Reading Reviews for Dear Victoire
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by stormkengen Bursting Eggs

4th April 2011:
I've already reviewed this story and I am again. I absolutely love this story. This is the third time I've read and, literally, every time I have tears streaming down my face. Your writing is so beautiful and painful but you still get those little bits of humor in here and there. Please post the next (fifth) chapter soon! I can't wait for it to come.

love
Storm

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I feel like I'm in a constant struggle with this story, because I'm never sure what kind of reader base it has. :) But thank you for reviewing. It is always very much appreciated.

I'll try and update as soon as I can. I've got a few other WIPs and, as always, school work is trying to drown me. Thanks for the prod!


 Report Review

Review #2, by stormkengen Sharing With Redheads

6th March 2011:
I love this story. It brings me to tears every time I read it. Please continue it!

love
S

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm about half way through the next chapter, but I'm lacking the gumption to finish it. This review may have been the thing I needed!

Thanks again! I appreciate the review.


 Report Review

Review #3, by recklessly_sweet Snow in the Flat (Prologue)

21st December 2010:
i so hope this is a teddy/dom story
coz i love them n find the victorie ones a bore
love it so far
but u do have a ew spelling error
n some words are rongly put
otherwise 10%

Author's Response: If you would point out those spelling errors and whatever word was not used "rongly," I will be happy to change them.

:)


 Report Review

Review #4, by penonpaper Sharing With Redheads

28th September 2010:
Hey there!

Rose is right, they're very beautiful those letters. How utterly romantic and gorgeous. Honestly, I don't think Victoire deserves him. I do :)

Anyway, I think the whole clicheness of the story and the 'so sweet I'm getting a cavity' part of this story just makes it so nice...? I don't know where I'm getting so hopefully you understand me, but it's just really, really, really sweet.

-smiles-

Love,
penonpaper

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! This is such a touching review. Really, it's completely made my month.

Haha, you definitely deserve Teddy. Well, more than Victoire does, anyway. :)

Again, thank you so much! This was such a lovely surprise.


 Report Review

Review #5, by onestop_hpfan18 Sharing With Redheads

1st August 2010:
RIN! -squishes- I'm liking how you're moving forward with this story, it's really keeping the interest level up. Also, the further into the story, the more Teddy's characterisation forms together to add to his character. You've really nailed him quite hard on the head to a T, and I like his friendship with Rose. They're close friends and you can tell they are because Teddy doesn't care when Rose reads the letters to Victoire. And that stupid reporter bombarding in on Teddy's life to ask if he'd seen Victoire even though he hasn't, what a bother. Poor Teddy. Over all, great chapter! 10/10

Author's Response: Rose! I was so scared when I was writing her, because I've never exactly written her the same way twice. :D She always decides to change things up a bit whenever I'm writing her, so I'm glad that you liked this different side to her. Thanks!

Ah, reporters. We're about to see much more of them, actually. The next chapter is about half way through, so if I finally get some gumption together and finish the thing, I'll be sure to let you know!

Again, thank you! I really, really appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #6, by onestop_hpfan18 Bursting Eggs

28th July 2010:
Whoa, this chapter was even better than the first two. The scene between Dom and Teddy was pretty intense, what with Teddy hiding why he was really holding his head instead of because he "had a headache." I'm curious about where Victoire could have run off to begin with, and where she's at. Over all, I liked the flow of the narration as you really are getting inside of his head and thoughts. And the description of just how intense these images of Victoire popping to into his head are quite well written as I can easily picture him struggling to push her out of his mind with his hands grasping his head. Also, the dialogue flowed naturally between the characters. Keep up the great writing and feel free to request when you have the next few chapters up! 10/10

Author's Response: Aw, Leslie! Thank you!

I'm really glad you liked the flow, because that was something that was bothering me for a while. I don't think this chapter is my usual style, so hearing you say that you liked it has totally made my week! Thank you so much!

Again, thanks. I can't express how much I appreciate all the kind things you have to say.


 Report Review

Review #7, by onestop_hpfan18 A Welcome Witch Indeed

28th July 2010:
Hey Rin, another great chapter you've written here. I like the arguing of Flint and Teddy as I can definitely see how much they despise one another. Especially when Teddy was looking for paper and decided to snatch from Flint since he already saw Teddy as a crazy loony, while the rest didn't. Over all, great description, narration, and dialogue. It was entertaining to read, while at the same time I could feel Teddy's pain for how it must be for him to enjoy his thoughts of Victoire while at the same time detest them. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Leslie! Thank you so much!

I was having a lot of trouble with Flint when I wrote him, I believe. He just wasn't... working. I think part of my problem was that, at the time, I didn't have a name for him. Somebody finally suggested Octavious Flint while I was wailing to them, and - ta da! Anyway, I'm glad you like him.

:) Thanks again! I really appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #8, by onestop_hpfan18 Snow in the Flat (Prologue)

25th July 2010:
RIN! Lovely prologue, I love the emotion and description, it's well paced and is an excellent start to the story. There isn't really much to critique since it's short and all I can say is that I like your Teddy as you've characterised him well. And even the girl here that's yelling at him for writing love letters to another girl and keeping them. Over all, great job. :)

Author's Response: LESLIE! Thank you so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed it! It's a little different than the other chapters, but it was short and a good opener. That's why I chose it for the prologue. Thank you so much, again! It really means a lot to me.

 Report Review

Review #9, by bespontaneous Snow in the Flat (Prologue)

20th July 2010:
i love the description about the letters on the floor and how it looked like snow

Teddy sounds so caring, well not about his girlfriends, but Victoire, that i don't know who i feel worse for, him or his newly heartbroken girlfriend

since this is just the prologue the length of the chapter seems fine to me

this is a great start, and it seems different from alot of other t/v stories out there, which really excites me

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

You should definitely feel worse for Ted. Especially because he's so darn cute it's hard not to anyway. ;)

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I really appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #10, by lilylunapotter Snow in the Flat (Prologue)

19th July 2010:
cool love the start cant wait to read more of it. loved it so much cant wait to read the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you! I really appreciate your review.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Margravine Sharing With Redheads

18th July 2010:
Rin tin tin, you are a star my dear. Really

I love your style of writing so much - I got swept up reading this passage in such a good way - it's a pleasure to sink into your prose, and effortless, but on top of that, you don't use words unnecessarily.

It was good, and time to see Ted question his letters/sanity more, but what stole the show for me was Rose. I really, really loved Rose in this chapter, there was such a wonderful dynamic between the two, and it was unexpected and refreshing that she didn't freak with his letters (although where is Lily in all this?)

Excited for more!

Author's Response: Aw, JO! Thank you so much! I mean... wow!

Ah, Rose. It was originally going to be an OC, but then I figured that Ted could get along better with his sorta-cousin than with an unknown. I'm glad you liked her! She just wrote herself. ^_^

Thank you so much, again! I really do appreciate it. You've definitely made my week.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Margravine Bursting Eggs

5th June 2010:
OMG you updated!!! squee! And you silly, this is one of my favourite stories, it was my pleasure to discuss it in the recommendations ♥

I like the dynamic Male Dom brought to this, I'm tantalised by the plot possibilities missing Vic brings and most of all I thought it was absolutely perfect how at the end, just when sympathy is beginning to be tinged with a little contempt, you have Ted pull himself together a bit and realise how pathetic he is being.

Lovely job Rin!

Author's Response: Thank you! Thank you thank you thank you! Male Dom is one of my absolute favorites, so I'm really glad you liked him as well. I'm not exactly sure if he'll be showing up again, but I'm happy with him for now. :)

Ah, poor Ted. I like feeling sorry for him. He's so pathetic. I'm glad you like him too!

Thank you, again! I really, really appreciate it.

- Rin


 Report Review

Review #13, by FannyPrice A Welcome Witch Indeed

8th February 2010:
I think I might just be a morbid person, but something about Teddy using his letter writing therapeutically makes me think that Victoire is dead, or gone in some way. A lot of the images in this chapter and in the first (like about the hair being splayed across the pillow) strike me as being memories. So, I'm wondering--does Victoire just not know that Teddy loves her? OR, do they have a history that has somehow ended?

He is certainly an entertaining character. Full of faults and humor, but he strikes me as being kind, which is nice. I think you did a really good job with the hospital and the dynamic of the different jobs there. (I come from an entire family of nurses, including my brother, speaking of defensive masculinity). Flint was really entertaining, such a jerk, but very telling of the profession.

Anyway, it's really intriguing so far. I saw the link in your sig. @ TGS and being a complete sucker for anything Teddy/Victoire had to come check it out. For some odd reason, it also reminds me of a Neil Simon play, probably because of the comedy and the seeming absurdity of being compelled to write letters to a girl at any point during the day and then never send them. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! And out of the blue too! Gah. Thank you. It really does mean a lot to me when people come by and leave wonderful, makes-your-jaw-drop reviews.

Victoire, Victoire, Victoire. She's certainly not dead (but I can definitely see how you could think that), but I haven't exactly decided when to introduce her. She's complex, that girl. She'll arrive eventually, but I'm still not sure at what point. Oh, and to answer your question: Yes, they had a history (which ended somehow, but I'm not revealing that at this point ;)).

Haha, I really like Teddy in this, so I'm glad that you're fond of him as well. He just writes himself, really. He feels so innocent and vulnerable to me, so he's easy to laugh at as well. Thanks for your reassurance on his character!

I love Teddy/Victoire as well, so I'm pleased that you stopped by for a look! I really, really (for lack of a better word) appreciate your review!

- Rin


 Report Review

Review #14, by Margravine A Welcome Witch Indeed

4th February 2010:
Rin, this is simply LOVELY!
(Sidenote: still think Stone Flint was made of win but Octavius suitably pureblood)

Back to squee - this is divine. Banner, summary, characterisation all. Teddy leaps off the page, the Welcome Witch a hilario touch and you interweave the Victoire references seamlessly. Until this chapter I just thought the letter writing sweet and a little disturbed, but writing as a form of therapy appeals to the psych major in me (all of me) like you would not believe.

This is beautifully written and I can't wait to read more. In fact I DEMAND you PM me with any worries, previews or second opinion seeking you might seek for this one =P
xx Jo

Author's Response: JO! Oh... my. Well... thank you! Thank you so much! I really, really appreciate all of your very kind comments. :)

Haha, yeah, the letter writing was a little more... stalker-ish... when I first started writing. It was originally in third person, and seemed a little more depressing than I had intended it to be. Sooo, I changed it all around to first person instead, and had the writing be a sort of therapy instead of just weird, disturbing letters written out of the blue. :) I'm glad you liked it!

Gah. Thank you so much! I will be sure to PM you with any problems I seem to have!


 Report Review

Review #15, by George Whitman A Welcome Witch Indeed

30th January 2010:
I the flow of this story. It's so effortless and surreal. It's coming along great and I'm glad you didn't back off from the first chapter. I see that you found a way to avoid mentioning how the quill works. Well done!

Author's Response: Haha, yeah, I tried writing about the quill for a bit, but it messed up the flow and didn't sound very... natural. :) I'm glad you liked it, and thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Ginny Yeske A Welcome Witch Indeed

28th January 2010:
That's really cute. I mean, he's just so deep in love it's helpless.

Author's Response: Haha, yeah, he is. Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by George Whitman Snow in the Flat (Prologue)

25th January 2010:
This is a great start! I love how you never mention the name of the girlfriend. She is just another in a long line of women fed up with Ted's obsession with Victoire. I also like how you don't mention Ted and Victoire's past associations. It makes you wonder if Ted's a bit creepy, heartbroken, or just plain has some good explanation for not pursuing Victoire. Hell, you even wonder if Victoire might be dead. Well done!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! This review completely blew me away. :) I'm actually thinking about re-writing this chapter in first person, because the first chapter I started writing after this suddenly jumped out in first person and sounded a lot better. Anyway, thanks for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by marciabarcia Snow in the Flat (Prologue)

20th January 2010:
Wow... that was so intense!

xoxo
~Marcia

Author's Response: Haha, thank you! I appreciate the review.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Rose_Weasley123 Snow in the Flat (Prologue)

20th January 2010:
HELLO OPINION BUDDY! :D -tackle-hugs-

Have already given you most of my opinion on this- so shall not make this long. That is a big challenge for me- It is taking all my self restraint not to write about five pages of squee-y review of this.

First of all-I still love this, and perhaps even more seeing it posted. I have no idea why you were worried about the length- it is perfect as it is, and I think it does is job as a prologue, plus more :D.

I am very interested in seeing Teddy and Victoire's characters being delved into. As I think I said, I love the feeling this gives you because you don't see Victoire- it builds up the suspense, and gives a weird edge to it- almost a little voyeuristic, if that makes any sense at all.

The description was love- neither overdone or underdone, it was the perfect amount, and it definitely made the story something more.

As for the actual story- this is a unique idea- somehow, have read stalker!Victoire, but not stalking Teddy. He always seems cooler than that somehow. I's nice to see the dynamic shift.

ANYWAY, shall stop rambling now. Did not achieve a non-rambly review like I was aiming for. Still, there's always next time.

I love this. -adds to favourites-.

xxx

Author's Response: HELLO, OPINION BUDDY! Thanks so much for dropping by. :) You know how much this absolutely must blow me away every time I see one of your lovely reviews.

Yeah, I've always kind of seen a stalker Victoire as well, which was kind of why I wanted to spin this around. I usually see Teddy as this strong-willed, level-headed person, but I decided that in this particular story, he'd be more of a slacker/head-in-the-clouds kind of guy. It's fun writing him, now that he's so different.

THANK YOU, OPINION BUDDY, FOR YOUR RESOUNDINGLY BRILLIANT ADVICE. I SHALL CHERISH THIS REVIEW FOREVER. [/caps]

- Rin


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login