Reading Reviews for Gryffindor Moments
  
74 Reviews Found

Review #1, by accioHPFF Thoughts of a Wizard Prodigy

25th October 2011:
This story was wonderful.

I think Dumbledore is often forgotten because he isn't included in the Eras or character groups like most other people. But this was great!

You built up his character well, and the incident with Aberforth was reinforcing their predicament.

I loved how you tied the ending to Dumbledore's discussion with Harry about the curtains.

Great story.

-accioHPFF

 Report Review

Review #2, by accioHPFF The Letter

25th October 2011:
Three reviews?

This story hasn't got the attention it deserves. It's brilliant, you got into James' head well and didn't make his feelings into a pantomime for everyone else at Hogwarts. It was great how you revealed his feelings when he was alone, but when someone was around, up came the barriers and he was his usual self.

Fantastic entry... three reviews don't do this entry justice!

-accioHPFF

 Report Review

Review #3, by accioHPFF Double Trouble-the Twins' Sorting

25th October 2011:
What a brilliantly entertaining story!

You took a very bold and unique approach, writing from McGonagall's POV, but it was brilliant. I'm actually going to go and search for some McGonagall stories later, it was brilliant.

The way you portrayed Fred and George was brilliant. This entry was hilarious and it's great how you imagined the twins at age eleven... I never can! :L

Brilliant entry, well done!

 Report Review

Review #4, by accioHPFF The Sorting of Sirius Black

25th October 2011:
W o w .

To be honest, I thought a Sirius (or James) story would be the first thing someone would write. I'm glad that not every story is written about James and Sirius, but this one is seriously good.

I love how you showed Sirius' opinions and relationships with his mother, it added such a lot to know that he didn't think of her as "Mum".

Brilliant entry... I seriously love this collab!

 Report Review

Review #5, by accioHPFF Chapter 3-by RoyalBlues

25th October 2011:
What a great story!

This one differs from the first two in this collab because you don't learn a lot about the characters' pasts, it's more focussed on the plot. I love this, it's a different approach and because it's more recalling a plot in third person, we don't need to know as much about the characters compared to a sorting.

I loved it, what a brilliant story.

-accioHPFF

 Report Review

Review #6, by accioHPFF The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew by melian

25th October 2011:
Wow.

You are such an amazing writer.

I loved how you built up his character and nervousness at the start! You gave such a wonderful insight into the character!

Your descriptions were great, I can't think of anything bad to say! :L

The ending was brilliant, it tied the whole story together...

I've not got much that I can say, so I'll leave it there, but once more - what a wonderful entry.

-accioHPFF

 Report Review

Review #7, by accioHPFF Molly's Sorting-by nextgenoration

25th October 2011:
What an amazing start to our collaboration!

I love that fact that you decided to write about Molly's sorting because I know that she's not the first choice for most people to write, but you did an amazing job!

The way that you've slipped Arthur into the story, even including his love for Muggle technology, was great.

Great story. I loved it.

-accioHPFF

 Report Review

Review #8, by GotstaHaveMyHardy Double Trouble-the Twins' Sorting

3rd July 2011:
BAHAHAHAHAAH! That was absolutely fantastic!

 Report Review

Review #9, by maskedmuggle Thoughts of a Wizard Prodigy

13th December 2010:
A great chapter! Albus is usually hard to write, and to characterise realistically, but you did a great job here!

The last line was classic too, an all - around humourous story! And the ignis vectabilis spell was great too - the meaning behind it.

Well written, an enjoyable read :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by nextgenoration Thoughts of a Wizard Prodigy

13th December 2010:
Hey doll! I was so happy to beta this, it really was terrific!

I adore how you portrayed young Dumbledore - it seemed very realistic as to what we have been given with canon. It flowed, had lovely imagery, and left me with a good feeling. :)

Job well done!

Ash (NGseries)

 Report Review

Review #11, by maskedmuggle The Letter

13th December 2010:
A nice little fic!
I thought James would end up sending the letter, and Lily would say yes (cliche ending), so it was nice to see that he didn't end up sending the letter.
Anyway, good writing :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by lilypotterfan123 Thoughts of a Wizard Prodigy

11th December 2010:
wow that was truly amazing Leo! This was my favourite part, 'Albus closed his eyes for a moment. It would never end.' It was like you could picture Dumbledore's emotional pain. I'm writing about Dumbledore too and this has helped me understand Dumbledore's character much more so thank you for an excellent read!

LpF123 xx

 Report Review

Review #13, by Bethany Longbottom Molly's Sorting-by nextgenoration

10th December 2010:
I LOVE THIS SO MUCH!

 Report Review

Review #14, by _Leo_ The Letter

10th December 2010:
Great idea! James trying to win Lily by showing her his softer side, but not wanting to be seen as weak; I can totally imagine that.
Well done!

xxx Leo

 Report Review

Review #15, by _Leo_ Double Trouble-the Twins' Sorting

9th December 2010:
Haha, gotta love the twins :D The mention of Gred and Forge always makes me grin!
I loved the twist when the Hat sorted Dumbledore again, brilliant!
A great, fun story!

 Report Review

Review #16, by _Leo_ The Sorting of Sirius Black

6th December 2010:
Well done!
Nice flow, and with the first-person perspective, it was all the more real.
And the part with his family seemed so authentic too.
Go Sirius!

xxx Leo

 Report Review

Review #17, by _Leo_ Chapter 3-by RoyalBlues

3rd December 2010:
Good story!
I just love the Marauders, I can never get enough of them :D
Creative idea for the prank as well.

xxx Leo

 Report Review

Review #18, by _Leo_ The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew by melian

2nd December 2010:
Awesome chapter!
Yes, there must have been a reason why Peter was a Gryffindor, and I quite like your take on it.
An even more enjoyable read as I could concentrate on the story, not grammar :D
xxx Leo

 Report Review

Review #19, by _Leo_ Molly's Sorting-by nextgenoration

1st December 2010:
This was so cute!
I liked Molly's back story you came up with and how she will grow up to be exactly the opposite of her own mother. Molly & Arthur are just perfect for each other!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Serious_Black The Letter

13th November 2010:
This was practically begging for a review, so I figured I'd go ahead. First of all, this is amazing! You did a wonderful job of capturing the struggle James is having with wanting to win Lily's heart while still remaining one of the guys. Perfect! This was an awesome contribution!

 Report Review

Review #21, by lilypotterfan123 Molly's Sorting-by nextgenoration

16th October 2010:
That was amazing because of the short snappy sentences, her meeting Arthur and it gave us a bit more information, about Ron and how his ears go red when he's embarrassed! Arthur is so sweet when he gives her something he takes pride in him and he's only 11! I feel like one of those gossipy ladies when I say this but, ah bless!

LpF123 xx

 Report Review

Review #22, by Lady Kyra Double Trouble-the Twins' Sorting

21st August 2010:
This was simply wonderful. I laughed throughout Fred and George's entire exchange. I can definitely see Fred and George doing something like this during their Sorting. I mean, they couldn't really do a prank since it was their first night and they couldn't plan, so something of this nature seems highly likely.

I love how it was from McGonagall's point of view and seems to contain McGonagall's constant struggle between her very prim and proper side and her pride and somewhat love of the troublemakers that inhabit her house. She obviously cannot decide whether she should be thoroughly disgusted with the twin's antics or if she should just shake her head and let it be, since it is obviously quite funny. The characterization of both her and the twins was wonderful.

I think one of my favorite parts, however, is when the hat lands on Dumbledore's head and he is so nonchalant about it. It just seemed like such a Dumbledore thing to do.

This story was brilliant! I hope this review helps you in some way!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Lady Kyra The Sorting of Sirius Black

21st August 2010:
I really liked this story. It seemed so uniquely Sirius and was a very likely explanation for why Sirius was in Gryffindor instead of Slytherin.

I thought Sirius's characterization was good. I especially liked how he referred to his mother as Walburga in his head, sort of making sure there was a lot of distance between the two of them. You can obviously feel his rebellious nature. And then we he makes fast friends with James, you can see his true, fun-loving side (and what Marauders-era story is complete without a Sirius joke, I ask you?).

Very nice. I hope this review helps you in some way!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Lady Kyra Chapter 3-by RoyalBlues

21st August 2010:
I'll admit, I was a bit confused by this one. First, all of the boxes from the formatting difficulties just made it hard to read altogether. Second, I'm still confused about the prank. So, what, nothing happens? No one can see them? It was just for the thrill? Yeah, confused.

The characterizations of James, Sirius, Peter, and Lily seemed quite good. Remus was in there too briefly for me to make a judgement. I also liked you slipping Sebastian Abbot in there- perhaps the father of a certain Hufflepuff we all know and love?

If you could fix the formatting problems and perhaps make the ending a bit clearer, this story would be ace. I hope this review helps you in some way.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Lady Kyra The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew by melian

21st August 2010:
I have to say, this story was incredible. I love stories where Peter is written as an actual person and not a horrible, despicable monster. I mean sure, he sold out his friends, but at some point in time he had to have dome something to make them his friends, right? And I think you have displayed that brilliantly here.

Another great part about it was that you showed how much of a Gryffindor Peter actually was. Many people just make him painfully shy or a blundering boy, but you made him a real person who, like anyone going off to a new, strange place, has fears and nervousness, yet was able to overcome all of them. It really was wonderful characterization for Peter, and it brilliantly sets it up in your mind for him, James, Remus, and Sirius to become friends.

I liked how you slipped Sirius in there. I am a bit confused by portions of it and am attempting to figure out Peter's background. Was his mother homeschooled or something? He seems to know very little about Hogwarts or the magical world in general, so I was just a bit confused by that.

Overall, this story is incredible. I hope this review helps you in some way!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>