Reading Reviews for Lie to Me
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Arianna Lie to Me

23rd June 2014:
O-kay. Little sadder than you usually write. It was well written, although I'm not sure I liked it. One fact:James, Sirius, and Peter figured out about Remus's 'furry little problem' in fifth year, not first.

Author's Response: The song lended itself to a sadder story. James, Sirius, and Peter actually found out about Remus's lycanthropy during their second year, not their first or fifth. Fifth year was when they became Animagi, but they knew about Remus's lycanthropy long before that. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by momotwins Lie to Me

30th March 2012:
So good! Yes, I agree, you definitely need a sequel to this one. So much angst! I wanted to shake Tonks for not understanding. Werewolf and cheater are not the same thing! Women haha. Poor Remus, I love the way you wrote him. Great story!

Author's Response: I'll write one! Just be sure to hound me in case I forget. ;) I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Tonks definitely needs to realize that Remus wasn't trying to hurt her. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by ginerva_molly_weasley Lie to Me

9th March 2012:
Hey here I am with a review!

I actually really love this one shot as it shows one of my favourite couples within the fanfiction world. This is a very different take on the couple though particularly because it is in the format of a song fiction in which I don't generally read although with this one I am glad I did!

Remus seems very weary about his condition but also within his relationship with Tonks as he knows he has lied to her and through this lying he has hurt her much more than telling her about his condition would have done and I think you've shown that really well.

I love the way Tonks has been portrayed in this piece because she just seems to be such a loveable character with not being upset with Remus because of his condition but more because he had lied to her for a whole six months, despite her telling him how much she hates liars. I love how Tonks doesn't just forgive him and because of that Remus realises just how much he has hurt her and how much that hurts him!

I love it!

SHPFFO! :D

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it so much! I am a big Remus/Tonks shipper, but with this song, I couldn't have a happy ending. I'm going to write a sequel soon, though.

I wanted to keep Tonks's characterization in that she doesn't care that Remus is a werewolf, and I'm glad it worked! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by ClearCutDiamonds Lie to Me

23rd December 2010:
I love Remus/Tonks stories! I think that their story is really romantic - but I like how you didn't end this on a happy note. I liked the detail of why Tonks hates lying. The song fit perfectly with the mood of the story and the plot. Although this had a sad ending, it was really well written. I noticed something about your writing: you really have a way of making readers empathize with your characters. I really loved reading this and your other one-shots!

Merry Christmas!

Amanda

Author's Response: Me too! Remus/Tonks is my favorite ship. I was originally going to end it on a happy note, but it just wasn't going to work with the song and then I realized it wouldn't have worked anyway. I'm so glad you liked it. Aw, thanks! It's one of the things I try to do with my writing- make the reader really feel for the character. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by AndrinaBlack Lie to Me

21st August 2010:
Quite a different Remus/Tonks story! And I liked it. You turned around who of them didn't want to be with who and here they had actually been together before Tonks knew about Remus being a werewolf, different from canon. And I think it worked. If you think about his fear of hurting her in canon, it's maybe a bit out of character, but otherwise this works really well this way too. You also got the emotions of both of them out very well and I think both of them were in character. The song lyrics fit in beautifully and made it seem maybe even sadder than otherwise with the sad words of the song. Good job with the story! I enjoyed reading it.

Author's Response: I've read a lot of Remus related stories because he's my favorite character and Remus/Tonks is my favorite ship so when I go to write it, I try to think of stuff that's vastly different from what I've read. I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Sometimes I'm not sure if the way I change it works.

He is really afraid of hurting her in Canon, but I think deep down he really wanted to be with her despite that. I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Blaze Lie to Me

31st January 2010:
As usual a 10/10 rating. This should be expanded on and maybe intertwined with events in the Half Blood Prince and the Deathly Hallows.

I'll have to leave with a short review but I think you've mastered describing the harsh and unfortunate effects of lycanthropy probably with Matt and Lupin. Anyway good work and keep it up. :)

Author's Response: I would love to write a longer piece about this, but I have so many story ideas and not enough time to write them! I do want to do a sequel to this, though. I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by witnesstoitall Lie to Me

22nd January 2010:
Hello Sarah!!

So this is an interesting one shot. I have a very soft spot in my heart for Remus and Tonks. I love reading people's takes on how they got together and such. It is usually a standard and melodramatic argument about lycanthropy. This, though, was unique and lovely and consistent with their canon characterizations.

While reading this I think that it was very evident that Tonks was coming back to him. I felt so bad for Remus. His life is so tragic. My only critique would be the amount of information you include about Tonks' past relationship. I think you included a bit more than you had to. It didn't take away from the story quality, but I do think that simply stating that she hated lying and couldn't be in a relationship with a lier would have achieved more questions in the reader's mind.

All in all, this was a lovely song fic. I thought that you captured Remus' mindset very well. Great Job!!

xx
Melissa

Author's Response: Hi Melissa!

Remus and Tonks are my absolute favorite characters, although I haven't written very much about them. I never thought Tonks would have been upset about Remus being a werewolf, judging by her behavior in Half-Blood Prince. Even when she first found out about it, I don't think she would have freaked out. I'm very glad you liked it!

Oh good! When my sister first read it she was confused and thought Tonks wasn't coming back, so I tweaked it a bit and added some lines, and she said it worked. I'm glad you agree! Figuring out how much information about Tonks's last relationship to put in was really difficult. I probably could have gotten away with less.

I'm really glad you liked it! This was my first time writing from Remus's POV, so I'm very happy that people like it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Moonylupin Lie to Me

18th January 2010:
I find this funny, but the name of your fic is also the name of a Bon Jovi song.

Anyway... yay, you finished this! This song really did fit the story. I know the lyrics of the song, but never just sat and read them and for you to put them in this situation really worked out. I never would have thought of Remus and Tonks going out before the time HBP took place, but you made it work. It makes Tonks's behavior in HBP more realistic (a lot more realistic than how it comes off in the book, where she's just suddenly in love with him and all mopey because of it). I like that they had something going before then and that she broke it off because Remus lied to her about being a werewolf.

And that was an interesting thing too. She wasn't upset about him being a werewolf, just that he didn't tell her. That really plays into the whole 'I don't care' bit in the Hospital Wing in HBP. I felt horrible for the both of them. Remus because he hadn't meant to hurt Tonks by not telling her, and Tonks because she felt like he was betraying her by not telling her. Great one-shot! The song really worked and I loved the way you wrote it!

Author's Response: Oh that's kind of awesome! I don't think I've ever heard that song, though. I'll have to go find it on Youtube.

Yep, I finally finished it! I'd never read the lyrics until I realized that I could probably make a good song fic out of it, and then when I read them the idea just popped into my head. I've thought Remus and Tonks would have started their relationship a little prior to HBP after I read a really good Remus/Tonks fic on another site. It definitely makes Tonks's behavior in HBP more understandable!

I love the idea of Tonks not caring one bit about Remus being a werewolf, but instead having them have issues about something that a lot of people go through, like trust and lying. Yes, he lied to her about being a werewolf, but underneath, it's something that a lot of people can relate to. And yes, it does go nicely with HBP!

They were both hurt in this song fic, but I tried to get across the idea that they'd work through it. I have an idea brewing for a sort of sequel to this, and hopefully that'll go somewhere. I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Liana Lie to Me

17th January 2010:
I just discovered this story today. I was looking at your work to see if you had posted the sequel to "Moonlight." I could understand what Tonks was saying and I agree. Remus can't control whether he's a werewolf or not but he could control whether he lied or told the truth. He knew from the start that Tonks had been lied to in the past and she found it hard to trust. Equally, Remus couldn't tell her he was a werewolf because he has to trust before he tells someone that. This was a really good story. Very convincing. It's just one of those odd things they're going to have to work out through talking.

Author's Response: Remus and Tonks both had good reasons in this story. Basically, both of them were hurt and they need some time to think about things. They'll work through it, though. They both just need to trust each other. I'm glad you liked it! I'm still working on the sequel to IMS. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by doralupin86 Lie to Me

15th January 2010:
OMG.i friggin love it.i can understand why dora's upset bcoz she been lied to b4 so if i were her i would react the same as she did & i also understand why remus lied coz he need 2 trust someone completely b4 tellin them about his secret...nway can't wait for more =D
xx

Author's Response: Tonks just can't get past the fact that she was lied to again, even though Remus had a perfectly good reason. They both had good reasons for how they acted and they have to work through it.

I'm hoping to eventually write a sequel, either in song fic form if I can find a good song for it, or a one-shot. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Dreaming of Remus Lie to Me

15th January 2010:
Brillant! I so love this!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login