72 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Charlotte Family

21st December 2013:
I know it's been a while since you updated, but I'm still hoping for the next chapter! It's so good!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by lindsay Family

23rd August 2012:
ugh this is my favorite story on this site, it is so beautiful and I love the way you have written Rose and Scorpius!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Aimée Family

26th May 2012:
Hey! :)
Are you ever gonna update this story?? It's amazing! I love it, very original story :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Anouk Family

12th November 2011:
Beautiful story! I love it, and can't wait for the next chapter! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by ruby_slippers Family

3rd August 2011:
How do you manage to write about such a heart breaking story and do it not only with superb talent (you have been blessed!) but also make it easy to read? What i mean is that you manage to write about a situation that is so sad but fill it with so much beauty and just the right amount of happy moments that its bearable (as in not overly emotional and dark and depressing). Its sad and happy and lovely and something that i find myself looking forward to reading! You have managed to create the perfect balance!
Seriously, I was terrified of reading this story coz i thought 'oh no that'll be far to sad i won't be able to handle that' and also (if i'm being completely honest) i was worried that it would burst my "but she's the perfect author" bubble! I was worried that the topic would be too much. But after reading so many of your other stories i grew too curious (and i'm SO glad) because its BRILLIANT! I'm so sorry i promise to never doubt your skills again! haha! Honestly you nailed this story!
I love this Rose! She is beautiful but also flawed which makes her real and an absolutely incredible character to read! And seriously how gorgeous is Malfoy? Don't mind if i do *wink wink nudge nudge* And Simon? If i ever meet a kid that cute I'm stealing them and fleeing the country before people realise what has happened so they won't know where i've run off to with him and we can live a happy life as little family in the tropics or something ... too far? Seriously though cutest kid
Your amazing. Your stories are a joy. Thankyou
Ok stopping with the gushing - sorry its such a long review!!

 Report Review

Review #6, by baletgir Family

7th July 2011:
Yay an update! I was really worried when I read this a few months back that I would never get to read an end, but I'm so glad that you have continued! I wish I had time to write more but keep writing!
:)BaletGir

 Report Review

Review #7, by Margravine Family

5th July 2011:
Oh Rita, I love this. You give me faith in ff. You give me faith in modern writing. Enjoyable, nuanced, fresh, beautiful written, utterly delightful to read. Now PM me more of After Hours because I miss being your beta. and love you. just a bit/lot. You may be my hero

 Report Review

Review #8, by Icydevil Family

5th July 2011:
An update, FINALLY! I thought you'd never update. I am so in love with this story. Moving along with Rose. Can't wait to see how she meets her parents and their reactions. Update soon if you can (:

 Report Review

Review #9, by Hope's Mom Family

5th July 2011:
I am so happy to read a new chapter of this story! Poor Rose is struggling with being with her family at Christmas - she is lucky to have several diversions (Scorpius and Simon) before the inevitable meeting. They only want to make her feel better - only time can do that. Thank you for writing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme Family

5th July 2011:
♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

So much love. This story is so...different to anything I've read before. Never has a Christmas-time moment read away from the season made me feel so Christmassy. I could feel it all, smell it all, taste it all (really craving hot chocolate now) and it was absolutely gorgeous.

You manage to make a story about a woman feeling so many things feel simple and straightforward, without detracting from her pain. It's completely unfair how you manage it :P

Simon and all the little nieces were adorableee! I love Audrey and Fleur too. The family dynamic of this is brilliant and Rose's reluctance to see her parents is brought across really well. I can see how it's getting a bit Rose/Scorpius-y but it's a very sweet friendship and I really love reading them together. They're very natural together and I love iiit.

Brilliant update and it's always SO worth a wait for your writing.

xx

 Report Review

Review #11, by Katie Home

24th June 2011:
I love this story!! UPDATE SOON

 Report Review

Review #12, by Katie Denial

24th June 2011:
It is just so beautiful. I'm in love with it!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Hope's Mom Home

18th February 2011:
Hi - I just found your story. I like it although it is sad and melancholy at this point! I notice it hasn't been updated in a while. I hope you haven't abandoned it. Thank you for writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing. You have no idea how much this means to me. Even your handle just...gah, it's a long story - but this review has just made my day.

No I haven't abandoned this story. I am constantly trying to write the next chapter. Just haven't found it yet, if you understand what I'm saying.

But fear not. This story will never be abandoned. It means to much to me for that to happen.

Again, thank you. And if I haven't said it enough, you really don't know what and how much this review has meant to me today.


 Report Review

Review #14, by baletgir Home

21st January 2011:
I hope you update with another chapter soon, because this one was just as good as the last. I cannot wait to meet the rest of the family. I just realized, we don't know how Chris died, it didn't bother me until now, with the talk of the funeral. I am really wondering now what happened.

Good Job!
:)BaletGir

 Report Review

Review #15, by baletgir Numb

21st January 2011:
Question: Who is this Aunt Gelly married to George? Just wondering since everything else seems canon.

I love where this chapter went. It was nice to see Rose get to breathe for a moment and just be. And I think I like Scorpius, not one hundred percent sure yet though. He seems like a good friend. I wonder why they lost touch though, Rose's memories made it sound like they had been pretty close back at Hogwarts.

I cannot wait to read chapter three now! Great job!
:)BaletGir

 Report Review

Review #16, by baletgir Denial

21st January 2011:
Wow, that was so short, but very powerful. I really enjoy the idea of this. Normally, everyday situations are most relatable and chosen more often by readers. Being a widow so young in life is not a reality for many people (I hope), but it doesn't matter, it is a possibility, and I want to read this.

And Rose Weasley isn't married to Scorpius Malfoy, what? Is this a HPFF first? Haha, only kidding, it's a nice change to see and read and still very plausible. Though I see Rose/Scor in the description, but no worries! I am also looking forward to that in future chapters.

When I clicked on this link on your author's page I honestly didn't expect to read more than the first chapter. It's not that I thought the writing quality was going to be lacking (and it is anything but), but I just didn't think it was going to intrigue me enough, especially in under 1000 words. But here I am checking off "Submit this review and continue reading next chapter." Great start!
:)BaletGir

 Report Review

Review #17, by Yasmin Potter Denial

4th December 2010:
This was amazing, brought tears to my eyes.
i actually paused to write a review and i haven't done that in awhile. on to the next chapter cause it was just that good. (:

 Report Review

Review #18, by prettywishes Home

11th October 2010:
I was so glad to see someone showing Audrey is a good light, because I think she's portrayed as a snooty awful person much to often. The way that she and Fleur were up so early making food for everyone seemed like such a Weasley thing, and the way that conversation flowed was really great. I adore your writing style, and I think you've hit the emotions perfectly in this!

 Report Review

Review #19, by prettywishes Numb

11th October 2010:
I thought it was great how straight forward Scorpius was about how bad things happen for no reason at all, because sometimes it's nice just to hear things as they are. I really liked the way that you portrayed Scorpius and his family, it was pretty funny how his mum had been married over and over because that's how I always pictured his family. Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #20, by prettywishes Denial

11th October 2010:
Becoming a widow so young has to be heartbreaking, but having it happen so close to the holidays can't be helping anything. I felt awful for Rose having to deal with everything at such a young age, but I thought that you did a wonderful job of making it realistic! I thought that the writing style was great, and it seems like such a great idea!

 Report Review

Review #21, by dianap00 Numb

4th September 2010:
I love how well they got on. And the general lack of fuss from Scorpius was clearly appreciated. I like that he didn't try to 'say' anything. I mean, he made a statement and didn't try to be particularly consoling or understanding (which is a good way to actually be consoling and understanding, incidentally). I really like Rose, she's so great.

 Report Review

Review #22, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme Home

29th August 2010:
Audrey and Fleur = ♥
I don't think I've ever read a story where they're both so lovely. I'd love to have either of them as my aunt. I really thought that was a very touching scene.

As was another...only you could get away with writing gnomes that rival humans for wisdom. Seriously. I raised my eyebrows to begin with but really, absolutely genius idea. The conversation was really quite believable and Willy has a Dobbyness to him that was just lovely.

Rose continues to impress me; she really is a very strong character. The style is gorgeous, the pace just right, it flows amazingly.
I'm kind of running out of compliments without sounding completely fangirly but it really is fantastic.


xx

 Report Review

Review #23, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme Numb

29th August 2010:
In all fairness, most of Wales could pass for God's waiting room - I've heard that applied to countless places around here :P That description really does help with defining the setting, though. It became really vivid just through small little phrases like that, which was lovely.

I'm reserving judgement on Scorpius, mainly because I don't want to find myself liking both Scorpius AND Rose in one story. It's too much! Sadly, I think I'll be giving in eventually but for now, I shall say he was lovely and perhaps even likeable and I'd like to see more of him.

Rose-wise, very much the same as the last chapter. She's like a little lost lamb and it makes her so endearing. She really is fabulous.

Description, dialogue, everything else was naturally brilliant - I feel like I don't even need to say that, really - and I thoroughly enjoyed it ^_^

Wonderful

xx

 Report Review

Review #24, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme Denial

29th August 2010:
32 Drowling St., Tidley Hill, Wales, England - I really ought to string you up for this :P Pet hate of every Welsh person on the planet is being clumped in with England.

And mini-rant over, I'm finallyyy starting on those reviews I promised you before you left (I do hope you're enjoying Italy!) I shall keep them short and sweet for the sake of our sanity.

This is such a heartbreaking opening. I don't think I've ever read anything quite so tragic from you before and it really does just prove how wonderfully versatile you are.

I'm getting more and more impressed with certain writers' abilities to make me like Rose. It's happening more and more with every passing day and it's a little scary, in all honesty. I really do like her here already, though. She comes off the page so vividly.

But I'm keeping it short so stopping here. I shall save more for the next two reviews. Stunning start, lovely.


xx

 Report Review

Review #25, by still_fly Home

8th August 2010:
This story is incredibly well written! I really can't wait to see where it goes. Update soon please!!

Author's Response: Shall try. Keep your fingers crossed :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>