Reading Reviews for Chasing Waterfalls
  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AlexFan Chasing Waterfalls

1st April 2012:
If it was possible to melt into a puddle of too that's what I would be right now.

Author's Response: :) you just made me smile.
thanks for the review!
~EBP


 Report Review

Review #2, by LooneyChick Chasing Waterfalls

8th February 2012:
So good! I really, really loved this!

Author's Response: aw, thank you :) I appreciate the positive feedback!
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #3, by Cass. Chasing Waterfalls

18th January 2012:
WOW.
I'm sort of speechless.
Wow.
Thank you for the incredible story! It really was fantastic, I can't even find the right words.
GREAT JOB doesn't seem to cut it, but oh well, I think you get the picture.

Author's Response: I'm flattered! and so happy that you liked the story! it makes me really happy to get such postive feedback :)
thank you so much for reviewing!
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #4, by Roots in Water Chasing Waterfalls

5th July 2011:
Hey there, it's Roots in Water here for your requested review.

First of all, let me say that this was a very good story. It had a good beginning, though it was perhaps overly descriptive. You write well, but I feel that sometimes you are overly descriptive, overly careful to set the scene. Each time you introduced a character you'd tell us a bit about them between a set of commas and I felt as though it disrupted the flow of the story. I'd try including a character's description in a seperate sentence a few times, just to give it variety.

However, I loved the line "But for whatever reason, losing you was a blow to something I never knew existed." and thought that the letter was a good way to reveal the conflict of the story. It really conveyed the strong emotions James has for Lily.

In the sentence "For some of the home-bound students aboard the beloved vehicle, regret and remorse teemed in their minds, but happiness and hopeful dreams for the coming summer overruled most other sentiment.", is that the correct use of "teemed"? Perhaps "filled" could replace it... As well, add an "s" to the end of "sentiment"- the words previous imply that it's plural. As well, in "Three other's listened to Charlotte Flynn, a flamboyant young woman with golden hair, as she spoke. Upon stating her discontent" - get rid of the apostrophe in "other's"- it's simply "others", plural, not possessive.

As well (I seem to like this phrase), I feel that the vocabulary was in some places overly complex and that you used an advanced word where a simpler word would do (i.e. "utterance" instead of "word"). I feel that sometimes the simplest, shortest words convey the emotions best.

Other than that, it was a great story. I don't think it's at all unreasonable for James' parents to have been murdered- I think that they were blood traitors and so would have been targeted just as the Weasleys had been targeted during the second war. This is a unique take on the James/Lily relationship, one that I really enjoyed. I also liked the fact that their relationship was already estabished- there are already so many fics out there detailing the start of their relationship.

Finally, I thinked the ending really works, especially the last line "No, marry me." I think that's a really Lily thing to say and that it shows just how much their love is reflected.

It was a pleasure to read.

Author's Response: Roots in Water,

First of all, thank you so much for reviewing so quickly! I really appreciate the feedback.

I am only too well aware of my over-descriptive writing style, and it's something I would love to improve on in the future. Your opinion now confirms several that I've heard that sometimes that habit becomes an overbearing part of this story, so when I revise I will certainly keep that in mind.

I'm so glad to hear your opinion on that letter, as well, as I've gotten mixed messages. I'm simply delighted to hear you liked it! Thanks so much.

I do believe 'filled' might work better there, thank you, as well as my issue there with 'sentiment' instead of 'sentiments'. I do appreciate you catching those silly grammar mistakes!

And it is quite funny you should mention my other awful habit of making my vocabulary forced and over-complex. Another issue, you see, that I do indeed need to address as well as fix in this story. And you're absolutely right- in the end, simplicity is much better.

I also thank you (sorry if I'm repetitive in my thanks here!) for mentioning the James' parents issue. I am happy to hear you find it not entirely implausible, because I've heard otherwise.

And for one final time I will thank you (actually, I'm not promising anything) for liking the ending! I think that's my greatest insecurity about this story and to hear that you like it makes my heart glow.

Once again, thank you for the review (told you I wasn't promising anything)! I truly enjoyed reading you feedback and will eagerly take it into account when revising this story in the future :)

~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #5, by girly1393 Chasing Waterfalls

6th March 2011:
What an interesting way to accept a proposal.

It was very well-done.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: thank you for the review! it is much appreciated :)
I'm glad you liked the proposal- I'd like to to think it's one way it COULD have happened, you know? gosh, your praise is so flattering!
thanks again! I hope you'll read more in the future :D
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #6, by schoenemaedchen Chasing Waterfalls

13th July 2010:
Hey there,

Schoenemaedchen here from the forums.

I do enjoy Lily and James and it was a good read here.

You mentioned in your review request that I should look at your dialogue and tell you if its too speechy or not, or realistic. I guess it depends on what part of the story we're talking about. I must confess, I had trouble reading the first part of the story. I was distracted by the description at the beginning. Some people really thrive off the description and I must say, it is beautifully
written.

For me though, it was a bit much all at once at the beginning. I had to focus on what I was reading instead of being led into the story with little effort. That being said, this is merely an opinion from me. I also don't really think the description at the beginning matches anywhere else in the story, like at the end. If there was some kind of parallel action going on there, it would perhaps be a more complementing feature.

However, I really like all of your dialogue on the train and post train. I think it flows lovely and it's very easy to read. I didn't find it speechy or any of the like. I didn't find it hard to believe either. In fact, it was my favorite part of the story! Good dialogue is often something hard to come by, so good job :)

Also a compliment to the grammar, punctuation and co...I saw nothing there that is of concern, which is also great!

There were two other small things that have to do with characterization and canon that I wanted to mention.

The letter that James wrote to Lily... I think its a bit out of James' character to write a letter like that.

i.e.
"I've never been one to cry, Lily. But every night that is a night knowing our love is over is a night I lay my head in my hands and sob. For you. For us.".I don't really think James is a sobber, or would even admit that he had sobbed. This is again, just my opinion. I do think James has every capability to be emotional, but don't make him over emotional. This sounded very much to me like a letter that a woman wishes to hear, not a letter that a woman actually receives.

Also, another small canon thing. You said James' parents were murdered in the story by dark wizards. JKR said in a Leaky Cauldron interview that both of James Parents died natural deaths, that there was nothing "sinister" about them. This does interfere slightly with James' reasoning for wanting to break up with Lily, and if Canon is important to you, I might find another way to write around it.

This all being said, I don't want to leave you with the impression that all I have to say is negative or things that need improvement. You have actually written a very beautiful story here. Even the letter, though I think its OOC, or the beginning, though I found it distracting is just beautifully, beautifully written!!! This is a talent that not everyone has. And I don't have to talk about how to properly punctuate dialogue...joy!

So great job overall, truly! I would gladly read more One-shots from you in the future!

Author's Response: geez- I haven't taken a couple monthes to respond to this amzing review, or anything...
I'm am very sorry for the 'wait' here (if there even was one)! I feel terrible for not having replied sooner. but I appreciate (from the bottom of my heart, to tell the truth) this review VERY much. maybe even more than you can know ;)

your advice is so articulate. I have re-read this many times and tried to understand better myself your great thoughts and suggestions. I especially appreciate you pointing out the issue there with James' parents deaths. to be honest, I have NO idea why I was under the impression that they had died in that manner, but I was. after reading up on it and researching your suggestion, I am so grateful you helped me out with that! I will be sure to think that over when revisiting this story, whenever that may be.

also, your thoughts on James' emotions have defintely opened my eyes to the impossibility of certain aspects of it- at least how I wrote it. when revising/re-editing this story at some point, I will be sure to reference your comments and think about it myself, beacause your words have certainly got me thinking about that. I can clearly pick out the sense in them- and like I keep saying, I'm grateful you brought that for my attention.

I'd also like to reiterate my deep thanks for your fantastically insightful review- although it was so long ago and I've neglected it up until now (!), it truly has helped my own perception of this story grow, expand and (hopefully) develop. thank you so very much!

~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #7, by Capella Black Chasing Waterfalls

1st June 2010:
Hiya - sorry it's taken me so long to get round to this. I'm certainly glad now I have, as this was lovely - a real "missing chapter" in the loves of James and Lily. Also, not cliched at all in my books - most people just tell the "I hate him, I love him" bit, not the difficulties of the relationship once established.

I also am a sucker for the "leaving you for your own good" bit. Perhaps even more explanation of this would be helpful - surely as a muggleborn she's already a target too, so extra explanation of exactly why James is such a threat to her might help. Still, it was a nice conflict, and a satisfying resolution.

One tiny typo: defiantly in the fourth last paragraph should be definitely. Minor, I know, but I always like being able to correct these in my own works!

Overall though, a really nice and evocative story, which really fits with the era and the storyline JKR left us with. Nice one; please request again!

Author's Response: hey there :) sorry it's taken me so long to respond. blame life! and first off, thanks so much for the review. I love feedback (even if I have to request it lol)!

I'm glad you liked it! I do agree with your position concerning the explanation of James' reason for leaving. I think you're right that it could use more.

and gosh darn it! I always mess up my definitely-s! so thanks for pointing that out.

I'm so happy it was at least worth you time reading this story! thanks so much for the input :) I really appreciate it.
~EnnaBellalPotter


 Report Review

Review #8, by Jessabelle Chasing Waterfalls

12th May 2010:
OH MY GOD.

Jesi here with your requested review! :D

JESUS, THAT WAS SO GOOD! I actually cried through the entire thing! Granted, I'm a total sap, but it was still an excellent story! (:

I think I caught one or two easily fixed spelling errors, so you might want to read-through a couple times. Other than that, it was perfect! Your flow was flawless and your grammar was just peachy.

I especially love the fact that you really focussed on making these well-known characters your own. There was absolutely no cliches and I was practically glued to the edge of my seat 'till the end.

Thank you so, so, so much for requesting a review! I can't even tell you how much I loved this.

Jesi

Author's Response: Jesi~
first of all, I'm sorry it's taken me so long to reply! life happens sometimes :)
second off, thank you! I'm so glad you liked the story and your beautiful review just made my day. your praise is too much, though it certainly encourages me!
again, thank you so much.
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #9, by Liisarr Chasing Waterfalls

13th April 2010:
I liked this story, but I just feel like something was missing. I think the happy ending didn't quite satisfy me, even though we know that their ending isn't happily ever after. I think it just seems too perfect or too convenient.

The letter James wrote seems quite OOC to me, though it seems logical that he would have grown up after the death of his parents, but I still see him being the immature jokester at heart which doesn't fit with the letter.

I also feel like the letter should have been in italics and the flashback shouldn't have, but that might just be me!

As for your too cheesy or clichéd question, I'm going to have to say yes in some respects. It feels like the answer is too easy; Lily just has to apparate somewhere to find James.

Good luck with your re-write and I hope this helped!

Author's Response: yes- this surely will help :)
thank you very much for your honesty and advice! I will definately consider it while re-writing (if I ever get around to that haha).
but anyways, thank you for the review!
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #10, by harrylilyjames Chasing Waterfalls

25th February 2010:
Hey!!
Here with my review :)

One thing I just want to point out you said, “known Sirius Black for more than eight years” when Remus came into the compartment, but it would only be “more than seven” at the most.

I don't know, some of the 'lovey-dovey' wording that they use is just too fluffy for me, I can't see James talking/thinking like that, or Lily. They and their relationship just seem too perfect, if you get what I mean? Also, his letter doesn't sound like a letter James would write.

The ending was kind of predictable, as most stories where they 'break up' they will get back together. You could, instead of having them saying 'marry me', have Lily tell him off, or playfully call him something.

Overall it is a nice, light-hearthed read that I have to admit, even though I'm more of an Angst person, I did enjoy.

Author's Response: hey there! sorry for the delay in a reply.

thank you for the critism (if that's what you want to call it lol) becuase I needed someone to point those things out for me! I will be sure to check up on all of you're points - so thank you!

~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #11, by searching4neverland Chasing Waterfalls

25th February 2010:
Hey, Im here with your review and also very sorry that i made you wait so long for it.
This story was cute and fluffy like a puppy dog! :D But it also had a little touch of melanchony in it, like an aftertaste or something. It was nice.
The leeter James wrote was good too, him being sincere about what he felt. The only things i have to add from a critical pov, is that maybe you shouldnt use the word 'clishe' in it. It sounded a little forced and off somehow. I think it because its used so much out of stories that it doesnt sound like it could be in one anymore. (I hope I'm mankin any sense to you) Maybe a word like 'corny' or something of that effect would be better.

Your characterisation was good too, I espetially loved your Lily, and the way you made her stand you with her panic attacs. I loved that part, it was very insightful and made her stand out. The ending was sweet, and Lily ance again managed to make me laught when she pinched herself to prove that she was real.

I would also like to say that I dont really believe in clishes, the concept is overestimated. Generally everyone has thier own views about what a character or a story shold be like, and their own way to tell it. Your story was a moment in two characters lives, it was warm and ended well.

The one things you could overlook in this story is the dialogue when Lily and James break up. I thought it was a little formal, on James's side, it didnt really flow well. I dont know if you meant it to be akward, because you dont have that problem anywhere else in the story. (the part before that for example was very pleasant and funny) If you did do It on purpose, then never mind me.

Overall, I enjoyed your story. It was light reading and fun.
Thanks for requesting and sorry again for the delay.

Author's Response: hello! I'm sorry it's taken me so long to reply to your review - I really appreciate it. your feedback really encourages me :) and btw, don't even worry about the delay!

I do understand your opinoin on cliches, and I assure you I do know what you're talking about. in a way this story was supposed to be like that, it wasn't meant to be TOO angsty and torn-up if you know what I mean. but I will surely take you advice in account for the future! thanks for that.

and you're absolutely right - I DO tend to make dialogue a little formal. I will be sure to check that out ASAP. thanks!

once again, thank you for such a detailed and helpful review. I truly appreciate you taking the time!
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #12, by HarrietHopkirk Chasing Waterfalls

21st February 2010:
Hello! It's Harriet from the forums with your review!

Your description is very powerful, and sets the scene for the story beautifully. You use a variety of vocabulary and sentence structure to great effect. Just be careful of overusing commas. I tend to do it as well in my own work. Using short sentences can have great impact in a story, and can also build tension. Other than that, the first section is wonderfully written. I definitely liked the description of Lily and the comparison of her tears to the raindrops. Oddly poetic.

You asked me to comment on the letter. I think it's beautiful. Even though it is formal and the language is very lyrical, you can totally imagine James saying it. He may have been a bit of a big-headed boy at school, but he matured, and this letter seems to fit his character perfectly. It is heart wrenching.

The flashback is also amazing. I can totally imagine your characterisation of James doing that to protect Lily. It's so sad, and so beautifully written. To make it easier for the reader to read, I would sort out your formatting so when a new person speaks, there is a new line of dialogue. It's a very small thing, and the section is still good even if you do not change it, but it would make it easier to read. The dialogue is wonderful.

Oh my god! The ending! It's so awesome and good and wonderful! Gah! I love the description of their feelings and the moment when they kiss is so prominent. It's brilliant. It's definitely not cheesy. I love it!

Overall, a great story!

Author's Response: hello! I'm sorry it's taken me so long to reply to your review, but I really appreciate it. your feedback surely incourages me.

I'm glad you felt my description, letter & flashbacks are all areas that (according to you) I've suceeded in! those were all areas of my concern certainly, and it's so nice to be reassured.

and I'm ECSTATIC that you liked the ending~ I really debated that but I couldn't find any other way to end it :) so thanks for that.

again, thank you for such detailed feedback. your review was much appreciated.
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #13, by RocketBabyDoll9 Chasing Waterfalls

21st February 2010:
Hey there! Rocket here, with the review you requested. I apologize for taking as long as I did to get to this. I'm almost embarrassed for the wait, actually, but real life gets in the way sometimes. That being said, on with the review.

First off, thanks for reqesting a one-shot. I'm not typically big on reading Lily/James, but I really enjoyed reading this. In your request, you wanted to know if the flashbacks were confusing with the overall story. They weren't, because you clarified them by the little symbol you put before and after the letter, as well as the fact that you put the actual flash back in italics. I wasn't confused at all, so I don't recommend changing that.

I also appreciated the fact that you did not make Lily hate James ever in this story. In the summary, I was kind of expecting this to be a story where Lily loves James but won't admit it and he stops loving her or something, but I'm glad it wasn't. I'm also glad they ended up together in the end. I love happy endings. I also loved your Sirius. He was only featured briefly, but the characterization was spot on.

You write with a good amount of. . . not necessarily detail. . . but with really nice phrasing. Like this for example:
'The insignificant, industrious estate of Spinner's End was quiet, but the air held anticipation. Birds cawed from leaf-less trees outlined by the fading afternoon sky, leaves rustled across deserted streets.'

That was very nice. It wasn't too effected/affected (not sure which one is right here, lol) and it set up everything nicely.


I don't really have any criticism for you. I wasn't really looking for grammar/spelling since nothing glared at me.

Overall this was a very nice one-shot, I really enjoyed it. Feel free to request some other stories you have. (:

Rocket.

Author's Response: Rocket - first off, thank you for taking the time to review. I truly appreciate it. and don't even worry about the wait...I TOTALLY understand, trust me! :)

WHEW! I'm relieved that it wasn't confusing. in the back of my I knew it was probably okay, but your clarification was very good. thank you for that!

I do know where you're coming from with the Lily hating James thing! I agree that some stories can potray them that way and I'm glad I didn't do so! ooohh I am also glad that you liked Sirius! I tried to get him right!

and you have no idea how relieved I am as well to hear that I didn't overbear the story with detail! I tried so hard not too. thank you for saying so!

*blushes* I suppose it's good that you had no criticism, so thank you! I'm glad the grammar/spelling aspect wasn't horrible or anything...

thank you again! your review sure made me smile :)
~EnnaBellaPotter



 Report Review

Review #14, by Miss Lily Potter Chasing Waterfalls

19th February 2010:
Hey! I'm so sorry this review took so freakin' long to get up. I've been swamped with schoolwork and stuff.

I loved this one-shot. (: It was sweet, and adorable, and you captured both of their emotions really well. You showed the love between them, and it was so sweet. (: That said, it was a bit cliched, but it worked really well. James' reasoning is kind of overused, but there's really nothing else you could've used.

I loved your description. (: The whole 'sweet as honey' thing, and the waterfall bit. *sigh* Amazing.

James' note was a bit formal, which threw me off a bit. It didn't sound like a person would talk... or write. But that's just me.

Her panic attacks seemed really out of nowhere, because there's no actual evidence of that. Maybe mention it, sort of? It seemed a bit... unnecessary. But again, that's just me.

You asked about flow. I think this flowed really well. It didn't seem confusing to me at all. It seemed how a love like that would happen, and unfold.

I loved, LOVED the romance of this. (: I'm a huge sucker for romance, and this was so, so sweet. (:

Great job with this. ♥
-Jasmine

Author's Response: hi there! first off thank you so much for the review - and such a long and insightful one! I truly appreciate it :)

I'm glad that's the way it came off to you. I do understand you cliche comments, though. I tried hard to steer-clear of that, and I know the idea wasn't exactly as original as it could have been, but in the end I think that's the best I could do with it.

welll, here is the deal with James' note: I do realize that is indeed how it sounded, but I sort of did that on purpose. I wanted the letter to be a little un-James-like, if you will. I mean, you wouldn't think think anyone, let alone James Potter, would ever write anything so formal (like you said), but I guess that was part of my 'scheme' to make James appear so serious over his and Lily's breakup. but thank you for the input on that subject. I'll think over that!

as for Lily's panick attacks, you first should understand that this was written for a challenge. my 'challenge' was to write a character who had a certain 'quality' (mine happened to be 'had frequent panic attacks') without making it seem weird and while still keeping up a 'relationship' (in my case, Lily/James). so maybe that would expalin the 'randomness' !

thank you so much again. and FYI, I'm a sucker for romance, too!! who isn't?
~Emma


 Report Review

Review #15, by Rayn Chasing Waterfalls

19th February 2010:
Very well done!

~Rayn

Author's Response: thank you! I'm glad you liked it :)
~EBP


 Report Review

Review #16, by chocolatelover314 Chasing Waterfalls

17th February 2010:
B-E-U-A-T-I-F-U-L! A real tear-jerker. Seriously, is it your goal in life to make people cry from your stories? I love Lily/James, but sometimes I think Lily/Remus would've worked. Good thing I was reading this while watching the Vancouver Olympics and that my favorite person won because my family thought I was crying from happiness. But no, it was from a ONE-SHOT.

ANYWAY!.

Beautiful description. Really. I never knew I could read such an amazing one-shot, and it DOESN'T get noticed at all! It was wonderful. I love all your details in it and it was really well descripted without it being over-board. And Lily seemed like a real human being, not perfect or anything.


James. Stupid James. Oh well, at least he realized finally in the end.

1,000/10!

Over and out,
Liz

Author's Response: hi there! first off, thank you so much for the review. I truly appreciate it :)

did I truly make you cry? wow...that's an accomplishment in itself! thank you...er, I guess? haha I'm glad you had that excuse, though!

I'm glad you think my description was good. I aimed to make it less-overwhelming in this oneshot because I have a tendancy to over do it, so I hope it turned out ok. and yes, I do agree that James can be a nutcase sometimes. but in the end, he always comes around :)

once again, thank you for the review!
~Emma


 Report Review

Review #17, by MrsKatieGrint Chasing Waterfalls

14th February 2010:
This was... Amazing! I loved how realistic it was and I could not get enough of it. You still have me wanting more. Your details were perfect, the emotion? Charming. The overal flow of the story? Fantastic! You did an absolutly amazing job here! Good luck in the challenge and you can count on this story in my favorites! :D

Author's Response: thank you for the review! I really appreciate it.
I'm so glad you think the flow/emotion were okay - those are certainly two areas I was sort of concerned about going into this story.
and thanks for the luck! I'm crossing my fingers :p
thank you so much once again!
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #18, by ChoS_sista_gurl Chasing Waterfalls

11th February 2010:
Hey, sorry it took me a bit to get here. Like I said, I was away last weekend. Thank you for entering my Adopt-A-Ship Challenge!

The ship you chose and the random trait I gave you are an interesting combination. James is so confident and talented, and Lily so rational and efficient, that I'd never expect either of them to get panic attacks when stressed out or scared. I'm glad you chose Lily to have them, though, because she is so often portrayed without real faults or weaknesses, even though, as a human being, she must.

I like your style of writing. It has a real lyrical quality to it at some places. And the last few lines were so cute and punchy - it definitely embodied James and Lily as a couple and ended the rather heavy piece on a lighter note.

Thank you once again for entering, and I will announce the winners shortly!

Gabby

Author's Response: hi Gabby! don't even worry about it - I completely understand. I'm just grateful you came to review! and you're certainly welcome - I thought the challenge was a fantastic idea.

I'm so happy you liked the way I characterized Lily with the trait you gave me - I spent some time debating how I was going to do that without making it seem weird, so I hope I did okay on that front. you're right - Lily is often written as 'little-miss-perfect': and I mean she can be, but she has her faults too, like you said.

you have no idea how relieved I am to see that you at least semi-liked the ending! I was sort of debating whether or not to change it, but I might re-think that now.

thank YOU again for reviewing as well as doing this challenge! can't wait to hear from you :)

~Emma


 Report Review

Review #19, by happy_person Chasing Waterfalls

9th February 2010:
wow, let me just say that i LOVED ur story! it was filled with so much emotion and deep feeling that i felt the love between lily and james. the plot was brilliant and the way u described the feelings and flashbacks was incredible. ur writing is awesome and i cant wait to read more of ur lovely work.

Author's Response: hi there!

thank you so much for the review! I'm terrribly glad that you liked it :) I tried to make the plot/characterization as real as possible! it sounds like I succeeded in your book.

anyways - thanks again and I do hope you'll read my other stories if you ever get the chance!

-EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #20, by butterbeergal Chasing Waterfalls

9th February 2010:
Very lyrical and well-written. Congratulations!

I really like how you made Lily so... human and relatable in this because in some stories, she just seems too perfect and too proud. I simply love her here! I also adore Sirius in this - every time he appeared, he just seemed so "Sirius-esque", as you so cleverly put it. And the plot is something that could have actually happened, you know? I'm glad James came to his senses and didn't leave for New Zealand otherwise we wouldn't have had Harry Potter, eh? Tee hee. Technically, a miniscule issue of misplaced periods where commas should be but otherwise, it has no effect on the feel of your story.

My absolute favorite lines:

As the train rolled on down the tracks towards its destination, seventh years cried at a journey over, first years sighed at a journey just begun. But whatever the reason, the age, the emotion, a smile found homage on many faces out of pure contentment at having survived.

Sigh. How I wish I could write as well as you. Great job!

Cheers, G

Author's Response: hey there~

thank you so much for the review! your feedback truly encourages me :)

I tried to make Lily appear more human because you're absolutely right - sometimes she can appear too prideful. I had to throw Sirius and Remus in there! there are just too lovable to leave out! I am glad as well that James decided against moving to New Zealand!

oh, my! a comma issue? that needs to be fixed...I shall look over that when I get the chance! thanks for mentioning it.

haha I do like those lines as well! that's sort of just how I imagine the students being, you know?

well, I'm so glad you enjoyed it. and thank you again for the fantastic review - I really appreciate it!

~Emma


 Report Review

Review #21, by sleeping dragon Chasing Waterfalls

6th February 2010:
AGGHHH
so cute :)
i love it
thanks for writing

Author's Response: thank you so much! I'm thirlled that you enjoyed it.

and you're welcome!

~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #22, by LindaSnape Chasing Waterfalls

1st February 2010:
Oh, I love this. That was beautiful!

The characterization, the flow, the setting. All of it seemed perfect. I love how they both went wandering out of their homes looking for one another. Classic romance story right there. But I don't mean to say that this is cliche for it isn't, it's probably one of the most original Lily/James stories I've read.

I particularly enjoyed the last lines of this tale.

It's quite an amazing one shot and I'm sad that it ends here. I would have loved to see more.

Fabulous job!

Author's Response: hey there!

first of all, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! I truly appreciate your feedback.

I'm glad you liked it! I tried to make it as little cliche as possible, and I hope I suceeded!

you liked the last lines? really? I spent a lot of time debating over whether or not to end it that way. I'm really happy that it worked for you :)

gee, I wish I could write more, too! but a one-shot was all I had time for :p (to be honest)

anyways; thank you SO much once again for the review. it made me grin!

all the best,
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login