Reading Reviews for The Black Dragon
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by sci_fianime Before the Beginning

20th November 2011:
Love the story - was very good reading - felt much better than canon...

Eagerly awaiting your next book...

 Report Review

Review #2, by Poetmaster Before the Beginning

14th November 2011:
Very good ,I found myself very entertained at times, which is more than I can say for most reads. Just two things though ,first the making Caity blind was rather unnecesary ,though I understand perfectly why you did it ,which brings me to my second bit of advice, this story seemed rather rushed for a plot that has so much more to offer, try exploring greater character building with more switches to point of view, allow your readers a greater vantage point by changing the point of view, also try to increase the detail with which you describe the surroundings. Furthermore Harry is a very emotional character, such events as in your story will allow for more outbursts from him ,thus increasing excitement and tension for your readers. Increase chapter length and throw in a few cliffy's. Lastly think about this, what would you like your readers to feel when reading this

P.s I have pointed out more than two things but such is the curse of word vomit from a Poetmaster...

 Report Review

Review #3, by wolverine83 Before the Beginning

1st December 2010:
Any hope for a sequel?

 Report Review

Review #4, by seraphis Before the Beginning

22nd June 2010:
i really enjoyed this story :D you kept me guessing all the time, and it turned out really interesting. especially this last chapter right now was intriguing with the possibility of how things could have turned out differently. well done! i'll go check whether you have any other stories up right away ^^

 Report Review

Review #5, by jjjj Before the Beginning

26th April 2010:
I loved the story :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. One possible inconsistency that I noticed myself is that I had Dumbledore only go back to the point where Voldemort was destroyed when he became Aberforth. In Order of the Phoenix there was a picture with both Aberforth and Harry's parents in it, but I was going to argue that it was photoshopped to get all of the members of the Order into it. I hope that didn't diminish the plausibility of Aberforth being Dumbledore, but forward.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Bella Frizz Presents and Past

16th April 2010:
I really like this story! It is one of my favorits in this site!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. I finished it well before the Deathly Hallows came out and I had a couple friends read parts of it, but until I put it out on HPFF, nobody else had read the whole thing through. Just finding a single reader who felt it was not a waste of electronic memory makes it worthwhile.

 Report Review

Review #7, by A reader Before the Beginning

15th April 2010:
Well thought out with the time-travel and that. The snape thing confused me slightly, but i'm easy to confuse in general, so that doesn't matter.

Anyway, great fic!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading it. The idea of Snape being in love with Lily was my pet theory from the time in the Goblet of Fire that it came out that Snape had been a Death Eater, but Dumbledore trusted him implicitly. I was very gratified that I read JKRs clues correctly on that one.

 Report Review

Review #8, by A reader After the End

15th April 2010:
Droobles' best blowing gum! i can't believe I didn't guess that! great idea!

Author's Response: I really thought that JKR emphasized the gift Neville's mother gave him for some reason. It didn't turn out that way, but at least I was able to make use of it.

 Report Review

Review #9, by wolverine83 After the End

12th April 2010:
This chapter was excellent overall but I'm unhappy that you had Ron do that spell that blinded Caity because I thought that was a bit too much for me but its your story so you can write it how you want. I just am bummed that Caity and Harry will have another issue to deal with and won't be able to enjoy the fact that Voldemort is now dead. Anyways, I'm going to anxiously await the final chapter.

Author's Response: I'm sorry that seems too much for you, but I felt I needed to recognize that even people you would not want to see hurt can be injured in a war; sometimes even by friendly fire. I hope in the conclusion, Harry's future with Caity will look a little more hopeful.

 Report Review

Review #10, by screaming_madman Dumbledore's Defeat

9th April 2010:
UGH, another cliffy!!! He should have taken draco out, he really has it coming LOL.

Author's Response: I do like cliffhangers more when there is an imminent battle or confrontation in the offing.

 Report Review

Review #11, by wolverine83 Dumbledore's Defeat

9th April 2010:
Whew that was an intense chapter but now you got me kinda nervous since the chapter summary says that Harry has a final confrontation with one old foe and since he didn't fight Voldemort in this chapter, I'm starting to think that maybe Harry isn't going to survive this story or else the old foe is going to survive which I'm guessing is going to mean Caity's grandmother? Anyways, that was quite the cliffhanger you delivered at the end of the chapter so I hope you can update soon.

Author's Response: Actually, the old foe I referred to was Draco Malfoy. They both managed to survive that confrontation thanks to good old Slytherin practicality and Harry convincing Draco he was less of a danger than Voldemort. However, neither of them is off Sgurr nah Arach yet. Only two more chapters to go.

 Report Review

Review #12, by screaming_madman Back to Dunscaith

8th April 2010:
Ooh, a cliffhanger. Looking forward to the next installment.

Author's Response: And another cliffhanger to follow.

 Report Review

Review #13, by A reader Not to Grow, Not to Die

5th April 2010:
Great fic! I found this a few hours ago and have stayed up late reading it. It's really good, but i'm a little confused. You've listed this fic as completed, but this isn't the end, is it? I hope not! If there is more, I'm looking forward to it!

Author's Response: The story is complete on my end, but each chapter needs to be approved by a moderator. They'll come out as quickly as they can get through the queue unless I've gone amiss somewhere. I'm glad you like the part you've seen.

 Report Review

Review #14, by screaming_madman Snape Squared

5th April 2010:
Excellent chapter, look forward to the next.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading.

 Report Review

Review #15, by wolverine83 Snape Squared

4th April 2010:
Interesting chapter, anxious to see whether or not Draco will blackmail Harry knowing that someone impersonated Snape or not? Another thing I've been wondering about, ever since it was revealed that members of Caity's clan could turn into dragons is that possibly the dragon that Voldemort is controlling is possibly a person who is under the imperious curse? I could be way off base but it seems likely to me since it has been said in here that it is very difficult to control a dragon and get a dragon to do what you want it to do.

Author's Response: Draco was too unsure of what happened to use it for blackmail and may want to use a more direct way of harming Harry in any case. It probably would have been even more deadly if Voldemort had used the Imperious curse on one of the MacFusty clan who could turn into a dragon, but that inner clan secret was never revealed to him. It was only his direct attempts at controlling dragons that allowed Harry to sense what he was about.

 Report Review

Review #16, by screaming_madman The Deflector Robe

31st March 2010:
What a great story!

I just found it and read it all the way through. There are so many stories on this site and so many of them are just vaguely different interpretations of each other. This story is completely unlike any of the others I have read and cannot wait to read more. I am hooked.

I noticed that the status is listed as complete. I do hope that you intend to continue with it, I am really looking forward to reading more.

Author's Response: I have completed the story, so it should be up as quickly as the moderators pass on it being acceptable. I started it way back before the HBP, so I veered sharply from the Horcruxes and other aspects of JKRs later story line.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Nakor Escape Required

27th March 2010:
Not sure why they didn't apparate out of the room, but nicely done!

Author's Response: I viewed the Disencubre spell as only enabling the removal of the prohibition against Apparition to the extent of a single room, as Professor Nether was doing in the Apparition class. Besides, it would have made escape too easy if they could have gotten outside the confines of the room with a snap of their fingers.

 Report Review

Review #18, by wolverine83 Escape Required

26th March 2010:
This story just keeps getting me more and more hooked with each chapter and while I am bummed that another chapter passed without any explanation from Caity, I am curious to know what her motives are and if she was the girl who Peeves saw running away from the Room of Requirement after trapping the manticore in there with Harry and Hermione? I would love to get a chapter or half chapter from Caity's point of view just so we could get a better idea of what goes on in her head especially since it seems as if she is suddenly tolerable of Draco now? Anyways, I hope you can update soon because this story has me anxiously awaiting each new chapter.

Author's Response: I try to write it like JKR where everything is from the point of view of Harry (except a couple odd chapters like Riddle House). That limits character development to only what happens to Harry or other things that he is told. Next chapter, however, you'll have a clearer view of Caity's real personality.

 Report Review

Review #19, by wolverine83 The Truth About Snape

25th March 2010:
Interesting twist there at the end about Snape but I don't necessarily see how it is relevant to the story because it doesn't seem as if Snape has played much of a role in the story so far other than being the new D.A.D.A teacher? I'm bummed that the rift between Harry and Caity seems to be growing larger. I hope that that trend will start to reverse itself soon. Anyways, I hope you can update soon.

Author's Response: Snape is one of the most important characters over the whole Harry Potter saga, so I need to keep the animosity and suspicion bubbling for future use.

 Report Review

Review #20, by wolverine83 The Prophecy Revealed

24th March 2010:
Hey, Sorry I haven't reviewed the last few chapters, just consider this review to be for all the three previous chapters. Anyways, I'm interested in knowing why Caity was hiding the knife behind her back, will you reveal why at some point and also why she lied to Harry about it? I'm also interested to know why Caity left the Quidditch match so quickly when the dragon showed up? I hope you might reveal the answers to these questions soon because I'm dying to know? I hope you will because I am dying for some more Harry/Caity interaction.

Author's Response: The truth about these questions will come out soon, one way or another.

 Report Review

Review #21, by wolverine83 The Truth

19th March 2010:
“For such a talented wizard, when it comes to girls, you must have gone to the Weasley school of stupidity! -This line made me laugh so hard, I had tears in my eyes. Single greatest line I think I've ever read in a HP fanfiction. Anyways, I really liked this chapter and I'm hoping that the next chapter will feature some Harry/Caity interaction now that Harry knows Caity is interested in him.

Author's Response: I glad I came up with a line you liked so well. The only problem is that now the only way to go is down.

 Report Review

Review #22, by dacoldest The Truth

18th March 2010:
i love your story keep at it. i wish they would go ahead and approve all your chapters. keep it up!

Author's Response: I had a couple problems with chapter 13 where I carelessly forgot to make a change that I should have, but that is cleared up and I hope to keep them clean hereafter.

 Report Review

Review #23, by wolverine83 Spell Bound

18th March 2010:
I was very intrigued by the spells that Caity and Hermione picked to do their research on and how it might impact the rest of the story? I still hope that Caity is on the level and isn't doing all this with an ulterior motive in mind? I also think the way Draco acted in this chapter is very essential Slytherin even though I was surprised that he didn't seem to believe that Voldemort was really back or else he is just gullible enough to believe everything his father tells him?

Author's Response: It would be a disservice to reveal too much of where the relationship of Harry and Caity will go, but I think it is safe to say that it would be optimistic to hope that everything will proceed perfectly smoothly between any Gryffindor/Slytherin pairing.

I envision Draco's starting point is that everything his father tells him is absolutely true, but he has some trouble seeing how it all fits in with what he hears elsewhere.


 Report Review

Review #24, by wolverine83 Tryouts and Breakouts

17th March 2010:
I just read this entire story and I must admit that I'm very impressed by it so far. Harry/OC have been my main ship on here for awhile and this is a very good Harry/OC story so far. I'm really hoping that Caity is genuinely interested in Harry and that she doesn't have an ulterior motive to befriending him and if she does, well I hope that she is being forced to do it and isn't totally evil? I hope I'm not asking for too much with that? Anyways, I hope you can update soon. I'm also very curious to find out how Voldemort has managed to find a way to control a dragon to do his bidding?

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it so far. One of my main reasons for this story is to play with a Gryffindor/Slytherin romance that is more feasible than the multitudes who try to pair up Hermione with Draco Malfoy. Creating a new Slytherin from a character that has remained in the background means you don't have to remove animosity already demonstrated between the characters. However, being a Slytherin, it is always going to be a dangerous propostion and the unknown factor is very high.


 Report Review

Review #25, by jessica The Dragon and the Dream

13th March 2010:
please write morew please

Author's Response: I have actually completed the whole story with 27 chapters. If they all get validated, the story should come out very quickly.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login