Reading Reviews for Scorched Blossoms
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by thehyacinthgirl Deception in fragility

10th May 2011:
This is so beautiful and so tragic. I love Charlie/Tonks, so I'm not quite sure why I haven't stumbled upon this gem before.

Ah well.

I'm here now, and I suppose that's all that matters, no?

I think I love this line best of all: It is what dreams are made of and where fairytales do not come true, and there is Charlie among it all. I don't know why since it's truly depressing and devoid of hope, but there's something pretty about it, all the same.

Your descriptions were wonderful if not terse. I absolutely adored them. The poeticism and language in this piece make me swoon. It's just wonderful.

Not to mention your characterization of Charlie was wonderful. I just wanted to hug him and tell him that somehow it would be okay, and that everyone's known the sting of unrequited love at one point or another, but I don't know if that's true. However, I do wish that he would have found someone in the canon. Ah well.

I cannot praise it highly enough.

This is wonderful and I love it. Great work!


Linders

Author's Response: First of all, I would really and truly like to thank you for this review, Linders :). I'm so swamped in exams right now and my motivation to write has been gone for a while, but getting feedback like this reminds me why I love writing. So, to answer your question, being here now is definitely all that matters!

Yeah, depressing would be the right for it :P. I'm glad you still enjoyed it though! I often find that I'm, oddly, more satisfied by sad endings most of the time. And thank you so much for all of the compliments! I've never thought of my descriptions as particularly good, but this was a different style of writing for me and I really enjoyed it.

I wish he had too! There's just something very lovable about him. Plus, there's something a bit sexy too... Impossible to resist loving him at least a little bit.

Thank you so, so much for taking the time to review! It means a lot ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by Margravine Deception in fragility

6th April 2010:
Right, well stalking you has made me very very depressed
BUT I LOVE THIS PIECE SO SO SO MUCH.

Devouring your banner (too bad!). Was it requested for a change? but all that aside, this was gorgeous. Have been converted to Charlie/Tonks and remain haunted by certain lines -

(They have been less than that).

Not entirely sure why but I died a little inside reading that (in a GOOD way)

AND loved loved
Tonks is wise beyond her years. Charlie is (in his own remarkably bad judgement) selfish beyond his. Remus is waiting to be found

Description marvellous, you wonderful, me jealous and going to bed. Goodnight lovely!

Author's Response: OH SHUSH. YOU SPEAK THE BIGGEST LOAD OF NONSENSE KNOWN TO MAN. I am currently sitting here like a big creeper trying to imitate your style and FAILING, because you're too good for MY own good. I thought I'd take a break and answer this review though, because I MISS YOU ♥

Rubbish. You got it when I wasn't looking. And it WAS requested! I got very very lucky and I'm probably going to end up doing it again in the future. BRILLIANT. Best thing you could have said, although, I don't really choose sides in this. I think it's because I do so adore the men in this love triangle that it was so easy to be lovely to them all XD.

I'm glad you liked those lines! The stronger ones clearly bamboozle everyone into forgetting the weaker ones :P.

Celeste envy-inducing, you outrageously amazing, me scraping along behind.

Goodnight, twinsa! And thank you so much for reading and reviewing ♥ xx


 Report Review

Review #3, by Jellyman Deception in fragility

30th March 2010:
Um, Jane? You're brilliant. My heart broke while reading this - Charlie seems so alone and it's really said. It makes me think of "Into The Wild" where the MC finally realises "happiness is only real when shared" and it makes me sad :(

Brilliant work my love, you write Charlie like a dream!
10/10


Author's Response: OH SHUSH, YOU. Brilliance and I have a very distant relationship :P. It is sad, isn't it, but I did enjoy writing it. Mainly because it gave me the opportunity to imitate Celeste/Zoey and their amazingness XD. I haven't seen that movie? but I shall definitely check it out!

Thank you very much, you eejit. I can't wait to see your take on him (!andFleur).


xxx


 Report Review

Review #4, by butterbeergal Deception in fragility

22nd March 2010:
Jane, this was superb. The picture you painted was just so vivid, and not only in terms of physical setting, but in mood as well. All the chambers and muscles that is my heart went out to Charlie.

...weather-beaten and earthy and painted with battle scars (happy, in other words)

I absolutely LOVE that line, especially (happy, in other words) because not only is it something I wish to be able to write, it is something I wish to feel. Hopefully, in the future... but right now, I have this to make me smile. :)

He, who knows how Tonks can soothe, cannot deprive another of her power.

How selfless of him. And although Remus is very much deserving of this, so is Charlie (after everything you've written about him). Now I can't decide who should have her.

It is what dreams are made of and where fairytales do not come true, and there is Charlie among it all.

Oh, that last line just broke my heart into a million pieces.

Bloody brilliant job.

Cheerio,
Gillian

Author's Response: Hello, Gill!

I'm not quite sure where to start, as you've been so incredibly lovely to me! Charlie is such a fabulous character, with numerous possibilities, but I'm incredibly glad that my take on him spoke to you. I did try to choose exactly the right words to set the scene, so I'm very pleased that it seems to have worked.

Aww, it absolutely makes my day to know that something I've written has caused someone to smile. This one-shot was quite experimental for me, but I enjoyed it immensely.

That's what I thought. It's incredibly bittersweet. I love all the characters in this story, which I suppose separated it from your average 'love triangle'. Nobody is the bad guy, it's just life.

I suppose I achieved my aim there, but it also makes me sad that I did that, lol! I'm used to writing fluff a little too much :P.

Thank you SO much for all of your feedback. It is very much appreciated ♥♥♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by shenanigan Deception in fragility

7th March 2010:
Jane, my fizzy foot friend! Words cannot express my love for this. It's just... everything. From the character to the idea to your writing, it was all so beautiful and broken and lovely... Just... Gah.

I loved the bit with Remus at the end.. Remus who is more bruised and battered (and better) than Charlie. I think that has to be one of my favorite lines.

I also liked how you had a sort of omniscient perspective to this. Especially in the last part: Charlie is (in his own remarkably bad judgement) selfish beyond his. It was a very cool twist to the piece, and it gave the reader a different, more practical (for lack of a better word) viewpoint to look at this with.

All in all, I am so honored to have helped inspire this, and the whole thing was just amazing. Beautiful job, Jane!

Zoey

Author's Response: UGH, HPFF DIDN'T LET ME LOAD MY RESPONSE. I suppose it's karma for taking so long to respond to your review XD. Sorry about that, Zoey!

To hear that you liked this means so much to me, as I am in complete awe of your work. You really didn't have to review, but I really appreciate that you have ^_^.

I have to admit that I liked that too XD. I was on a little bit of an alliteration spree when I wrote this, lol. It was interesting trying to do justice to Charlie, Tonks and Remus in this piece, as I like all three of them and there was no 'bad' guy. I loved writing it

Oh, I'm glad that you liked that! I'm very much a fan of third person and giving the reader a deeper insight into the piece, almost as if they're more in tune than the characters themselves. I didn't really know if that came across though, so it's lovely to hear.

And I'm honoured and thrilled that you took the time to review! Thank you SO much, Zoey. I'm really glad that you liked it XD.


 Report Review

Review #6, by collette michelle Deception in fragility

4th March 2010:
Poor Charlie, the bloke just isn't written about enough! You did him justice, he was always one of my favourite Weasleys, even if we didn't see him as much as the others.

I loved this, really. From the narration to the descriptions and the little metaphor of such at the end really tied everyone in so well. You also were able to show such emotion from Charlie, which still saying so little.

Lovely job, dear. It was simply a wonderful read!
xx.
Collette

Author's Response: I know! He definitely isn't and I think that he's such an amazing character. I'm so pleased that you think I did him justice, because even though we don't see a lot of him I still love him to bits ♥.

Oh I'm so pleased that you enjoyed it. Yes, it's quite a short piece, but rather angstier than my usual stuff, but I'm quite pleased with how it turned out. Not to be compared with Zoey and Celeste's work though XD.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review, Collette!
xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by SnitchSnatcher Deception in fragility

4th March 2010:
Um, excuse me while I collect myself, the majority of which seems to be splattered across the ground.

*collects self*

Right!

So, this was absolutely brilliant. I loved the imagery and the ease of the description. I loved the idea of a tragic Charlie/Tonks-esque fic. But most importantly, I loved the overall metaphor. Just...wonderful, really.

Fantastic job, Jane. You never fail to amaze me.



Author's Response: OH RUBBISH. You talk such nonsense. I really don't know what I'm going to do with you - plus, you've made an absolute MESS of the floor :P

On we go now that you've cleaned up a bit.

I'm glad you liked it! Ha! Ease of description. I basically PRETENDED to describe things in this without actually doing it :P. I just love a bit of Charlie/Tonks. I desperately want to read a HAPPY one-shot about them now. I feel awfully depressed for him. Ah yes, my very subtle metaphor ;).

OH SHUDDUP, but also thank you :P. You're far better than me and your flattery is going to make me blow up like a balloon.

xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme Deception in fragility

4th March 2010:
♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥
Does that cover it?

I would leave it there but I'll be a bit squeey.
-swoons-
This style is completely divine. You have mastered it beautifully and this is a gorgeous piece of writing. It's original and unique and wonderful.

I think (They have been less than that) was my favourite line. It's really stunning and just...lovely.

Superrrb

xx

Author's Response: Err, I suppose so... I'm not quite sure as to why you would give it so many hearts, but I'm absolutely flattered nonetheless XD.

Celeste and Zoey never cease to amaze me, and I'm glad that you enjoyed this even a little but, because it makes me feel like less of a failure :P. I do so like a bit of squeeing now and then, haha.

I LOVE THAT LINE TOO. I have absolutely no idea why I like it so much, but I'm glad that you picked up on it too ^_^.

Thank you so much for reviewing, dearest!
xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login