Reading Reviews for Keeping Up Appearances
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by hellouniverse100 Masked Intentions

1st July 2011:
great story so far; liked the suspense in this chapter

Author's Response: Why thank you so much!! Hopefully you'll enjoy the next chapter too which has finally been finished! :)

xoxo,
m_c


 Report Review

Review #2, by HOY Masked Intentions

24th June 2011:
Next chapter now, please.

Author's Response: *dramatic salute* Your wish is my command! I'm actually about halfway through it right now so probably in the next week and a half! I'm quite glad you're enjoying it :D

xo, meadowlarks_cries


 Report Review

Review #3, by MusicalStrains Act Naturally

21st June 2011:
VERY WELL WRITTEN! could use a bit less bloody. i mean bloody this, bloody that, bloody bloody bloody bloody.

Author's Response: :D! thank you and bloody hell you're right ;)! Note taken!

xo, meadowlarks_cries


 Report Review

Review #4, by McKenzie Malfoy XD Act Naturally

10th October 2010:
I like tyler better drew seems like a serious jerk

Author's Response: If only Lily liked him as much as everyone else seems too...Thanks for the review it means so much!

xo, meadowlarks cries


 Report Review

Review #5, by rvnclwgrl25 Act Naturally

8th October 2010:
Tyler pllleeeaassee! Drew seems like a jerk/player/wanker/tosser.in other words I don't like him :) Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Haha, man Drew can't get a break with you guys! Too bad he won't be getting one with me either ;). I wonder what that jerk/player/wanker/tosser will be up to next chapter! *hinthint* Thanks for the review!

xo, meadowlarks_cries


 Report Review

Review #6, by callmedaynuhh Act Naturally

14th September 2010:
tyler! i feel like drew is up to something. like he's gonna try and get with lizzie or one of her cousins or something.
hahaha.

Author's Response: LMAO i like your theory...a lot :) Thank you for the review, again!! :)

xo, Meadowlarks_cries


 Report Review

Review #7, by callmedaynuhh Cupcake Wars

27th August 2010:
awe, i like tylerrr.
wayy better than that drew dude!

Author's Response: Too bad Lily doesn't...or does she ;). Thanks for the review!

xo, meadowlarks_cries


 Report Review

Review #8, by callmedaynuhh Fire(whiskey)works

14th August 2010:
i love tyler; ef drew, he's the prick dating jazzy (the oss!) hahahaha
:P

Author's Response: Ty is pretty darn cute isn't he? ;) Drew has to have some redeeming qualities...doesn't he? I guess we shall have to wait and see, thank you for the review!
xo,
m_c


 Report Review

Review #9, by hermioneism Brillo Pads and Pumpkin Juice

18th July 2010:
I like this story so far, it is nice to read Lily's point of view - it is unique to find a story that does not have all the Potter kids being Quidditch-obsessed! :)

One thing: if the Potions professor is Blaise (from canon), then his last name is ZABINI, not ZAMBINI. No "M," so you may want to change that. :)

Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it so far! I figure I'm different from my siblings as far as interests, so why can't the Potters be too? Thank you so much for pointing out the name issue. Yup, it's supposed to be Blaise. So, eventually, I will change the name, for now he hasn't come up much so I'll leave it until later.

Thanks for the review, I hope you continue to enjoy it!

meadowlarks_cries


 Report Review

Review #10, by Kirsty Weasley Great Hall of Humiliation

1st March 2010:
Jazzy is a bitch!!! She so horrible, as for Drew, Lily should get over it, the new guy seems much nicer. Awesome story and as for freckles! Hell embrace what you've got, i've got them and giant dimples, im stuck with them so i might as well learn to love them!! - Kirsty xx

Author's Response: Yes true but you forget, Jazzy is a hot bitch and Drew is a guy! Hmm, Tyler huh, you may be onto something there ;).

As for Lily and the freckles I feel bad for the poor thing, trying to tan. That's not going to do any good. Lucky you, freckles AND dimples, wish I had one of those!Thanks for the great review!

xo,
meadowlarks_cries


 Report Review

Review #11, by Holly Brillo Pads and Pumpkin Juice

17th February 2010:
In canon, Teddy is 10 years older than Lily, James is at least three years older than Lily and Albus is at least 2 years older than Lily. Yet in this fic they are all attending Hogwarts at the same time? Why?

Since there is so little known about the next generation characters (other than the fact that Al seems like Harry, Lily like Ginny and James like Fred), simply create original characters to fit the purpose that Teddy, Victoire and James have in your fic. Or make Teddy and the others professors so there are legitimate reasons for them to be at Hogwarts with the Potter children.

Beyond the ages of the kids, there are a couple of other things that don't make sense in the fic unless Hermione is Lily's mother in the fic. For example, Lily states that she wishes she was a part of the Weasley clan. If Ginny is her mother, then Lily is a part of the Weasley clan. She has the same amount of Weasley genes as Rose or Victoire. And the brillo hair doesn't really make any sense at all unless Hermione is her mother or she's adopted. There are so many things that could be wrong with Lily's hair given that her dad is Harry but the one you've chosen is so associated with canon Hermione that it's off-putting in Lily Potter.

If she's so conscious of her freckles, why would she try and "tan" during the games? As a redhead, I can tell you that staying in the sun during Quiddich matches would only give her more freckles.

You have a fair story idea but the total lack of adherence to canon, frequent misspellings and grammar problems puts off the reader. No one can edit their own work adequately and you may want to obtain a good beta reader to help you with the spelling, grammar and canon errors.

Author's Response: Fair enough points so thank you for leaving this review. :)

I'm sorry to hear that the complete lack of adherence to the ages is putting you off reading this. I considered making OC's to fill in the spots, then decided that I would rather just throw cannon out of the window.

As for Lily's wish to be part of the Weasley clan I meant that she wishes she were Hugo and Rose's sister (whose last names are Weasley therefore the Weasley clan). Instead of James and Albus' (the Potter clan).

As for her hair, brillo pads are messy balls of fluff, and while I suppose a brillo pad could be used to decribe Hermione's hair, I did not intend for Lily to be associated with Hermione at all. I had the image of a brassy and messy bunch of hair--which was Harry-like since his hair was unable to be tamed as well.

Finally I purposely had inserted the tanning in the story and will later have Lily realize the huge mistake of trying to "tan away her freckles" after her burns faded.

I'm sorry that this story has been so inadequate for you, and hope that if you continue to read it you can look past the cannon errors since they are intentional and will not be changed. Thank you for taking the time to put your concerns out there!

meadowlarks_cries


 Report Review

Review #12, by marciabarcia A QSS

17th February 2010:
Al is a bit of a prude. Jazzy is a slut. No doubt.

xoxo
~Marcia

Author's Response: Just a teesy bit of a prude ;). He actually is based off a combination of my best guy friend and my spanish teacher...and I totally agree with you Jazzy is a cow, I think we all have a few people who we can say act like her though. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

xo,
meadowlarks_cries


 Report Review

Review #13, by marciabarcia Brillo Pads and Pumpkin Juice

17th February 2010:
Great Job! :)

xoxo
~Marcia

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm so glad you liked it!

xo,
meadowlarks_cries


 Report Review

Review #14, by amy Brillo Pads and Pumpkin Juice

2nd February 2010:
its a bit confusing with teddy being in school with them he was born a lot earlier than all of them but i am still enjoying your lily she is great

Author's Response: Yup, that was a problem for me too when I first started writing this, but sometimes you just gotta break all the rules! I hope it doesn't mess with your mind too much, but I can't promise anything! Either way thank you for your comment its always great getting feedback from you guys :)

xo,
meadowlarks_cries


 Report Review

Review #15, by HannahGranger Brillo Pads and Pumpkin Juice

1st February 2010:
Fabulous chapter! I love this story so far! I love your characterization of Lily Potter - she is very witty and unique! I am really excited to see where you take this! I love your writing-they way it can be somewhat sarchastic, yet always hilarious and fun to read. In some ways I find in reminiscint of Bridget jones, just in the way that she describes herself, etc. ... Great Job!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This is my first time trying my hand at humor so your review is greatly appreciated! I hope you like what I have in store, and believe me there is plenty in store!

xo,
meadowlarks_cries


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login