Reading Reviews for Gillyweed
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Shortie roman numerals

18th July 2012:
Alright so this is a very different story so I apologize if my review is not upto standard :)

First of all, I love your creation of Ella. I love the characterization you've given her, and the way you've portrayed to us. I love the fact that she's not socially accepted/popular BUT she has the guts to stand upto someone who's popular and accepted. I really like that fact.

Having pointed out my favourite part, might I add that your writing is very advanced, way beyond my league to be honest, and I love it. I love the fact that I can read and appreciate your talent. Not many authors have that you know.

So well done love.

*Hugs*

REVIEWED FOR THE HOUSE CUP 2012 COMPETITION

Author's Response: Oh yay, I'm glad you liked it!

Ella was really a treat to write, if only because all we know about her is that she discovered the uses of Gillyweed. I'll admit that it's silly and a bit over the top, but isn't that what makes it fun?

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by ginnypotter242 roman numerals

18th July 2012:
Hello there!

This story was aamazing! I love our stye of writing! And your descriptions were absolutely amazing.

The characters were good too. They were believble, and well constructed. Mr. Fairfield was cool :) I liked him. Ella was great too, she had her flaws vey noticable :D She wasn't a perfect little lady.

One thing- Roman consented, knowing it was better to bow out now than later when she was relied up. Shouldn't it be rallied up? Just wondering :)

All in all, great story. The way Ella discovered Gillyweed was cool too- just tryng to prove her madness :P

~Sara

Author's Response: Ah yes, you caught one of my many mistakes! It's so difficult to catch mistakes when you're giving it a quick read through before publishing, so thanks for that!

I'm glad you enjoyed it it!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Wordwitch13 roman numerals

25th December 2010:
really really good! i loved it! and i don't mind fluff. really individual, plus i love Princess Bride (you know, the banner)

 Report Review

Review #4, by onestop_hpfan18 roman numerals

28th January 2010:
Hey Molly, great job on this one-shot! It's always refreshing to see something new that hasn't been written nearly as often to be recognizable. I thought the way you characterized each of the characters, especially Elladora and Roman, was well done. I liked the relationship you had set up between the pair of them that gradually went from infuriating each other to actually caring quite deeply for one another. It was realistic and believable. I also liked the way you had her discover what the properties of Gillyweed were by accident as it really is trial and error with that type of magical plant. You have to ingest it before you figure out what exactly it does first.

As far as spelling and grammar go, I noticed a few things here and there. For example, I noticed somewhere in the middle where you had typed 'breathe' instead of 'breath' which is quite a common mistake that we all make on occasion. Then, in one of the last sentences '...she already had want she wanted...' 'Want' should be 'what', but I'm sure you already knew that. ;)

And the only other thing I saw was this sentence which sounded confusing in the manner of tenses; 'While he knew he should be annoyed by the fact, possibly even infuriating...' I think it would sound better if you changed 'infuriating' to 'infuriated' as I got stuck over the tense confusion for several seconds before moving on.

Overall, though, I thought this flowed well and was a great story. With the amusement and seriousness between the characters and the actions that took place, you did a great job stringing it all together. Great job! 10/10

 Report Review

Review #5, by Eridanus roman numerals

22nd January 2010:
I absolutely ADORED this! I think it's safe to say that nobody but you could write a fic quite like this, and this is why you are my idol and I stalk you over msn and such :P.

You created the most amazing personality for Elladora and I instantly fell in love with the story because it was SO Austen in style. The period feel really came through and it was very effective. Also, Roman is a terribly dashing gentleman and I think I may just have fallen for him and his irrepressible charms. Just the right amount of stubborn XD.

I think the fact that her discovery was a total accident and all done in the heat of the moment made Elladora even more endearing. She had a bit of Luna about her and in my head they're definitely related, Lol!

AND THE FLUFF WAS GORGEOUS. As all fluff should be. I also found it really really funny and just completely entertaining in general.

I LOFFED IT, AS PER USUAL :P

xx

 Report Review

Review #6, by Inti roman numerals

20th January 2010:
Molly! As I do believe I've already said, this was rather fabulous!
Loved how you got so completely into the period voice while still making it well... readable :P Swap you talent yes? I've completely lost my train of thought, but I think I've pretty much said everything that needed saying.
LOVED IT XD

Author's Response: Jack! Thanks for the review! It was a bit difficult for me to maintain the period voice and still make it fun, but I'm glad that it ultimately worked out int he end. And no, I will not swap talent with you. I don't think I could handle being so awesome.

Thanks again! XD


 Report Review

Review #7, by Indigo Seas roman numerals

20th January 2010:
OH. EM. GEE. Excuse me for just a moment while I scrape what is left of my JAW off my KEYBOARD.

-ahem-

That was amazing. It was so utterly addicting, I had to read through the whole thing. The wordcount kind of scared me, to be honest, because I get scared off very easily by long wordcounts. They tend to drag, and... I generally skip over them, pick out a sentence to make it seem like I actually read the thing, and then post a lovely review that makes me (and hopefully the author) smile. BUT, THIS, my friend, is a rare EXCEPTION. Because, let me tell you, I read through every single one of those words, and instead of finding it long and dragging, I COULD NOT GET ENOUGH.

Side note: If I, say, ate some of you... would I have some of your talent? Because... that'd be awesome. Not that, you know, I would... -shifty eyes-

Favorite line: "Regardless, somehow they managed to collide with one another, like stars, but without all of the dramatic aftermath and, you know, sparks."

That, I think, captures the strong sense of voice throughout this whole masterpiece. Your characters and writing conveyed this simple sort of confident wit, and I LOVED IT.

LOVED IT.

I LOVED IT.

I LOVE MOLLY.

And now I'm done, because soon I'm going to start drooling all over my desk. If you'll excuse me...

10/10
- Rin

Author's Response: OMG, RIN! You have no idea how much I'm squeeing with absolute GLEE right now. Can you say, SUPER MEGA FOXY AWESOME REVIEW!? Gah, I mean.WOW!

On a more serious note, I never intended to make it so long, but once I fell into step with the characters, I couldn't help myself. I found them fascinating and I had to keep writing them; they were so much fun and it was nice to breath momentary life into them. I definitely had a lot of fun writing such a long fic; there's a first time for everything - or so they say!

ACK! That's one of my favourite lines. I don't know why, but when I wrote that, I was all "I LIKE IT!" and kept it in instead of taking it out like I was planning on it, lol.

OMG, RIN. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR AN AMAZING REVIEW. Clearly you are delusional as you are the Queen of Description, but I appreciate you and your loveliness and your review SO SO SO SO much more than I can truly say.

Thank you SO much, my dear. ILY!!

*hands a rag* Hope that helps! :p


 Report Review

Review #8, by LindaSnape roman numerals

20th January 2010:
I loved that!

The descriptive and elevated language, the characters, the emotions. They were all very wonderful and curious.

And I didn't mind the fluff, I quite enjoyed that, too.

Author's Response: I'm glad that you found it enjoyable. Thank you so much for your review; it means the world to me!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login