Reading Reviews for Chances
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Canadian_Hogwarts Chances

20th March 2011:
I have to say that I was pretty biased when reading this story. I've had this strange urge to read stories about the Harry/Ginny reunion all day, so I was really in the mood for something like this. You didn't disappoint! I enjoyed it a lot! I'm glad that you made Harry and Ginny talk things out right away. I doubt that after all they've been through, Harry and Ginny would take another month and a half to make things right again; they're way too in love to do that to each other, and to themselves. One of my favourite lines was 'He knew since she was shouting, hed have to shout too, or shed never listen to him.' That, I think, describes the relationship between a Weasley woman and her significant other to a T :D Lovely story; I'm glad to have read it.

Author's Response: Haha, thank you! I'm very flattered. I'm really glad you enjoyed this!

Thanks so much for the lovely review!

-kbhg


 Report Review

Review #2, by SexyDoorFrames Chances

5th January 2011:
Hello! I snaggled you, so I have come to review this :)

You have a typo in your summary, just an extra n in Ginny's name :)

I loved the song, it really fitted the story well! The story was wonderful, it was so sweet and it made me go awh! Excellent one shot!

10/10
- Keely.

Author's Response: Thanks for pointing that typo out!
And thanks for the review! Glad you liked.

-kbhg


 Report Review

Review #3, by VioletBlade Chances

24th December 2010:
Again, I love the song choice! Five for Fighting is awesome! :D And Happy Holidays by the way! It's your secret santa again, with even MORE reviews :D Anywho, this was cute, as per usual! Then again I'm a sucker for Harry/Ginny. I really liked Ron's spluttering and obvious discomfort at his sister and his best mate getting together, it cracked me up!

~VB

Author's Response: Thanks so much! This present is awesome! And I'm glad you liked this and it made you laugh.

Happy christmas!

-kbhg


 Report Review

Review #4, by ericajen Chances

16th August 2010:
Hey Gryffie!

This was pretty cute. I'm usually not the biggest fan of Trio-centric fanfictions but I do like them when they're just cute little things like this and such. The lyrics were very sweet I liked the idea of them taking the chance and everything. That was a nice touch to the story.

Also, this is kind of random, but the sun in the chapter image rocks my world. Just saying.

Author's Response: I totally agree about the sun. :D it's awesome... photobucket animated stickers, just saying.

Thankee very much! I'm so glad you enjoyed this!

thanks for the review...
-kbhg


 Report Review

Review #5, by Capella Black Chances

16th August 2010:
Wha- oh, *! - that made me laugh so much! I love how you have Harry teasing Ron, and then Ron ends up further riling himself up when he tries to pay him back. Very, very funny.

And seriously? You're 13? Well, I feel rubbish - I can't write stuff this awesome NOW, and I'm over a decade past that. Grr (GRR, geddit?!) Overall this piece managed in turn to be sad, moving, compelling, and laugh out loud funny, and all without losing momentum or drastically changing tack. That's some pretty awesome writing.

I love the "I love you" too - I guess saying it any other way would have ended up insulting Ron and Hermione, whereas this caught the basic emotion behind it all - at the end of the day, you can't take the risks they needed to and be protecting the one you love. Until Ginny got that he felt that strongly for her, it was always going to seem like a rejection, and I love how you captured both that and the true motivation in the same short story.

Loved it, off to check out another!

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, thank you! You're so nice! Although I've read some of your work and you're way better than me, so I'm not sure why you're GRRing! :)

I'm glad you liked this and it made you laugh!

Thanks for reviewing!

-kbhg


 Report Review

Review #6, by Jazzeh Turnip Chances

19th June 2010:
REVIEW CHALLENGE #3.

I'm not usually one for song fics, and I don't particularly agree with this being a song fic, I think it'd be much better without the song, but I DO like this. I think it'd flow much better and feel less fragmented if the song wasn't involved though.

You're writing is good, and there were VERRRY few mistakes. I think I only caught one;
he winced at the sight of every body - This should be "everybody".

There were a few other things like the paragraph starting "Ron and Hermione had gone off together about 20 minutes ago..." sounds a little uneasy to me. I think it's because you say "hadn't minded" and it's a bit of a mouthful. I can't think of any other way to change that though ^.^

I think you over use parentheses a bit too much (I'm guilty of the same when I write, and I always have to check over again to see if there's any way to get what I've written out of parentheses and back into the text. Usually there is) but only in some places.

I adore Ron. He's such good comic relief to a serious fic, and paired with Harry he's always a winner. Ginny annoyed me a little bit, but she does in the books as well so she's VERY canon xD. Harry was very well written too. I did get a little confused when it changed from Ginny to Harry, and zipped forwards a few months, but I liked it once I understood what'd happened.

Your writing and flow is pretty darn good, especially on bits that haven't been disrupted by lyrics (as I think I've already said), and the only thing I dislike about this whole fic is the song. Song fics are notouriously difficult to get right, and this is by FAR not the worst (I've seen some truly terrible ones), mainly because it's so difficult to get the song to fit the words. That and I'm very picky with my song fics. Sorry if I sound like I hate it. I honestly don't, I really like it, and this is one of the better ones I've seen, but not the best.

I LOVED that ending, especially with the "Chance taken" bit just before. I think that's one of the few places where I think the lyrics fit the story being told. When it happens, it's unbelievably good, but the fact that the whole song doesn't match up kinda detracts from that for me. I do see why you used this song though. It's very good and seems like it'd fit a fic well.

The thing I like best about this fic is that it's made me not think of Harry and Ginny as such an odd pairing. I still dislike them, but I dislike their characters seperately anyway, but I actually understand the pairing now. I love fics that open my eyes to something new, or something against what I previously thought, and this is one of those. So thank you for that :)

7/10, but could easily be higher if I could find it in myself to ignore the song, but my brain refuses. I know! 9/10 if it was just writing -nod nod- so I'll give it an 8 and forsake my bloody brain for once. THERE it's 8/10 :) The writing definitely deserves a good rating, because it's very good.

Lorren.

Author's Response: Thank you!!!

About what you said, this has got to be like the first review I've ever gotten that's given me GOOD ADVICE. Most of these points are great points, and I will see what I can do about the flow of the story with the song and matching up the lyrics, because I WOULD like to keep the lyrics in there. (That's my favourite Five For Fighting song and you should listen to it on YouTube or something if you can)
Second last paragraph- that's got to be the nicest thing anyone ever said about one of my stories! I happen to love Harry/Ginny (see username for further information) so I'm glad I got around the barriers that I know some people have towards that pairing.
Wait, that didn't make any sense.
Hopefully you know what I mean.
Anyway, thanks for the review! My shameless self-promotion worked! Yay!
-krazyboutharryginny
P.S. I love your username!!!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Bigsisto3 Chances

17th June 2010:


Author's Response: Why, thank you! Glad you enjoyed it! See you on the forums!

 Report Review

Review #8, by malfoyfan Chances

30th March 2010:
Aw! So cute! In case you didn't know, I'm your blog-stalker! Hee hee hee! :D

Author's Response: Yay! Believe it or not, I love blog stalkers, so HI! *huggles*
DOUBLE YAY! You're my first reviewer for this story!!! Thank you, I'm so glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #9, by krazyboutharryginny's best friend Chances

13th March 2010:
lol u made me read this over and over again and its finally accepted!

Author's Response: :D finally a review! Even though I asked you to do it and I was sitting there watching you type it!
BTW everyone this actually WAS a review from my Best Friend. It was not some random pycho making that claim.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login