Reading Reviews for Falling To Pieces
417 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Bethan You'll see the sky fall down before it ever gets that far.

24th August 2016:
Oh my days. What a chapter! I'm really enjoying how you're developing James and Lily's relationship and how much Sirius and Dee have grown. I can't wait for more.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Bethan Must I Always Be Waiting On You

24th August 2016:
I started reading this story years ago but I lost track in between updates along the way. I had the urge to read HPFF for the first time in years and immediately this story came to mind. I'm so glad that I have managed to catch up once more. Your writing has improved over the years and it's such a delight to read.

 Report Review

Review #3, by becks8bsc You'll see the sky fall down before it ever gets that far.

28th June 2016:
please, please, please don't leave us with this cliffhanger!!! what happened to Dee! Very gripped with the storyline at the moment, keen to see you explore Voldemort and how everyone deals with the attacks

 Report Review

Review #4, by Lady Firewitch You'll see the sky fall down before it ever gets that far.

8th May 2016:
First of all I am really glad you updated in January. Had you not done that, I probably wouldn't have found either story about Dee and Sirius. I just spent the last few days reading all the chapters, and I am in love with the story these two. I admire you continuing to write about these two after eight years. I can tell your writing has changed, but it works as the characters mature. Personally, at 26 if any of my old fabrics from 2004 were still up, I'd be ashamed of my excessive love of adjectives and Mary Sues, but you do not have to ever worry about that.

I hope this isn't the end with just one last chapter in Sirius' POV left. Like you said there is only so many ways Sirius/OC pairings can end, and with this chapter and your previous author's note, I just hope it's not with Dee dying now. Sirius (and Dee) deserve to be happy for a little longer because we all know the eventual fate of at least Sirius and Marlene (which generally implies Freddie too?). I know we can't give them an AU where they live happily ever after, but maybe just maybe Dee could survive seeing her best friends and presumably Freddie die and Sirius be sent to Azkaban. Idk, haha. I'm still excited to see how you imagined the ending.

I enjoy how your story has so many moments where I literally burst out in laughter (and get some strange looks). As Lily said, Dee and Sirius do not have normal social skills and I love the way that comes off in your writing. Dee being so neurotic is hilarious because it reminds me of myself 17. (Probably shouldn't be admitting how crazy I am :p)

A couple of things:. I started by reading the prologue of Falling to Pieces and when I read McKinnon and then saw "Dee" I was so confused, but it now all makes sense. I enjoy how you made Marlene (and what a b-i-t-c-h she is in this store) married into the McKinnons. Also, all the other small things you've done to put a twist on the Marauder's Era, really work in your story.

I feel like I have so much more to add, but my mind is just shutting down on me. I hope there is an update soon, but I completely understand about life.

 Report Review

Review #5, by FT You'll see the sky fall down before it ever gets that far.

25th March 2016:
Oh my god. I kind of want to murder you.

So I decided out of the blue about a week ago to start rereading old Harry Potter fanfics I'd followed years ago. I found my own profile on here and started reading fics I'd favourited back in the day (roughly 2008-2010), and Fall For Anything was one of them. I checked back, and I'd written reviews for every chapter from the most recent chapter at the time I'd started reading, up until the second last chapter. So I must have stopped reading before the last chapter was published - I don't know if I forgot to come back and check if it was updated, or if I assumed it was abandoned, or if life just happened and I forgot the website altogether.

Anyway. I loved rereading it. It was great, even better than I remembered it being. And it was weird and wonderful to get back into the world of the marauders and the world of Debbie McKinnon - who I remembered well once I started reading the story again. She was basically as familiar and real to me as any of the canon characters in the story. And I was delighted to find out there was a sequel, a whole huge addition to her story that I never knew existed and only got a chance to read because I for some reason decided to back and reread stories I loved when I was almost a decade younger than I am now.

I planned to write a review basically from halfway through reading FFA. I've spent the last few days reading both stories and just been very excited about the everything, anticipating chapters when I wasn't reading, thinking about how situations would go and how things would end. It's honestly been the happiest and most excited I've felt reading a fanfic (or anything really for that matter) in quite a while, and I'm so, so glad I came across it again. I have loved every minute of this story, even if I feel kind of floored by the ending. I suppose if the story wasn't good to begin with, I wouldn't feel actual shock at how it ended. Though uh... as I was writing that I suddenly remembered an Author's Note earlier on where you said the last chapter was going to be in Sirius' voice (I may have remembered because I just thought "I WANT TO HEAR WHAT SIRIUS SAW" in a very upset head-voice) and that made me check the status of the fic and the last upload date, so I can see you literally only uploaded this chapter recently and it's still marked as a WIP. So now I'm not really sure what to think, because I was sure she was dead and this was the end of the story, because I know it was started six years ago and was expecting to leave a review for someone who wouldn't probably never see it unless that had e-mail notifications turned on. Hm.

Oh well, in that case I can't wait until you update again. Genuinely, I am going to be checking back on this on a regular basis now and wondering if I really did just read Debbie McKinnon's death and am just waiting to hear Sirius' thoughts and worldview, or if she's alive and there's going to be more than one update left.

I'm actually kind of thrown now that I know the story isn't 100% over yet. I probably should have noticed earlier that it wasn't marked as complete. But I'm not bothered deleting what I've written so far. It looks like this was your first update in three years, though. Maybe I should try to remember my login details for my own account on here and set up e-mail notifications for the fic (I don't even remember if you can do that on this site).

Well, either way, it's been really great reading Fall For Anything and Falling to Pieces over the last few days. It's really brightened up my week and made me feel... I dunno, alive I guess. And happy, and excited, and nervous and sad and ticked off at characters being stupid or stubborn or not communicating properly. I can't wait to read what happens next, even if it is just one last devastating chapter where Sirius Black rips my heart out reacting to the death of Debbie McKinnon right after they finally started doing things right. Even if it involved me walking away from the site for another six years and suddenly deciding to reread fics again, or remembering that I never found the fate of Debbie McKinnon and the very tangible Sirius Black that was all hers. You've been the first writer in a while to be able to pull out such a range of emotions from me across one story, and I will definitely be back for more whenever there is more to come back for.

I wish you the best of luck with life and with writing. I feel like who I was when I read Deb's story first is an entirely different person to who I am today, and I can only imagine it's the same for you, so I admire you a lot for sticking to this story and continuing to update even after long hiatuses. it's something I haven't quite mastered yet myself. I hope it's not too long before there's more to read on this fic, but your record so far would indicate that no matter how long it is, it'll still get updated at some stage, and I look forward to that day. Maybe you'll get another review from me then, but hopefully it'll be less long and ridiculous.

 Report Review

Review #6, by ghq You'll see the sky fall down before it ever gets that far.

23rd March 2016:
Haven't read this story for years but it's still as good as I remember! Thanks for updating

 Report Review

Review #7, by Jen You'll see the sky fall down before it ever gets that far.

12th February 2016:
I've loved and followed this story for years! I'm so glad you've continued with it, please update soon as you can't leave me with that cliffy!!!

 Report Review

Review #8, by TheGirlWithThePinkBeret You'll see the sky fall down before it ever gets that far.

1st February 2016:
I am so happy this has been updated!! It was always one of my favourites and I had completely forgotten about it! Please don't leave it so long next time, you're a fabulous writer!

 Report Review

Review #9, by JeanSyrotS Must I Always Be Waiting On You

31st January 2016:
Yay! I'm glad I stumbled upon this story again. I read it so long ago and thought it was abandoned after so long. But then bam, what do ya know 2016 and new materials yay!!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by ilove21p If we hold on to each other, we'll be better than before.

23rd November 2015:
PLEASE UPDATE this is such a good story

 Report Review

Review #11, by firewhisky_ If we hold on to each other, we'll be better than before.

26th August 2014:
Please please update soon!!! I've been dying to hear more from Debbie and Sirius, this story is brilliantly written and so entertaining! Please try to not kill off Debbie as well, she's far too nice for that :(

 Report Review

Review #12, by pinkhpfan If we hold on to each other, we'll be better than before.

30th May 2014:
I love this story! Im really hoping that this will make you update. You're a great writer pls update soon!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Rowan Dragomir If we hold on to each other, we'll be better than before.

26th December 2013:
AHAHAHA YES! This Lily/James turnover is spectacular! Let me just throw all of these christmas cookies at you for writing such a wonderful story! Yeah, you're right the Sirius/OC endings are always a bit iffy, especially since the McKinnons were canonically all killed off in 1981. So depending on how many feels you want to inflict, you could have Deb be killed and then Sirius' reaction to that. Or you could have her join up with an out-of-britain qudditch team to escape the war at Sirius and Freddie's insistence and then have her reaction to the deaths of her brother and significant other. Basically, there are no ways to maintain cannon and escape feels. Sigh. I love your entire plot so far though, and I'm sure you can make it work! Despite the long break, but I'm just gonna go read all of your other fics to make me feel better. Although I gotta say Maurders is kind of the best era. Hope the writing bug bites once more!

 Report Review

Review #14, by keyty If we hold on to each other, we'll be better than before.

23rd November 2013:
I hate you. Why are you doing this to me. UGH.

 Report Review

Review #15, by keyty Must I Always Be Waiting On You

23rd November 2013:

 Report Review

Review #16, by Emily If we hold on to each other, we'll be better than before.

9th November 2013:
Aaahhh this is sooo good, please keep updating!! :D x

 Report Review

Review #17, by newgenerationlover If we hold on to each other, we'll be better than before.

10th July 2013:
Hi, I found your story last night and only stopped reading when I was literally falling asleep on my laptop because it had gotten so late. I really love this story and I really want to figure out what happens next. Your writing is really captivating and I love all the twists you have put on the characters. Please update soon!!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Eleanor If we hold on to each other, we'll be better than before.

27th April 2013:
Man alive! I just wrote such a long review and accidentally deleted it!
Long and short of it:
I love what you've done with Dee and Sirius in this chapter, it's a relief to see them having some good moments together again.
I'm really glad you are still updating this story, I was so excited to see that you had updated when I checked back! Keep up the good work, keep writing, and thanks for the great read. I have loved the Dee and Sirius story.

 Report Review

Review #19, by loony_lovegood101 If we hold on to each other, we'll be better than before.

26th April 2013:
i love them.
i love this.

ps. the line spacing is huuuge

 Report Review

Review #20, by PotterMistress If we hold on to each other, we'll be better than before.

25th April 2013:
Doing my dance of joy here RoxyRose. I knew it was worth checking for updates.

Chapter was pretty awesome and well worth the wait. I love how Sirius and Dee are up to their usual shananigans again. This is the side to Sirius and Dee I love.

I don't want to put the pressure on you but I'm hoping that you will update soon.

Keep up the great work!

 Report Review

Review #21, by rez If we hold on to each other, we'll be better than before.

24th April 2013:
OH MY GOD YOU UPDATED OH MY GOD YOU'RE ALIVE YAY! words cannot describe how happy I am that you're back! YOU HAVE RETURNED FROM THE DARK BEYOND OF UNDECLARED HIATUS my life is so good.

YAY SIRIUS AND DEBBIE YAY LILY YAY JAMES YAY FOR SURPRISES that scene was much much much too cute, how utterly adorable are they?! I CAN'T HANDLE ALL THIS CUTENESS

the only thing that could possibly make me any happier than this would be if you updated no solid ground. I think I'd actually cry and then spontaneously combust with joy.

I NEVER GAVE UP ON YOU I SWEAR! I will be on the lookout for more signs of life! keep going and don't you give up!


 Report Review

Review #22, by PotterMistress Must I Always Be Waiting On You

19th March 2013:
RoxyRose, I know you have a life and time gets away so quickly but just letting you know that I haven't given up on you just yet.

This is a great sequel to a great story and I have now read it for the third time in hopes that by the time I get to the end of this chapter that there is a possible chance you may have updated.

Just know that you still have lots of fans for this story and we're rooting for you to continue on with this baby.

May inspiration come knocking on your door soon.

 Report Review

Review #23, by sunshine daisies Must I Always Be Waiting On You

17th March 2013:
WHY IS THIS STORY SO GOOD! I just re-read this entire story from the beginning and all I want is for you to update! I really hope you continue this story because its just to good not to! I need to know what happens with sirius and deb

 Report Review

Review #24, by rez Must I Always Be Waiting On You

28th January 2013:

I know you are, because you updated your other story this month!

BUT WHY LEAVE US HANGING HERE OMG -emotional overload-

I loved fall for anything so much when I first read it and now, however many years later, after readjng so many other fics I've realised how good of a job you've actually done with this because honestly, it's so much more captivating and just amazing than most of the stuff out there! I think it's a lot because of the way you know how to extend the suspense and the way that there's just always SOME thing or another that is just out of the reach of our understanding - but I also love how you play with time, and you give us the end before the beginning but not all of it so we're just confused and anticipating and so many feels omg.

do please go on with this, id love to see where you take it from here

you're amazing :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Finite Must I Always Be Waiting On You

15th January 2013:
Please please PLEASE finish this story!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>