Reading Reviews for Ambrosia
  
69 Reviews Found

Review #1, by katti4493 he could be sleeping

23rd March 2013:
Wow, intriguing start, will definitely keep reading!

 Report Review

Review #2, by imgoingbackto505 he could be sleeping

26th January 2013:
This is very good! Nice work

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Loony_Scorpy the gentleman

31st August 2011:
I quite like this story! :D I'm loving all of the different dimensions of it :D and all of the characters as well :) I'm really looking forward to your next chapter, it's really a very interesting and well written story :D

Author's Response: God this is late D: So sorry! But aaah thank you so much! There are a lot of dimensions and lots of character work and I couldn't be prouder of how they come together, so thank you ever so much. I hope you do enjoy what comes next and thank you again for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by _supermegafoxyawesomehot_ bee sting

22nd June 2011:
Hello there, I must say, I've read through your story up to this point (and plan on reading onward). This is by FAR the best Blacks Sisters story I've ever read, and personally I think it portrays their relationships better than in the book. Your attention to detail amazes and impresses me, and I am by far bewildered. Keep writing, please!

Author's Response: Eeep, thank you so much! As much as I love the Black sisters, stories about them are few and far between, and the quality is oftentimes murky because authors tend to slot them into archetypes without lending something new to them. I can't possibly imagine that this portrays their relationships better than actual canon, because there's much that canon doesn't say about them -- and that, naturally, is where the fun of fanfic lies. But thank you so much for recognizing the effort and enjoying it too! I've always thought of this as one of my best stories, so I can't possibly leave it uncompleted. I'll always do my best to update, especially when there are such lovely readers out there. Thank you again for such a wonderful review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by iheartzuko august mistakes

22nd June 2011:
I love this story. I read it all last night then it was updated and that was like YAY!

Thank you for staying with this. It's fantastic < 3

10/10

Author's Response: Haha, funny the way updates work like that, isn't it? ;) Obviously you picked a very fortuitous time to start reading, and I'm glad you made it all the way through so quickly. It's always worth staying with a story when there's a new audience waiting for it, and I'm glad you found this and enjoyed it. Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #6, by iheartzuko he could be sleeping

22nd June 2011:
Its a story about the Black girls.
What's not to love?
Good start < 3

10/10

Author's Response: The Black girls have always fascinated me! There's so much you can do with them, and I thought I'd see just how much there can be done. Glad you enjoyed the start!

 Report Review

Review #7, by ericajen heart of darkness

16th April 2011:
OH ANDROMEDA. I SHALL NOT SPEND TOO MUCH MORE TIME GUSHING OVER YOUR CHARACTER BECAUSE I HAVE DONE THAT A LOT BUT YOU WAS SUPA AWESOME IN THIS CHAPTER.

And in general, you are amazing, Gubs. AND THIS IS THE LAST CHAPTER THAT'S UP. Baww.

Author's Response: OMG LOOK AT ALL THE CAPS~ I LIKE CAPS, ESPECIALLY BECAUSE THIS FIC DOESN'T GET MANY. EEE. But srsly, Erica, these reviews have actually kind of made my first-half-of-the-year, they're so lovely and so unexpected and this was one of my transitional chapters (not in terms of plot, in terms of writing period) so I'm really super happy that you liked it. YOU ARE SUPA AWESOME ALWAYS, and you make me smile, and I can't thank you enough, darling.

 Report Review

Review #8, by ericajen perseus

16th April 2011:
Hmm. I'm not sure how I feel about Ted. I think perhaps I don't like him. The exact reasons for such a feeling remain to be seen, but nevertheless. But I do adore Andromeda. She's a very realistic character. I've gushed about her a lot in these reviews.

Author's Response: Ted has been an ambiguous character the whole time, even to me. Only now is he starting to make more sense to me, if you can believe that, heh. I don't disagree that he's not exactly trustworthy, but then again, who is? Everyone in this fic is unhinged to some degree, aren't they? As I've said many times, I do like Andromeda, but as a character, not necessarily as a person. Because there's more to her streak of protectiveness than meets the eye, and it's safe to say that Ted is relevant to that particular narrative strand. But I love your gushing! They reaffirm everything I wanted to do with this story and they make me happy to boot. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #9, by ericajen they know best

16th April 2011:
OH RODOLPHUS. HAVE A BACKBONE PLEASE. Or more of one, anyway. Bellatrix is so much fun. She's just so... what is the word I am looking for? Oh well. Feel free to ad-lib in a word there.

Author's Response: Heh. Oh, Rodolphus. As I think you'll see much later, he does in fact have a backbone. The question is, what does he choose to stand up to? On what grounds? That sort of thing. Bella is... I don't quite know what the word is, either. Scornful of how Rodolphus views his world, indignant about the role she's being forced into? Those fit. Probably not what you were thinking of. If you ever do remember, let me know. Now I'm curious.

 Report Review

Review #10, by ericajen glowing daggers

16th April 2011:
OH SO THE PLOT THICKENS, EH? Ted seems a bit devious, if you ask me. Verrry interesting. He played it pretty cool. A less calm person would probably have flailed a little bit. But alas, he was cool as a cucumber. I hate that expression. It sounds weird.

Author's Response: -steeples hands evilly- Ted is... well, Ted is not squeaky clean. It's been hinted at before (see: chapter 8), but he's not Narcissa's knight and he's not Andromeda's vaguely-benevolent presence, either. He's a figure that sort of dances on the fringes of the girls' understanding, and their perception of him is central to the development (or stagnation) of their relationship with each other. But yes, he was not the least bit flail-y, because I think he expected this (if not the particulars of the circumstance, then the general). I like cucumbers, though! They are cool when you eat them! It makes sense~

 Report Review

Review #11, by ericajen tales over breakfast

16th April 2011:
Gubby. I have a very, /very/, serious question for you. -dramatic pause- Why so awesome? I really don't know what it is about this story but it's just so interesting and captivating. I always just want to go on to the next chapter and find out what the next section will be about. And now I shall do just that.

Author's Response: I dramatically paused my eyes scanning across the screen to read this! Now to answer -ponderous pause- when you write this much of a fic in so little time (most of the body of the fic that's up right now was written in the winter of 2010), you tend to know your characters really well and you dream about them and everything. It's pretty awesome, being on a roll (which I am definitely not on at the moment). And hurray for moving on! A story would be useless if it didn't make you want to read on.

 Report Review

Review #12, by ericajen bee sting

16th April 2011:
Your Andromeda is love, Gubby. She's just characterized so perfectly. And and and... Narcissa too. And and and yeah. You are lovely and this story is lovely and I wish my reviews could be more lovely but at least there are a lot of them which is pretty lovely. :)

Author's Response: Your reviews are love, Erica! Did I tell you, these reviews really pushed me into writing this again? I got, like, an entire new section done thanks to the inspiration. Which isn't that much, but considering my pattern of writing with this fic, it's a step up. Everything is lovely and yay :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by ericajen eve and the apple

16th April 2011:
Hmm. I would be upset, too. :P Meh. Why do I have nothing to say? I don't know. But anyway, this story continues to be very lovely and awesome. I really like the style of it. Also, short chapters make my life. Because they're just so little and awesome.

Author's Response: Haha, it's fine if there's not much to say! This section I just wanted to flesh out the relationship between Andromeda and her mother, because it's something we've hovered around for awhile but never delved into that great detail. And remember, this was actually supposed to be a ginormous one-shot -- although, the way it's going, it will go above and beyond twenty thousand words, hehe. It makes fun updating, though!

 Report Review

Review #14, by ericajen blood and diamonds

16th April 2011:
Sirius is such a little rebel. I was wondering if we'd see some more from him, and alas, here it is. I liked all the tension in this chapter. You played it off really well. I'd write more (maybe) but you've actually just given me something else to read! So, fin.

Author's Response: Sirius and Regulus are some of my favorites, which is why I use them sparingly. As I said, this section is something of a turning point in the plot -- dividing the line between innocence and experience, if you will, for pretty much everyone. The tension between Sirius, who's already got a streak of self-righteousness in him, and Walburga, who's completely on the opposite level, acts as a really interesting catalyst to basically everything that happens afterwards. But as always, thank you so much for all of your machine-like reading, it always makes me happy :')

 Report Review

Review #15, by ericajen shadow rapture

16th April 2011:
You capture Narcissa and her character so beautifully, Gubby. I always pictured her exactly like this. With her want for the gorgeous ring and the perfect life, and with the naivety that makes her think it is possible to have it all.

Author's Response: Eeek, Narcissa is one of the harder ones to write because she does fall so neatly into the pretty-materialistic-naive china doll, which is something I don't consciously agree with but subconsciously works its way into a lot of portrayals of her, especially in this section. I like her character more later on, but I'm glad you like her at this point! She is a sweetheart underneath the jaded exterior. And that, you know, could be dangerous for someone in her position. Just saying.

 Report Review

Review #16, by ericajen the ends of the earth

16th April 2011:
So Rodolphus proposed. I'd say it's sweet but... eh. Not the most romantic gesture in the world. :P Now for more gushing about your Andromeda. I really like her. The way you've written her works so well for what we know about her character. I really love that.

Author's Response: There's very little romance in this story, actually. Definitely not between Rodolphus and Bella. They're definitely affectionate, which again is something we'll see more of later on, but it's not love, and neither of them even care about that. Andromeda knows that love isn't there, but... yeah, I really like her, too. This was a short section but I liked it because of the differing responses. Very interesting stuff, I like to think. But I'm so glad it gels with canon, as that's something that, as I write more of this, tends to slip away from me a bit.

 Report Review

Review #17, by ericajen like games

16th April 2011:
Rodolphus! I don't know why, but I've just always liked his character. He's fun to write because he can be interpreted so many different ways and I really liked your interpreation of him. He's like the perfect little pureblooded boy. Anyway - onto the next! -flies-

Author's Response: Rodolphus is always interesting to interpret. In the original of this chapter, he was more a loping, ape-like kind of guy, but then I read something where he was really gentlemanly and sexy, and I liked that better, so you have an element of that in this portrayal as well. But, you know, I don't like keeping things on the surface level, so much is yet to come for Rodolphus!

 Report Review

Review #18, by ericajen a good girl

16th April 2011:
I think you have me officially hooked on this story, Gubby. I really like it. It's so interesting and squee-worthy. Anyway, I shall read more of it later but I have to run. You stay awesome. :P

Author's Response: Baww, this was a filler-y chapter, I thought, but I'm so pleased that you like it! Thank you so much, and I can only be awesome as long as awesome people like you remain the same!

 Report Review

Review #19, by ericajen sleight of hand

16th April 2011:
WOAH WOAH WOAH. GUBBY. This chapter just kind of rocked my world. I do adore me some Narcissa. And this was just kind of awesome. I mean, I don't know why I've become so suddenly obsessed with this one chapter. But I have.

Author's Response: Hehehehe, I always like seeing reactions to this chapter because it was such a random thing for me too. I like that we're introduced to Narcissa this way, and I'm glad you're obsessed with it. Because frankly, Ted Tonks is one of the hotarrogantjerks that YA books always have, except a bit more nuanced than that and... eee, I just really like him. Heh.

 Report Review

Review #20, by ericajen paper tricks

16th April 2011:
Ooh. I love the way you contrast Andromeda and Bella. Their differences are very clear, which is great because obviously they're supposed to be quite different from each other. It's so nice to see these characters being written so well. And I kind of like Bella. In a morbid, love to hate her kind of way. So reading her is always a pleasure.

Author's Response: Andromeda and Bella strike me as people who could have, in some alternate universe, turned out to be very close to one another. It's reflected in their relationship in this particular fic, I think, especially in this chapter. There's obviously a degree of affection they have for one another, but it's dissolving, and rather rapidly, too. And ooh, I like Bella too, but probably not for the reasons you do. Glad you like her anyway -- making Bella compelling is sometimes hard to do.

 Report Review

Review #21, by ericajen a swan song

16th April 2011:
Rawr. That was kind of an intense moment at the end. I really like that you are writing them as the right ages. I've seen so many times Bella being the same age as Sirius or Andromeda only being a couple years older than him and it just grates on me because they're supposed to be much older than that. SO GO YOU.

Author's Response: Intense moment is intense. It's one of my favorite scenes I've ever written, and I have written a lot of things over the years. I wanted to be as strictly canon with this as I could, ie with the ages and the relations and whatnot, but as you'll see later, I like messing with canon expectations. So hurray, so happy you enjoyed :D

 Report Review

Review #22, by ericajen he could be sleeping

16th April 2011:
OH HAI GUBBY. SURPRISE. I'M READING THIS.

Very interesting so far. Those Black sisters always intrigued me so I like reading stories about them. And I really like the way you wrote this first chapter, like with the repetition of Alec Yaxley's death, etc.

NICE WORK GIRL.

Author's Response: OMG SUPER SURPRISE~ I didn't even expect this but now I'm really happy because any attention lavished on this poor baby of a fic makes me happy. I really liked this beginning, too, because I remember it took /forever/ to get right (started out as being Andromeda/Rodolphus, if you can imagine, but in a hateful-friends-with-benefits kind of way, but not in a romcom-y way... moving on). But thank you and squee and love!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Ink perseus

16th February 2011:
I absolutely adore anyone that explores the Black sisters or anyone from the Black family for that matter. I adore this story and how you've written their experiences together as sisters as well as individuals. I'm excited to see how everything plays out in how they gain their own footing in this world.

I adore your Ted! I'm rooting for more chapters!

Author's Response: I love the Black family as a whole and the sisters especially, so I'm so relieved that you liked it! Their journeys as people are important, but I agree, it's the journey of the family as a whole that makes their individual journeys all the more intriguing. Thanks so much for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme bee sting

11th February 2011:
Nice Malfoy comment, before I forget. I can't recall whether Lucius came up in earlier chapters but the way that line was just slid in there was cleverly fitted in and Narcissa's reaction just as good.

We'll start with her. Narcissa, very believable as a younger version of canon. I really liked how she thought of Sirius; I wouldn't have put money on her thinking on him like that, even in her youth. It was really surprising but the way she hides it makes me wonder whether this Narcissa will actually come to despise him for being in Gryffindor or merely fake it. You make me question myself so much with this story.

Again, relationship between Andromeda and Narcissa is lovely. It's sisterly and that's not really what I'd expected from them. I can't really remember much about the earlier chapters - perhaps I've pointed it out before, perhaps not - but here especially, their relationship seems quite strong and definitely more amicable than I imagined.

Everything about this story is simply divine, my lovely. I'd forgotten exactly how wonderful it is. Your chapters are short and yet they entice me and I could write reams and reams about every single line if I wanted to. Your talent never ceases to amaze me.


xx

(P.S. If I've not read until chapter 15 by the end of the month, rerequest so that I'm forced to)

Author's Response: I'm pretty sure this is the first Lucius comment in the fic. I don't think he'll actually pop up ever, but glad that it made an impact on you. Narcissa's reaction, of course, is quite telling to what she is now and what we realize she will become. And honestly, thank God for believability. She was always on the fringes of my thoughts because it was hard to get a handle on her. What's her arc in the story? And then when I realized she is with Ted, I had to justify that, and it went on rom there. The next few chapters highlight her and Sirius, a relationship that I don't think is done enough anymore. But that's an interesting question you bring up, and I honestly can't answer that as of now. (Not because it's spoilerific, but because I genuinely don't know.)

Narcissa and Andromeda relationship is lovely, I must agree. It's sisterly, as you said, but there's always this undercurrent now of Andromeda's breakdown and how they are both willing to skate over it for the sake of something like a status quo. They are amicable for now, but... ahem. Now /that's/ a train of thought that will end up spoilerific.

Now, lovely, your reviews have been divine. I'm so happy that you enjoyed it after so long and since it is past the end of February, I'll have to get (politely) nagging. Maybe. Ahem. Lots of love, xxx


 Report Review

Review #25, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme eve and the apple

11th February 2011:
Still don't like Druella. I know it's not the intention but often people write these characters and there is something redeemable to them. The way you write each of them - even at times the good ones - is so well done that I regard each of them with the greatest disdain. In introduction to someone knew, I prepare to hate rather than like them. I love it. I'm not sure what that says about me but I really do.

The way you wrote this relationship spoke so loudly to me. I'm not sure Druella really knows what it is to be a mother. She strikes me as very selfish, rather self-absorbed and there's a distance between the two characters that makes it easy to see how Andromeda will eventually be able to turn her back. I'm not saying Druella doesn't love her because I think she does; their relationship merely feels strained and worn and like it hasn't developed since Andromeda was young.

Talking of Andromeda, she's far and away my favourite. There's more humanity to her than the others, except maybe the two boys, but with her being older and in amongst all these other older characters, it's harder to like someone than to hate them. She stands out because she's the good one.

Plot: not a great deal to say this time round. As I said earlier, I think I can now see how the relationship between Andromeda and her family will come to shatter. It's subtle, though. It's nothing overpowering. Style, beautiful. Imagery, sublime. Characters, brilliant.

I'm going to nosy at chapter 11. That review will probably be even shorter.

xx

Author's Response: I don't know if you should like Druella. I actually pity her, to be honest, especially in this chapter. The way I was writing this chapter, Andromeda was being unreasonable (not that she doesn't have some semblance of justification) and Druella struggles under the weight of her responsibility to her, as a parent who has no hold on her and as a person just as caught up in the game as anyone else. I don't know if anyone here is unredeemable, but it certainly is interesting that you are prepared to despise them all.

I think Druella has an inkling of what it means to be a mother, but has no idea how to put that into practice. She does love her, absolutely, and the relationship is strained, but I wonder whose fault that is. I think Druella feels that she's devoted her life to her children and the game. Both are failing her. So what does that mean for her life? Has it been in vain? That sort of thing. So in a way, she is rather selfish, but so is Andromeda, who ostensibly knows better. (The more and more I think about it, they don't seem very redeemable at all. Hmm.)

Andromeda is my favorite, too, humanity and all. She is supposed to be the good one, but I think that this chapter and the last bears witness to her changing. That's my current flow of thinking, at least; as I respond to this, I know that... moral ambiguity abounds, and not just in Andromeda. So absolutely these are turning points in her life. She is likable, but there is a lot to her that we might see more of in the future.

Not much plot, you're right, but this story was never about plot. Character study is my favorite thing ever, and that's what this is. Absolutely, laying the foundation for the fracturing of her family is important, so I'm glad it happened. And with subtlety, too! :D

xxx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>