Reading Reviews for a surrendering of sorts
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Susannaj a surrendering, a sunday smile

17th July 2014:
THIS IS BEAUTIFUL TOO. So jelous of your writing skills.
Anyways i loved the descriptions in this one. I should really stop stalking your stories but oh well

 Report Review

Review #2, by Alida a surrendering, a sunday smile

26th June 2014:
I literally think this might be one of the most beautiful pieces of writing I have ever read. Astonishing. Breathtaking. This really captures so much in so few words, I'm just speechless. I really hope you continue writing, and I would love to read an original story (not a fanfic).

 Report Review

Review #3, by tothoseinterested a surrendering, a sunday smile

3rd October 2013:
You have a beautiful way with words and I hope you never stop writing because the world needs all the beauty it can get.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Shay_Gryff a surrendering, a sunday smile

4th September 2012:
Hello! I loved this, but I think the girls need to be swaped. Other than that, absolutly amazing!

KEEP WRITING :D
Shay_Gryff

 Report Review

Review #5, by Kassandra. a surrendering, a sunday smile

25th September 2011:
You need far more recognition. You're style of writing is definitely my favorite, you are gifted.

 Report Review

Review #6, by 2233445566778899. idk why a surrendering, a sunday smile

25th September 2011:
awww so confusing but in a good way, i love it

 Report Review

Review #7, by missmasquerade a surrendering, a sunday smile

31st August 2010:
This is so beautiful! How do you come up with all this great stuff? The words just flow, and there isn't one sentence- or word- that's out of place. It all comes together really nicely. (: Amazing as always.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Valiant  a surrendering, a sunday smile

10th April 2010:
So far, I've read two pieces of your work, and I've been left breathless at the end of each.

Your writing is beautiful -- it's tangible, like something under my fingertips, something I can touch, see.

I am dizzying appreciative. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm so happy you like it.

If anything, I should be the one whose dizzyingly appreciative :) Thank you!

Zoey


 Report Review

Review #9, by Margravine a surrendering, a sunday smile

23rd March 2010:
Zooey love, I've meant to swing by forever, I was most excited to be there for the cbox birth of this beauty, simply haven't had time til now. Going on a reviewing binge tonight to try and justify my featured reviewness and came straight here!

So, since I knew the punchline, it should have been less powerful for me, but I was stunned by the poetry of your style! I've read Clash, so I knew you could do humor, but this was beautiful, it really was. I love the title a ridiculous amount btw! I will admit I'm not a huge fan of rhyming words (I'm sure there's a fancy name for it) but this was gorgeous story, very well written, and with a truly lovely ending. I enjoyed every second of it!

♥ Jo

Author's Response: Jo! Thanks so much for dropping by! I am so glad to hear you actually liked this nonsensical ramble :)

Yeah, I've never been too crazy about rhyming, either, but for some reason, I tried it out and decided to run with it. Oddly enough, it was a lot of fun.


Thanks for the lovely review, m'dear. It brightened my day!


 Report Review

Review #10, by inkscribble a surrendering, a sunday smile

21st March 2010:
Wow.

This was amazing. Beautiful. Wonderful. Every other word to describe something great. The writing was fantastic. I loved the element of surprise the story had by you not revealing who the girls were at once. It was one of the things that hooked me at once, because I had to keep reading to find out who it was.

The writing, like I said before, was fantastic. I don't even know how to explain it. It was magical and I couldn't tear my eyes from the computer. I absolutely ADORE that the story was about two couples and that in the end you had Rose and Lysander mention Scorpius and Dominique. It made the whole story complete somehow, like they came together.

Ahem amazingness and magnificentness and all this other goodness. I'm not that good at reviewing right now, hahah. Honestly though, the story was beautiful. I loved every minute of it.

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you for the lovely review. I'm glad you liked it, and you recognized the little switcharoo with the couples. I was afraid no one would get that...


Thank you for taking the time to review! It means alot, especially with one-shots like these :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by soliloquy a surrendering, a sunday smile

11th March 2010:
This is beautiful. I literally had to sit here and compose my thoughts before leaving a review.

This is marvelous. It's so unexpected; the reader thinks that the pairings will be Scorpius/Rose and Dominique/Lysander, as so many writers have written them that way but you've done something so magical and have managed to switch them and give them a new life.

After reading your Dom in "Clash", it's so strange to read her as quiet and brooding in this piece. On the other hand, you've done such an amazing job at characterizing her for both stories. She's such a flexible character, which is why I love her so much. Everyone sees her differently and when they write her, you can see how many dimensions she has.

And this piece...lemme tell you. This piece is just...brilliant. I feel chills when I read it. The imagery is wonderful. The description. The little inserts you have within parenthesis.

I'm pretty speechless, so I'll just leave this review at that. It's a wonderfully original piece. I'm definitely adding it to my favorites. Thank you for such a wonderful read. It truly made my night. ♥

Author's Response: Ahhh, fiddlesticks! Why haven't I noticed this review before? I must have accidentally skipped it over. Argggh, I'm so sorry it took me so long to respond. I hadn't seen it, for some reason :(

Anyways, thank you so much for the wonderful review. And I totally agree with you about Dominique - she is just so flexible. I've seen her as wild, as quiet, as evil... even as a boy! That's why I love tinkering with NextGen so much... The possibilities are endless!

Anyways, thank you so much for the review! It totally made my day... I can't believe that I hadn't seen it until now.

Sorry :( and thank you :),

Zoey


 Report Review

Review #12, by SnitchSnatcher a surrendering, a sunday smile

3rd March 2010:
I - well, I don't know what to say aside from this is absolute perfection. I'd ramble on and on about it, but I truly believe that it can be summed up in just a few words. It's original, the style is refreshing, I love both of the pairings, and your writing is to die for. The imagery is just...wow. It's amazing.

Great work, dear!

Author's Response: Eek, Molly, I have no idea what to say to this!

I'm so glad that you liked it and didn't find it to be a complete and utter jumbled mess of words. Your review was so unexpected, and I think I squeed a little when I saw your username on my screen. Thank you so much :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Eridanus a surrendering, a sunday smile

3rd March 2010:
Zoey, you have done me a disservice. I . Cannot. Crit. This. In. Any. Way.

It actually shocks me that I had never come across any of your work before you joined TGS, because you are so incredible. You have such a beautiful lyrical style and even though I've only read a couple of your one-shots I know enough to call it truly stunning.

I don't even know what to say. You write with such fluency and style, and your description is rich in an ethereal sort of way; never too much because it's so light and flowing, but always extremely vivid.

At first, I did wonder how exactly you were going to weave these two different relationships together. At the start they seemed to be like two very separate stories, only linked by their similar writing style, but you managed to combine them and finish it up nicely at the end. I think you probably pulled that combination off as well as it could have been done.

The brackets, I liked, but I'm not quite as enthused about them as I was in An Endless Fall. They were nice and I really liked how the last word was quite resounding and seemed to link with the first, but some of the words just seemed to be there for the sake of it. I just... didn't quite understand it? Of course, that could completely be due to something that I'm missing, and if that's the case then I apologise, because I admit that I'm not an expert at seeing the deeper meaning behind stories etc :P

And now I'm going to list some of my favourite bits, as I can't help myself:

And on good days, Lysander stands next to her and - if he gets close enough - learns what it's like to feel colour.

...she is nothing more than a whisper, pale and wavering with the tragic elegance of being almost beautiful, of being not quite extraordinary

She laughs, and the sound reminds him of glass and bones and all the things in the world that could be broken, but aren't.

I am just absolutely in awe of you and your writing, but I hope this review was vaguely helpful in some shape of form!

Jane xx

Author's Response: Jane, I have been trying to formulate an adequate response to this lovely, amazing review for a good five minutes, but so far all I have been able to do is sit here and smile stupidly at my screen. So, yeah. Let's see how this goes, shall we?

First off, I am so, so happy to hear that you like this. I'm relieved that you didn't find this too confusing or jumbled, since that was one of my main worries about this one-shot.

I see what you mean about the brackets. I don't really have a solid reason for sticking 'em in there, I mostly just wrote them in because I wanted to try something new and original, and I was in a rhyming mood that day. I see what you mean, though, about some of the words just being "there". In some areas, I deliberately chose certain words to fit the mood (eg. speak: leak, weak, bleak for the Scormonique scene), but in other parts it does seem like they're just there for the sake of it. I might have to figure out a way to change that...


But anyhoo, thank you so much for the lovely review. It made my day :)




 Report Review

Review #14, by dream_BIG a surrendering, a sunday smile

27th February 2010:
it was beautiful. just...beautiful. the way it was written, how the words just seemed to fit together like they were made to be that way...
beautiful :)
love,
dream_BIG
ps - would it be too annoying if i ordered you to go and UPDATE CLASH NOW, PLEASE?
oh, well. did it anyway ;D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm updating Clash as soon as possible, most likely by the weekend (hopefully).

 Report Review

Review #15, by Celestie a surrendering, a sunday smile

26th February 2010:
Oh my gosh, you dedicated it to me?! I'm honored and shocked. :O

I only gave you the skeleton, but you made it so much more with your fantastic writing! Like I already said, I LOVED it.

(Plus, it's Scorminique and Rysander! That could never hurt.)
You have such gorgeous descriptions. Gah. Just ugh. I'm in envy and awe.

Favorite line:
And above them - above lovers and loners alike - the moon weeps joyfully, delirious with the sudden, euphoric possibility of shining.

What a lovely note to end on. :) And this whole fic was just lovely and floaty and made me feel like I was sitting on a cloud the whole time. I'm not one for fluff (at.all.), because a whole load of it is either pointless or cheesy romance which makes me cringe, but this proves that some fluff can be beautiful. You write fluff with an ease that makes me jealous.

Now that I'm done squeeing my heart out, I'll pick up what remains of my dignity as a reviewer and leave. XD

Wonderful job, Zoey!

- Celeste

Author's Response: Celeste, of COURSE I dedicated this to you! This story probably wouldn't even exist if it weren't for all your help and support :)

I'm glad you liked this, despite the utter fluffiness of it all. I was a little worried about this being too light and cheesy, so it's a relief to hear that you enjoyed it.

Thank you so so much for the lovely review, and for all your support. This one-shot would literally be nothing if it weren't for you!


 Report Review

Review #16, by redherring a surrendering, a sunday smile

26th February 2010:
Wow. Seriously, this was just beautiful. I loved it! The plot itself was brilliantly simple and worked wonderfully with the gorgeous style it was written in (I am, truly, a little bit in love with your writing.) I loved everything - the dialogue, the characterisations, the description (especially the description). I also liked how the pairings weren't what I expected them to be - the classic Scorose and Lysander/Dominique - and it was nice to see them the other way around.

That's all I can get out at the moment because I'm still a little bit speechless, but honestly, I adored it, and I'm now off to stalk your author page x)

Author's Response: Hey there! I think I've seen you bopping around TGS, but we've never fully met in person. I'm Zoey, by the way, and if I'm not mistaken... You're Lizzie, right? (I hope you're not creeped out by the fact that I know your name and everything, it's just that - as you can see - I have done some author page stalking myself :D )

Anyway, thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm glad you liked the plot (or lack thereof, really). I was kind of worried about it, since prior to this story I had done no planning whatsoever except for figuring out the ships. So yeah... I was a teensy bit worried that this wouldn't make any sense at all.

Aha! So you fell for the Scorose-LyDom ruse! I was hoping someone would point that out. One of the main reasons why I left out names was so that the reader would mix up the ships. Tricky tricky...

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I'm so happy you enjoyed it!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login