forty-one year-old Scorpius is at the moment, and prospect that they aren't supposed to tell him much about his future. It makes me absolutely die to know more. Hopefully Leo will let enough slip!

Randomly, I also like the idea of there being a Time Travel Committee! Very progressive, I think.

Anyway, this is a great story I shall definitely be wanting to read more of.

Author's Response: Aww thank you! Your reviews made me ridiculously happy, especially because I was only expecting one of them and instead I got three! You rock.

Yeah, it is a renovated Malfoy Manor (: And I'm hoping there'll be a lot of sweet moments between Rose and Scorpius without it turning into creepiness. My favorite part about writing this story is that it's not mainly romance. It's exciting :D

I really can't say thank you enough, but I'm going to keep saying it. Thank you! Your opinion really means a lot to me. Pretty much the best part of planning this story was coming up with the personalities of his children. It's quite fun, strangely enough.

So, yeah, thank you for your awesome reviews. You're really amazing and you've given me something to smile about all day.


 Report Review

Review #18, by JLHufflepuff The Malfoy Family Rule-Book

14th July 2010:
This is so brilliant! I love this concept sooo much! I like your characterization of Scorpius and the world he lives in. The idea that James Potter is his enemy is neat to me. I think it could be realistic, no matter how nice and happy some people want to think all the next-gen Weasly-ites are. I also think it's realistic that Harry would be a total workaholic with no time for his family. I totally picture that as happening on some level.

The idea of the watch turning back (or as the summary indicates FORWARD) in time is brilliant! I love the desperation Scorpius feels as he decides he will go back and change everything that has made his life the horrible thing that it is. I can't wait to see what happens in the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I guess you can kind of see how messed up I like imagining the Weasley-ites (as you call them) really are. I didn't really want to write about that family being perfect, even though that's how most people seem to assume things are, so I'm glad you appreciated that :D

I did worry that the idea of the pocket watch was a little far-fetched, so it makes me happy that you liked it. I think if I were Scorpius, I would probably make the same stupid decision, which made it really fun to write. Thank you for your review! You're so sweet, JLHuff ;)


 Report Review

Review #19, by DemetersChild Welcome Home

4th June 2010:
"...no one would be able to identify my body and no one would come to my funeral because, technically, I didn't even exist yet."

I love how that's what he's worried about. Like death isn't bas enough. :P

I hate you so much right now. Just so you know. Because this story isn't finished and it's absolutely wonderful.

The characters are perfect, no worries there. The picture of Scorpius meeting his family was wonderful as well. Leo is adorable. I'm curious as to what make Lyra so special, as far as repairing things goes.

Of course, with Rose. He would have to be with Rose to balance out the crappy home life he had, hehe.

Sigh, why must it take you so long to update stories? And why must ALL of your stories be so wonderful?

I can't imagine how you're going to do this in seven chapters, though I suppose the conflict of Scorpius finding his way home is practically already solved, so I suppose I can after all. Ooh, it would be so cute if you had the first interaction between Scorpius and Rose as like the last chapter. Even just the last paragraph, he smiles at her, or vice versa.

When do you get on break? haha You've got lots of writing to do, young lady! Or old lady... or...middle lady? Eh...whatever. I want more to read. >.<

-Demi-

Author's Response: Hey, give him a break; he's a thirteen year old boy ;) He doesn't exactly think long-term yet, y'know? (...or, at least, that's what I'm assuming. I've never actually been inside the mind of a thirteen year old boy so I had to make a lot of assumptions here).

Haha, I'm sorry. It's so hard for me to balance two stories at the same time and I'm probably pushing this one to the side for a bit to focus on YBWM, so tough luck ;) Glad you enjoyed this so much, though.

Yay :) I really enjoyed thinking up Scorpius' children, although I didn't really intend for anything to be special about Lyra. I just needed some way to include her in the conversation/scene :/ (See? This is why I'm glad you're going to be betaing for me. You can tell me when me including stuff is completely illogical/pointless/whatever).

Yeah, I'm a closet Rose/Scorpius shipper. Don't tell anyone, though ;)

It's a curse, really. For some reason I can't write more than one word an hour (And believe me, they aren't. In fact, I pretty much dislike all of them after I post them. And you should see some of my old stuff...yuck.)

Honestly, I can't imagine how I could make this longer than seven chapters :P I had such a hard time thinking up something to carry the story forward besides the whole time-travel thing, and I'm still scared that I'm going to get a few, "Ummm, nothing happens in this chapter" reviews. And sh, don't spoil the ending :O

Bahaha, yeah, I really do. Thank you so much for all your super awesome reviews! :D You're amazing, d'you know?



 Report Review

Review #20, by DemetersChild The Malfoy Family Rule-Book

4th June 2010:
Ugh... why are you so amazing?

I read a story recently that was about Hagrid and Scorpius. Basically Hagrid was the only one that could understand the prejudice against Scorpius, even though he himself had never done anything wrong.

I can't get over how real this story is. His name is shamed forever, yes, and that much I expected. But James Potter being a complete asshole, practically taking the place of Draco Malfoy as a school boy, was a little bit of a shock. Then I realized, James would have never done any of those things, he would have never hated Scorpius, if his own father hadn't spoken wrongly of him in James's presence.

Then it makes you think about families, and how much affect they have on who their children become. And then the fact that they can do nothing about who their children become...

Thought-provoking stuff right there. Which is another reason I love your fanfics. You don't just write to entertain, you write to inform, to make others question and think. I love that.

One more chapter and I'll be all out of stuff to read until the next chapter of You Belong With Me. It is a sad day. ;_;

-Demi-

Author's Response: The secret is that I'm not ;P

That sounds really interesting actually. I love reading stories that make unique comparisons between characters; I remember I read one somewhere about how Andromeda Tonks and Augusta Longbottom were similar because they both had to raise their grandchildren since their sons had died in the war. It was quite sad, actually :(

I think I have an obsession with role reversals. First with the Lily/James story, and now with this; James and Scorpius are pretty much both opposites of their parents, so that Scorpius is more like Harry and James is more like Draco. Weird, yes, but I thought it might be interesting to write about and I don't think it's entirely implausible, y'know?

I can completely understand that train of thought about a family's influence on shaping a person and who they become friends with. I think J.K. Rowling even hints at that in the epilogue, what with Ron's warning to Rose about staying away from Scorpius. Even though the whole prejudice against Muggleborns ended at the end of the Second Wizarding War, I don't think that necessarily means that all prejudice ended. In my mind, being the son of a Death Eater in post-war wizarding world would be disgraceful.

I'm glad that I can make you think (: Don't you think that the whole point of writing is to make people think, even if it doesn't seem like it? (Let's see how many times I can say think in one paragraph...think think think).

I'm sorry I don't write enough for your liking, but I'm really pleased that you like what I write enough to stalk my author's page :D I'm just about to go respond to your other reviews too. Thanks so much for being so awesome!


 Report Review

Review #21, by still_fly Welcome Home

19th May 2010:
This story has DEF caught my attention :)
Loovvedd it!

Author's Response: Yes! My goal exactly ;) Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #22, by phoenixy_friend Welcome Home

19th May 2010:
Funny. I can't wait to se the rest. This is one time-travel plot that I've not yet seen.

Author's Response: Aww thank you! I really wanted this to be original so I'm glad to hear that you think I pulled it off :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by cc Welcome Home

19th May 2010:
PLEASE DON'T LET SCORPY FROM THE FUTURE BE DEAD. I WILL CRY.

Author's Response: Teehee, well, you'll just have to wait and see what happens ;) Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by marrou Welcome Home

19th May 2010:
Aw I love Meet the Robinsons and I am so glad you thought of writing this because I love it so far. Can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks! I really like it as well (obviously). Hope the next one doesn't disappoint :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Avanell 2 Welcome Home

19th May 2010:
awesome story! and awesome twist on the time travel genre! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I really tried to make this stand out from other time travel stories.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>