Reading Reviews for Fighting Temptation
  
849 Reviews Found

Review #1, by draco_lover12 Epilogue

2nd March 2014:
Mmm.spelling mistakes glore in the beginning

Author's Response: Yeah the beginning is a huge mess not just with spelling but with grammar as well. I learned a lot over the three years it took to write it. I'm in the processing of editing it, it just takes time to do that. Thank you for reading.

 Report Review

Review #2, by MissesWeasley123 When She Was Born

1st January 2014:
Hi there! I'm here again for the 12 Days of Reviewing from the forums!

This chapter was seriously one of the sweetest things in the world. It had everything, from characters to plot and it was such a nice introduction to this rivalry Scorpius and Rose will have in the forthcoming chapters. You set the bitterness right from the start, and it was so real, the whole concept.

I loved Hermione. Her characterization was brilliantly done. Lines like this one made me smile like a goof, it was brilliant:

Hermione looked up at him and said, "Oh wipe that grin off your face."

I love Ron and Hermione as a pair, and Ron was just the sweetest thing to Hermione. You really have a knack for writing romance.

And Draco! He's so hard to write. But you do it so well. This was hilarious:

"Oh yeah, I'm done. That was all I needed. I hope you don't mind me asking, but are you sure you are the father? I mean I just don't see the resemblance..." Malfoy smirked at him. -- LIKE, WHOA MALFOY, CALM DOWNN. He's so mean but it fits him so what the heck, I loved him in this. Especially the little things he muttered under his breath, gold!

And children are so tough to write but Rose was amazingly done. Her relationship with Ron was brilliant and I really liked it. Great work!

Author's Response: Nice to see another review from you. I am a huge Ron/Hermione fan so this was a little tribute to them. I also thought it would be a good set up to show the tension between the Malfoys and the Weasleys. As for Draco, I don't think it is him being mean but more of him having a fun. Still it isn't very nice.
Thank you so much for coming back and reviewing this chapter. unfortunately it is the relationship with Ron that is going to give her a lot of heartache.


 Report Review

Review #3, by MissesWeasley123 A Lot Can Happen in a Year

30th December 2013:
AH. This chapter. I've already finished this story, but I wanted to come back to this chapter specifically. Also, I happen to be here from the 12 Days of Reviewing from the forums!

This is so brilliant. The last chapter had so many feels... and this one was such a great follow up. I need to reread this story sometime. What was great was that when I read this chapter, I realized why I had this favourited. You write wonderfully.

I love your characterization of Rose, even if she's a bit aggravating sometimes like this. And Scorpius is just perfect, is he not? I love him. This was the reason I shipped Scorose. This is the reason.

"What do you think I'm hiding from?" he paused for a moment, "Our family." -- HUGO ♥ Dude, he is so awesome. I find him a really relatable character, and I love him. He's so sweet, and so smart and absolutely brilliant. LOVE LOVE LOVE.

I'll be coming back soon! I've been meaning to reread this and reviewing every chapter, not just the stupid one I left on the last!

Author's Response: This is one of my favorite chapters from this story, probably because of the time jump, and it shows one of the few times of their home lives.
I have an odd love hate relationship with Rose in this story, she is very aggravating to write when it is chapters where she is not with Scorpius. As for Scorpius he has his moments that make me swoon.
I feel like Hugo is a bit of the outsider looking in. To be honest I didn't relate to him that much in this story, I definitely feel like I relate to him more in the sequel where his part is more complicated.
I hope you come back and I look forward to your reviews. Thank you so much, and I hope you enjoy the story just as much the second time you read it.


 Report Review

Review #4, by kayleefrank Forgiving and Understanding

21st December 2013:
K, one thing that is bothering me. You put begging but I think you mean beginning. Wonderful story!

Author's Response: Yeah I have finally home in and edit all of this story,once the queue opens again I'm going in and replacing all of the chapters with the edits. Thank you so much for pointing it out though. I will make sure to recheck that chapter to make sure it got changed.

 Report Review

Review #5, by thisoneguy In the Bird Cage

7th September 2013:
Grammer and spelling could use work. Story gets boring.

Author's Response: Grammar and spelling are getting fixed little by little, I am editing the chapters when I get a chance. As for the story getting boring, I know it's a little slow to begin with but in order for two people to go from hating each other that much to falling in love, it takes time. I hate reading stories where they hate each other and then are in love in the very next chapter so. I will say that if you keep reading you are very close to the first signs of them sort of liking each other and that after chapter 12 things really do speed up.
Thank you for the constructive criticism, I do hope that you continue to read.


 Report Review

Review #6, by blerp Epilogue

4th August 2013:
Love love love love love. Some of the best fanfiction I've ever read.

Author's Response: So glad that you enjoyed it. Thank you so much for reading it.

 Report Review

Review #7, by SS Situations and Punishment

29th July 2013:
I love your story so far! Great Sunday night reading :)

Author's Response: Glad that you think so I hope that you enjoy it. Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Alice Epilogue

22nd June 2013:
Hey,
I don't normally review but I just want to say this was such a good read. I'm glad and upset there is a sequel, glad because I want to read more and upset because it means I have to wait to find out what's going to happen!
Thank you for putting the time and effort into writing this, it must have taken you ages. I can't wait to read more.
Alice xx

Author's Response: Well Thank you so much for the review. I'm glad that you liked it even though you do have to wait to find out what happens. It took me almost three years exactly to finish this story. It wont take as long for the sequel because I have myself on a schedule where as with Fighting I occasionally wouldn't update for a few months.
Anyways hope you enjoy the sequel and thank you for the review.


 Report Review

Review #9, by ohcai Epilogue

18th June 2013:
I have to say, I was disappointed by the ending, even with a sequel. Nonetheless, this was a charming read. You are good at creating and staying true to your characters, and all of their interactions felt very real. Nice work.

Author's Response: Well I do hope that you will check out the sequel. As I said in the A/N, as I got into the story I realized that Rose was a very lost and confused and that she needed to go be on her own a little bit so that she could see what she wanted.
I am glad that you thought it was charming and that I stayed true to my characters and that it felt real. Even though it may not have had the ending you wanted I am glad that you enjoyed the story overall. Thank you for the review.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Eve Skipping Class and Some Awkwardness

17th June 2013:
💚❤💙💚❤❤❤💙💙💙💚💚💚💚💜💜💚💜💜

Author's Response: Okay I have no clue how to do hearts like that but thank you glad that you are enjoying the story.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Diezal325 Complications and The Truth

15th June 2013:
soz.ive lost track. gr8 book im reading it on my kindle...its really hard 2 type! how old r...
rose
albus
hugo??

Author's Response: Alright chapters 1-11 they are fifteen turning sixteen. Scorpius turned sixteen in April and Rose's birthday is in July so she is fifteen, and Albus was born right before her so he is fifteen. Now after chapter 11. I jump ahead a year and 4 months, and they are seventh years 18 turning 19 so at the point your at they are all 18. I remember in the books that students could go to Hogwarts at eleven years old and I remember that Ron was on the older end of that age group so that's where I put them. i hope that helps thanks for reading and reviewing I hope you enjoy the rest.


 Report Review

Review #12, by MissesWeasley123 Epilogue

14th June 2013:
Yay! Toronto! I'm Canadian, so Im hoping for some action in Toronto, which is like, 2 hours away from where i live :D cannot wait for the sequel

Author's Response: Im sorry to say that she doesn't stay in Toronto that long. I wanted to get her on the North American continent so that her final move to New York doesn't seem so far off. Your still not that far from her destination, much closer than me im from Georgia. Thank you so much for reading and for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Cathy20 Epilogue

11th June 2013:
Okay, I absolutely LOVE this story! I can't wait to start reading the sequel! The one thing that I didn't like about this was the fact that there were frequent misspellings of words as other words. For example: "He put his hand on he check" instead of "He put his hand on her cheek". the "he"/"her" and "check"/"cheek" ones were the ones I noticed the most...I disregarded the errors while I was reading because the story line was still PHENOMENAL! I absolutely adore your plot and character development! Keep it up! :)

Author's Response: Yes I am well aware of that, and I'm not going to lie when I first started the story no editing was done. which would have caught that and of course spell check never caught on to it because they were actual words. I have since actually started editing my own writing and i'm not going to lie sometimes a few things get past me but not near as often as they used to. the reason check and cheek get the most problems is because (and this is what I think i'm not a 100% sure,) that e and c are somewhat similar and when I'm reading on a computer it is extremely hard for me to slow down as I would on paper and I think I skim over it seeing the c as an e.
Anywyas not the point there really is no excuses that just what I think might be happening. I am in the process of slowly editing because there really are some misspellings which are ridiculous and make no sense what so ever, which would have been caught if I edited. Once again not the point the sequel I spend time actually editing and it has gotten better.
Besides that thank you so much for the review and I am so happy that you enjoyed the story itself. Enjoy the sequel.


 Report Review

Review #14, by mynameisjessicaah Are We Friends?

7th June 2013:
I'm really enjoying the story so far. I think you're a great writer and have a great imagination. Rose and Scorpius are one of my favourite pairings. Although, the spelling is rather off putting. Do you have a spell checker on your word document? Otherwise, it's great and I'm glad I started reading your fanfic!

Author's Response: Yeah I have a word document the only problem is that I didn't misspell words I just used different words. I have gone back and edited that chapter and I am editing them all little by little but it is a process. Anyways than you so much for the review and I am glad that you are enjoying it.

 Report Review

Review #15, by nitra_black Epilogue

30th May 2013:
i first started reading this story 2 years ago!..and i never removed it from my favourites and now i know why..Its an incredible story and i stuck by what i said 2 years ago; still one of the best ive ever read on here (and ive read ALOT! LOL) You should be sooo proud of what you've accomplished it's not easy to write a story that spans 4 years and has the main characters go from enemies to lovers to a couple to exes to lovers to friends to acquaintances and now back to lovers again.. I'm so privileged to have read it and so happy that you made it in the first place. CONGRATULATIONS!!

Now onto the sequel! :)

~Kim

Author's Response: Thank you so much I am beyond extremely proud of this story. It is the first story that I have ever finished all the way through and in doing that I know it is possible and I can do it again. It took me three years to get it done but I did it and put my heart and soul into it, along with some blood sweat and tears. Anyways I am so beyond happy that you have finished reading it and that you were enjoyed it. It means so much to me to hear that you liked it thank you for sticking with me for two years. Thank you for the review I hope that you enjoy the sequel.

 Report Review

Review #16, by ironmanboo When She Was Born

20th May 2013:
this is such a sweet chapter!! cant wait to read the rest!

Author's Response: Well I am so happy that you thought it was sweet I love Ron/Hermione so much so... Hope you enjoy the rest of the story thank you for reading.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Vesi Epilogue

14th May 2013:
I really enjoyed this story! I started reading Confronting Temptation, only to realize it was a sequel. A well written and engrossing stories, well done :))

Author's Response: Thank you so much I am so glad that you enjoyed it. I hope that Confronting Temptation wasn't hard to understand without reading Fighting Temptation. I hope that you enjoy Confronting. Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Vesi I'm Here For You

13th May 2013:
This is such a cute story! I really enjoy it :)))

Author's Response: I am so happy to hear that, I hope that you enjoy the rest as well. Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Voldermorthugs In the Bird Cage

9th May 2013:
There are a few grammatical mistakes, and some parts that could be smoothed out a bit, but so far I am really enjoying this fanfic. I like how you aren't magically making them like each other like so many people do with similar plot lines. They are having to get to know each other gradually.
Thanks!
Voldermorthugs

Author's Response: Yeah one of my goals this summer is to fix all those mistakes although I do think that the grammar gets better throughout the story. It used to drive me nuts when I read a fic and they hate each other in one chapter and are in love in the next that was part of the reason why I wrote this story. Anyways I am so happy that you are enjoying it and I hope you like the rest. Thank you so much for the review.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Anon Flying Off the Handle

28th April 2013:
AMAZING. I am hooked.

Author's Response: So good to know I hope that you enjoy the rest and that you will like the sequel. Thank you for reading and for the review.

 Report Review

Review #21, by WishfulMuggle 15 Years Later

22nd April 2013:
I was completely caught by surprise by the whole fight thing...Why are they even fighting? But props to Rose for being able to hold her own...even though she kind of initiated the whole thing it would seem...I'm excited to continue reading.

Author's Response: It's been a few years since I wrote that scene but im pretty sure I had them fighting because I wanted something extreme, more than just name calling. Also I wanted to show that Rose was just as bad as Scorpius. Im glad that your excited to keep reading I hope you enjoy the rest. Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #22, by potterbookworm Flying Off the Handle

11th April 2013:
All of these really cute moments in between Rose and Scorpius make me smile really big because of how adorable they are together. It could be because I found this story hours ago and it's now 3AM and I'm really tired and can't stop reading... But it's probably because they are adorable the way you write them :)

Author's Response: First of all let me say trying to respond to a review on your cell phone is so annoying. I tried three flipping times and I kept hitting the wrong button which would erase my respone, finally I just went to my computer.
Now that thats over, I am so happy that you are enjoying all the cute/adorable moments between Rose and Scorpius even if you are tired because it is 3 A.M.
Thank you so much for reading and Reviewing and I really hope that you enjoy the rest of the story just as much.


 Report Review

Review #23, by Nadia Epilogue

5th April 2013:
All I can say is, thank you. Thank you for writing this and sharing it, I am so so happy that I got to experience it.
You really are an incredible writer, you somehow make the story so real and heart-wrenchingly emotional. The characters were mature and well-developed, your timing was perfect. I'm speechless.

I loved it, please keep writing.

Author's Response: You made me smile so much in this review it was so.sweet and kind. Thank you so much for leaving it and you have no idea how much it means to me to know how much you liked this story and that you felt the characters. If you choose to read the sequel I do hope that it stands up to the impression that this story made. Once again thank you so much for the review.

 Report Review

Review #24, by queenwombat Breathe

5th April 2013:
i am illegitimately crying right now. I don't know what to say. I'm so pissed at Rose she needs Scorpius and Scorp needs her AAHHHhhh why can't they see it!!!???

Author's Response: First of all I want to say welcome to the being pissed off at Rose Weasley fan club, I don't think one person liked her after this chapter, which wasn't my intention, yet I could still see how. All I can really say on her behalf is that she is young and confused and she has so many issues and things going on that she is really pushed into doing what she hunks is best, even if it's not. I'm sorry I made you cry. Thank you so much for your review and for reading.

 Report Review

Review #25, by queenwombat What is Love?

4th April 2013:
aah i am eternally in love with this relationship!! it's too perfect. It's so much better the Draco/Hermione because they are just way to different but these to i swear the wizard gods made it happen

Author's Response: Yeah I read Draco/Hermione years ago and for a while and yet I could never get past how Draco would never date Hermione because she was a muggle born, and also I think that he wouldn't have liked her even if she was a pure blood, because she would be too much like ron's family and not care about her blood status and also because she was such a know it all. Lastly because I'm such a big Ron and Hermione fan so... Anyways with that being said I felt that Scorpius could maybe feel differently especially sense there wasn't that much about him in the book, I could sort of make his personality how I wanted it to be.
I will say that the Wizarding Gods have some sort of sense of humor.
Thanks for the review and for reading.
P.S. Really random note I love your name queenwombat. Totally Awesome.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>