Reading Reviews for If You Were Beautiful
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Happy Birthday She Will Be Broken

17th March 2011:
Rin, you write the best one shots of anyone on TGS. Fact. There is no character who could be safe from your skill.

This, for example, is about a character probably nobody has ever heard of. And then you breathe life into her as though she was always like this. You paint a tragic tale of someone who is reaping the "rewards" of her craft, but is fighting her morality at the same time. She can't help but give them what they want because it's a really basic one, to be admired and to be thought pretty. I loved seeing inside her mind to see how destroyed she has become at the constant brewing of beauty elixers for people who are unhappy with themselves. Really, she should love her job because she gets to make people's dreams come true, but underneath she finds this very human desire haunting.

Beautiful beautifil piece! bravo.

Author's Response: Ahh, anonymous reviewer, how you've made my day. This so lovely. I mean, you've completely brightened my morning.

And to SAY that is just... wow. I can't even take your first compliment in, because I don't exactly believe it, but I am very, very flattered.

Thank you so, so much for stopping by and reviewing. You are an amazing, kind (anonymous) reviewer. And thank you muchly for the birthday wishes. :)

- Rin


 Report Review

Review #2, by Unwritten Curse She Will Be Broken

11th February 2010:
Wow.

Rin, I don't even know where to start.

I am blown away. It's rare that I feel so... so emotionally attached to a one-shot. I don't even fully understand what is going on, but I feel it, and that is the most important thing for me.

Everything was perfect. The prose, the vagueness, the intermittent and horrible words, the emotion. Oh my goodness.

10/10 for you, darling. I could gush on and on, but that would just seem silly, and this piece deserves something grander... I just don't know what. I'm not feeling particularly eloquent at the moment - especially compared to your beautiful writing.

10/10!

Keep writing,
Gina

Author's Response: Gina... You are... so... lovely. Gah. Thank you so much! I mean... wow. Thank you. Thank you thank you!

This was a little different for me, maybe a little bit of a different style, almost. It's most similar in writing to Stumbling Back To You, just because of the words scattered through it in italics. Anyway, I'm really glad you liked it. Even if it was a little out of my comfort zone, I'm relieved that it wasn't absolute crap.

Again, thank you so much! I... don't even know what to say.


 Report Review

Review #3, by George Whitman She Will Be Broken

10th February 2010:
This is so sad. It's chock full of irony too. I was struck how people were selling out on their looks and Sacharissa is the worst of them. She selling out her true emotions about people as she gives them what they don't really need. Well done!

Author's Response: Wow, way to find the deeper meaning in it all! I'm absolutely flattered. Your review means so, so much to me. Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Rose_Weasley123 She Will Be Broken

4th February 2010:
Rin! Here for your requested review! (sorry for the lateness, have been very swamped by work/RL stuf :(. Still, am here now :P)

I don't actually want to enter this challenge anymore. I mean- how could I ever write something to match up to this? HOW? I feel like I'm just parroting other reviews, but it really was fabulous.

Your prose is so elegant, brimming over with wonderful descriptions and delicious, elthereal imagery. You have truly mastered short, powerful, BEAUTIFUL one shots. They have a certain something to them that elevates them high into the realms of wonderful. You have a style that is completely your own- filled with clarity and imagination. As for your descriptions- I think this line truly sums up how amazing your writing is.

'And she? She will be broken, crumbling inside each time the galleons, cold and heavy, hit her hands.' The description is just wonderful. You use simple words, but you put them together perfectly. The sentence becomes something far more than all it's parts. It also packs a punch- I can tell it's one of those lines that I'll always remeber. I've noticed a certain pattern actually- all your one shots end with a really powerful, thought provoking ending which knocks the reader for six.

Blame it on the fever, but I think I'm rembling even more than usual here ^^.

Anyway, the characterisation was wonderful. Sacharissa was a very well drawn character- she seemed to leap off the page, and I could empathise with her every feeling. She reall was written amazingly.

The plot was lovely as well- lovely being completely the wrong word, but the feelings used were described to perfection, and the idea of desperately wanting to be beautiful is something that resounds very deeply within our society today ^^.

I STILL cannot understand why your writing astounds me. You would think that by now I would expect nothing less of you, but each one shot I read of yours becomes bigger, better and more powerful.

This was wonderful Rin. Really, truly wonderful.

10/10- possibly the easiest one I've ever given.

Author's Response: Oh. My. God. Becca, what in the world am I going to do with you? I literally started smiling as soon as I was done reading the first paragraph, and then couldn't stop 'tll the end! BAH! BAH! Bah, I love you. Thank you so, so much for all of your kind words and encouragement. It really means a lot to me.

One reason why I like the Wizard Card challenge is that even though the characters are (technically) canon, you just have one or two lines to go off of and then you can go absolutely crazy in terms of their characterization. I could have made her witchy and bitchy, making the potions to gain fame. I could have made her ugly and wanting to make potions for herself. I could have done ANYTHING, really, and it would still be canon! That's why it's so fun! :)

Gah, thank you for the review! You have absolutely no idea how much this means to me.

xo
Rin


 Report Review

Review #5, by SnitchSnatcher She Will Be Broken

20th January 2010:
...

I think this is the point in time where I run to the kitchen to get a rag to mop up all of my drool. Are you serious? Really, Rin, really? How can anyone compete with this???

I've said it before and I'll say it again, I'm constantly blown away by your work. There's nothing else for me to say. It's just...mindblowing, really. I can't even begin to comprehend how delicious the prose was as I'm still processing it myself. There's a certain honesty, a clarity, almost, to your writing that is so heartbreakingly real. I feel like I know Sacharissa; like I know her pain in these women resorting to such measures to make themselves beauty.

Wow, I'm still in awe of this.

The last line is just...I don't even know what to say. It's one of those things that you can't really get over even after you've convinced yourself you are. It sticks with you, that line does, in an almost haunting way. It amplifies her grief over what she's done, the seemingly hideous people she's created with her skill. As her heart breaks, mine weeps for her - and if that isn't a sign of impressive skill, I honestly don't know what is.

Beyond fabulously job, my dear. Just...wow, amazing.

XOXOXO,
Molly

Author's Response: Molly, what am I going to do with you? Haha, I have absolutely no idea how to respond, and I feel cheap when I just say "thanks for the review!"

Bah. I love you. I love you and your reviews. Bah. BAH BAH (black sheep). Fine, I'll stop now.

I love the Mollinator. I'm really glad you liked it. I mean, when dealing with a Canon Character who JKR says next to NOTHING about, it's kind of fun to invent your own little stories, you know? Anyway, I'm glad you liked it. It was a little hard to write, but, like I said, I'm flattered.

Thank you MOLLY!


 Report Review

Review #6, by RonsGirlFriday She Will Be Broken

14th January 2010:
Another masterpiece from you, Rin! It's amazing, how you can take an obscure character like this and add such depth. Your interpretation of her claim to fame is really profound. And, as always, your writing itself is beautiful!

xoxo
Melanie

Author's Response: Melanie! I wasn't expecting this at all! Wow... Thank you so much. I really appreciate your compliments, especially coming from a writer such as yourself. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by confusedlover She Will Be Broken

13th January 2010:
very lovely.

this was beautiful, nothing less could describe it. you should be extremely proud of your work. keep it up.

Author's Response: Thank you so very, very much. I really appreciate your review.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Eve She Will Be Broken

13th January 2010:
I loved it. Such a sad and well-written story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Your comments mean a lot to me.

 Report Review

Review #9, by LindaSnape She Will Be Broken

12th January 2010:
Aw, this is so sad. I feel terrible for her. No matter what situation she is in it's going to be a lose-lose.

Beautifully written, though. Nice job. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Your little review has really brightened my day. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login