Reading Reviews for 1944
  
28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by elena Chapter One: Seventeen Again

16th August 2012:
Please write the next chapter! i'm dying to know what's going to happen!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Harmonia Chapter One: Seventeen Again

5th December 2011:
Omg this is so freakin good! Why in the dear sweet name of Merlin's beard did you stop posting?!?!?! Gah! I swear if you don't update soon Imma... Well... Just post soon!! Pretty please?!

 Report Review

Review #3, by BrittJade Chapter One: Seventeen Again

9th October 2011:
Please write more I want to find out what happens :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Tonks101 Chapter One: Seventeen Again

14th August 2011:
Please update! Omg i NEED more!

 Report Review

Review #5, by PrincessPadfoot Prologue: I'll Be Missing You

17th August 2010:
DUMBLEDORE!!! Is all I have to say about that haha. No really he was great in this. Serious, but with that edge of sweetness that appeals to me. Ron and Harry too are both spot on characterization wise. Hermione talks too much I think. But maybe that's because she's the main character...*shrug* But her conversation with Ron and Harry was spot on trio.

I really like where this story is going. Hermione does have some experience with a time turner so it makes sense that Dumbledore would pick her for this mission, and like always, Dumbledore doesn't give EVERYTHING away. I wonder WHY 1944 though...hmm...

Love ya babe!!
PP

Author's Response: hahahaha but when does Hermione not talk too much :p Dumbledore is pretty awesome but personally I don't like him and it's so hard not to write him as I see him or to do horrible things to him. Thanks for the review hun!

 Report Review

Review #6, by nicolerools Chapter One: Seventeen Again

16th May 2010:
for a while i was like so happy cause i knew i would really enjoy reading this fic, then i scrolled downn to see when my happiness would end/how many chapters were left. well now im really sad. dude, update. otherwise the plot bunny will go off in my head, and ill keep imagining what will happen and it will find it's way onto my digital paper.

Author's Response: Glad you like it! I'm updating as quickly as possible but unfortunately there are other fics and real life to contend with. Check back though.
~K


 Report Review

Review #7, by eternalangel Chapter One: Seventeen Again

2nd May 2010:
First off I wanted to applaud you on how creative this story is. I liked the way that you used Sirius and how you added in some very interesting twists to the story (Sirius going with Hermione to the past with both their memories erased). I also liked your characterization of Sirius and how he is both loyal to Dumbledore, but also aware that Dumbledore can be manipulative. He has learned to question the Headmaster. I also found the idea of him going to meet his parents when they were at Hogwarts even though he won't remember that they are his parents to be intriguing.

Now I think the biggest problem I see is the very dangerous magic used in this chapter. Taking all of one's memories seems almost like brain surgery to me and would be extremely tricky to do. I was wondering how someone can take all of the memories of another person. I know you can take memories in small batches. Also, since experiences and memories shape a person's personality (for the most part), what type of personality are they being sent back with? I know Albus has a cover story for them, but will there be more to it than just the cover story? Will they have extensive memories of a past that never existed implanted in them or vague recollections? I assume that Dumbledore will be implanting them with false memories and maybe we will see some of those memories in later chapters.

I was also wondering about Fawkes. Is Fawkes time traveling with them and if so, how is he going to get them back? I wasn't sure if you were saying that Fawkes could time travel on his own or not.

I also found a few technical mistakes and they are:

1.) "The darker hair tone made her skin look paler, but no the sickly pallor of death."

I think you meant to write "...but not the..." instead of "but no the..."

2.) "Before either Hermione or Sirius had a chance to speak, Albus Dumbledore waved his wand and out them both in to an enchanted sleep."

I think you meant to use the word "put" instead of "out" in the part "...and put them both into...".

Other than those few mistakes and few questions I had, I think this is a really good chapter because if the reader wasn't hooked by the first chapter, they are by the second. You gave the reader more information, but that information only made the reader ask more questions which is always a good device to use. Keep up the good work!

eternalangel

Author's Response: Thanks again eternal! urgh, typos are the bane of my existence. Something else I shall have to edit. The memory thing is pretty dangerous, but its all to do with Fawkes really. I can't give too much away obviously but basically because Phoenix magic is never really fully explored and they can re-birth etc. why not have them being able to switch places with their past self and effectively travel through time. This is how the memories will get to them. Also, the extent that the 'twins' know is revealed at the beginning on CH3 but they're memories are pretty vague and rather selective. Things like magical knowledge etc has been left in but family and that sort of thing has been changed.
Thanks so much for the awesome reviews!
Kero


 Report Review

Review #8, by eternalangel Prologue: I'll Be Missing You

2nd May 2010:
Hello, it's eternalangelkiss from the forums here for your review.

First off I wanted to say that I found your opening chapter to this story to be compelling and intriguing. You had the right balance of information given to information kept back that kept the reader interested. I wanted to know what it was that Albus knew and wasn't telling Hermione and why it had to be her that went back to that specific time in history. This is always a good way to start a story because it hooks the reader from the get go. I also found that your characterization of Hermione and Dumbledore to be fantastic. You nailed core characteristics of both characters.

Now there isn't much for me to say negative about this chapter. I did find Hermione's harsh comment to Ron about her never loving him to be a little out of character for her since it was so harsh and said to someone she has known for so long. This isn't a major problem though.

I also found some technical errors and they are:

1.) "Can you please tell me what the specifics of the mission are, I would like to know before I accept."

These are two independent clauses. They shouldn't be separated by a comma. There should be a question mark after "are" instead of a comma.

2.) " 'Goodbye? Hermione where are you going? You can't leave, what about school?' "

"You can't leave" and "what about school?" are two independent clauses. Most times they're not separated by a comma. Sometimes shorter independent clauses can be separated by a comma, but it's not common.

3.) "When Hermione though that she could take no more..."

Though should be "thought".

Other than these really minor things, I found this chapter to be an excellent set up for your story. Keep up the good work.

eternalangel

Author's Response: Thanks so much eternal! Thanks so much for taking the time to do this an do it so well XD I'll have to edit those when I post up the next chapter. I can't believe I missed them. A lot of people have commented on Hermione at the end actually so I'm going to edit that as well, make it more true to her character.
Thanks so much again!
Kero


 Report Review

Review #9, by KitKat Chapter One: Seventeen Again

20th April 2010:
Loving it so far!! please hurry with the next chapter.

Author's Response: I'm just getting over a small issue with it but it will be submitted to the queue either today or tomorrow XD

 Report Review

Review #10, by KitKat Prologue: I'll Be Missing You

20th April 2010:
ILikeIt. TheWayRonActedWasPerfect!!CantWaitToReadTheRest.

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad I manage to get his character right :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by ThatRomantic Chapter One: Seventeen Again

20th April 2010:
I like this.

it makes a refreshing change from the other Tom/Hermione stories I've read.

Update soon!

Romantic
xx

Author's Response: Wow Thanks! I tried not to be too cliche and glad it came across like that XD

 Report Review

Review #12, by Liisarr Chapter One: Seventeen Again

14th April 2010:
The first thing you might want to think about it Sirius' attitude towards Dumbledore. To be honest, he would probably refer to his as Professor and I definitely don't think he would be so blunt, at least not at the beginning of their meeting. As it progressed I can imagine him getting wound up and acting in that way, but I don't think he would do it at first. After all, he was eager to do his part for the order, but he couldn't due to the fact he was still a wanted wizard criminal.

Is the title meant to be similar to the movie title? xD It reminded me of that, anyway!

Other than that I noticed a few grammar and spelling errors, but they would be easy enough to fix if you just read it through carefully once more.

Let me know if you write any more chapters, I'd love to read the rest!
I hope this helped. =)

Author's Response: Thanks again for the review!!! Actually the title was more literal and I wasnt thinking of the film at all because I hate Zeffron with a passion lol. I'll be sure to sort those errors out and perhaps revise Sirius' characterisation too. Thanks again!!!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Liisarr Prologue: I'll Be Missing You

14th April 2010:
I love the plot you've already begun to unfold in the Prologue! It should be an interesting read!

You've already set up the characters well; Hermione seems in character in the first half especially, but I can see her handling the situation with Ron slightly better and perhaps with more tact? After all, you did say how much she had matured so maybe you should reflect that in the way she deals with Ron.

Something that did niggle me, though, was that even though the majority of students were in lessons were there no other sixth or seventh years around to over-hear their conversation?

I can't see Harry being so blunt about revealing Ron's secret, either. Maybe if he said it exasperatedly then it would seem like he had been trying to tell her over a larger period of time so he just spat it out in the end.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I think Im going to go back and edit that section because Im really not that happy with it either. As for over hearing, thats definitely something to consider in the edit. Thanks so much for reviewing again!!!

 Report Review

Review #14, by maskedmuggle Chapter One: Seventeen Again

13th April 2010:
WOW
Again, a brilliant chapter!
I LOVED THIS!
I am really looking forward to the next chapter!
Your plot is absolutely awesome! Wow, including Sirius? Haha, and I love the whole idea of your story. It's just great, and you've written it so that it flows so well!
Characters - portrayed exactly how they should be.
Spelling/grammar - fantastic. Again, the only mistake I could find was in the author's note haha.
"Than you everyone for such positive feedback :) This will be a relatively short chapter that will undoubtably leave more questions than it answers but I hope you all enjoy it :)"
Probably more of a typo than spelling - but thanK, and "than it answers" doesn't need the IT.
Also, this part doesn't make sense: "Before either Hermione or Sirius had a chance to speak, Albus Dumbledore waved his wand and OUT them both in to an enchanted sleep. He had work to do." Did you mean PUT?
Anyway, fantastic. Pure talent.
*favourited*
:)

Author's Response: Darn my typing skills! yes it was supposed to be PUT but I seemed to have missed that typo *sigh* Thank you so much for the reviews they really put me in a great mood for the rest of the day XD

 Report Review

Review #15, by maskedmuggle Prologue: I'll Be Missing You

13th April 2010:
Hey (:
I'm from the forums, here to review!
I thought this was brilliant. You had me hooked from the beginning.
Plot - Original, and I'm looking forward to seeing where it's going.
Characters - You have managed to write well about the Golden Trio and Dumbledore, something that is hard for many people. You portrayed them with canon, which is fantastic! The end part between Ron and Hermione is so realistic, and very well written!
Spelling/Grammar - All excellent. I only found one mistake and that was in your author's note! Haha, but I thought I'd just let you know that Wendolin is spelt with an i, not a y (:
Anyway, fantastic job! I must say you make my job as a reviewer so easy when your story is fantastic!
:D

Author's Response: aww shucks you're making me blush. Thanks for pointing out that little spelling mistake I'll have to edit that when I post the next chapter. Thanks so much for the review XD

 Report Review

Review #16, by Capella Black Chapter One: Seventeen Again

10th April 2010:
Curiouser and curiouser. I'm liking this latest twist, even when I usually hate any story involving pregnancy. Really like Sirius going back too.

Again, the flow is spot on, and the characters are well within canon. You've picked up Sirius perfectly - that mix of hot-headedness and bravery, with bluntness to boot. I also liked the simple visual description when Hermione entered - it was vivid yet didn't pull away from the general story-telling. Nice!

Author's Response: hehehehe its not the twist you think and thats all im saying!
Ch3 is being written and entitled The Phoenix Gate. Hopefully ill put it in the queue today.
Thanks for the review!!!
Kero


 Report Review

Review #17, by Capella Black Prologue: I'll Be Missing You

10th April 2010:
OK, so I love the concept of this. It has a proper plot already, and a highly believable premise that makes me as a reader go "ooh, what next?" I don't know exactly what to expect, but I like the ideas it provokes, and the fact that you have been neither too mysterious nor too obvious. Nice one.

I am also really convinced by your characterisations of Hermione and Dumbledore - in this she's complex and interesting, rather than the usual OOC cool girl or the cliched geek. Meanwhile he seems clever and calculating yet compassionate. Best of all, you've got all this across without resorting to telling us directly. Really nice.

My one niggle with this chapter though, is the dialogue between Harry, Hermione, and Ron. I just don't see Harry as the type to butt in so bluntly, and Hermione is generally more tactful in these situations - something like "I just see you as a friend" would be more in-character than "I don't love you", particularly as he hasn't actually admitted feeling anything for her. I can see why this break might be necessary for the plot, but I just seems a little blunt for these particular characters.

That minor thing aside though, I'm really loving this - the description and narrative content is perfect in my eyes, and the main characters are largely spot on to my own understanding of them. The flow is perfect too - not too much introspection, no excessive jumps in narration. Really good story. Darn, now I'm hooked!

Author's Response: aww you're making me blush. I think im going to go back and edit that convo section at the end as you're not the first to point it out and it was bugging me too.
Thanks for the great review
Kero


 Report Review

Review #18, by dana Chapter One: Seventeen Again

1st April 2010:
NEEED MMMORE! Its such a good timeline! I VANT TO RED MORE

Author's Response: Ill be getting the next chapter up asap :)
Thanks for the comment


 Report Review

Review #19, by AVID Chapter One: Seventeen Again

29th March 2010:
i have been looking EVERYWHERE for Hermione/Tom stories! YAY! MORE MOREMORE! this is just 'bloody' fantastic!

Author's Response: Wow thanks so much!!! I noticed a real lack of them and decided that I actually really liked them after I read one. Woo unconventional ships :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by DracoFerret11 Chapter One: Seventeen Again

29th March 2010:
Oh my goshhh! :o Yes, I gush. It's awesome. :D And you've gotten me hooked, so this one I'll continue reading on my own time. You need not return to the thread for this story. So, review time: this is crazy-madness! Sirius... seventeen. Hermione's DAUGHTER... with TOM RIDDLE AKA VOLDEMORT... the other chosen one. Harry just being needed as a pawn... It's all so insane, and yet... your plot is amazing! It's intriguing and catchy and you're sure to grab readers. Way to go! Great characterization. Great everything. It's flowing quite nicely so far. We'll see what happens next...

Thanks for coming to the thread, I'll read chapter three soon!

--DracoFerret11/DarkRose

Author's Response: Wow I just dont know what to say. Since everyone once the child to be Tom Riddle's I may have to do some tweaking. I hope to get Chapter 3 up by Easter so you wont have to wait too long. Any guess what House Hermione will be in???

 Report Review

Review #21, by DracoFerret11 Prologue: I'll Be Missing You

29th March 2010:
Hey there, it's DarkRose from the forums!

AWESOME opening chapter! I really loved it, I'm serious (Sirius-ly, haha). Okay, so I've never read a time-travel fic before and this is shaping up to be a great first one to read. I absolutely loved your characterization. Everyone seemed very, very canon. I'll miss Harry in the story, but Ron? Not so much. And we'll get to see Tom Riddle pre-Voldemort. Which should be cool as well. Your plot seems like it's gonna be great and the descriptions of emotions and situations are wonderful. Honestly? I have no criticism. It's wonderful so far.

~~onto two~~

--DracoFerret11/DarkRose

Author's Response: Thanks so much...youre making blush with your praise. I hope not to totally turn you off from the time-travel fics and as for Harry you will get to see plenty of him as it will be split between the two times as the future changes but unfortunately that does mean a bit of Ron too. Thanks again!!!

 Report Review

Review #22, by xChickWithBrainsx Prologue: I'll Be Missing You

20th March 2010:
I liked it (obviously!!!) although I'm thinking that the end was maybe a little too sudden and unexpected - I personally think that Hermione is a little more empathetic (is that how you spell it?) and not that mean... if she didn't like him, I don't think she would just say it like that - and as for ron, I know that rejection is bad, but I'm not sure if he's that sort of person... Obviously this is your interpretation, but you may want to develop them as your own characters a bit more first!

Also, it might have helped if you had lenghthened the argument scene, so that you could really portray how the characters are feeling, you know? Just a suggestion though!!!

I liked your dumbledore as well - it seems like the kinda thing he's do (not tell the whole truth, etcetera)

love the story so far, and I blame you for dragging me away from my challenge story, that's annoying me!!!

~beggee

Author's Response: hehehehehehe. Thanks for the review. As for the short argument, there is a specific reason that Ron reacted that way but thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review :)

~ The Beggar


 Report Review

Review #23, by MitziiiSujheyyy Chapter One: Seventeen Again

19th March 2010:
Woah! So Your Going To Make Hermione Come Back In Regular Time But Pregant?! With Tom's Baby? Am I Close? Haha.
Because You Wrote:

So, Hermione is the other Chosen One?”

Dumbledore shook his head, “No, but her daughter is.”

“You what!? You’ve gone mental, Albus. Hermione doesn’t have a daughter!”

“But she will when you both return.”


If It Is, This Is Totally, Different From All The Tom/Hermione Stories!!!
Update SOON!(:

Author's Response: Aw I feel kinda bad now because the father isnt who you think it is. Sorry! Thanks for the review and anyone who know me also knows that I have to be different :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by FlowerChild67 Prologue: I'll Be Missing You

14th March 2010:
Awesome! :) Ronniekins is a douche! >:(

Author's Response: Hehehehehe. Thanks! To be honest I really don't like the Ron/Hermione but you will soon see why Ron acted so badly.

Let's just say that all is not what it seems...


 Report Review

Review #25, by Peaches_Davies Prologue: I'll Be Missing You

12th March 2010:
Love love love LOVE Riddle/Hermione.

This is really great, its so unique(at least to me) and I can't wait to see more!

If you want constructive criticism, i would suggest maybe finding a beta. There are little comma issues that irk me when I read, and a second opinion usually helps with that.
Other than that, i really hope to see more!

Author's Response: Thanks! I agree I do tend to get rather comma happy lol. I'll try update asap :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>