Reading Reviews for Elvendork, It's Unisex
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Snapdragons This Is Madness

20th February 2012:
I was led here by HPPC, and I have to say, this is brilliant! I do love Lily/James. ♥

This was such a sweet one shot- and really funny, too! As much as I do like reading angst, sometimes what you really need is a laugh. I loved having this small glimpse into their lives, and seeing James and Sirius together as well - I always love reading about their friendship!

I thought that James and Sirius were perfect here, and you could really see a sort of camaraderie between them. Still have that lightheartedness!

Also, you made a "I'm always Sirius" joke. ♥ Never gets old and never fails to make me chuckle. ;)

Elvendork. It's unisex! I literally laughed out loud for that. bahaha being called 'Dork' in school, can you imagine? Ack!

Adorable, funny, and completely sweet. You did an excellent job here! Thanks for making me smile. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by MileyMalfoy This Is Madness

5th August 2011:
I don't often read James/Lily but this was truly an interesting story. I thought that it was rather nice to see a relatively normal moment, doing the laundry, discussing names, in a time when the world was at war. I really wasn't sure when reading the title if it was going to be something I would enjoy but it turned out that I liked it.

I loved that Lily's biggest protest to the name was that it had the word "Dork" in it. Although I realize that would probably be one of mine as well if anybody ever suggested something like that to me or near me. I liked the way that Lily's emotions seemed to swing during the piece, it definitely helped to show that the hormones were able to make her grouchy if need be.

I though that the three were all well characterized and I really liked that James made Lily stand aside and let him do the laundry. It was a really nice touch to a cute piece. The Sirius/serious jokes always get to me so that, along with the whole name of Elvendork, had me chuckling softly.

A well written story. I really enjoyed it. Great job!

Miles
(Hufflepuff)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Jazzeh Turnip This Is Madness

22nd August 2010:
Hello! PrincessPadfoot reccomended that I read some of your stuff, and I remember listening to this on the podcast.

Firstly I have to say that I love how you have such a variety of different fics. I've glanced through quite a few today, and reviewed another, and I'm quite amazed by you. How do you do it? What's your secret?

Sirius and James are such jokers. I have no idea what Elvendork even IS, but it's hilarious. Lily seemed so hopeful too and then all her hopes were dashed when the pair came out with that ridiculous name.

I have to say that I really wasn't expecting that "I'm always Sirius" joke. They get me every. Single. Time. Without fail.

Lily may not be able to understand why those to always misbehave, but I can't understand why she's not laughing her head off. She's always so Sirius, I suppose? Haha. Saying that I think Lily is really in character, as are James and Sirius.

I'm not sure if I like you writing darker or lighter stories better. I think you're equally good at both, which is rare. Most are good at one but not another, so yay! :)

9/10
Lorren.

Author's Response: Hello! I'm really flattered that she recommended my stuff.

Ha ha, thank you. I'm afraid I have no secrets to thrust upon you. I simply am bored by writing one thing. It's dull, to me. I like exploring different concepts, relationships, etc. I think it has more to do with my personality than writing, actually. If that makes any sense.

Ha ha! I'm really glad you think it's hilarious. I got it off one of Jo's drabbles where she was writing about James and Sirius talking about how Elvendork was a unisex name.IT amused me.

Aw. I have to admit the 'always Sirius' joke seemed cheesy, but I couldn't resist. Some cliches are too good to pass up.

I'm really glad also that I managed to keep them all in character. That is always something that I strive hard to accomplish.

Wow. Thank you so much. That's the highest praise I think anyone's ever given me, and I absolutely appreciate it.


Linders


 Report Review

Review #4, by FoundriaPenguin This Is Madness

16th June 2010:
AHAHA okay so I was roaming the podcasts forum and then I found the podcast about your story! And I just had to read it for reals on the archive (:

This is such a hilarious story! "ELVENDORK! It's unisex!" AHAHA How did you even think of the name? I laughed while I was reading this the practically the whole time. ^_^ And yay you included a "Be serious!" "I am Sirius!" joke in your story! Woohoo! :D

I love thiss (: 10/10!

~foundriapenguin

Author's Response: Hey there! I had almost forgotten that PrincessPadfoot was trying to do a podcast for this story. She said she had to restart several times because she kept laughing.

Thank you so much! I'm glad that you found it hilarious. :) Well, the name stems from a writing exercise that Rowling did. He and Sirius were saying something about "Elvendork! It's unisex!" so, of course, I had to include that here.

Pleased that you love this. :)


linders


 Report Review

Review #5, by jj This Is Madness

4th February 2010:
I love this!
"Now stop jerking around and be serious for once."
"I'm always Sirius," Sirius winked

So funny, i love it, the whole thing!

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm pleased that you found it entertaining and that you loved it. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by moonbaby11 This Is Madness

25th January 2010:
That was pure genius! I especially loved the crack about Sirius being serious. It just so happens my younger sister has become OBSESSED with that joke! ;)

Author's Response: Why thank you! I'm glad you found this to be pure genius. -takes a bow- I'm pleased that you enjoyed it, too.

 Report Review

Review #7, by still_fly This Is Madness

24th January 2010:
This is probably the funniest story ever. How the heck did you ever come up with this.. or the name Elvendork? It was really good!

Author's Response: It was in a little blurb that Rowling never put into the story. Sirius and James suggested the name Elvendork (who knows where they came up with it) because it was unisex. Thanks so much! I'm glad you found it to be an amusing and good read.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Sleeping Paige  This Is Madness

23rd January 2010:
This is not half -bad, not bad at all. Your characterisation is interesting. The whole 'ELVENDORK' line made me laugh. Thanks for adding a realistic spin to the Marauders. An enjoyable read.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you liked the tale and found the characterization to be interesting. Ha ha, no problem. :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by DarcyRenay This Is Madness

21st January 2010:
Cute, fun, and I love the jokes about Sirius being serious. Those make me laugh every time even though I've heard them a thousand times! Great job on the personalities. Good work. =)

Author's Response: Ha ha, I know what you mean about the Sirius being serious jokes. They get me every time, too.

Thank you, I'm pleased you enjoyed it. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #10, by Kirsty Weasley This Is Madness

21st January 2010:
Ah, lol that was funny, Elvendork Potter and the Order of the Pheonix. I dont think it works as well does it? hehe

Author's Response: Thank you. -takes a bow- Ha ha, not quite.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login