Reading Reviews for More Than a Memory
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by GrrHatLet More Than a Memory

1st November 2013:
It totally fits Snape and Lily. I've been looking all over for something like this and you have no idea how this made my day! Always great to see another Snape/Lily shipper. Have a great day!

Author's Response: Haha, the funny thing is I don't ship them at all. I just thought of them as soon as I heard this song for the first time, so I had to write it. I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by MrsJaydeMalfoy More Than a Memory

4th August 2012:
Wow. Just, wow. There really are no words; I am just speechless.

I've heard this song lots of times. As soon as I saw that this songfic was of this song, I knew I had to read it... and I am so glad I did.

This is so hauntingly beautiful. I mean really, I was near tears by the end, and that's saying something. The song matches the story perfectly as well, and the description, the flow, everything is just so perfect.

My favorite part was this: "The road of life, what an irritating cliché of a phrase. Life wasn't a road, if anything it was like the staircases in Hogwarts: Twisting, constantly changing position, and you were lucky if you didn't fall off. " That was such a true-to-life, realistic comparison.

And though I could go on and on about how wonderful this is for days, I won't, because my words could never do it justice. If it were possible for me to give you a rating of infinity/infinity, I would... but for now, 10/10 will have to do. Absolutely stunning.

Author's Response: I heard this song shortly after Deathly Hallows came out and it just screamed Lily and Snape. I don't write song fics often, but this was too perfect not to.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Writing Snape like this was difficult since he's one of my least favorite characters (as a person, I mean. Him in terms of a literary device was brilliant). So glad that it turned out okay.

I love that line, too! I'm not sure how I came up with it, but it fit well. Snape was just so down during this. So completely miserable. I feel like that's what led him to become a Death Eater.

I'm so glad you enjoyed the story! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by ngayonatkailanman@live.co.uk More Than a Memory

16th May 2012:
You really captured what JKR might write, if she would do out takes of her book. You stuck to the books even if these words were not written by the author. Brilliant piece of deductive writing. I brought me to tears. What a great shame about such a lovely friendship. HOwever, it is the one thing that Voldy did not understand and it contributed to his downfall.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it so much! Aww, I love when people compare my writing style to JKR's. She's my ultimate writing role model. Voldemort really didn't understand friendship at all. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by ClearCutDiamonds More Than a Memory

23rd December 2010:
I haven't read many song-fics, but I really like how you incorporated this song into the storyline. I love reading stories that go deeper with the canon facts. The story was really sad, but I like how you stuck to canon. You really gave a deeper sense to Severus' character. This was sad, but really well-written!

Merry Christmas!

Amanda

Author's Response: Those are some of my favorite stories, too. JKR gave us so much with the Potter books but there's still so much to be explored. So glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Rose_Weasley123 More Than a Memory

12th May 2010:
It won't let me review under my forum account, but I'm Becca (magicmuggle) from TGS here with your requested review. I'm so sorry for how long it's taken :(.

Okay, truth be told, I'm not usually very keen on songfics. While this doesn't change my mind, I did actually enjoy this one. The lyrics were relevant to the story and the story seemed to actually correlate with them, rather than being seperate from them which is what I most often see. However, I did find that was skimming some of the bigger chunks of lyrics a little. I love your use of them, but breaking up the big chunks might make it work even better.

You mentioned in your request that you were worried about writing Snape. I think you pulled him off well here- he seemed in cannon, especially in the end. It was also nice to see you toned down some of his character from the books to compensate for his age and the life experience he would lack at this point. Overall, I think you did a really good job with him.

The plot was really interesting- I love stories that expand on pivotal moments from the series, and you did just that. It was an original take on a well known moment and I loved how you added another few dimensions to it other than the ones given in the series. One thing though, and please forgive me if I'm wrong about this- I think I remember in the book it saying that Lucius was a prefect when Snape joined- my memory is probably failing, but if that was the case, Lucius would already have left school.

You style was really interesting to read- I loved the quite simplistic but effective use of language. One thing I might suggest trying is showing, rather than telling, You told us a lot of what happened, which is fine, but showing can create both a more riveting and more interesting story.

Overall, I really enjoyed this, and I think it was a really interesting take on young Snape and his relationship with Lily.

Author's Response: Hi Becca! I completely forgot that I asked you to review this. :)

I love writing song fics. I have difficulty writing one-shots and I find that having the song to frame it around keeps it at an appropriate length. I always try to have the lyrics relate to the storyline. I'm glad you enjoyed this one.

I'm so glad you think I did a decent job writing Snape. I really hate him so it was difficult to write a story that would result in feeling sorry for him. Good to know I kept him canon!

I'm glad you liked the plot! I'm always interested in those pivotal moments as well. It was fun to write about one for a change rather than my usual next-gen stuff. You are completely correct about Lucius which is something I did not realize when I was writing this. But since it fit so well with the story I decided to keep it slightly AU for the sake of the plot. Perhaps I should put up a disclaimer or something.

You know, a lot of people have given me advice about showing rather than telling in my creative writing courses at school! I'll keep that in mind for future stories. I'm so glad you enjoyed this and thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by SaladOrCellarDoor More Than a Memory

10th April 2010:
I haven't read a Snape fic in so long, and this definitely filled that void. Thanks!

The lyrics are beautiful. I've never heard the song, but now I'm going to look it up. They really work well, and you spaced them out perfectly with the story.

I also absolutely adored the idea of the photo album. I think that section was beautifully written and hit the right tone. It was very sentimental, but not fluffy. Bittersweet. :) The metaphor with the frame was subtle and not in your face, very well done. Your writing definitely got stronger as the fic went on.

Again, thanks for sending me the link! I'm really happy I read this.

Author's Response: As soon as I heard the song after I read Deathly Hallows I knew it fit Snape and Lily perfectly. It just took me nearly three years to actually write a Snape story!

I hadn't even planned out the photo album part. It just sort of happened as i wrote it and I'm so glad you liked it! Glad it wasn't too fluffy. So happy that you enjoyed this! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Kerry Cho More Than a Memory

25th February 2010:
I like it!
Just because you can see how much Snape suffered when he called her a mudblood.
He was stupid and he paid for his errors!

Author's Response: Snape was really stupid to do that and he definitely paid for it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by ReAnna More Than a Memory

24th February 2010:
That was great i loved it...i think it really showed just what was going through Severus mind...he is such a complex character and i think you did wonderfully

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! So glad that I did all right writing about him. He is very complex! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Jen More Than a Memory

22nd February 2010:
I was surprised at your choice of subjects with this... you seem to have a thing for werewolves usually (or maybe that's just me, so I see it in others... not sure).
Nice take on it. It's hard to go really deep in a song-fic sometimes, I think, but you took it where needed to go (does that even make sense?)
Liked it. Good job.

Author's Response: Nope, it's not just you! I definitely lean towards Remus and my OCs, and have never done anything like a Snape POV before. I'm glad you liked it! Yes, that makes sense. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Blaze More Than a Memory

22nd February 2010:
I think this is a really key and emotional part of HP. I've never given it much thought but you've nailed it. Their break-up was sad but necessary and it was also interesting that you did the story from an evil angle.

I think you should do a few more of these. Perhaps from Tom Riddle, Lucius Malfoy or even Peter Petigrew when choosing to betray the Potters... anything really from an evil perspective will be interesting and you'll do a great job of.

Sorry for the inconsistency of my reviews, just getting busy with coursework and final exams approaching in th next few months.
Anyway great job and hope to see more soon ;)

Author's Response: It is definitely a real emotional part of the series. I was very anti-Snape until reading about this in DH, and still am, but it gave so much depth to his character and I even felt bad for him.

I've never done anything from an evil angle before and I'm very glad you think it worked well! Perhaps I'll do another if I get a plot bunny!

Aw, your reviews are fine! I love any reviews people give me, and I definitely hear you as far as the coursework goes. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by malfoyfan More Than a Memory

22nd February 2010:
Aww. that's sad! But this is probably one of the best Snape/Lilly(ish) fics I've ever read! Going in my faves! :D (10/10)

Author's Response: Really? Wow! I'm so glad you liked it that much! I wasn't sure since it's my first time writing Snape. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Liana More Than a Memory

21st February 2010:
I don't think it's going to go for Severus like the song says "It's gonna take time but I'll forget." I don't think he ever forgot. That's one of the most heart breaking things about the Harry Potter books--that Snape loved Lily all of his life and that he really regretted what he said to her. It just goes to show that life can change dramatically in seconds. I wonder if Severus would've become a Death Eater if Lily hadn't left him. I thought you did a very good job of writing this. I was a little surprised that you kind of went off track from what you usually write but it was good. See you on Wednesday.

Author's Response: No, you're right. He won't forget. It is really sad and it's the only part of the books when I felt sort of sorry for Snape. Although he did bring it upon himself. I tend to think he wouldn't have become a Death Eater if he had remained friends with Lily, although I could be wrong. After all, look at Peter. I was surprised as well! I wanted to try something different and somewhat harder, and this is what I came up with. I'm glad people like it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by MissGriffindor More Than a Memory

21st February 2010:
Really awesome- I loved the photo album part.

Author's Response: I loved that part, too. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by phoenixy_friend More Than a Memory

21st February 2010:
Aww, that was sad. :(

Author's Response: Yeah, there wasn't really anything happy about that situation. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by SapphireKira More Than a Memory

21st February 2010:
Amazing. O :

I feel so sorry for Snape here! Poor Lily, too...and the bit about the album was really sweet. I can really imagine why Snape would say no-one understood why the two of them were friends.

However, wasn't it mentioned in The Prince's Tale that Lucius Malfoy was already a prefect in Snape's first year? He would've already left Hogwarts by the time Snape was in his fifth year. Unless you changed that on purpose? Either way, it doesn't matter, this really was awesome.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! I felt sorry for Snape while I was writing it, which is really a feat for me since I really can't stand him. This whole thing was sad for Lily too.

It may have. It's been a while since I read Deathly Hallows. Lucius being a seventh year just sort of fits in this song fic, though. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by The Elite More Than a Memory

20th February 2010:
You'll hate me for not knowing the song, but like me for the double thumbs up I'm giving my laptop right now!

I'm currently working on latest story, and decided to take a break and check out the recent stories. I'm so glad I found yours! I love the Angst, its perfect for a part I'm working on right now. But enough about me, let's talk about your piece.

Its wonderful. The mellow, almost numb, sadness Snape experiences is like a wound that never heals. The pain is not instantaneous or sharp; it is almost like that of a stubborn bruise. Many parts of "More Than a Memory" did, however, offer those jabs of sadness. I particularly enjoyed the section dedicated to the photo album, and this quote is amazing, “'When they don't move, they capture one exact moment, and sometimes that's exactly what I want to see,'". I can't explain why that struck me as brilliant; as the author, maybe you secretly know why.

I loved it. Keep writing!

Magically,
Elite

Author's Response: Aw, that's ok! Not everyone's into country. It's a good song, though, if you get the chance to look it up on Youtube or something.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it! I was definitely going for a numb feeling so I am glad that worked. I don't really know how I came up with that quote, it just sort of popped into my head. I'm so glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login