Reading Reviews for Fighting Is Perfection
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Siriusgirl Fighting is What we Do

4th September 2012:
Hi, I finally got started on reviewing.
First off, thanks for your submission.
This was great! Ron/Hermione are my OTP so it was good to see them written according to canon, you're right bickering IS how they communicate and is part of their relationship, it's one of those things only they understand. Loved the nervousness and the awkwardness between Ron and Hermione, so very true to their characters. Great job! Results should be posted soon

 Report Review

Review #2, by Moonyxluna Fighting is What we Do

4th April 2012:
This is just exactly why I love Ron and Hermione- they fight, but you still always know they do it because they love eachother. This was just an adorable example of that.

I liked how you gave the reader a sight into both Ron and Hermione's thoughts on their nerves. But, if you ever go back and edit, I would think about labeling each of the changes of perspective-- especially being it's in first person, I got a little confused at points as to which one of them was talking. Just an idea, feel free to ignore :)

This was way too adorable, I really loved it! Ron and Hermione are such a fantastic ship and you've done a brilliant job showing exactly why-- beautiful job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I get so nervous when I write the Trio, or anyone that was prominent in the series because I just want to do them justice. My biggest fear is them being OOC, and it seems like you didn't think that, which is a relief for me!

Thanks!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #3, by Misty_Rey Fighting is What we Do

17th January 2011:
This was adorable! Not just adorable but adorably canon! The little back-and-forths between Ron/Harry and Hermione/Ginny were really funny and well-written, all their personalities really shone through in such a small space of text. I'm always a little more particular when it comes to the portrayl of the primary HP characters but I thought you did a great job. The fluffiness, humor and romance were all very well thought out and well-written. I'd have no trouble believing this could have been canon. Fantastic job, I really enjoyed this :).

Author's Response: Oh my gosh really? Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! I think you just made my day!

I got really nervous about writing the main HP characters for the same reason. I wanted to make sure I did them justice, and I am glad you think I did!
Thanks!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #4, by AndrinaBlack Fighting is What we Do

19th August 2010:
I liked this a lot! I chose to read this story when reading the summary and realising that I don't think I have ever actually read anything about how Ron and Hermione started out with their romance after the battle. Ususally everything is from a bit later when they are already an established couple. And I really your idea of writing about their first date. It also seems very probably that it could go like this. First dates are often anyway difficult because even if you have known each other for longer you're in a different kind of situation than usually, often more fancy than normally, and you are suddenly especially supposed to concentrate on each other instead of something else you are doing. With Ron and Hermione, who have usually concentrated on something else than pleasing each other and as you pointed out, who often fight, it can be difficult to make it work just like they want it to work. First dates are for trying too hard.

A little constructive criticism then. I think the dialogue would flow a bit more naturally if you used more "I'm" and "it's" instead of "I am" and "it is". Also, I don't think that Hermione would call Ron Ronald much. She'd do it more if she's irritated on him or wants to make a point or something like that, but not usually. I think she actually says "Ronald" more in the movies than in the books, so that might be where it comes from. Other than that, I think the writing is good and a pleasure to read. I liked the plot idea and how you wrote it, so good job on it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, for reading and reviewing! I am thrilled you found this to be a plausible situation, and that you seemed to have liked it! I know exactly what you mean about using more contractions in words. I have really been trying to keep my eye on that as I write, and I thought I had done so with this, but obviously not! Next time I edit I will most definitely change that. The Ronald thing, now that you mention it I agree completely, the movies have corrupted me! Ah! Haha anyways, thanks again!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #5, by momotwins Fighting is What we Do

18th August 2010:
I love this ship :) It's so funny how they're all awkward with each other, like they don't know how to be alone, so Hermione berates him for something unimportant. XD Hooray for petty bickering! I do love their fights. This was a sweet little story, I liked it.

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much! That was the main thing I had in my mind when I wrote this, it has to be as awkward as can be! Thanks for the review!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #6, by louise_loves_hp Fighting is What we Do

15th August 2010:
This is a really sweet and one of the things that I wish were in the book, but now we get to see this done in so many ways. I love the last 2 para they seem to sum up there whole relationship as we know it yet also shows us they are able to move bond the friends ship that you all love to hate.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and leaving a review. I am so glad you liked this and the idea around it!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #7, by hp481516 Fighting is What we Do

14th August 2010:
Great job! I thought you captured all of the characters really well. I am glad that I read this story. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and leaving such a nice review!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #8, by ronhermione4evr Fighting is What we Do

14th August 2010:
That's a lovely title! It just fits the whole story, and I like how it switched between Ron and Hermione, so we see how both of them are feeling about this date. And you're right- they're only normal when they're fighting. They're not capable of anything else! Good story, 10/10
-ronhermione4evr

Author's Response: Thanks so much! To be honest, coming up with titles is the most difficult part for me, almost always someone helps me out, so it means a lot that you think this one fits. Thanks for reading and reviewing!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #9, by Pookha Fighting is What we Do

26th June 2010:
Well, first of all, I want to say that I have a quite different view of Ron and Hermione. But, that's what I love about fanfic, I can find a piece written from another view and find things to enjoy about it.

What I love about this piece is the dialogue driven story. The dialogue really makes this story shine. Ginny's character was minor in the story, but the way she speaks makes her character come alive.

Ron's and Hermione's characterisations through the dialogue were very good, too. I can totally hear Ron speaking his lines and Hermione's responses to them.

Some people might tell you that there's a lack of description in this story, but I would urge you not to listen to them. It's rare to find a story that leaves the descriptions up to the reader so the reader can picture the scenes. What I mean is, if you add too much description to this story, the wonderful dialogue would take a back-seat.

Author's Response: I am really intrigued about how you view Ron and Hermione. I felt that the dialogue would be most important and in the forefront with Ron and Hermione. I'm not exactly sure why, I just felt it had to be that way.

I am very glad you liked the characterizations. I mostly write Next-Gen because I am deathly afraid of writing a character we all know and love and not being able to do them justice.

Thank you for your kind review!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #10, by maskedmuggle Fighting is What we Do

10th April 2010:
Awesome story! Love it!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I am glad you loved it!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #11, by Marybeth Fighting is What we Do

13th March 2010:
Very nice little story - except it was too short!

Author's Response: Haha I hope you mean that in a good way! But thanks so much! I was hoping for something short and sweet. Thanks for taking the time to read and review!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #12, by ladybella Fighting is What we Do

18th February 2010:
hey there! Ladybella here to (finally) review your story! :D

first of, I really enjoyed this! Im a huge fan of this ship and there fore im very picky and particular about all Ron/Hermione stories but I cant fault this at all! :)

I found your characterizations all very good and very canon, I particulary enjoyed Hermione feeling paranoid and nervous at the beggining and how Ron sat in silence for ages! Thats so how Ron would behave in that situation!

all in all a very nice read and thank you for taking part in my challenge! :D

with love,
ladybella

Author's Response: Thank you so so much! It means a lot to me that I was able to get your favorite pairing correct! Cannon is very important to me and I always strive to have my characters in character. OOC on purpose is one thing, but I don't like to write it.
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #13, by LindaSnape Fighting is What we Do

17th February 2010:
Well, I really enjoyed this! It's one of the nicer fics concerning Hermione (and it's not Dramione [thank goodness]). Anyhow, *ahem*, I shall address now the story itself.

I liked how you had the shifting points of view. It's nice to hear something other than an omniscient narrator or Harry's view of things. That's very nice.

I also liked that you included Ginny and Harry and their reactions to the date. It was very amusing and I do believe very Canon, as well.

If I had any complaints at all it would be that this tale was entirely far too short. But it was very interesting, none-the-less. I loved it! ^_^ Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! though I do enjoy Dramione, I feel there is far too little Ron/Hermione and too much Ron/Lavender and Dramione. I am also so happy you found everything within cannon! I always try so hard with that because I have trouble reading fics that are halfway between, either be cannon or completely OOC, don't try to sit on the fence. Haha
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #14, by tbhasker Fighting is What we Do

16th February 2010:
Haha this is really good! I loved it! I envisioned their first date to go exactly like this...with Ron not talking all that much and whatnot. :P I'm jealous that you can write so many fan fictions in a matter of a month or two! :) Anyways, I can't wait till you have more stories up!

Author's Response: Haha thanks so so much (Again) for reviewing! And you are always so nice. I'm telling you it's the challenges, they force me to write in a certain amount of time, and they give me a general basis for my fic. I just pick a challenge depending on what mood I am in and what I feel like writing.
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #15, by slaidback  Fighting is What we Do

12th February 2010:
Good. Keep writing. Thanks

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to read and review! It really means a lot!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #16, by MrsKatieGrint Fighting is What we Do

11th February 2010:
Hello there.:) KatieRoo getting to your review.
Yay! First story posted!:D
I have to say, this was exactly how I planned Ron and Hermione's first date! You did a wonderful job describing everything, and I absolutly love it! This is a great first story for the challenge.
Good luck! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am so glad I came across your challenge. It really helped me shape this story and figure out the details of the date. I guess it would only make sense as a first date scenario, but I didn't think of that until I saw your challenge!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #17, by hprbdfan Fighting is What we Do

7th February 2010:
good job. it was an interesting story.
-iliana

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and taking the time to review! It means a lot, especially since this is the first review for this Fic!
:) BaletGir


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login